Kia POWER TRAIN Complaints

Kia POWER TRAIN Complaints
    • 456 Complaints
    • 17 Crashes
    • 10 Fires
    • 12 Injuries
    • 0 Fatalities
    • Consumers have filed a total of 456 complaints related to Kia POWER TRAIN.

    Recent Complaints

    Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
    • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
    • Date complaint filed: 17:15 May-12, 2021

    Contract 100k miles/10 years. Current mileage 92388. Still within warranty contract. While driving, 12/6/2020, my car stopped running after a brief warning on the dash. Check engine and oil light came on. Within a few minutes, i heard a noise, and the engine shut down. There were no oil leaks or any fluids under the car. I towed the car home. I towed to ray brandt kia in harvey la 12/7/20. A month later, i was told the engine failed. By 1/4/21, i was asked for permission to tear down the engine for inspection. 1/8/21 brian murray,svc mgr. Said valve cover to be removed for inspection. Fidelity warranty/ray brandt kia approved repairs re: ro101874. Per vicky, the inspector directed the timing belt replacement. On 1/13/21, test runs done to see if it fixed the problem but no compression. No action taken on recall 20v750. Per vicky, ray brandt recommended replacing the engine. Used engine found for replacement with approx. 42k miles. Per vicky at ray brandt svc dept. I received recall letter dated 1/25/21 by mail. Called vicky about recall. She confirmed it on her computer. Ray brandt called days later to say fidelity denied my claim. They stopped all repairs. Told i had to call fidelity for documentation. Called but no response. After sending a certified letter 3/9 to legal. Nancy beausejour called. She sent a reply dated 4/7. First two inspections reveal oil and other fluids are good and no sludge in the engine. This was prior to two more inspections with different conclusions. Final inspection show engine warped. Due to ignoring the recall, no action on service department recommendations and test runs without repairs, the engine warped. Before this failure, i had no engine overheating. Since 4/22/21, after 5 calls to kia consumer assistance ctr. ,called. May 12, 2021

    2021 Kia SOUL
    Parts: POWER TRAIN
    • Date of Incident: May-07, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 10:42 May-11, 2021

    I i was on the interstate and my car started making a loud noise and decelerated. It seemed to lose power, i turned around and started home as i was very frightened. The car accelerated without pressing the gas, decelerated without pressing the brake. The tachometer was swinging around wildly. The car most of the time seemed to have no power. I was afraid of a rear end hit by another car or flyling into the back of the car in front. I was trying to limp it in to the dealer. The car only had 3400 miles on it and i had had it for 7 months. At one point i had to stop for a red light and the car would not move. I put on the warning flashers and tired to edge to the side of the street as there was a bit of slope. I turned the car off and restarted it and was able to get it to the dealer about 2 miles away with very little power. They told me it has to have a new transmission. They said they are replacing the transmission with a different kind and it will be safe not to worry, though confidence in the vehicle is diminished. I understand that the ivt transmission that kia developed in 2020 has been giving problems.

    2021 Kia SOUL
    Parts: POWER TRAIN
    • Date of Incident: Apr-27, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 16:04 May-07, 2021

    Vehicle was parked on a slight slope parking space backing to a one-way public road in national park. It was a designated parking space. The vehicle was running and in the p mode of gear selection. I exited the driver's door for few minutes. Then opened the driver's side door with the intent to shut the engine. The car started rolling back, crossed the road, and stopped by a sandy embankment. I was thrown off by the open door on the sandy bank. The engine stopped and i observed the vehicle in d mode by itself. I was able to start the car in the p mode and was pulled out with help of several people who observed this near-miss serious accident. This was a rental car. No further problems observed. Car returned to the rental company.

    Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
    • Date of Incident: Sep-18, 2020
    • Date complaint filed: 15:56 May-05, 2021

    Got in my car september 2020 and heard knocking under hood. Drive it to the penzoil less than 15 minutes away and i knock got faster and louder. Penzoil told me park it and tow to nearest kia. Extremely disheartening i? M 23 y/o single mother. Now with a broken car. 16000 in debt for a year and half worth of driving less than 80000 on odometer jeeeshhh kia. Hopefully we get recall soon

    Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
    • Date of Incident: Apr-02, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 16:53 May-03, 2021

    SINCE THE BEGINNING OF APRIL 2021, AND JUST AFTER THE ODOMETER TURNED OVER TO 10K MILES, MY E-Niro HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING A BIZARRE BEHAVIOR THAT POSES A POTENTIALLY SERIOUS SAFETY RISK. THIS TAKES THE FORM OF TOTAL LOSS OF ACCELERATION POWER FOR A FEW SECONDS, USUALLY AFTER DEACCELERATING TO A NEAR STOP (USUALLY, BUT NOT ALWAYS, WHEN USING THE PADDLE ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL TO REGENERATIVELY BRAKE) THEN PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, OR WHEN MAKING A VERY TIGHT TURN (E.G., INTO A PARKING SPACE). POWER RETURNS A FEW SECONDS AFTER THE PAUSE, AND I CAN CONTINUE. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS, AND THERE HAS BEEN NOTHING SIMILAR HAPPEN PRIOR TO THE START OF THIS BEHAVIOR AT THE BEGINNING OF APRIL. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN GARAGED AND CHARGED NORMALLY AND NO EXTREME WEATHER CONDITIONS OR OTHER FACTORS HAD BEEN PRESENT BEFORE THIS WAS FIRST NOTICED. INSTANCES NOW SEEM TO BE INCREASING IN FREQUENCY THE PAST COUPLE OF WEEKS, HOWEVER. ON 2 OR 3 OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE ACTUALLY BACKED UP A COUPLE OF FEET (ON LEVEL GROUND), WHICH WAS FRIGHTENING BOTH FOR ME AND THE AUTO BEHIND ME AND COULD HAVE RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT. ON THE OTHER OCCASIONS, BEING MOMENTARILY UNABLE TO ACCELERATE IS ALSO CONCERNING (FOR INSTANCE WHEN IT DIES HALFWAY INTO A TRAFFIC CIRCLE OR IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN STARTING TO MAKE A TURN). ALTHOUGH NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE INITIALLY SEEN, I NOW GET A "CHECK ELECTRICAL SYSTEM" WARNING WHEN THIS POWER LOSS HAPPENS, SOMETIMES EVEN WHEN THERE HAS BEEN NO LOSS OF POWER TO THE MOTOR. THE WARNING LIGHT DISAPPEARS AFTER THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TURNED OFF AND ONLY REAPPEARS WHEN ANOTHER INCIDENT OCCURS. I HAVE ASKED THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT ABOUT THIS, WITH NO FIRM RESPONSE YET. I'M REPORTING TO DOCUMENT THIS IN THE EVENT OTHERS EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM.

    Comparison List:
    Comparison list is empty, please add cars.