Audi Q3 Complaints

Audi Q3 Complaints
  • 65 Complaints
  • 1 Crashes
  • 1 Fires
  • 1 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 65 complaints for Q3 models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Mar-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:19 May-04, 2021

MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON , SCAN SAYS THAT IGNITER IS SHORTING TOO GROUND, PASSANGER SIDE ISSUE Q3 'S ARE BUILT ON THE A3 PLATFORM AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE A3 AIRBAG RECALL 2015-2019

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Apr-21, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:41 Apr-22, 2021

AS IN PAST INSTANCE RELATED TO THE DIESEL ENGINE FUEL CONSUMPTION CASE, AUDI IS HIDING THE FACT THAT THEIR BRAKE ROTORS FOR THE Q3 2020 MODEL HAVE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. THE ROTORS ARE PRODUCED WARPED FROM THE FACTORY AND IT MAY CAUSE VARIOUS BREAKING ISSUES AS THE MILEAGE INCREASES, STARTING WITH NOISES, STEERING WHEEL AND CAR VIBRATIONS TO POSSIBLE BRAKE FAILURE. AUDI DOES NOT WANT TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE ISSUE SO THEY DO NOT HAVE TO REPAIR THESE CARS PERMANENTLY OR DECLARE THEM UNDRIVABLE AND, AS THEIR MILEAGE INCREASES TO PROVIDE WARRANTY FOR DEFECTIVE PARTS BEYOND THEIR ORIGINAL WARRANTY TERM. THEY ALSO DO NOT WANT TO MAKE THIS AN ISSUE WHICH REQUIRES A MANDATORY RECALL FOR TENS OF THOUSANDS OF VEHICLES PREFERRING TO BLAME IT ON VARIOUS OTHER FACTORS RELATED TO THE VEHICLE BEING DRIVEN TO A LESSER EXTENT AND RUST ACCUMULATING ON THE ROTORS. ​ IN FACT THEY RECOGNIZED THIS AS A KNOWN ISSUE AND REPLACED THE 4 ROTORS AFTER 4000 MILES, AND WHEN THE PROBLEM REAPPEARED AFTER ANOTHER 2500 MILES THE DENIALS AND BLAMING ON THE WAY THE CAR IS BEING USED (LESS THAN AVERAGE MILEAGE) STARTED. THEIR REFUSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM PROPERLY IN THE HOPE THAT AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRES THEY WILL BE ABLE TO CHARGE FOR REPAIRS. IN FACT, BEING CONCERNED BY THE SAFETY ISSUES RELATED TO DEFECTIVE PARTS, I OFFERED TO PAY FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THOSE PARTS AND I GOT FROM THEM A QUOTE FOR THE COSTS. THEY REFUSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM BECAUSE THAT WOULD MEAN AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF THE EXISTENCE OF THE PROBLEM (NEEDING TO REPLACE 4 ROTORS AFTER 4000 MILES AND 2 REAR ROTORS AFTER ANOTHER 2500 MILES). THEY ALSO ARE BLAMING THE CUSTOMER FOR HEAVING BRAKING WHICH CAUSES THE ISSUE WHEN IN FACT THE CAR IS DRIVEN LIGHTLY AND ONLY WHEN ALLOWED OVER THE 60 MILES/HOUR LIMIT. ISSUE SHOULD BE ADDRESSED WITH A PERMANENT FIX.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-14, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-16, 2021

Car leased july 2020, has 1936 miles, check engine light came on 4/14/21, took to dealer , left for repair. Dealer states? Replace fuel pump module? Required. This car also had problem in march 2021 which i reported where car shut off while driving. Dealer said software update was required from recall that i had not gotten notice for.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-21, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 05:50 Mar-27, 2021

We stopped at an all way stop intersection and the car's stop-start system had turned off the engine. When the engine restarted the engine hesitated, warning lights lit up on the dash, and the car went into its "limp home" mode. We were in the process of making a left hand turn and the car would not accelerate above a very slow speed. Luckily it was on a city street with a 25 mph limit and traffic was light. We were able to make it through the intersection and pull to the side of the road. We turned the car off and waited a few seconds and restarted it. The car worked normally after restarting and the problem has not happened again. I have received a notice for a recall that seems to address the issue (oem id: 96h5. Recall name: engine control unit (ecu) software) and have scheduled an appointment with my dealer to have it installed asap.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-18, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:39 Mar-21, 2021

I PURCHASED MY AUDI 2020 Q3 IN NOVEMBER 2019. SINCE THE PURCHASE, ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE CAR HAS FAILED TO ACCELERATE UNDER VERY SPECIFIC SPEED CONDITIONS. IN EACH CASE, THE VEHICLE HAD SLOWED EITHER DUE TO A SHARP CURVE WHILE ENTERING A FREEWAY OR FOR A SLOWER VEHICLE IN FRONT OF MY VEHICLE WHILE ENTERING THE FREEWAY. WHEN TIME CAME TO ACCELERATE TO MATCH THE SPEED OF THE FREEWAY TRAFFIC, ADDING POWER WAS FUTILE. DRIFTING ON TO A FREEWAY AT 20 MILES PER HOUR AND DECELERATING; WHILE FREEWAY TRAFFIC IS MOVING AT 70 TO 80 MPH (CALIFORNIA) IS UNNERVING AT BEST AND CERTAINLY, POTENTIAL DEADLY. AUDI CALLS THE THE PROBLEM "LIMP MODE". AUDI OF AMERICA, INC. ISSUED EMISSIONS SERVICE ACTION 96H5 - ENGINE CONTROL MODULE (ECM) SOFTWARE WHICH CLEVERLY DANCES AROUND THE REAL THREAT WHICH IS THE POTENTIAL FOR A SERIOUS OR FATAL ACCIDENT. IN MARCH 2021, WHEN 96H5 CAME AVAILABLE IT WAS INSTALLED ON MY VEHICLE. THE NEXT WEEK I TOOK A ROAD TRIP OF SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES. UNFORTUNATELY, THE THIRD " ENGINE LIMP MODE" OCCURRENCE HAPPENED NEARLY RESULTING IN A MAJOR ACCIDENT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENTER THE FREEWAY. NHTSA NEEDS TO RECOGNIZE THE SERIOUSNESS OF THIS SPECIFIC PROBLEM. THE CURRENT SOFTWARE FIX IS NOT A FIX. PEOPLE WILL EVENTUALLY DIE.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:05 Mar-12, 2021

ON FOUR OCCASIONS, THE ENGINE STOPPED WORKING AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT ABLE TO BE TURNED. THIS PREVENTED THE DRIVER FROM MOVING THE VEHICLE FORWARD AND STEERING OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. IF THE CAR IS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, THE PROBLEM RESOLVES WITH THIS RESET. THE INTERVALS BETWEEN THESE EPISODES HAVE BEEN SEVERAL MONTHS. THERE ARE NO SPECIFICALLY COMMON VARIABLES, OTHER THAN A LOWER SPEED - START/STOP AS IN WAITING TO CROSS A LINE OF TRAFFIC OR PROCEEDING THROUGH A STOP SIGN. I HAVE TAKEN THE Q3 TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES NOW AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT A SOFTWARE UPDATE IS THE FIX. RECENTLY THE CAR HAS BEEN MAKING A VIBRATING NOISE WHEN COASTING, AND IT LOST POWER IN AN INTERSECTION ON THE WAY TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE. THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AND EVEN ACTIVATED THE PARKING BRAKE. WE ALWAYS DISABLE THE CAR'S AUTO START-STOP FEATURE, AS WE SUSPECTED THAT TO BE INVOLVED, BUT THAT IS NOT THE ISSUE. WE FEEL THIS CAR IS UNSAFE AND THE AUDI DEALER SEEMS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE AND RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. OUR FIRST AUDI PURCHASE, WE HAD ONE OF THE FIRST 2020 Q3 TO ARRIVE IN THE US AND FOUR SHUT-OFF INCIDENTS SINCE WE PURCHASED THE CAR IN OCT 2019. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN LESS THAN ANTICIPATED DUE TO COVID, REMOTE SCHOOL/WORK AND NO TRAVEL. PERHAPS MORE FREQUENT DRIVING WOULD HAVE ACCELERATED THE CLAIM PROCESS FOR US. IRONICALLY, WE CHOSE THE CAR FOR ITS SAFETY FEATURES PRIMARILY FOR OUR TEEN/YOUNG ADULT DRIVERS. THE CAR HAS SHUT DOWN FOR THREE DRIVERS, TWICE FOR OUR TEEN AND ONCE FOR EACH OF THE PARENTS, SO WE ARE CONFIDENT THAT THE PROBLEM EXISTS AS DESCRIBED AND PERSISTS DESPITE ATTEMPTS TO FIX IT. EACH TIME WE FELT IT WAS RESOLVED DUE TO A LONG INTERVAL BETWEEN INCIDENTS, BUT TODAY WAS MORE FRIGHTENING THAN OTHERS DUE TO THE INTERSECTION WHERE IT OCCURRED. THIS COULD CAUSE A CRITICAL ACCIDENT.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-11, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Audi Q3. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE STOPPED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN PARK HOWEVER, WAS JERKING. THE BRAKING SYSTEM MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT CALLED AUDI ROCHESTER HILLS (45441 DEQUINDRE RD, ROCHESTER HILLS, MI 48307, (248) 997-7400) AND WAS INFORMED THAT A SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-09, 2021

Car completely shut down, driving 30 miles an hour, had no power or steering. Dealer? Never heard of it? But had a recall software update i had not been told about for the? Engine control unit?? Software ea888 bosch and continental. And? Internal control module performance caused lost power to vehicle? Also clock sets to midnight and they don? T have a fix for it

Parts: WHEELS
  • Date of Incident: Mar-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 21:12 Mar-03, 2021

Driving on the highway at approximately 60 mph, all of the sudden the car loses control and is fishtailing. I was able to regain control and pull off the road at an exit ramp. The passenger side rear tire was completely blown out. I do not recall running over anything or hearing a pop, the tire simply exploded. The tires are continental contiprocontact 255/40/19. The tire pressure sensor did not indicate low pressure before the blowout or following the incident.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:00 Feb-13, 2021

After stopping at a sign on a busy road, the engine fully shut down after a second or two of acceleration. A warning came on the dash to pull car over and call dealer. The engine was completely dead, but i was able to coast to side of road. After thinking about the situation for a few minutes, i started up the car again since i was in a precarious location. I drove it another ten miles to my destination without any issues. After reaching my destination, i called audi roadside assistance. They sent a tow truck (it took just under four hours to arrive). They then towed car to elk grove audi, which is when i learned that audi knew of this problem but was not updating the software until problems developed in the cars. I feel that i was very lucky that the stalled engine did not happen on highway or that i did not have any passengers in car. The outcome could have been very bad. After contacting audi customer service a few days later, they (? Maria? On message line) said they would look into the issue and contact me by friday feb 12. I never received any further communication from audi.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Feb-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 01:22 Feb-09, 2021

Truck reads faint or old lanes on the road & will often jerk the truck over to the old lane vs the actual lane that is being driven. When you try to take control its really hard as if the steering wheel locks. Recently the sensors for forward collision can sense pedestrians walking ahead of the truck a few feet away & will engage the emergency breaks as if were going to hit the pedestrians who aren't even close to us. The breaks upon release from a light or backing out of the drive way makes a horrible grinding noise. Audi said its a characteristic of the truck! Today while driving the truck seemed to be shaking a little & reducing speed. When i pulled into the parking space the truck was still shaking. An alert lit up the dash board "drive system: malfunction! Please contact service. The tachometer was fully red 1-8 vs 7-8. I tried to give the truck a little gas to stop the shaking, but that did work. I shut the truck off waited & turn it back on the message was cleared. I was scared to drive it, but took the truck to audi where it is being looked at. Auto start/ stop locks the steering wheel upon restarting & has taken off extremely fast in a jerking motion which could cause an accident. This was said to be another characteristic of the truck. It seems to be a lot of dangerous characteristics with this truck that are not mention before leasing. My previous a4 had similar features & these issues never occurred. I don't feel safe in this truck its brand new 2020 with 5k miles & it seems to be issue after issue.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Dec-23, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:11 Feb-06, 2021

The clock time and date keep resetting

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jan-25, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:52 Feb-01, 2021

In front passenger seat if passenger sits on a cushion (my wife has hip problem) or blanket etc it turns off passenger airbag. Reported numerous time to dealer and their response is audi designed it that way. Easily replicated. Next, vehicle unexpectedly and without provocation suddenly accelerates at low speeds? 4-5mph to 9-10mph. Its unnerving especially if car in front. Airbag is all the time everywhere. Acceleration is going from stop to moving parking lots, stop light, etc. Both have happened since delivery. Reported to dealer numerous time. No answer.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-18, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:49 Jan-19, 2021

Timing chain jumped as i was driving on the freeway

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Jan-30, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:07 Jan-19, 2021

THIS PARTICULAR MODEL OF Audi Q3 HAS POOR QUALITY BREAK PADS AND ROTORS, IF YOU LIVE NEAR THE OCEAN LIKE ME IN MIAMI BEACH, THE BREAKES GET DAMAGED AT ONLY 8,000 MILES INTERVALS AND THEY CAN FAIL CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I REPORTED THE ISSUE TO DEALER AND MANUFACTURER, AND THEY HAVE FULLY WASHED THEIR HANDS. THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUE, AND HAVE NOT ISSUED A RECALL. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF RETAINING CLASS ACTION COUNSEL TO PURSUE CLASS ACTION LITIGATION.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLLANE DEPARTUREENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-16, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:10 Jan-18, 2021

On january 16, 2020, i was driving on a local street and started slowing down for a stop sign. I had forgotten to turn off the auto start/stop switch as is my usual practice, so i deactivated it before stopping. When i hit the switch, i got an error message telling me the cruise control was no longer available, the engine warning light came on, and the motor started shuddering. As i tried to pull away from the stop sign, the car wouldn't accelerate more than 7 mph. Towed to dealer. They are trying to track the fault. I have also had problems with the lane keeping detection system since i bought the car in august, 2020. The system is supposed to come on automatically when the vehicle is started. Half the time it doesn't come on when started; other times, when making multiple stops during a day's driving, it comes on at random times. Some days it never comes on. Other days it comes on each time. Dealer can't find fault. Turning it on manually doesn't guarantee that it'll turn on the next time you start the vehicle.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:15 Jan-10, 2021

I BOUGHT MY 2020 AUDI Q# PREMIUM PLUS S LINE AS A CPO FROM AUDI OF NATICK IN NATICK MASS 0N 9/26/2020. IT HAD APPROXIMATELY 4500 MILES ON IT WHEN I TOOK DELIVERY OF IT. THE CAR MAKES AN UNUSUAL NOISE FROM THE REAR BRAKES WHENEVER I USE THEM. THIS IS NOT NORMAL AND USUALLY ONLY HAPPENS WHEN BRAKE PADS ARE WORN TO THE POINT OF HAVING LITTLE TO NO BRAKING MATERIAL LEFT. I MENTIONED THIS TO THE DEALER BEFORE I TOOK DELIVERY AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NORMAL. IVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 45 YEARS AND KNOW THAT THIS IS ANYTHING BUT NORMAL. I DROVE A NUMBER OF 2020 Q3'S AND THEY ALL DID IT. I ALSO DROVE ONE 2019 Q3 AND IT DID NOT DO IT. I KNOW THAT THIS IS A TYPICAL COMPLAINT AMONG THE OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES AND WANT AUDI TO RECTIFY IT.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Nov-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:37 Jan-01, 2021

THE FIRST PROBLEM WAS ON JANUARY OF 2020 MY AUDI Q3 JUST STOPPED RUNNING ON A VERY BUSY ROAD WHEN I WAS IN MOTION. I CALLED THE AUDI ASSIST NUMBER AND A TOW TRUCK WAS DISPATCHED TO MY LOCATION. I HAD ONLY HAD THE Q3 FOR 2 MONTHS AND IT ONLY HAD 2000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. IT WAS TOWED TO AUDI OF WARWICK AND THE NEXT DAY THE DEALER GAVE ME A LOANER VEHICLE ANOTHER 2020 Q3 AS THEY SERVICED MINE. THE LOANER AUDI Q3 DID THE SAME THING AND WENT INTO ?LIMP MODE? ON A BUSY ROUTE. THIS TIME AUDI OF WARWICK GAVE ME A Q5 MODEL TO DRIVE WHILE THEY COMPLETED THE SERVICE ON MY Q3. WHEN I PICKED MY Q3 UP I WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED WITH A SOFTWARE UPDATE. FAST-FORWARD TO NOVEMBER 5, 2020 MY AUDI Q3 HAS ABOUT 10,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AND WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AGAIN WENT INTO ?LIMP MODE? WHEN I WAS IN MOTION CROSSING A BUSY 6 LANE 4 WAY INTERSECTION. VERY UNSAFE AS THE CAR WOULD BARELY MOVE FORWARD SO I COULD PULL OVER TO THE CURB. ONCE AGAIN I CALLED THE AUDI ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE NUMBER MULTIPLE TIMES OVER AN HOUR FOR A TOW AND NO ONE ANSWERED. I HAD CALLED MY HUSBAND AND WHEN HE ARRIVED HE CALLED TRIPLE AAA ROADSIDE SERVICE AND THEY DISPATCHED A TOW TRUCK. ON FRIDAY NOVEMBER 6 MY HUSBAND DROVE TO AUDI OF WARWICK TO SPEAK WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER ABOUT MY CAR CAUSING A SAFETY ISSUE, ETC. THE DEALER FOR THE SECOND TIME DID A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND RETURNED THE Q3 TO MY HOME. AUDI OF WARWICK SAID THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED WHICH WAS WHAT I WAS TOLD ALMOST A YEAR PRIOR WHEN I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM OCCUR TWICE IN TWO SEPARATE Q3?S (DESCRIBED ABOVE). I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE SAFETY AND UNRELIABILITY OF THE 2020 Audi Q3 AND THIS SOFTWARE PROBLEM. I TRIED CONTACTING AUDI CUSTOMER SUPPORT DURING THEIR BUSINESS HOURS YESTERDAY DECEMBER 30, VIA AUDI CHAT AND WAS UNABLE TO SPEAK WITH A REPRESENTATIVE AS THERE WAS NO ANSWER.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:19 Dec-26, 2020

Drive system malfunction- 05dec2020 as i was driving on the city street (35mph) the speed stalled(decelerated) at 12mph, i pressed on the accelerator pedal all the way down in order to increase the speed but will not increase. I pulled to the side and stopped and then turned off the vehicle. I waited for about 5mins then restarted the vehicle. Drive system malfunction alarm cleared afterwards; i was able to accelerate to the speed of 35mph. The vehicle returned to normal operation state.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Dec-07, 2020

On the passenger door, the aluminum wrap that covers the interior door handle used began to peel at the crease. When i reached to open my passenger door from the inside, the aluminum deeply cut my finger. The vehicle was parked and turned off.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.