Buick LaCrosse Complaints

Buick LaCrosse Complaints
  • 74 Complaints
  • 6 Crashes
  • 1 Fires
  • 5 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 74 complaints for LaCrosse models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:40 Apr-13, 2021

The passenger side power mirror changes position by itself. Also when i hit a bad bump or pothole the doors unlock

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-12, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:29 Apr-07, 2021

Car doors unlatched (becoming in open position [unlocked and unlatched] before it being completely open). It happened twice, ones when i was driving and the warning buzzer turned on and the instrument panel give me a message telling me the driving door is open, this is happened suddenly after driving for 10 minutes in very good local streets condition. I stopped to check the door and i was surprised to find its been unlatched to the pre open position. Second time happened when was the car parked and looked, after about 30 minutes the car horn starts beeping and the lights flashing, l got a message from onstar on my phone telling me my car doors are in open position. I went out to check the car and i found the driver side rear door is in open position (pre open position, unlocked and unlatched position, if you pull the door it will open completely). This is a safety concern

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Feb-20, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 06:59 Mar-04, 2021

Service air bag maintenance warning ⚠️

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:30 Feb-26, 2021

Purchased vehicle july 25, 2020. Took the car for its first oil change, in october. On nov 23, 2020, the car engine light came on while driving on the highway. Error code: p0430 "catalyst system low efficiency bank 2". On nov 24, 2020, i took the car to "rick mathews gmc/buick dealership" for diagnostic and repair. They placed an order for the parts needed for repair and told me, that my car was drivable. On dec 4, 2020, i was having problems with driving on a city street with the car shaking, i was scared to take the highway but that was my only way home, and the loud engine noise and shaking continued. On dec 7, 2020, i took my car back to the dealership and they told me my car was inoperable because the catalytic converter had cracked and the parts were still not available to complete repairs. That day they provided a rental/loaner vehicle for me to drive to work until the car was repaired. On jan 13, 2021, i had to swap out vehicles because the part was still not available to complete repairs. It is now feb 26, 2021, and the dealership has told me that my car is finally being repaired. This entire time, i have continued to pay for the monthly cost of my personal car loan while not being able to drive it. I only got to drive my car 4 months before it was stuck in the shop and i still continue to pay for my personal car monthly. The dealership is now asking me to pay a "rental" fee for the use of their vehicle, and it has taken 3 months to finally repair my vehicle, all because the manufacturer gmc/buick was out of stock of a 2017 car part. I have tried to resolve this with the manufacturer and have a case# (sr:9-6454995176). I've been in contact with them and the dealership since dec 7, 2020.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 07:22 Feb-07, 2021

Would not start at all, once we got it started and headed down the road, the car shut off while driving. Very dangerous.

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jan-24, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:59 Jan-26, 2021

Service: power steering drive with care as i turned on my street. As i turned to park the steering wheel was very hard to turn. Went to check power steering fluid, no power steering pump. This vehicle has electric power steering, however fuse #23 is a 10 am fuse but it was good. There is no 80 amp fuse on the battery post. This is a hazard and should be fixed.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Dec-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 06:24 Dec-30, 2020

At 25 - 30 mph and at 45 - 50 mph the car shakes violently. I took it to the dealership for a diagnostic. They said they knew exactly what it was. I need a new lower and upper transmission. That is the recommended fix. That is something that happens to chevy transmissions and the cost is $5400. It seems to me that if this is something that goes wrong all the time, that's a problem that i did not create. My vehicle is worth less than the cost of the fix and i still owe more than twice the cost of the fix.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Sep-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Dec-16, 2020

I OWN A 2019 Buick LaCrosse E-SHIFT (VIN#[XXX]). OVER THE LAST 4-5 MOS. I HAVE HAD 3 INCIDENTS WHERE THE E-SHIFT MECHANISM HAS GONE INTO PARK WITHOUT TOUCHING THE SHIFT CONTROL. 1. FIRST OCCURRENCE - APPROX. 5 MONTHS AGO CAR WAS IN DRIVE AT VERY SLOW SPEED ENTERING PARKING SLOT WITH FOOT LIGHTLY DEPRESSED ON BRAKE. CAR CHANGED TO PARK ON IT'S OWN. STOPPED ABRUPTLY, GEARS GRINDING, JERKING ME TOWARD STEERING WHEEL. 2. SECOND OCCURRENCE - AROUND 10/10/20, CAR WAS IN DRIVE, FOOT LIGHTLY DEPRESSED ON BRAKE, WAITING TO MAKE LEFT TURN AT STOP LIGHT. CAR CHANGED TO PARK ON IT'S OWN. AGAIN THE CAR STOPPED ABRUPTLY, GEARS GRINDING, JERKING ME TOWARD STEERING WHEEL. I SCHEDULED APPOINTMENT WITH DEALER MAINTENANCE ON 10/13/20. THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. ASKED FOR ME TO RETURN THE CAR SO THEY COULD HAVE OVERNIGHT. DUE TO COVID ESCALATION HAVE NOT SCHEDULED APPT. 3. THIRD OCCURRENCE - ON 12/11/2020, I WAS WAITING AT A RED LIGHT, CAR IN DRIVE, FOOT FULLY DEPRESSED ON BRAKE, AND THE CAR SHIFTED TO PARK ON IT'S OWN. I HEARD THE CAR LOCKS CLICK, AND WONDERED WHAT CAUSED THAT. WHEN LIGHT CHANGED AND I TRIED TO ACCELERATE, THE CAR DID NOT MOVE, AND IT WAS THEN I NOTICED IT WAS IN PARK. I INTEND TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER FOR THEM TO SEE IF THEY CAN REPLICATE. THEY HAD NOTHING IN THEIR DATABASE ON 10/13/2020 REFLECTING OTHER COMPLAINTS. I'M SOMEWHAT SKEPTICAL THEY CAN REPLICATE DUE TO THE RANDOM OCCURRENCES. BUT IT DEFINITELY SEEMS TO BE IN THE SHIFT PARK COMPONENT OF THE CAR I AM NOW VERY HESITANT ABOUT DRIVING THIS CAR. SINCE IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY, AND ABRUPTLY, WITH NO FOREWARNING, I AM CONCERNED FOR MY SAFETY. MY QUESTIONS ARE: 1. HAS ANYONE REPORTED A SIMILAR PROBLEM TO YOUR GROUP? 2. WHAT OTHER INFORMATION DO YOU REQUIRE? 3. WHAT OTHER ACTIONS SHOULD I TAKE? 4. WHAT OTHER GROUPS CAN I CONTACT TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE PROBLEM? INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *TR

Parts: FUEL SYSTEM GASOLINE
  • Date of Incident: Aug-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-30, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Buick LaCrosse. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON PARKING HER VEHICLE IN HER GARAGE, A STRONG FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO LOU FUSZ BUICK GMC (10950 PAGE AVE, ST. LOUIS, MO 63132) WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A FUEL LEAK. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED OUT OF POCKET. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 34,000.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-31, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:48 Sep-28, 2020

Occasionally there is a loud sound in the cabin of water sloshing back and fourth under the dashboard. Some days it will happen when the engine starts. Other times, it is after driving several miles. Sometimes it happens a few days in a row. Other times it will go a week with no noise. The gm mechanic verified that the coolant level is fine. It happens when the car is stationary or moving. I have not heard it at high speeds.

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Aug-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Aug-21, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Buick LaCrosse. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKING HER VEHICLE AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED, THE POWER STEERING DRIVE WITH CARE AND SERVICE BRAKE ASSIST WARNING MESSAGES APPEARED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME STIFF AND DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED HER THAT SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS AN ELECTRIC VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE TO BE SERVICED AT A DEALER. THE CONTACT SPOKE TO CLASSIC BUICK GMC ARLINGTON (1400 E INTERSTATE 20, ARLINGTON, TX 760180) WHERE SHE WAS INFORMED TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER HAD YET TO BE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD YET TO BE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,150.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Jun-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:01 Aug-01, 2020

While driving home on a city street we noticed that both low and high beam lights were not working.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jul-13, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-29, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNED A 2016 Buick LaCrosse. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A DEER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED WITH THE INTENSE EXCESSIVE EXPLOSION FROM THE AIR BAGS CAUSING THE PASSENGER OF THE VEHICLE TO GO DEAF IN WHICH MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A BODY SHOP. THE CONTACT CONTACTED GROWNEY MOTORS, INC (1160 MAIN ST, RED BLUFF, CA 96080 (530) 527-1034) OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000. *BF *AS

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-23, 2000
  • Date complaint filed: 15:31 Apr-24, 2020

Gears of transmission abrupt and hard constantly flashing some kind of service transmission jerks on auto stop been having problems since i got it starting at about 10000 miles now has 48000 miles

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Apr-22, 2000
  • Date complaint filed: 15:13 Apr-24, 2020

I have had my car in shop at least 10 times for the same reason and it never ends. They keep changing or doing something to the gear shifter. It keeps saying service transmission now it saying all kinds of warnings about steering exceeding speed track something plus service transmission won? T shift soon etc it? S ridiculous to pay this much for a car and have it in the shop this many times in 2 years it? S in there again now and problem still isn? T fixed

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-08, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 21:50 Apr-20, 2020

Radio won't turn on after i start car. However if i turn on radio before starting car and the door is open it will come on. If i leave the radio on and shut car down and leave car, when i return & before start the car, the radio will come on upon start up. Seem like there is a radio control switch in the door area that is tempermental.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-02, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Feb-07, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Buick LaCrosse. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 35 MPH, WITHOUT WARNING THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FLOW COMPANIES OF FAYETTEVILLE (1945 SKIBO RD. FAYETTEVILLE, NC 28314) BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,345.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Apr-23, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Feb-06, 2020

2017 Buick LaCrosse. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ISSUES WITH TRANSMISSION. *LD THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY SEEMED TO STICK OR DOWNSHIFT INTO LOW GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND APPEARED TO BE NORMAL. THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. *JS

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-22, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 11:00 Feb-02, 2020

Backup camera light is so bright at night that it blinds the driver and you can? T dim it.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-20, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jan-27, 2020

2018 Buick LaCrosse. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SHUTTING OFF SUDDENLY. *LD THE CONSUMER STATED THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER UPDATED THE SOFTWARE , BUT COULD NOT GUARANTEE THE FAILURE WOULD NOT RECUR. *JS

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.