Kia Optima Complaints

Kia Optima Complaints
  • 664 Complaints
  • 40 Crashes
  • 44 Fires
  • 36 Injuries
  • 2 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 664 complaints for Optima models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-14, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:57 Jan-15, 2021

Burning oil and engine failure

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jan-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jan-12, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 Kia Optima. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING LOCKED IN MID TURN WITH THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT CALLED PERRIS VALLEY KIA (707 E 4TH ST, PERRIS, CA 92570) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE ONLY WAY TO REPAIR THE DEFECT WAS TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE WITH THE DEALER FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD. THE CONTACT DECLINED THE OFFER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 35,000.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:36 Jan-10, 2021

I was just getting on to the highway and my sunroof exploded! It took me a second to realize thats what had happened it sounded like a very loud pop or gun shot almost i pulled over and seen my entire sunroof had exploded

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:03 Jan-09, 2021

While driving about thirty miles per hour in traffic i heard a bang and my sunroof exploded. Thankfully the sun shade was closed or shards of glass would have hit me. The car behind me swerved probably to avoid the glass. It was scary and i initially thought an accident had occurred. The manufacturer needs to figure out how this happened and change the design to prevent it.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:48 Jan-06, 2021

When i took my vehicle into the car wash, as soon as i pulled in, i heard a sound that didn? T sound the best. Once i got to the end of it, when the air was blowing off my car, i saw something fly off my car. This was my manufacture fin shark antenna that had some how broke off. Upon further research, i have discover this common occurrence within this vehicle. Both, most commonly while in car washes and while driving. So, it this could possibly be inspected and recalled, that would be great.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-31, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:42 Jan-02, 2021

Getting onto the freeway accelerating, when heard rattling and saw smoke, exited the freeway and parked the vehicle. There was no warning or lights that came on prior or during this time. Had the car towed to the nearest kia dealership in city of carson. I received a phone call on saturday 1/2/2021 from tony at the dealership asking for permission to diagnose the vehicle. I agreed to the diagnostic testing. Received a call back within an hour to notify me that there was a hole in the engine, no repairs could be done and i needed a new engine. I asked how did the hole get in the engine. He said there was an internal rod that shot out of the engine creating a hole. It will cost $8,875 and will take around 3-4 weeks to repair. I purchased this vehicle in october 2017 with approx. 3000 miles on it. Started having issues with electrical about a month or two after purchase 2017-2018. I had to have it towed to the kia in cerritos because it was inoperable, since then we have had it in to be serviced and have had multiple issues. Including another major issue in august 24, 2020 when they repaired the active air flaps and a new battery.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLEXTERIOR LIGHTINGENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-23, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:24 Dec-27, 2020

MID SEPTEMBER, 2020, I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT MY HEADLIGHTS WOULD TURN OFF AS I WAS DRIVING. THEY WOULD CUT OFF FOR NO MORE THAN 15 SECONDS AND TURN BACK ON. I DIDN'T THINK ANYTHING OF IT, UNTIL I STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH OTHER COMPONENTS OF MY 2016 Kia Optima. ON 11/30/2020 I WAS DRIVING AT 30MPH THROUGH A RESIDENTIAL AREA. AS I WAS APPROACHING A STOP SIGN, MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WHEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE, THE CAR BEGAN TO JUMP AND HESITATE. NO MATTER HOW FAR DOWN I PUSHED THE GAS, THE CARE WAS JUMPING/SHAKING AND WOLD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 20MPH. I PULLED INTO AN AUTOZONE WHERE THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST ON THE VEHICLE. ERROR CODE P1326 (KNOCK SENSOR) CAME UP. THE NEXT MORNING, I CALLED COASTAL KIA OF WILMINGTON IN NORTH CAROLINA AND EXPLAINED TO THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED. THEY SENT AN EMPLOYEE TO PICK UP MY VEHICLE (12/01/2020). THEY INSPECTED MY VEHICLE AND INFORMED ME THAT THE PROTOCOL WAS TO PERFORM A BEARING CLEARANCE TEST AND ECU UPGRADE. I PICKED UP MY CAR ON 12/02/2020. A WEEK LATER, I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN AND INFORMED THEM THAT ALTHOUGH MY ENGINE LIGHT HAD NOT COME BACK ON, THE ACCELERATION ISSUE WAS STILL OCCURRING. I ASKED IF THEY WOULD LOOK AT THE CAR AGAIN, TO WHICH THEY SAID NO, THAT THEY CANNOT TAKE A FURTHER LOOK AT IT UNTIL THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. ON 12/20/2020 I WAS DRIVING 40MPH WHEN MY CAR BEGAN TO STUTTER UNCONTROLLABLY. THE FOLLOWING MORNING I CALLED KIA AGAIN TO INFORM THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED, AND THEY AGREED TO TAKE A LOOK AT IT. ON 12/22/2020 THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THAT MY CAR WAS BURNING OIL AND SMOKING EXCESSIVELY. THEY OPENED A TECH CASE WITH KIA AND INFORMED ME THAT THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING TO THE CAR UNTIL THEY HEARD BACK FROM THEM. ON 12/23/2020 THEY CALLED ME AGAIN TO TELL ME THAT THE ISSUE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER A RECALL, AND THAT MY NEXT STEP WOULD BE TO REPLACE MY ENGINE.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULICENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Dec-21, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Kia Optima. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V519000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOSS MOTIVE POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OFF THE ROADWAY AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE THEN WAS TOWED TO VICTORY KIA (5101 N. NAVARRO ST, VICTORIA, TX 77904, (361) 333-4542) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-03, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:58 Dec-18, 2020

I LEASED A NEW #KIA #Optima #PHEV FROM YOU IN JULY OF 2018. IN JULY OF 2020, THE CHARGING CABLE LODGED IN THE CAR AND IT TOOK 4 HOURS FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO REMOVE IT. ON DECEMBER 2, 2020, I GOT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR SERVICE, BUT BEFORE I COULD BRING IT ON DEC 3, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BECAME A TURN ENGINE OFF NOW LIGHT, AND THE CAR STOPPED DEAD IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY HIGHWAY WITH A WISP OF SMOKE FROM UNDER THE HOOD, A DANGEROUS SITUATION. I HAD IT TOWED TO KIA OF DELRAY. IT'S STILL THERE, THEY HAVEN'T TOLD ME WHAT'S WRONG. IT IS 2.5 YEARS OLD WITH JUST OVER 18K MILES ON IT. I LEASED THE CAR WHEN I LIVED IN CA, AND NOW LIVE IN FL, WHICH IS ALSO A PROBLEM, AS THE DEALERSHIP HERE JUST DOESN'T SEEM EQUIPPED TO SERVICE A PHEV. THE LEASE IS SCHEDULED TO END IN JULY 2021 BUT THE MANUFACTURER HAS REFUSED TO OFFER ME AN OPTION TO RETURN THE CAR EARLY, YET IT FEELS UNSAFE TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE IT (AND IT'S NOT OPERATIONAL RIGHT NOW).

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:09 Dec-16, 2020

Rod bearings went bad and seized the engine without any notice. Had it towed to the nearest kia dealer. Happened on the freeway

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-13, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:59 Dec-14, 2020

Driving north bound on the 405 at freeway speeds, the vehicle showed several warning lights on the dash. Check engine light, oil light and 2 others, the vehicle lost engine power and only had brakes. I was able to shuffle off the main freeway to an off ramp where i pulled over to attempt to power the car back on. The smell of electrical fire started to become apparent and i went out to lift the hood and smoke began to come out the opening. I rushed to get my kids out the vehicle and attempted to pull the battery cable off to try to salvage it from catching fire. I was able to wiggle the battery cable off but smoke continued to come out. The vehicle was eventually dropped off at the dealership car pros kia in glendale and im being informed the starter was the issue and will need to be replaced. Im uncertain about the diagnosis since the event of the vehicle losing all power occurred during highway driving.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:33 Dec-14, 2020

Peeling paint on hood and side pillars. Seems like there is an issue with kia and swp white pearl paint.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-29, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:35 Dec-14, 2020

I was driving 70 miles per hour on i96 when the check engine light, the battery light and the oil light came on. I was able to get to an exit but the car cut off right at the exit ramp as i stopped traffic for a mile. The car would not start again and had to be towed. I had it looked at two different places and they said it was the engine. The car is a 2015 with slightly over 100,000 miles. Regular oil changes at the dealership and there was absolutely no warning that something was wrong with my car. I had never had any problems before. The last car shop said that something came loose in the engine. I could have been killed if i did not make it to the ramp. I called the dealership and they said they have been having a lot of problems with kia and hyundai motors.

Parts: STEERINGSERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:07 Dec-12, 2020

I HAVE 63,826 MILES ON MY 2018 Kia Optima S AND I DROVE IT TO THE STORE AND ALL MY LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON WHEN I WOULD COME TO A STOP AND MY POWER STEERING WOULD GO OUT AND ABOUT CAUSE ME TO WRECK. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS MY ALTERNATOR BUT AFTER GETTING A NEW ALTERNATOR I THEN DROVE IT TO GET DINNER A FEW DAYS LATER WHEN THE SAME THING STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN AND MY POWER STEERING KEPT GOING OUT AGAIN. I HAVE TWO NEWBORN BABIES, A 5 YEAR OLD AND A 10 YEAR OLD IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME AND HAD I WRECKED WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN A BAD SITUATION.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-03, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 08:51 Dec-11, 2020

My oil pressure light continues to turn on and off even after replaced parts! Burning at least 2 quarts of oil per week! Brake lights stop working if headlights are on! Had to start using super to eliminate a rattle while accelerating uphill! Engine shakes!!

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 15:09 Dec-10, 2020

The paint is seriously peeling "delaminating" in "snow white pearl" and that needs to be addressed!! It occurs driving or just washing the car. Searching online i see this is a common issue.

Parts: TIRES
  • Date of Incident: Nov-28, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:32 Dec-07, 2020

My son had a blow out of his cooper cs5 ultra touring tire. 2 weeks later he finds a bubble in his other cooper cs5 tire. Both tires have only been on his car for about 6 weeks

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Aug-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Dec-07, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Kia Optima. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER BROTHER WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND HE SMELLED SMOKE. THERE WAS FIRE IN THE TRUNK ON THE PASSENGER?S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE BROTHER WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND RETRIEVE A FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE CONTACT CONTACTED HER INSURANCE COMPANY AND THEY DIRECTED HER TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO RECOMMENDED INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED. THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE NOT DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT THEN RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V519000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED YET. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Dec-07, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNED A 2015 Kia Optima. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, WITHOUT WARNING AN ODOR APPEARED THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MANAGED TO VEER TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD, GET OUT THE VEHICLE, LOOK UNDER THE HOOD, AND WITHIN SECONDS UNDERNEATH THE HOOD WENT UP IN FLAMES. NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CONTACTED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS FROM THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. NO DEALER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE INSURANCE COMPANY TOWED THE VEHICLE TO A COLLISION LOT. NO MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V907000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, ENGINE) AS A POSSIBLE SOLUTION TO THE FAILURE, HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Nov-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 06:07 Dec-06, 2020

My vehicle was moving when a ford 150 pulled out in front of me. Forward collision worked & slowed the vehicle to 35mph. I hit the truck doing severe front end damage to my car. The airbags did not deploy what so ever.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.