Audi A3 Complaints

Audi A3 Complaints
  • 163 Complaints
  • 1 Crashes
  • 3 Fires
  • 0 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 163 complaints for A3 models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: SEATSELECTRICAL SYSTEMAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: May-09, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:10 May-11, 2021

I was driving my car with my friend in the passenger seat. All of a sudden car started made a beeping sound and my dashboard said something about safety feature being turned off/limited. Also the passenger airbag off light turned on even when the passenger seat was occupied. The vehicle was already in motion. This created an unsafe situation as passenger airbag was off when it should not have been. The passenger occupant detection system (pods) detected a malfunction and switch off the passenger airbag even though the seat was be occupied. I reached out to audi regarding this and they said that since the repair is not available yet i will have to wait. The nhtsa recall number for this issue is 21v198. The manufacturer recall number is 69by. I have attached the latest video of this situation. If you look at the video it shows that the passenger seat is occupied and still the passenger airbag off light is on. This is the 3rd occurrence of this issue. I use my car daily and since the repair is not available yet this makes my car unsafe on the road.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jan-13, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:54 May-08, 2021

I contacted audi to fix the safety recall on my car, but they don't have the fix and asks me to drive it. I do business on the car and have faced loss of income due to the recall.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Mar-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 23:00 May-01, 2021

I? Ve been waiting since march for audi nj to repair my airbag (pods) and it? S already may 1st this is absurd and completely on the hands of audi and audi only. I don? T want to risk having anyone in my passenger seat and god forbid get into an accident and it would be on my hands. Audi has to step it up because i? M more than sure i? M not the only one waiting for this to be available to service our cars.

Parts: SEATSSEAT BELTSAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:29 Apr-30, 2021

Audi recall #69z4, nhtsa recall #19v474 the car was under a previous recall for the same problem, which was? Fixed? By dealer sometime in 2019. Currently the car shows airbag is deactivated, the unbuckled seatbelt warning lights and sounds flashes even when the seat is unoccupied. Spoke the audi of ontario,ca on several occasions. They refuse to fix the vehicle. Service manager will not return phone calls. This is the second time this component had to be replaced, and the dealer is refusing to repair it. The passenger airbag off light stays on, when the seat is unoccupied, this happens as soon as the vehicle is started. The unfastened seatbelt light, and airbag light remain on while driving. Unfastened seatbelt sounds continue for 2-3 minutes after the car is started, then goes away.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-27, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 07:57 Apr-27, 2021

AUDI IS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REMEDY FOR THE PODS RECALL IN A TIMELY MANNER MAKING MY Audi A3 UNSAFE FOR PASSENGERS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 01:15 Apr-23, 2021

There is an open safety recall on my car, the manufacturer doesn? T have the fix available. I use my car to drive for lyft/uber and if the safety recall is not fixed i will not be able to drive, hence risk of losing my income and will be out of work, however, i contacted audi to fix my car, they said there is no fix available and i can continue to drive the car, lyft/uber issued me a warning that effective may 1, i will be unlisted if the safety recall is not fixed.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-19, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-19, 2021

TL* TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Audi A3. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 21V198000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CALLED AUDI OAKLAND (7201 OAKPORT ST, OAKLAND, CA 94621, (510) 984-7906) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-09, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:51 Apr-12, 2021

Check engine light came on in october 2020 car was slow to take off for several weeks and seemed to take time to shift gears. Took to audi mechanic and had to replace water pump -w/thermostat housing & intake manifold. Now i? M april 2021 car is back in shop because it wouldn? T shift out of 1st gear suddenly when i was driving with my daughter in the car, i pulled over in a parking lot to turn car off and then got an error message stating transmission malfunction cannot reverse and had to have the car towed to mechanic again. I? M told it needs mechatronic unit replaced, replace timing cover due to oil leak, evap leak and wiper fluid is leaking.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Mar-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:32 Apr-07, 2021

The car airbag warning sign comes off that passenger air bag might not be deploy because of fault sensor. It has been recalled. I tried to reach out to the audi dealership. They said that since my car does not have manufacturer warranty, this will not be fixed.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-17, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:49 Mar-31, 2021

Audi A3 QUATTRO 2016 MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP (MIL) CAME ON WHILST DRIVING SLOWLY IN TRAFFIC. I BELIEVE THE VERSION OF THE ECM IN MY VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE AND MAY BE RELATED TO "SAFETY RECALL 24DF": HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/RCL/2017/RCONL-17V508-5502.PDF HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/RCL/2017/RCAK-17V508-2021.PDF CROSS REFERENCING "APPLICATION FOR EMISSIONS CERTIFICATION 2016 MODEL YEAR" "TEST GROUP: GVGAV02.0APA", IN PARTICULAR PAGE 79 FOR MY ENGINE CODE "CNTC" WHICH LISTS SOFTWARE ID "5G0906259L": HTTPS://IASPUB.EPA.GOV/OTAQPUB/DISPLAY_FILE.JSP?DOCID=43249&FLAG=1 THE ECU PART NUMBER WAS SUPERSEDED WITHOUT BEING PROPERLY RELEASED FOR EDIR OR CAL ID AND CVN INFORMATION. PLEASE NOTE THE DIFFERENCE IN PART NUMBER SUFFIX. "B" VS "L". I AM CONCERNED THAT MY CAR IS CURRENTLY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AND NEEDS REPAIRING. BELOW IS OUTPUT FROM VCDS DIAGNOSTIC TOOL SHOWING THE FAULT AND ECU SOFTWARE ID "5G0 906 259 D" 0001 (FULL OUTPUT CAN BE PROVIDED): ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ADDRESS 01: ENGINE (J623-CNTC) LABELS:. 06K-907-425-V1.CLB PART NO SW: 5G0 906 259 D HW: 06K 907 425 B COMPONENT: 2.0L R4 TFSI H13 0001 REVISION: --H13--- CODING: 0A1D00124426000F2000 SHOP #: WSC 06385 790 00016 ASAM DATASET: EV_ECM20TFS0205G0906259D 001002 ROD: EV_ECM20TFS0205G0906259D.ROD VCID: 2F3B1884879B11D3269-807A 1 FAULT FOUND: 15059 - FUEL RAIL/SYSTEM PRESSURE P0087 00 [104] - TOO LOW INTERMITTENT - CONFIRMED - TESTED SINCE MEMORY CLEAR FREEZE FRAME: FAULT STATUS: 00000001 FAULT PRIORITY: 2 FAULT FREQUENCY: 2 MILEAGE: 119924 KM DATE: 2021.03.17 TIME: 12:39:23

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:50 Mar-16, 2021

Engine stalls while accelerating from a stop. This condition has been dangerous. Car has been to the audi dealer 3 times to remedy the problem. That cannot diagnose the issue. It is going in for a 4th time april 12th 2021. This issue is extremely dangerous. The car will lose power and stall as you are pulling out into traffic. Happens daily.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:10 Mar-12, 2021

2017 Audi A3 SEDAN- WITH AROUND 47,000 MILES -STALLED OUT IN DRIVE THRU AND AT A RED LIGHT INTERSECTION. TWICE. ALMOST GOT IN 2 ACCIDENTS WHILE DRIVING ONCE ON THE HIGHWAY AND ONCE ON A CITY ROAD. ENGINE LIGHT ON DASH WAS BLINKING. CODE READER INITIALLY WAS READING P0300, P0301 AND P0302 .. MULTIPLE CYLINDER MISFIRES. TOWED CAR TO AUDI, AND THEY DID COMPLETE MAINTENANCE SERVICE. RAN CODES AND NOW ALL OF THE SUDDEN IT NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION AND THE CODE IS P0172 BANK 1 SYSTEM TOO RICH. I NOTICED THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE THE ENGINE CONTROL UNIT (ECU) SOFTWARE AND WHICH CAN AFFECT AIR / FUEL MIXTURE WHICH MAKES ME THINK THAT THIS RECALL WAS PROBABLY THE CAUSE, BECAUSE PO172 CODE CAN BE DUE TO THE AIR/ FUEL MIXTURE GETTING TOO FAR FROM FACTORY SPECS. MY CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR 6 WEEKS, THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINALLY REPLACED BY AUDI BUT THEY ARE STILL SAYING THAT I NEED A NEW FUEL CANISTER (THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS IN 2016, AND MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED IN 2016 BUT IS A 2017 MODEL) ? I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL OTHER 2017 AUDI A3 SEDAN OWNER COMPLAINTS HAVING THIS ISSUE WITH VERY SIMILAR PROBLEM ON THIS WEBSITE AND OTHER WEBSITES. I WAS UNDER WARRANTY UNTIL 1/25/2021, BUT I LIVE 2 HOURS AWAY AND I WAS UNDER QUARANTINE SO BOOKED APPOINTMENT LOCALLY (I THINK ON 1/22/2021 WITH VOLKSWAGEN BUT SCHEDULING WAS A WEEK OUT AND ON APPOINTMENT DATE THEIR ENTIRE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS OUT BECAUSE OF COVID OUTBREAK BY THAT TIME IT WAS TOO LATE EVEN THOUGH I HAVE A TIME AND DATE STAMPED VIDEO OF THE CAR HAVING ISSUES.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Mar-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 23:14 Mar-11, 2021

Pods failure. Passenger occupancy device. When not working, passenger airbag is turned off while passenger in seat. In my case the part was replaced at 10,208 miles and failed again at 13,924 miles. Audi replaced the sensor the first time after a lot of debate, but refuse the second time. There was a recall on the harness that plugs into the sensor, but not the sensor itself. Critical airbag safety system should not fail at this mileage. There are numerous failures highlighted in many audi forums. This is a known problem for audi, and the numerous owners experiencing this failure.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-02, 2021

I PURCHASED A 2019 Audi A3 ON JANUARY 18, 2021 (VIN [XXX]) FROM AUDI DENVER. I REPLACED THE WINDSHIELD 2/19/2021, WAS TOLD THE WINDSHIELD HAD BEEN REPLACED AT LEAST ONCE BEFORE (2/2020 AT THE DEALERSHIP) AND 2 WEEKS AFTER REPLACING THE WINDSHIELD, HAVE A NEW CRACK THAT IS QUICKLY SPREADING. 4 UNREPAIRABLE WINDSHIELDS WITH ONLY 11K MILES ON THE VEHICLE? INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *TR

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:31 Feb-17, 2021

On initial start, occasionally the car will become inactive while driving (sometimes stalls/sputters & sometimes just doesn't advance even while pressing on the gas pedal). Often the car spontaneously responds within seconds if it has not stalled, but recently now it stalls and sputters, then needs to be restarted. I was pulling out of a parking lot into traffic with safe distance, when the car became "dormant" and stalled. Luckily, there was a center lane that i could coast into to avoid causing a serious accident. Upon restarting the vehicle, the screen displayed "start/stop system: malfunction". I shut off the system and drove home. The next morning, the car did the same exact thing- had just started up the car and began driving- and it lost all power to the gas pedal/we almost came to a complete stop- but the car was still running, then it quickly reset itself. This time my service engine soon light came on. I called the dealer and took it in for service. I was told that it was bad gas and that i needed to take it to certain gas stations -marathon or shell only and only put premium fuel in it (although the manual states that i can use 87 or 89). The car is unsafe and is dangerous to drive. I am putting myself and my occupants in danger and also the lives of others around me. I understand that there is a class action law suit that was filed in 2020- this cannot wait- there must be a recall- someone will get seriously hurt or even die because of this.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Feb-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:21 Feb-05, 2021

Took my car in a few weeks ago for a recall repair affecting the passenger airbag. The airbag was not able to sense when there was a passenger in the vehicle, and would randomly turn on/off even when there was a passenger in the vehicle. Had the error messages pop immediately on the way home from the dealer after their "fix". I took it back in today and they dealer said it was the actual pods sensor and it would cost $1,100 to repair! This was because the recall repair only included that wire connection. I drive my younger brother to school every day and do not think it? S fair that audi? S recall only fixed half the problem - now there? S no way to tell if the airbag is working properly and if my brother or any other passenger is safe in the car.

Parts: SEAT BELTSELECTRICAL SYSTEMAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jan-25, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 21:34 Jan-25, 2021

The vehicle was affected previously and confirmed fixed by audi under recall 69z4 for the occupant sensor. The airbag, seatbelt, audi presense error light will illuminate at times regardless of whether an occupant is sitting in the passenger seat going on and off sporadically while driving or stationary. The vehicle is eligible to be fixed under warranty, however it appears their original fix under the recall was not adequate in resolving the occupant airbag sensor light and poses a safety hazard to passengers if the airbag were to turn off while an accident occurred. After a recent diagnostic the codes that appeared are similar to what would occur prior to audi's "fix" to the recall.

Parts: SEATSAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:36 Jan-24, 2021

SHORTLY AFTER HAVING RECALL 69Z4 COMPLETED (HARNESS AND CONNECTOR) COMPLETED STARTED GETTING WARNINGS THE PASSENGER AIRBAG NOT WORKING AND WHEN SOMEONE WAS NOT IN THE PASSENGER SEAT GETTING A SEATBELT WARNING. ALSO ERROR ON DISPLAY ABOUT PRE-SENSE ERROR. WENT TO DEALER AND POINT OUT THIS STARTED RIGHT AFTER THE RECALL AND THEY SAID DIFFERENT ISSUE AND HAS IMPACTED A LOT OF OTHERS. NOW THEY SAY THE PODS (PASSENGER OCCUPANCY DETECTION SYSTEM) NEEDS TO BE REPLACED QUOTING ME APPROXIMATELY $1200 TO FIX. DUE TO THE FAULT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WILL NOT OPERATE. IN ADDITION TO MY DEALER TELLING ME IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM, WHEN LOOKING AT THE FORUMS IT SEEMS LIKE A PROBLEM ACROSS MANY AUDI MODELS, NOT JUST THE A3, S3.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Feb-12, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 14:29 Jan-17, 2021

The passenger side air bag warning light stays on at all times. If their is no passenger the seat belt warning signal goes off. The seat belt must be engaged even though there is no passenger present in order to get the signal to stop dinging.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jan-15, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 18:45 Jan-15, 2021

I went in to get the pods connector recall work done. Before this work was done the passenger airbag would go on and off intermittently, however, now the passenger airbag is always off. They are saying that the connector is a separate problem from the weight sensor. The pods system has been recalled in other audi models for this very problem.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.