Acura TLX Complaints

Acura TLX Complaints
  • 226 Complaints
  • 13 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 11 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 226 complaints for TLX models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Aug-16, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:31 Aug-16, 2019

Takata recall it was around 7:30 am i was driving my kids to school and i felt like i slightly lost control of my vehicle and like it was slipping somehow. Next thing i know the steering wheel is crooked and almost every warning lights have turned on and i started getting all the warning sounds describing more warinings than i could check on the second page on this incident report. I barely bought my acura a few months ago so i? M very shocked be having such a scary incident so fast. I thought acura? S were dependable reliable cars that would keep me and more importantly my children safe. I felt so scared for the safety of my children. It was even more upsetting to find that this same situation on the same brand of acura? S has happened before to more than 1 person on youtube! What is acura waiting for on a recall. You would think they wouldn? T want any lawsuits when someone gets hurt. Please help turn this into a recall before lives are lost. Thank you

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-27, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 16:17 Aug-08, 2019

I was driving on the highway and turning and then all of a sudden these indicators came on which were the vsa, power steering, check engine light, and the brake system came one. Once these indicators came on the car started stalling and wouldn? T go past 2 rpm and had lack of power. So we had to automatically stop and pull over to the side. Couple of cars were behind us as well and we could have crashed. We took about a month or so before we took it in to fresno acura and they said it was the fuel pump that? S broken.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Aug-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Aug-06, 2019

TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 Acura TLX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND VARIOUS UNKNOWN INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FRESNO ACURA (7250 N PALM AVE, FRESNO, CA 93711, (559) 431-3400) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Aug-02, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 16:49 Aug-02, 2019

2016 Acura TLX 39,462 MILES ON ODOMETER. THE ENGINE LOST POWER. THE WARNING LIGHT DISPLAYED PARKING BRAKE SYSTEM MALFUNCTION, EMISSION SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. AFTER 3 TIMES SHUTTING OFF AND TURNING ON THE POWER BUTTON, THE CONDITION WENT BACK TO NORMAL.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Aug-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:37 Aug-02, 2019

This vehicle has had repeated battery failures. I had to have a battery replaced in this car less than a year ago and yesterday, the new battery died again. I was at the gas station getting gas and when i tried to start the vehicle, all of the lights started flickering with a loud repetitive clicking sound and the vehicle would not start. I had to call acura roadside assistance who sent out a aaa tow driver. The tow driver said that he has had about 80 calls for this type of vehicle just this year alone and all of them have had battery issues. Acura should issue a recall for these defective batteries. I have the vehicle at an acura dealer for the 2nd time in a year to have the battery replaced. The vehicle is still fairly new with only 46,000 miles.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jul-09, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Aug-02, 2019

TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Acura TLX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER AND THE GEAR SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, IT RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. WALKER ACURA (8951 VETERANS MEMORIAL BLVD, METAIRIE, LA 70003, (504) 464-4004) WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 189,000.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-25, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 17:43 Jul-29, 2019

ON 6/25/19 AT 16:39 I WAS DRIVING MY 2018 Acura TLX NORTHBOUND ON A FOUR LANE CITY STREET AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH. ROAD CONDITIONS WERE DRY AND CLEAR. AS I APPROACHED THE INTERSECTION, THE CMBS (COLLISION MITIGATION BRAKING SYSTEM) BEEPED AND BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO A COMPLETE STOP DESPITE THERE BEING NO CAR AHEAD. THIS SURPRISED ME AND NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT AS THE TRUCK BEHIND ME HAD TO STOP SUDDENLY. WHILE BRAKING THE VEHICLE IGNORED ALL THROTTLE INPUT, THUS MY ENGINE RACED AND SPUN THE FRONT TIRES ONCE THROTTLE INPUT WAS RESTORED. THE EVENT, WITH SOUND, WAS CAPTURED VIA MY DASHCAM, I HAVE ATTACHED A STILL IMAGE FROM THE DASHCAM VIDEO AND CAN SUPPLY THE FOOTAGE IF NEEDED. MY ACURA IS DUE FOR SERVICE NEXT MONTH AND I PLAN TO REPORT THIS ISSUE TO MY ACURA DEALER AT THIS TIME. I CHANGED THE VEHICLE 'FORWARD COLLISION WARNING DISTANCE' SETTING FROM 'LONG' (DEFAULT) TO 'SHORT' AND HAVE NOT HAD THE SAME ISSUE RECUR.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-16, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:42 Jul-25, 2019

2019 Acura TLX 2.4L. PURCHASED BRAND NEW LESS THAN A MONTH AGO WITH LESS THAN 900 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. SUDDEN EMISSIONS PROBLEM AND PARKING BRAKE CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS FLASHING AFTER VEHICLE HAS BEEN SITTING/PARKED. THIS HAS HAPPENED REPEATEDLY AND SEEMS TO BE A KNOWN PROBLEM TO ACURA WHICH THE DEALER DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO REPAIR. WHEN DEALER CHECKS PROBLEM IT SHOWS A PROBLEM CODE INDICATING EMISSIONS LEAK BUT AFTER TESTING NOTHING CAN BE FOUND.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-12, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:21 Jul-18, 2019

At 70 mph the vehicle lost power, all warning lights came on, i had to maneuver thru traffic and drift to the shoulder, the transmission was locked up and could not be shifted from park to any gear, the accelerator would not work. The car had to be towed. The dealership said the vehicle computer had to be re-flashed/programmed. This condition could have caused an accident for an inexperienced driver. There are no fault codes indicated as to why or what caused this issue. I did find through research that a wiring harness is causing these conditions in the make, model and year vehicle. Also the transmission is related to this problem.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEMAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jul-09, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 13:43 Jul-13, 2019

IN AN IMPACT WITH A PARKED CAR THAT TOTALED THE TLX , THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED WHICH LED TO INJURY TO THE DRIVERS CHEST AND THE HIP OF THE PASSENGER IN THE FRONT OF THE CAR. THE ATTACHED PICTURE SHOW THAT THE FRONT IN IS CRUSHED WHILE THE INSIDE PICTURES SHOW THAT THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. AFTER THE IMPACT THE CAR COULD NOT BE CONTROLLED. PER DRIVER, SHE TRIED TO BREAK, BUT CAR DID NOT STOP. SHE TRIED TO TURN POWER OFF AT IGNITION BUT THAT DID NOT STOP. PUT CAR IN PARK BUT IT CONTINUED ROLLING BACKWARDS UNTIL THE CAR IMPACTED A RETAINING WALL DAMAGING THE BACKEND OF THE CAR. STILL, ACURA SAFETY SYSTEM NEVER DEPLOYS AIRBAGS. ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER, AFTER THE COLLISION ALL SYSTEMS FAILED. SHE WAS UNABLE TO BRAKE OR STOP THE CAR WITH GEARS OR TURNING POWER OFF. WE HAVE MORE PICTURES. IT SEEMS I WAS ONLY ABLE TO LOAD 1.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jun-28, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-29, 2019

Car has an auto idle reduction installed to save energy. However, the idle is set so low that when you try to start out after stopping for a traffic light, the car stalls continuously.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-12, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 21:54 Jun-23, 2019

MY CAR STALLED FOR THE SECOND TIME ON JUNE 12, 2019. FIRST TIME WAS MARCH 31, 2019. SINCE I ALREADY GOT THE RECALL NOTICE (NHTSA RECALL 19V-060) BEFORE THE FIRST TIME, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY FIXED THE ISSUE BY DOING A SOFTWARE UPDATE. HOWEVER, EVEN AFTER THE SOFTWARE UPDATE, IT STALLED AGAIN ON JUNE 12TH, 2019. IT LOOKS LIKE EITHER A NEW ISSUE OR THEIR SOFTWARE UPDATE DID NOT FIX IT. THERE IS ALSO A POSSIBILITY OF THE UPDATED SOFTWARE HAVING NEW BUGS. IN MY CAR, THE ISSUE COULD BE WITH THE COMPUTER, OR OTHER ELECTRONICS OR MECHANICAL DEFECTS WHICH ACURA HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND OUT DURING MY SEVERAL VISITS TO THEIR SERVICE. THIS IS BECAUSE MOST OR ALL FEATURES OF THE CAR HAVE BEEN MALFUNCTIONING EVERSINCE I LEASED IT. ANOTHER BIG ISSUE IS, APPARENTLY, THE CAR COMPUTER DID NOT RECORD THE STALLING THAT HAPPENED ON MARCH 31ST. THEREFORE, IT LOOKS LIKE MY CAR HAS A BIGGER ISSUE THAN JUST SOFTWARE. THE CAR (2019 Acura TLX) HAS NUMEROUS ISSUES EVER SINCE I LEASED IT IN SEPTEMBER 2018 AND THEY ALL CONTINUE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND NONE OF THE ISSUES HAD BEEN FIXED. ALL FEATURES ON THE CAR MALFUNCTION AND CAUSE DISTRACTION WHILE DRIVING. THE SAFETY FEATURES NOT ONLY DON'T SERVE THE PURPOSE OF SAFETY, BUT MALFUNCTION INSTEAD CAUSING DISTRACTION AND ARE VERY UNSAFE. THE CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN SAFER WITHOUT THESE MALFUNCTIONING SAFETY FEATURES. ACURA HAS NOT FIXED ANY OF THESE MALFUNCTIONS, ALTHOUGH I HAVE VISITED THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES. TO TOP THAT THE CAR STALLED TWICE WHICH IS EVEN MORE SERIOUS. ALTHOUGH, MY APPOINTMENT IS FOR 6/24/19 (I COULD NOT GET AN EARLIER ONE SINCE THEY DON'T SEEM TO TAKE IT SERIOUSLY), THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP CALLED ME A FEW DAYS AFTER SCHEDULING IT AND SAID SHE DID NOT EXPECT IT TO HELP. I WILL STILL KEEP THE APPOINTMENT, EVEN THOUGH THE REP INDICATED THIS STALLING WILL BE DISMISSED AS NOTHING.

Parts: WHEELS
  • Date of Incident: Jun-01, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 02:35 Jun-20, 2019

Excessive vibrations above 70mph. Brought back to dealership over 10 times and told the same thing over. They are unable to duplicate the issue since their technicians are unable to test drive over 55mph speed limit. Was also informed by a sales rep that this is a known issue.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-19, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 02:31 Jun-20, 2019

On several occasions, the driver side window does not and will not close. Window rolls up closed then immediately rolls back down. Nothing is blocking the window or stuck in the tracks. Does this a few times then finally closes. Only occurs when switch is pulled all the way for auto closing. Additionally, on a few occasions, when i make left turns, the front passenger window rolled up by itself.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-19, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 02:26 Jun-20, 2019

Vehicle has stalled multiple times after restart from idle stop. Upon releasing of the brakes or movement of the steering wheel, a half restart initiates followed by a total stall and all light on the dash flashing. This has happen about 7 times from a full stop randomly. This results in a full stall and inability to restart the car for about 10 seconds.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-14, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 11:36 Jun-16, 2019

Vehicle was in motion on a highway in very heavy traffic when brakes were employed and vehicle did not stop but grinder forward, hitting the car in front.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-07, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 16:40 Jun-14, 2019

I opened my sun roof and now it won't close. When attempting to close the moon roof will reverse direction when contacting the wind deflector and will not auto-close either. I took it into acura but was told i had to pay $350 an hour for labor because they would have to take it apart. And plus parts, the warranty does not cover does not cover this.. I don't think it is anything i did and have seen on website this has happened to other acura rdx vehicles within the last years. I will be taking my vehicle in to another place to get fixed because things get in when i drive on the freeway.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-20, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-05, 2019

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Acura TLX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 75-80 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED FROM DRIVE INTO NEUTRAL. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE BACK INTO DRIVE. THE CONTACT TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON, AND WAS ABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK, NEUTRAL, AND DRIVE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FAYETTEVILLE ACURA (LOCATED AT 2022 SKIBO RD, FAYETTEVILLE, NC 28314, (910) 864-1449) WHERE DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODES P0716 (PCM) AND B2A60-97 (POWER TRAIN) WERE LOCATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS PRESENTLY STILL AT THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V640000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-30, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 10:32 May-31, 2019

Went to accelerate and nothing happened. Every error message that could be displayed was flashing. Engine, parking brake, emission, side warning, transmission, (all) and was stuck in 3rd gear and would not shift up. (rpm should have been 2000, but was 4000 at 70mph. ) after 4 miles i could stop but no reverse. Turned off the engine, rest, turn on, reverse would work, car performed normal, with all the warnings still displayed. Continued to destination or 200+ miles and several stops, all warnings where reset.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-28, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 15:37 May-30, 2019

I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2018 Acura TLX, THE DEALERSHIP STATED THE CURRENT RECALL ON THE VEHICLE WAS FIXED BEFORE THE SALE. AFTER SEARCHING THE VIN I FOUND OUT THAT THE RECALL WAS NOT REPAIRED. I GOT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO FIX THE RECALL BUT SHOULD THE DEALERSHIP FACE ANY PUNISHMENTS/ FINES ETC. FOR SELLING A NEW VEHICLE WITH AN OPEN RECALL AFTER STATING IT WAS FIXED?

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.