Kia FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM Complaints

Kia FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM Complaints
    • 237 Complaints
    • 11 Crashes
    • 19 Fires
    • 5 Injuries
    • 0 Fatalities
    • Consumers have filed a total of 237 complaints related to Kia FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM.

    Recent Complaints

    Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
    • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
    • Date complaint filed: 17:15 May-12, 2021

    Contract 100k miles/10 years. Current mileage 92388. Still within warranty contract. While driving, 12/6/2020, my car stopped running after a brief warning on the dash. Check engine and oil light came on. Within a few minutes, i heard a noise, and the engine shut down. There were no oil leaks or any fluids under the car. I towed the car home. I towed to ray brandt kia in harvey la 12/7/20. A month later, i was told the engine failed. By 1/4/21, i was asked for permission to tear down the engine for inspection. 1/8/21 brian murray,svc mgr. Said valve cover to be removed for inspection. Fidelity warranty/ray brandt kia approved repairs re: ro101874. Per vicky, the inspector directed the timing belt replacement. On 1/13/21, test runs done to see if it fixed the problem but no compression. No action taken on recall 20v750. Per vicky, ray brandt recommended replacing the engine. Used engine found for replacement with approx. 42k miles. Per vicky at ray brandt svc dept. I received recall letter dated 1/25/21 by mail. Called vicky about recall. She confirmed it on her computer. Ray brandt called days later to say fidelity denied my claim. They stopped all repairs. Told i had to call fidelity for documentation. Called but no response. After sending a certified letter 3/9 to legal. Nancy beausejour called. She sent a reply dated 4/7. First two inspections reveal oil and other fluids are good and no sludge in the engine. This was prior to two more inspections with different conclusions. Final inspection show engine warped. Due to ignoring the recall, no action on service department recommendations and test runs without repairs, the engine warped. Before this failure, i had no engine overheating. Since 4/22/21, after 5 calls to kia consumer assistance ctr. ,called. May 12, 2021

    Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
    • Date of Incident: May-07, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 15:37 May-09, 2021

    Vehicle consumes oil at high rate. Approximately 5 qts per 3000 miles driven sometimes more often. After new oil is added, acceleration will delay at times, usually when starting from a complete stop. When the vehicle begins moving forward a cloud of bluish/white exhaust will be created. The clouds of exhaust occurs more often just after an oil change or oil is added. Will continue for the first 1000 miles then will become less frequent as more oil is consumed and the amount remaining in the oil pan is lessened. Has occurred since i purchased the car.

    Parts: STEERINGFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
    • Date of Incident: May-03, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 06:07 May-03, 2021

    My car stalled as i started to drive. As i started to park again it shut down. I waited a few minutes and it started again. My intention is to get it to the dealership asap.

    Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
    • Date of Incident: Mar-03, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 12:30 Apr-27, 2021

    Yes ive been experienceing a strong gas smell when idle and a fast not normal oil consumption and problems withe the elctric system

    Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
    • Date of Incident: Apr-01, 2021
    • Date complaint filed: 12:51 Apr-24, 2021

    I get an error code p050a in temperatures below 50 f after starting the car. The csr has 68k miles on it. This code relates to cold start idle air control performance. Had the car in the shop and a faulty purge solenoid was replaced and throttle bore cleaned. Now three weeks later, i get the same code again. Car seems to drive fine, but when i first start the motor seems to surge for a few seconds. I am concerned this issue will damage the motor or might even create a safety hazard.

    Comparison List:
    Comparison list is empty, please add cars.