Buick Encore GX Complaints

Buick Encore GX Complaints
  • 17 Complaints
  • 2 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 2 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 17 complaints for Encore GX models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:34 May-10, 2021

CAR HAS LESS THAN 30 (THIRTY) MILES ON IT; GARAGED SINCE PURCHASE BC OF PANDEMIC; STARTED OCCASIONALLY; BATTERY DEAD WHEN I TRIED TO GO OUT LAST WEEK; CHARGED BATTERY; DIED AGAIN; CHARGED AGAIN; CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALERTED ONSTAR, WHO SENT EMAIL STATING PROBLEMS W/ENGINE & TRANSMISSION SYSTEM, POSSIBLE ISSUES W/FUEL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM, EMISSIONS CONTROL, MISFIRE CONDITION... ONLY 30 MILES! NEW CAR! JUST DROVE HOME FROM DEALERSHIP AND PARKED IT. TRIED CHATTING W/BUICK CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE, BUT THEY CUT ME OFF 3 TIMES OVER 2 HOURS, SO I GAVE UP THAT EXERCISE IN FUTILITY. DEALERSHIP IS UNPLEASANT; TRYING A DIFFERENT DEALER. GOOGLED RECALLS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE THE EMISSIONS SYSTEM RECALL ON THE 2021 Encore GX, BUT MINE IS A 2020. WHY WOULD A BRAND NEW, $38,000-CAR BE SO FRIGHTENINGLY UNRELIABLE? I TRADED IN TWO CARS AND SAVED MANY YEARS TO BUY THIS. I?M AFRAID TO EVEN DRIVE IT IN FOR SERVICE. MY DAD WAS A PATENTED ENGINEER. I MISS MY DAD.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Mar-19, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-06, 2021

TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Buick Encore GX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AS NEEDED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY LUNGED FORWARD WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REVERSE INTO A PARKING SPACE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BELLAVIA CHEVROLET BUICK (199 NJ-17, EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ 07073) THE BRAKES AND TRANSMISSION VALVES WERE REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AFTER RECEIVING APPROVAL FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE DEALER FOUND 3 PIECES OF RUBBER INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION WHEN IT WAS TAKEN APART. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE AND A CASE WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,529.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-09, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:43 Apr-13, 2021

The vehicle has a software anamoly according the the dealer that has my ses light on and my pre-collision alters seem to not be working since this occurred. The ses light came on 4/9/21 and was taken to the dealer. I picked the vehicle up about 6 pm 4/12/21 and the light was on still and noticed immediately that the pre-collision warning did not work when another vehicle cut me off and stopped short in front of me. I do not feel safe driving the vehicle. Buick was supposed to have another dealer contact me to get a second opinion but as of this they have not contacted me. They expect mt to drive the vehicle and ignore the light so if something does happen i will have no way of knowing because the light is just always on. If gm cannot keep up with software updates to keep their customers safe perhaps they should no longer be in the automotive business.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-14, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:32 Mar-17, 2021

Started having trouble last week with the fuel gauge and a check engine light. Took the car in to have it serviced and they found that rodents had chewed through the harness located by the fuel. Cost $850 to repair which was not covered under warranty. Had the car back two days and went to use the car and it completely stopped functioning once we pulled out into traffic. We live on a highly tractor trailer traveled road and having the car just stop working could have ended in an accident if a car was coming from either direction. My son was in the passenger seat and i am incredibly upset that they could have been hurt. We needed to call the police and a tow truck with my youngest son in the car. Received a call from the dealership after inspection to find of the same harness has been chewed through again. The harness apparently is a soy based product. We are being told once again this is not covered under warranty and my bigger concern is how this is going to stop happening. This does not sound like an outside influence but rather a manufacturing defect. Using a soy based product maybe cheaper to manufacture and better for the environment but it's going to make the car completely unsafe for my family to be in. If the harness is going to be made out of a soy based product and i believe that this should be something now covered under warranty and not expected for us to pay out of pocket for.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSTEERINGSERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Feb-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:25 Feb-03, 2021

2/3/2021 i was driving with my daughter today. She was driving and we were approaching a left hand turn at an intersection. We had a green light and i could see that her foot was on the brake. She started the turn with her foot still on the brake. The vehicle accelerated while her foot was on the brake and the steering wasn't responding. We hit a telephone pole. This vehicle was purchased less than 2 weeks ago and has less than 115 miles on it. This is a major safety issue.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 08:50 Jan-25, 2021

The brake assist continues to fail and is a safety hazard. It fails unexpected so often that it is dangerous and we are somewhat afraid to drive this vehicle. This issue began a few weeks after purchased. Request an urgent fix or the opportunity to return this vehicle for a different safer vehicle.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSERVICE BRAKESENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-23, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:52 Jan-23, 2021

I was driving home approx 6:00 pm as i was starting on l75 my buick 2020gx with less than 300 miles started to speed up to a very fast my brakes did not slow me down the car kept speeding up i was very scared when the car kept going faster now i am scared to drive it there was almost a crash trying to slow down

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:37 Jan-18, 2021

When i purchased this vehicle i noticed squeaking of brakes and problems eccentrically with wipers and back gate light open close light, reported to texian dealer and nothing was done, car of course in motion and moving. Later after complain of problems texan dealer responded to deaf ears, i told them i did not want this vehicle and they would do nothing and never did. I went to another dealer(demontrond buick) and bk customer service listened to the issues and put new brakes in car, it stills squeaks but not as much as before. Car was worked on but at least they tried to find and fix problems. The wipers intermittent never worked and they got them to work but only wipe after about 35 to 55 seconds after turned on and even in driving, the lift gate still at times does not work, the car is a lemon, very disapponted and someone should do something to this vehichle and warn people esp about the brakes, could cause someone to have a crash and be killed.

Parts: STEERINGSERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Dec-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 06:15 Dec-25, 2020

While driving up to an intersection i applied my foot to the brake pedal. Upon doing so the pedal did not move as if it was locked in place. I applied more pressure as i was coming up to the intersection and then the steering wheel locked in place as if the car was off. The brake pedal went completely to the floor with no brakes being applied. I quickly began pumping the brakes which started to slow me down but not before driving right through the intersection. I pulled over after i was able to slow the car down to a stop, turned off the vehicle, waited a few minutes, and turned it back on. I was able to return home but immediately called the dealership.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Dec-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:30 Dec-23, 2020

Brakes are noisy more going in reverse. Dealer ordered updated front brakes on 12/8/2020 and as of 12/23/2020 they have not been received and do not have a date when they will be in. Tried to call gm customer service but they do not answer the phone. Also when the car was in the repair shop they completed recalls #'s a202310450, a202295530 & a202301230. Also i never received any notices on any recalls from buick.

Parts: STEERINGSERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-25, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Buick Encore GX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V588000 (SERVICE BRAKES) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED WHILE DRIVING DOWN HILL HOWEVER, FAILED TO ENGAGE AS DESIGNED. ADDITIONALLY, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ENGAGE THE PARKING BRAKE. THERE WERE SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO JOYCE BUICK-GMC, INC. (38039 CHESTER RD, AVON, OH 44011, (440) 934-6600) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER, PROGRAM MODULE, BRAKING SYSTEM, AND ENGINE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH A CASE NUMBER. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 752.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Nov-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-23, 2020

Tl* the contact owns a 2020 buick encore. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph she received an alert that the stabil trak system and the anti lock brake system were malfunctioning. The lights said do not travel over 62 mph. The contact felt the brakes going all the way to floor and not braking properly. The contact was able to pull into a parking lot and shutoff then restart the vehicle. The warning lights did not reappear so the contact continued on the road. When contact got on the road, the indicators went off again and she pulled over off the road into a parking lot. The contact did same process of shutting off and restarting and was able to finally arrive at her home. The contact called the dealer southtowne motors 695 bullsboro dr, newnan, ga 30265 (678) 619-4902. The dealer said they could not set an appointment right away and had no loaners for the contact. There was a current nhtsa recall 20v588000 (service brakes) on the vehicle. The manufacturer had not been contacted yet and the vehicle remained unrepaired. The failure mileage was 1. 487.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 04:16 Nov-21, 2020

I purchased this vehicle 9/25/2020. Recall nhtsa# 20v588 issued 9/24/2020. I was not contacted by dealership who sold vehicle until 9/29/2020. There was an active recall on vehicle. Recall status: incomplete remedy not yet avalable.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Nov-13, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-17, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Buick Encore GX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE HIS DAUGHTER WAS AT A STAND STILL AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, WHEN SHE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE, CAUSING HER TO SHOOT FORWARD AND HIT THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER. THE CONTACT STATED THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A HEAD FRACTURE WHEN SHE WAS IMPACTED AND HIT THE STEERING WHEEL. THE DRIVER DID SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION AT A NEAR HOSPITAL. THE CONTACT STATED THE FRONT VEHICLE'S DRIVER DID SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION FOR UNKNOWN INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DRIVABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT CALLED LOCAL DEALER CARLISLE CHEVROLET BUICK GMC CADILLAC (1701 US-287 BYP, WAXAHACHIE, TX 75165; (972) 938-8000) AND WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED AS OF YET. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN INFORMED OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:54 Oct-28, 2020

GENERAL MOTORS HAS DECIDED THAT A DEFECT WHICH RELATES TO MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY EXISTS IN CERTAIN 2020 MODEL YEAR CADILLAC CT4, CT5 AND XT4 VEHICLES, 2020MODEL YEAR CHEVROLET CORVETTE VEHICLES, 2020 ? 2021 MODEL YEAR Buick Encore GX VEHICLES, AND 2021 MODEL YEAR CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER VEHICLES. MATERIAL USED IN A SENSOR CONNECTION IN THE ELECTRONIC BRAKE BOOST SYSTEM IN THESE VEHICLES MAY HAVE BEEN CONTAMINATED DURING THE MATERIAL SUPPLIER?S PRODUCTION PROCESS. CONTAMINATION OF THIS MATERIAL MAY CAUSE AN INTERRUPTION OF COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE SENSOR AND THE BRAKE BOOST SYSTEM UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS. SAFETY RISK: IF COMMUNICATION WITH THE SENSOR IS INTERRUPTED, ELECTRONIC BRAKE BOOST ASSIST COULD BE LOST. EXTRA PEDAL FORCE WILL BE REQUIRED TO SLOW AND STOP THE VEHICLE, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. REMEDY: DEALERS WILL REPLACE THE ELECTRONIC BRAKE BOOST MODULE. RECALL STATUS: RECALL INCOMPLETE. REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Oct-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-27, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Buick Encore GX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, SEVERAL UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS PUMPED SEVERAL TIMES TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER INTO A PARKING SPOT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO SCHUMACHER BUICK GMC (3031 OKEECHOBEE BLVD, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33409, (561) 935-4239) AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V588000 (SERVICE BRAKES) HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT YET AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000.*DT *TR

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-07, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Buick Encore GX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE MAKING A U-TURN, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOORBOARD BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE PARKING BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND PARKED AT A NEARBY PARKING LOT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION TEXT OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V588000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT FELT UNSAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS LEFT IN THE PARKING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE LOCAL DEALER ED MORSE SAWGRASS BUICK GMC LOCATED AT 14351 W SUNRISE BLVD, SUNRISE, FL 33323, (888) 377-2660, WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT PARTS WERE NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO REACH THE MANUFACTURER FOR ASSISTANCE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 1,251.*DT*JB

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.