BMW 228I Complaints

BMW 228I Complaints
  • 17 Complaints
  • 2 Crashes
  • 2 Fires
  • 3 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 17 complaints for 228I models.

Recent Complaints

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-09, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:08 Mar-09, 2021

Vehicle gave warning of "left rear turn signal malfunction" and "left brake lamp malfunction". Checked lights and they are very dim and not functioning properly. Removed tail light assembly and the ground wire terminal is partially melted.

2020 BMW 228I
Parts: WHEELS
  • Date of Incident: Jul-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:46 Jan-15, 2021

I got my car in may 2020. I have never had any issue with the tire for 8 years of my entire driving history. But for this car, my tire ran flat in july 2020, after running over a small pothole on a local road, and it ran flat again in jan 2021 after running a super tiny pothole on a highway. How could a tire be this fragile?

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:55 Nov-11, 2020

While driving on the highway that alert came up saying your car is not working at its full capacity your power train is defective. That may not be the exact wording however, very close to it. After the warning came on, my car slowed down as though it did not want to drive and i had a very difficult time to get over on the freeway.. It would not accelerate. It was very terrifying. It happened on more than one occasion approximately three times and when i took it to the shop the dealer said this was related to the fuel system. I got it fixed approximately three weeks ago and as of yet it has not happened again. I will continue to watch it because this would not happen every time i drove the car, it happened sporadically.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Sep-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Sep-17, 2020

Tl* the contact owns a 2015 bmw 2281. The contact stated that when attempting to park the vehicle with the brake pedal engaged, the vehicle suddenly accelerated, went down an embankment, and the vehicle came to a stop after crashing into a tree. The contact also advised that the driver? S and passenger frontal air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered seat belt bruises and injuries to the left shoulder, chest and right breast. The contacts front passenger also suffered injuries to the back and neck. As a result, medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an unknown bmw collision center. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:05 Jul-28, 2020

Rear left turn signal/brake light stopped working and warning light came on intermittently. Normal driving in city. Went off and on for several months, now the warning is active all the time, and left tail light/turn signal no longer work.

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: SEAT BELTS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:00 Apr-21, 2020

After multiple issues with the driver seat belt getting tangled and not working properly, i went to my local bmw dealership to have the issue fixed. While it was fixed for a period of about three days it got tangled again, and now is completely nonfunctional due to the fact that the mechanism holding the seatbelt in place appears faulty. I cannot, my letter of the law, drive my automobile with a seat belt but that does not work.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-04, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 11:25 Dec-18, 2019

On december 4, 2019, i was driving my bmw x1 to work at 52 mile per hour when the engine all of sudden stopped working. This almost got me into a very deadly car accident during busy traffic. Fortunately, i was driving in the left lane approaching a left turn lane into our office plaza near us department of homeland security, uscis office. I tried every means to restart the engine, it would not start, i checked the battery and found it good. I purchased this car in 2015 brand new from braman bmw west palm beach, our bmw x1 2015 was produced in january, 2018 and the n20 engine installed on this vehicle must have been manufactured in 2014, which should be covered by the bmw recall filed with national highway traffic safety administration. My car bmw x1 2015 is still within 7 years of the extended warranty put into effect after a prior class action law suit. Currently, there is a pending class action lawsuit which has been certified by the federal court and which will prevail soon. This class action lawsuit covers 2012-2015 vehicles with n20 and n26 engines. Putting customers safety and their lives before their profits and bmw and braman bmw west palm beach will have to uphold its promise to the minimum quality standards in the automotive industry, guaranteeing the lives of drivers and americans. Bmw has to stand by its quality guarantee and the basic industry quality standard and any and all manufacturing defects by bmw must be corrected and repaired at its own expense.

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Aug-24, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:01 Aug-26, 2019

Was driving down the highway around 65mph. There were no cars or trucks around me. As i was driving i suddenly heard a loud explosion type sound. I heard glass shatter and wind start to enter my car. I was absolutely shocked and almost lost control of my vehicle. I took the next exit off the highway and parked my car. Upon exiting, i saw a huge gaping hole in my glass sunroof, along with the remaining glass completely shattered and cracked. There is currently a lawsuit on-going about manufacturer defects on bmw causing sunroofs to explode. I believe i was a victim of this. As seen in the pictures, whatever caused the glass to "explode" pushed the glass to an outward direction, where as a rock would not cause this type of patter.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-18, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:07 Apr-09, 2019

Driving down the highway at 60mph my sun roof suddenly exploded. There were no other cars nearby and no overpasses or signs above. The temperate was about 40f. My sun shade visor was closed but glass still came down on the heads of myself and the passenger. I exited the highway at the first exit about 1/4 a mile down the road. There was no physical damage to the sunroof before this happened.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: TIRES
  • Date of Incident: Mar-06, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-27, 2018

As oem on my bmw 2 series are pirelli cinturato p7 a/s rft (bmw) bwauto - run flat, size:225/40r18, in the past 3 years i have had 6 flats due to potholes. These tires are inappropriate for the vehicle. Any simple bump and they blow. Even bmw warns about how they are not appropriate for cars and rough roads. I would like to see bmw replace these tires at their expense because they are inappropriate and a safety problem at highway speeds.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-31, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 09:11 Nov-02, 2017

The engine quit running while on interstate highway. A message appeared on the dashboard screen "maximum drivetrain output not available. " the engine re-started after pulling off the highway and placed in "park". This event occurred on two different occasions approximately 4000 miles apart.

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Oct-18, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-18, 2017

Rear brake pads replaced at 6,000 and 20,000 miles.

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: SEAT BELTS
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 14:59 Oct-17, 2017

Both front seat belts become easily tangled/twisted and will not retract. The only way to get out of the belt is to pull it all the way out and then it gets stuck all the way out and will not retract. This happens on average every 50 times of using the belt. I have returned it to dealer 5 times and untwist it, but told me there is no way to fix it. This happens to both seat belts (driver and passenger side front belts). This has been happening on this vehicle since i purchased it a year ago. I have returned it to the dealer for this same repair 5 times so far. It is currently stuck again.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: VISIBILITYELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-05, 2017

Tl* the contact owns a 2015 bmw 228i. While driving various speeds, the windshield wipers started to function independently and then stopped in the middle of the windshield. The wiper motor malfunction warning indicator illuminated, the vehicle stalled, and the transmission warning indicator illuminated. The contact noticed smoke coming from the engine and coasted the vehicle to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to tom bush bmw orange park (6914 blanding blvd, jacksonville, fl 32244, phone number: (904) 777-2500) where it was diagnosed that the fuses and wiper motor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

2016 BMW 228I
Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-02, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Feb-09, 2017

On feb 2, 2017 my car (2016 bmw 228i) spontaneously combusted in my driveway after being parked for approximately 4-1/2 hours. The vehicle had less that 13,000 miles on the odometer, and was last serviced (which was the 1st scheduled service) three months prior at the bmw dealership. I purchased (jan 2016) the vehicle new which was special ordered and delivered from germany (mar 2016). I had no mechanical or electrical problems prior to the incident. The vehicle was totally engulfed in flames and destroyed in approximately 10-15 minutes from the fire ignition time (muffled explosion and flames observed from my living room windows) as a result of the car fire, my townhouse home also caught fire and suffered extensive damage. In addition, my wife's car which was parked adjacently was also damaged. I believe that 2016 was the first year that the 228i model was imported into the u. S. , but i would also point out that there are numerous reports on the internet indicating similar fire incidents throughout the world for perhaps the last 6-7 years with various bmw model cars. I only found this information (through a search) after my incident (see: https://bmwproblems. Wordpress. Com/bmwownersbeware/). I was recently contacted by voicemail by abc news investigative office indicating that they were also in the process of researching bmw fires. As such, this failure appears systemic of an inherent design flaw. The massachusetts state fire marshall was at the scene and had the car towed away for further investigation. At the time, he indicated to me that an electrical problem was a probable cause. I have not received any final reporting from the state. My insurance company is also investigating. In addition, bmw na has also responded to my reporting the incident by indicating that they would also be sending an investigator. *js

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: SEAT BELTS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-11, 2016
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-14, 2016

Tl* the contact owns a 2015 bmw 228i. The contact stated that the seat belts became jammed in the door pillar, which caused the seat belts to fracture. The dealer confirmed that the seat belts fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

2015 BMW 228I
Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Oct-26, 2016
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-26, 2016

Bmw hit vehicle directly in front while emergency braking from approximately 60 mph and was subsequently hit directly from behind in i-70 4 car pile-up. The airbags deployed in vehicle in front (kia) and vehicle behind (audi) but did not deploy from bmw. Driver's chin was gashed open, probably from impact with steering wheel as a result of airbags not deploying. Whiplash, bruising, soreness also shown in driver following accident.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.