Kia Complaints

  • 4041 Complaints
  • 280 Crashes
  • 228 Fires
  • 250 Injuries
  • 9 Fatalities
  • A total of 4041 complaints have been filed with NHTSA for vehicles that are model year 2015 or newer. 6.2%, or 250 of those complaints have caused some degree of injury. 6.9%, or 280 were crash related, and 5.6%, or 228 complaints describe fire-related incidents.

Recent Complaints

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:16 May-12, 2021

MY 2016 Kia Optima IS USING A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES.THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT DID A OIL CONSUMPTION TEST AND CONFIRMED THE CAR WAS USING THAT MUCH OIL AND IT WAS NORMAL OIL USE ACCORDING TO KIA.I TOLD THEM I DIDN?T AGREE THAT IT WAS NORMAL AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT MAN AGREED IT WAS A LOT OF OIL TO USE BUT SAID HE HAD TO GO BY KIA?S GUIDELINES AND I COULD FILE A COMPLAINT ON THE KIA WEBSITE. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH KIA AND WAS CONTACTED 3 WEEKS LATER AND TOLD THE SAME THING THAT 1 QUART OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES WAS WITHIN KIA SPECIFICATIONS.THE CAR IS STILL UNDER THE 100,000 MILES EXTENSION WARRANTY AND THE DEALERSHIP HAS DONE ALL OIL CHANGES

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:15 May-12, 2021

Contract 100k miles/10 years. Current mileage 92388. Still within warranty contract. While driving, 12/6/2020, my car stopped running after a brief warning on the dash. Check engine and oil light came on. Within a few minutes, i heard a noise, and the engine shut down. There were no oil leaks or any fluids under the car. I towed the car home. I towed to ray brandt kia in harvey la 12/7/20. A month later, i was told the engine failed. By 1/4/21, i was asked for permission to tear down the engine for inspection. 1/8/21 brian murray,svc mgr. Said valve cover to be removed for inspection. Fidelity warranty/ray brandt kia approved repairs re: ro101874. Per vicky, the inspector directed the timing belt replacement. On 1/13/21, test runs done to see if it fixed the problem but no compression. No action taken on recall 20v750. Per vicky, ray brandt recommended replacing the engine. Used engine found for replacement with approx. 42k miles. Per vicky at ray brandt svc dept. I received recall letter dated 1/25/21 by mail. Called vicky about recall. She confirmed it on her computer. Ray brandt called days later to say fidelity denied my claim. They stopped all repairs. Told i had to call fidelity for documentation. Called but no response. After sending a certified letter 3/9 to legal. Nancy beausejour called. She sent a reply dated 4/7. First two inspections reveal oil and other fluids are good and no sludge in the engine. This was prior to two more inspections with different conclusions. Final inspection show engine warped. Due to ignoring the recall, no action on service department recommendations and test runs without repairs, the engine warped. Before this failure, i had no engine overheating. Since 4/22/21, after 5 calls to kia consumer assistance ctr. ,called. May 12, 2021

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-22, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:26 May-12, 2021

There was a recall on the catalytic converters and the dealership in columbus, georgia, said they replaced it. Kia of columbus only had the car 20 minutes when they said they were completely done changing the part out. Now there? S a knock in the motor, the car left my daughter stranded on the highway, it wouldn? T go over 40 mph and it had to be towed. Sons kia in mcdonough, georgia did a diagnostic on it which said it needed a new engine assembly. I don? T believe the converter was replaced in the first place causing the current damage to the vehicle.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-22, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:25 May-11, 2021

The car was bought in jan 2021 from a dealership with under 20,000 miles. It was not inspected by the dealership prior to them selling it. They did not offer a warranty on this car. In april 2021, the engine died. There is no recall on this vehicle at this time, but clearly there is a problem with this motor. 0

Parts: WHEELSSTEERINGSERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:39 May-11, 2021

We have contacted the kia dealer where we bought the car multiple times about brake issues. The car was still under warranty. Well today it happened. When my husband hit the brakes the car pulled to one side, almost flipped and hit a guard rail.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.