Acura TLX Complaints

Acura TLX Complaints
  • 282 Complaints
  • 17 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 11 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 282 complaints for TLX models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:25 Jul-30, 2020

On the interstate going 75 mph, cars throws itself into neutral and completely loses power. Warning lights come on saying there is a problem with the transmission, electric brake, and emission system. Car coast to the side of the road and is completely dead, but dashboard lights are on. Car is locked in neutral and cannot be shifted. Sat waiting for a tow for 30 minutes, cars can now be turned off, then restarted and suddenly it can be driven again. Very dangerous and i was not happy with dealers explanation as to what caused problem. First they said it fuel pump, then a software issue. Since i brought it to dealer, transmission now does not seem to shift properly, its very jerky. The car is very dangerous to take on the interstate. This all happened when it was 90 degrees outside, a very hot day.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:50 Jul-28, 2020

I saw a mechanic and figured out the problem on the 21st of july. I checked on acuras website and there was a notice that they recalled this car last year with the same exact thing that my car was diagnosed with and my car is malfunctioning and there is nothing they can do about it because my vin does not have a recall on it even though i have the exact problem of their recall. My car is malfunctioning and i called headquarters client relations and they told me they can do nothing about it and that if i want it fixed then i have to fix it myself. I was driving on a high way when all the lights turned on in my car. My brake system says it failed my transmission light is on, my park brake is flashing, lane assist popping up. I was driving home form lake tahoe on a curvy road with my speed being 40-50. Many cars driving super fast when all of a sudden my car dropped to 20mph. My acura would not go past 20mph and my life and my passengers were in serious danger!

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:37 Jul-24, 2020

THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN FOR THE ACURA THAT DEALS WITH ISSUES CAUSING RATTLING OR VIBRATIONS FELT IN THE FLOOR AND FRONT SEATS WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVEN ON HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE SERVICE BULLETIN 16-009 AFFECTS 2015 Acura TLX AWD MODELS WITH THE VIN 19UUB3F.. FA000001-FA004363. THE PROBABLE CAUSE IS THAT THERE MAY BE AN ASSEMBLY IMBALANCE BETWEEN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL AND THE PROPELLER SHAFT. THE SERVICE BULLETIN 16-057 AFFECTS ALL 2015-2016 V6 MODELS WITH ALL VIN NUMBERS. POSSIBLE CAUSE IS THE SUBFRAME BUSHING MATERIALS LACKS ABSORPTION ABILITY, CAUSING THE ENERGY FROM THE REAR WHEELS TO BE TRANSFERRED INTO THE FLOOR AND SEAT. BOTH SERVICE BULLETINS ARE NOT RECALLS EVEN THOUGH THEY AFFECT SPECIFIC CARS AND EVEN ALL MODELS ON ONE CAR. ALL COSTS COME OUT OF POCKET FOR ACURA OWNERS.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:53 Jul-23, 2020

Car stalls when i am at a red light or a stop. It happens when the car has been driven awhile, not when it first starts. After stopping at a red light, the car fails to start when i put my foot on the gas to accelerate. The car will stall, then when i try to start it by pushing the start button, it takes more than 1 try for it to start. It happened 4 times within 2 hours a week ago; each time after being stopped at a red light. This problem has occurred since i purchased the car, and never when the engine is cold.

Parts: STEERINGENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jul-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:31 Jul-22, 2020

I saw a mechanic and figured out the problem. I checked on acuras website and there was a notice that they recalled this car last year with the same exact thing that my car was diagnosed with and my car is malfunctioning and there is nothing they can do about it because my vin does not have a recall on it even though i have the exact problem of their recall. My car is malfunctioning and i called headquarters client relations and they told me they can do nothing about it and that if i want it fixed then i have to fix it myself. I was driving on a high way when all the lights turned on in my car my brake system says it failed my transmission light is on, my park brake is flashing, lane assist popping up. There are many people with acuras who have the same issues as i do!

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-14, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 04:09 Jul-14, 2020

The vehicle is stalling at intersections. This problem occurs more frequently on hot days.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Dec-22, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 13:49 Jun-25, 2020

I BOUGHT THIS CAR ON OCTOBER 7, 2017 AND BY DECEMBER 22,2017 (DEALER REPORT ATTACHED), I HAD ALREADY EXPERIENCED AND REPORTED FOR THE FIRST TIME THE MALFUNCTIONING INFOTAINMENT SYSTEM ON MY 2018 Acura TLX. THIS ISSUE IS ONGOING. THE TECHNOLOGICAL FLAW (PICTURES ATTACHED) IS THAT THE INFOTAINMENT SCREEN WILL FREEZE DURING OPERATION OF THE VEHICLE. THIS IMPACTS SEVERAL ESSENTIAL SAFETY AND DRIVING CAPABILITIES. WHEN THE SCREEN IS FROZEN, THE BACKUP CAMERA FAILS TO DISPLAY AS THE FROZEN SCREEN WILL NOT UNFREEZE UNTIL THE CAR IS TURNED OFF AND BACK ON. THIS MEANS THAT YOU HAVE TO PARK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO RESET THE SYSTEM. THIS FREEZE ALSO CAUSES YOUR PROGRAMMED GPS ROUTE (ON-SCREEN AND VOICE DIRECTIONS) TO GO HAYWIRE AND COMPLETELY FAIL, AGAIN REQUIRING YOU TO LEAVE THE ROAD AND FIND A PLACE TO PARK, TURN OFF THE CAR AND TURN IT BACK ON. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, I HAVE BEEN ON FAMILY ROAD TRIPS AND THE INFOTAINMENT HAS FROZEN AND I HAVE HAD TO LEAVE THE HIGHWAY AND RESET THE SYSTEM. THIS IS DANGEROUS FOR ME AND OTHERS GIVEN THE TERRAIN IS UNKNOWN AND DRIVING (ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT) CARRIES A LOT OF RISK. I HAVE ATTEMPTED TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE NUMEROUS TIMES WITH FIVE DEALERS IN THE SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA. NONE OF THEM HAVE TAKEN ACCOUNTABILITY NOR ACKNOWLEDGED MY PROBLEM, SAYING THEY CANNOT REPLICATE IT. HOWEVER, I HAVE NOTICED THE INFOTAINMENT FREEZINGS TEND TO OCCUR ON RELATIVELY LONGER DRIVES. THIS INFOTAINMENT DEFECT IS NOT UNIQUE, THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AND ONGOING LAWSUITS REGARDING THE INFOTAINMENT SYSTEMS IN ACURA TLX AND RDX OF VARIOUS YEARS (2019-2020), BUT MY MODEL'S YEAR HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED. MY FAMILY AND I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR. I BOUGHT IT WHEN IT JUST CAME OUT AND IT HAS BEEN A DISAPPOINTMENT, COMPOUNDED BY THE LOW-QUALITY CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT HAS CONSISTENTLY IGNORED ME FOR THE PAST 2+ YEARS BECAUSE THEY CLAIM THEY CANNOT REPLICATE IT.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jun-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:08 Jun-23, 2020

Transmission jerks when driving its totally un safe to drive on the highway.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-11, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-12, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Acura TLX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FIRST ACURA SALES (16 HIGHLAND AVE, SEEKONK, MA 02771) HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A CAUSE FOR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO SPEEDCRAFT ACURA (883 QUAKER LN, WEST WARWICK, RI 02893, (401)304-3100) HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE OR DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 33,000.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:15 Jun-07, 2020

On june 7th 2020 i was driving my car , it started to shake. As i started to drive back home to see what was going on all the problems showed up in the screen. I had to drive with my emergency hazard lights on because i couldn? T go more then 25 mph or it would shake even more. We have at least 12 pictures of what? S showing in the screen. We are only able to upload one.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:24 Jun-01, 2020

SOY BASED WIRING PLACED IN VEHICLE BY ACURA MANUFACTURE CAUSES AN ATTRACTION TO RODENTS, SQUIRRELS, MICE TO EAT THE WIRES. THE RODENTS ARE ATTRACTED TO THE TASTE OF THE MATERIAL. SINCE JANUARY OF THIS YEAR 2020 I HAVE SUSTAINED DAMAGE THREE TIMES TO MY 2015 Acura TLX WHICH COST THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO REPAIR. THIS SOY BASED MATERIAL IS BEING PLACED IN THE NEWER MODELS TO SAVE ON COST FOR THE MANUFACTURER, BUT LEAVE COSTUMERS, LIKE MYSELF, AT A DEFICIT OF MONEY AND TIME FOR REPAIRS. IT IS ALSO UNSAFE, BECAUSE ONE NEVER KNOWS WHEN THE CAR WILL STOP RUNNING OR IF IT WILL EVEN START. I HAVE BEEN EFFECTED BY THIS IN JANUARY OF 2020, MARCH 2020 AND AGAIN IN MAY 2020. I ALSO OWN A 2015 HONDA ACCORD AND MY HUSBAND A 2009 TOYOTA THAT ARE PARKED IN THE SAME AREA AND NO SUCH DAMAGE HAS OCCURRED TO THESE OLDER MODEL CARS. THE CORPORATE OFFICE IS AWARE OF THE SOY BASED MATERIAL, BUT REFUSES TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IF THIS SOY BASED MATERIAL WAS NOT PUT IN THE CARS TO BEGIN WITH THEN RODENTS WOULD NOT BE ATTRACTED. MY OLDER CARS STAND AS A TESTAMENT AS WELL AS MY NEIGHBORS CARS THAT ARE NOT AFFECTED. THERE ARE OTHER NEWER MAKES OF VEHICLES THAT ARE NOTED IN RESEARCH THAT ARE BEING EATEN BY RODENTS DUE TO SOY. THIS HAS CAUSED ME TIME AND MONEY AND WAS NEVER DISCLOSE TO ME UPON PURCHASE. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND CONSIDER THIS A DANGER TO MYSELF BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW IF OR WHEN THE CAR WOULD STOP WHILE I'M DRIVING. I FOUND OUT ALL THREE TIMES UPON ATTEMPTING TO START MY CAR IN THE MORNING WHILE ON MY WAY TO WORK. I GOT MESSAGES THAT TOLD ME TO "PARK THE CAR, CHECK ENGINE, CHECK TRANSMISSION"... I CONSIDER THIS A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT AND WHILE I MAKE CAR PAYMENTS I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE. MY CAR IS A 2015 ACURA TLX THAT I JUST PURCHASED IN JANUARY OF 2019 CERTIFIED PREOWNED. THIS SOY BASED MATERIAL IS TASTY TO RODENT AND IS CAUSING THEM TO EAT AT MY WIRES.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-15, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Acura TLX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO TURN ON VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SEVERAL UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO NORRIS ACURA LOCATED AT 8559 BALTIMORE NATIONAL PIKE, ELLICOTT CITY, MD 21043, TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT SEVERAL WIRING HARNESSES INSIDE THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO RODENT DAMAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 32,000.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Apr-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-06, 2020

Now that the vehicle has crossed 30k miles the power train is now not as responsive and i? M some situations aggressively jerks the car forward when downshifting when the vehicle is coming the a stop. This also occurs when the vehicle is going from a compete stop, the vehicle jerks back as the transmission up shifts for the next gear. *tr

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-05, 2020

I stopped(stationary) at a light to make a left turn into the freeway. While stationary the engine went into automatic idle stop to save gas and once the light turn green the car was not able to turn on at all and had to call aaa. It was giving me error messages in regards fuel pump and brake system etc. In the dash. *tr

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Apr-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-22, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Acura TLX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST (VSA) AND THE PRECISION ALL WHEEL STEER SYSTEM WARNING MESSAGES ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE STARTED TO LOSE MOTIVE POWER WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,571.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-19, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-17, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Acura TLX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITH THE BATTERY LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE WITHIN 15-20 SECONDS AND THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KING ACURA (1687 MONTGOMERY HWY, HOOVER, AL 35216) WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE FAILURE WAS LINKED TO A DEFECTIVE BATTERY. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED HOWEVER, A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE BATTERY REPLACEMENT, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE SAME DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS THEN REFERRED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED TO DISABLE THE AUTO START FEATURE AS A POSSIBLE FIX FOR THE FAILURE. THE AUTO START FEATURE WAS DISABLE HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000.*DT*DT*JB

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-07, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-14, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Acura TLX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TWO UNKNOWN DEALERS HOWEVER, THE MECHANICS WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-23, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:50 Apr-02, 2020

STARTING IN NOV 2019 MY Acura TLX STARTED TO SPONTANEOUSLY DECELERATE AND LOSE ENGINE POWER WHEN IN MOTION. ERROR CODE OF P0087 WAS PROVIDED BY ACURA OF MILFORD, CT AND WAS HIGHLY SUGGESTIVE OF REPLACING HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. THE ENGINE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED IN EARLY DEC 2019 HOWEVER THE CAR CONTINUED WITH LOSS OF POWER, TERRIBLE GAS MILEAGE, POOR ACCELERATION AND MULTIPLE WARNINGS ILLUMINATED. ACURA OF MILFORD WAS CONTACTED AND THEY NOTED IT MAY BE THE OTHER FUEL PUMP THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE SECOND IN TANK FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED MID DEC 2019 WITH NO IMPROVEMENT. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT TO ACURA DEC 31, 2019 AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING TO BE FOUND, THEY RESET THE P0087 CODE AND DID A HARD RESET. THE CAR STILL CONTINUED WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS BUT NOW WITH A HUMMING NOISE PRESENT. IN FEB 2020, THE FUEL RAIL AND SENSOR WAS REPLACED, YET STILL NO IMPROVEMENT. THE CAR WAS TAKEN BACK TO ACURA AND ONCE AGAIN THEY RESET THE ERROR CODE AND NOTED THEY ONLY FOUND CORROSION NEAR THE SENSOR AND THEY CLEANED IT OFF. CAR WAS DRIVING MUCH WORSE NOW AND IF IT LOSS POWER IT WOULD NOT START UP UNLESS CRANKED 15-25 TIMES IN A 10 MIN WINDOW. MARCH 2020 THE SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED AND THE CAR IS STILL NOT DRIVING RIGHT, ALL SYMPTOMS STILL PRESENT AND THE HUMMING NOISE IS GETTING LOUDER. THIS CAR HAS LOSS POWER WHILE IN MOTION RANDOMLY IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC, BOTH ON STREET AND MOST DANGEROUSLY ON THE HIGHWAY, EMBARRASSING BUT THANKFUL TO SOME GOOD SAMARITANS THAT HAVE EXITED THEIR VEHICLE TO PUSH ME SAFETY ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. ACURA CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEMS YET JUST RESETS THE ERROR CODE AND SENDS ME ON MY WAY TO CALL IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN. IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FREQUENTLY SINCE NOV 2019 AND NO ONE CAN TELL ME WHAT THE ISSUE IS, EVEN AFTER I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TRYING TO FIX THIS CAR BASED OFF THEIR GUESSES.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:30 Mar-19, 2020

Driving to work 3/19/20 at 7:15am. The sunroof shattered. The shade was open and glass shards covered my wife and the inside of the car. There were no vehicles within a 1/4 mile. There were no bridges she drove under within a mile. I called and spoke to the local acura dealership asking if there was a campaign or recall or if this was a known issue. I was told to contact a collision center to get fixed as there was no warranty. I asked to speak with the service manager and have not heard back as of yet.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:28 Mar-17, 2020

While driving straight or turning left or right, occasionally the car will fail to accelerate when the gas pedal is pressed. The engine appears to go to an idle speed for 1-2 seconds and then the car accelerates. This has been brought to the attention of the local dealer multiple times but they (and acura) are unable or unwilling to fix this problem. I have sent them video of the tachometer dropping to ~900rpm when this happens. They state there are no error codes or information that indicates anything is wrong. This seems to match safety problems 11121786, 10775339, 10695446, and 10694812. Another problem the vehicle has is a shudder in the transmission at certain speeds. Shifting to a different gear makes the shudder go away. Dealer states this is just how the transmission works. Transmission was replaced around 51k miles. Old transmission did not have this problem. Dealer said a fluid change might help. It did not.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.