Chevrolet Equinox Complaints

Chevrolet Equinox Complaints
  • 689 Complaints
  • 46 Crashes
  • 5 Fires
  • 52 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 689 complaints for Equinox models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Aug-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:20 Aug-02, 2020

The wipers on our chevy stopped working. Come to find out that the ball joint rusted out. This was a known issue with the 2013 models and chevy did not carry this recall to the 2015 to 2016 models that are also affected by this issue. Our unit is a 2016 and we just had this issue where the wiper blades stop working right in the middle of a heavy rain storm. We almost got in to a very bad car crash due to zero visibility as we was driving in a rain storm. The other issues we keep having with this car and the chevy dealer says it's not a issue. Is when the car starts the engine vibrates and sputters a lot. An the engine delays when you need to excel going on the high way.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Aug-01, 2020

The engine light is on

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-14, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:41 Jul-31, 2020

Two weeks after i purchased the brand new car it started acting up making loud screeching noises, and turning off on its own. The dealership said their was nothing wrong with it. Toom it in 4 times and yet nothing was wrong with the car according to them it was me. Finally they had to tow the car because it turned off on me good thing i was barely leaving my home and it's now been 8 months and nothing has been done to fix the car it's just sitting at the dealership because they can't figure out why it turns off on it's own. They denied me a rental car because the car was deemed safe but yet the car has turned off on them but still it is safe. I don't know what to do or who to ask for help but neitjer gm nor chevrolet want to solve this. They say it's a buy back but yet no one is willing to give me any other information.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-28, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:39 Jul-31, 2020

Check engine light on. Kills when put in reverse. Hard to accelerate. Oil was changed two weeks ago but that did not help. Found code p0010 for the intake camshaft solenoid performance. Tested the intake solenoid and it had 1. 4k ohms. Should be between 8-13ohms. Replaced the intake and exhaust camshaft actuator solenoids.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: May-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:19 Jul-30, 2020

While in motion the car randomly and quickly decelerates and will not allow you to accelerate. Phillips chevrolet has attempted to repair the car citing engine power reduction,transmission, stabilatrak and non verifiable issues over a 2 month period. Within that 2 month period, may 18, 2020 to july 24, 2020, there were 7 attempts to repair the car. All 7 attempts were unsuccessful. Between june 22, 2020 and july 30, 2020 there were more than 20 telephone calls placed between general motors and i, regarding this vehicle and it's engine, transmission and non-verifiable issues. General motors and phillips chevrolet are refusing to acknowledge that the car is a lemon. There are currently a little over 8,500 miles on the car and i am in fear of my life each time i enter the car and i have made phillips chevrolet and general motors aware of this issue. This is my second nhtsa report. The initial nhtsa report is 302587, was filed on june 22, 2020. Phillips chevrolet and general motors are refusing to provide me with a safe vehicle to travel in despite 7 service visits with phillips chevrolet, and more than 20 telephone interactions with general motors. There a more reports but your system will only allow me five documents,

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:21 Jul-27, 2020

2015 Equinox HAD A WINDSHIELD WIPER FAILURE DURING HEAVY RAIN MAKING THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. AFTER INVESTIGATING FOUND THAT THE BUSHING ON THE WIPER MOTOR WAS FILLED WITH DIRT AND CAUSED IT TO SEPARATE LEAVING THE WIPERS INOPERABLE.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Jul-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-27, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 Chevrolet Equinox. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNDISCLOSED SPEED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT WAS FIRM CAUSING THE BRAKING DISTANCE TO BE EXTENDED. THE SERVICE BRAKE ASSIST WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. RADLEY CHEVROLET (3670 JEFFERSON DAVIS HWY, FREDERICKSBURG, VA 22408, (540)898-4000) WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO THE MANUFACTURER FOR ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:43 Jul-26, 2020

While driving on the highway (approx. 55mph) in pouring rain, wipers were on high-speed and stopped in the upright position abruptly. Thankfully was only one exit away from my home but had to drive without wipers. Very dangerous!

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:05 Jul-24, 2020

Wipers stopped working while in use in a rainstorm while driving on the highway.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Jul-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:43 Jul-23, 2020

9 months aga, complete brake failure while driving on the highway. Dash said service brake assist. Turner chevrolet in crosby, tx replaced the vacuum pump making the brakes work. Now we had the same issue again while driving on the highway at highway speeds. In both cases, we instantly lost all braking, but were able to slow down by letting off the accelerator and had enough distance to slow down.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:09 Jul-22, 2020

Purchased car 11/2014. Car completely shut off twice between 11/2014 and 02/2015. Had car towed to dealership. Was told computer was bad and was replaced. From 02/2015 - 07/2020 car has shut off over 50 times. Had car repaired to replace numerous sensors - camshaft to oxygen. Car would just off in the middle of driving on busy city streets and interstate highway. Recently car shut off in the middle of a busy intersection and i was almost hit. Car shut off 2 weeks ago during a major rain storm and the windshield wipers stopped working on the interstate. Car is now in the shop and being told the computer must be replaced and windshield linkage need to be repaired. Total cost of over $1,000.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-15, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 13:12 Jul-21, 2020

I have had problems with this vehicle brought to the dealers attention and was told not covered. Vehicle stalled out and i was rear ended due to issue with power train

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:47 Jul-20, 2020

OWN A 2015 Chevrolet Equinox. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC MARCH 2019 FOR THE SAME FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY AT THE SAME INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AWAITING DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000 THE FIRST TIME AND 166000 THE SEND TIME

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:44 Jul-20, 2020

Windshield wipers stopped working driving down the road in a rainstorm the bushing went out again this is the second time it's happened to me in a year

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:50 Jul-20, 2020

While driving in a heavy thunderstorm yesterday, 7/19/2020, our wipers stopped working in the upright position. We were unable to see the roadway and had to find a side street to pull on to until the rain subsided.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:21 Jul-20, 2020

It started raining as we left a parked location so the wipers were turned on. Within a moment the wipers stopped in the up position. The wiper motor could still be heard running and the wipers were free to move by hand to any postion.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-20, 2020

With not quite 63,000 miles the check engine light keeps coming in and i get alerts from on-star. My mechanic looked it up and an occurring problem with this yr. Its a valve that sends oil to the dual cams... It had no power and was using way more has and oil than usual... This is the 4th time in a month it has been looked at... It also seems to have the lurching tranny problem

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:22 Jul-19, 2020

The wipers stopped working in the upright position while driving in the middle of a heavy rain storm. I pulled over to move them back down and tried to turn them on and the wipers would not move. We had to pull over until the rain let up.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 22:09 Jul-18, 2020

Front wiper blade bushing easily come apart. It was raining and i was driving when the wipers stopped working. Doing research this seems to be a common issue that has not been taken into account for repair.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-11, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:51 Jul-11, 2020

2016 Chevrolet Equinox, 87,000 MILES HIGHWAY MILES. WHILE DRIVING IN THE POURING RAIN THIS MORNING THE WIPERS COMPLETELY STOPPED. HAD TO IMMEDIATELY PULL OVER SINCE I COULD NOT DRIVE IN THE RAIN WITHOUT THEM. THE MOTOR WAS STILL RUINING BUT THE WIPERS WERE NOT MOVING. CALLED ONSTAR TO ASK FOR THEM TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC. THE CORPORATE RESPONSE WAS THE WIPER SYSTEM WAS NOT CONSIDERED AN ESSENTIAL FUNCTION EVEN THO IT SHOULD BE IN SITUATIONS LIKE THIS. HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO THE SHOP SINCE WE ARE IN A DOWNPOUR RIGHT NOW AND IT COULD NOT BE DRIVEN THERE. THE SHOP SAID THE MOTOR WAS FINE, IT WAS THE WIPER TRANSMISSION THAT IS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT/SHOT! THIS CAR IS 4 YEARS OLD THE WIPER TRANSMISSION SHOULD NOT BE COMPLETELY SHOT/BURNT OUT.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.