Kia Sedona Complaints

Kia Sedona Complaints
  • 196 Complaints
  • 10 Crashes
  • 3 Fires
  • 6 Injuries
  • 2 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 196 complaints for Sedona models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: WHEELS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:11 Apr-29, 2021

AT 18,870 MILES THE LEFT FRONT TIRE OF MY 2018 Kia Sedona SX LIMITED (ORIGINAL TO VAN KUMHO CRUGEN 235/55/R19) BEGAN TO PULL TO THE LEFT DURING HIGHWAY DRIVING. WENT TO LOCAL FIRESTONE DEALER. THEY PLACED THE TIRE ON THE RIGHT SIDE AND PULLED TO RIGHT. THEY SUGGESTED I TAKE IT TO THE KIA DEALER TO HAVE CAM BOLTS ADJUSTED. WENT TO KIA DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VAN. THEY WERE NO HELP REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING THEY SAID NOTHING WRONG WITH THE TIRE. WENT BACK TO FIRESTONE AND PURCHASED A NEW KUMHO CRUGEN 235/55/R19 TIRE AND HAD IT PUT ON.UPON EXAMINING THE TIRE THEY SAID THE STEEL BELTS HAD SHIFTED. CONTACTED KIA DEALER WITH NO RESPONSE. CONTACTED KIA CORPORATE AND RECEIVED A REFUND FOR COST OF NEW TIRE. AT 39,444 MILES AGAIN THE LEFT FRONT TIRE (ORIGINAL TO VAN KUMHO CRUGEN 235/55/R19) BEGAN TO PULL SEVERELY TO THE LEFT DURING HIGHWAY DRIVING. WENT TO LOCAL FIRESTONE DEALER. THE STEEL BELTS HAD SHIFTED SEVERELY MISHAPING THE TIRE. AT THIS POINT I PURCHASED 4 NEW TIRES OF A DIFFERENT BRAND.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-16, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:42 Apr-29, 2021

The check engine light and pressure oil light keep on and off while driving. This problem has been recalled on the kia sportage. (nhtsa recall number: 19v101).

Parts: STRUCTUREEXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Feb-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:05 Apr-19, 2021

Turn lights and stick signals most the time do not work appropriately i turn on to the left and the right side come on some times nothing happens some times i try to use to de left and the fourth way hazard come on. I really scare to have a crash because i send the wrong signal or get a ticket

Parts: STRUCTUREEXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Sep-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:49 Apr-18, 2021

Driver side sliding door does not close completely. Must push on back side for it to close. Blinkers don't work properly. Put on left blinker and right blinker turns on. Occasionally it will work correctly. I had the door recall fixed and the service person thought it would fix all the problems but it did not. Then a few months later the brake lights stopped working. Only the top brake light works on the window.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 18:55 Apr-13, 2021

I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH ALL MY AUTOMATED POWER DOORS TO MY 2015 Kia Sedona SXL. BOTH SLIDING DOORS HAVE BEEN STAYING UNLATCHED AND OPEN ON THEIR OWN WHILE IN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND KIA EXTENDED MY WARRANTY TO FIX IT BUT MY PROBLEM IS THAT AT THE SAME TIME THIS ALL STARTED HAPPENING MY TAILGATE DOOR LATCH ALSO WENT BAD AND IT STAYS OPEN AND OPENS WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AS WELL. I?VE TRIED TO GET ANSWERS AND ALSO TRIED TO HAVE KIA HELP ME FIX THIS PROBLEM, BUT IT?S WAY TO BIG OF A COINCIDENCE THAT MY TAILGATE MALFUNCTIONED AT THE EXACT SAME TIME AS THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOORS. IT?S BEEN ONGOING SINCE FEBRUARY 2021. I HAVE READ IN THE KIA FORUMS THAT I?M NOT THE ONLY KIA SEDONA OWNER THAT IS HAVING THE EXACT ISSUES. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED PROBLEM. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS AND I?M NOT HAPPY AT ALL.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-18, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:14 Mar-29, 2021

Left turn signal fails to activate. Left turn signal actives right turn indicator. Left turn signal starts to activate then fails. This is very dangerous in heavy driving conditions with not being able to indicate turning intention. Vehicle in motion, all speeds. Vehicle stopped stationary. All driving conditions. Ongoing. Started 18 months ago, intermittently. Now permanent.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSEATSAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Mar-15, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 08:35 Mar-25, 2021

MY 2017 Kia Sedona PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT SIGN WAS FLASHING AND AIR BAG WARNING RED LIGHT WAS TURN ON. ACCORDING TO THE MANUAL AIR BAG ON PASSENGER SIDE MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY. IT'S KEEP GOING ON AND OFF ON MY DASH.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-20, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 15:43 Mar-24, 2021

About 1917 the power sliding doors stopped working correctly. The doors make a loud screaching sound when closing when stopped. & in motion. Doors do not close and lock completely and have to be close by pushing in the back where and fram meets. Got a recall on sliding doors. Went 3/22/21 and all that was done was to reprogram the computer. This didn t fix the problem at all. Call kia and was told , have to fix on own. Did call about issue in 2017 told it would cost over $1000. 00, couldn't afford. Also asked about why air bag light comes on and stays on and that the gas door button doesn t open. Have to get out and hit gas door to open. Thought that 100000 warrenty was to cover anything bumper to bumper. Why pay the extra for nothing.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Mar-17, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:41 Mar-17, 2021

When signaling left sometimes the right blinker comes on if at all. To make it signal left you have to push the lever hard down to go left. There are times when the signal will go fast then normal. This all happens when coming to a turn or stationary. In all weather. This has been happening since october 2020.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Feb-15, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-17, 2021

At times when driving with headlights on the driverside taillight will go out and will cause the middle and passenger brake light to stay on. If i turn the headlights off the middle and passenger taillights work only when pressing the brake peddle. I have removed the tail light and checked it for being burned out, corrosion or being loose and it is fine. I put the bulb back in and the drivers side taillight works fine and the brake lights work as normal. This happened a second time and i checked the bulb. Again nothing was wrong with it. I changed the bulb with a new one. This is actually the second new bulb in that socket. This happens while driving or standing still while headlights and tail lights are on. This started happening in december 2020. It is worrisome as you are driving with no brake lights working if you have your headlights on when it rains during the day or while driving at night and the only way you will know it's happening is if you happen to get out of your car while the headlights are turned on.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPEREXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 23:28 Mar-16, 2021

Headlamp wiring harness defective. Low beam inoperative. Happened ad i was driving on vacation. I've read several blogs about same issue with other owners. No recall has been issued. My vehicle is 4 years old.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-17, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:24 Feb-18, 2021

I have replaced the headlamp bulbs every 3 months or less, purchasing the brightest bulb, using the recommended gel,. Also have purchased the less expensive ones.. Nothing seems to break this cycle. It is getting quite expensive.. Over $50 for 2 bulbs. Is this normal? The driver's side blows out quicker than the passenger side. Would like some help in this. Thanks

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-31, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:51 Feb-15, 2021

I PURCHASED A 2017 Kia Sedona FROM A KIA DEALER IN QUEENS, NY, IN 2017 WITH 50 MILES. I HAD AN ENGINE MALFUNCTION AT AROUND 65,000 WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY WITH A RELATIVE AND MY CHILDREN ON NEW YEAR'S EVE 12/31/20. WHEN I INITIALLY STARTED THE CAR, I HEARD A RATTLING SOUND, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS DUE TO THE COLD WEATHER; HOWEVER, AS I DROVE OFF AND DROVE FURTHER AND APPROACHED THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR STARTED TO DECELERATE. AFTER THE CAR DECELERATED, THE CAR CUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. IN A PANIC, I STARTED THE CAR AGAIN AND PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE. I HAD TO REPEAT TURNING THE CAR ON, THE CAR SHUTTING OFF AND DECELERATING, TURNING THE CAR ON, AND DRIVING TEN MILES TO RETURN HOME. THE VERY NEXT DAY, 1/1/2021 THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT HANDLED MY LEASE BUYOUT. THE SERVICE MANAGER EXHIBITED PROFESSIONALISM AND OFFERED EXCEPTIONAL SERVICES TO ENSURE THAT I UNDERSTOOD THE REPAIR PROCESS. HE INFORMED OF CHARGES THAT WOULD BE INCURRED IF KIA DID NOT COVER THE WARRANTY. KIA WILL NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY. THE SERVICE MANAGER INDICATED THAT RECEIPTS WERE REQUIRED TO DOCUMENT OIL CHANGES PERFORMED ON THE 2017 KIA SEDONA. SERVICE RECEIPTS FROM KIA DEALERSHIPS WERE PROVIDED; HOWEVER, ADDITIONAL RECEIPTS WERE REQUIRED. I CONTACTED THE KIA CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE, THE CUSTOMER SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE EXHIBITED PROFESSIONALISM AND ADVISED ME TO GET RECEIPTS OF OIL PURCHASES FOR ANY OIL CHANGES DONE OUTSIDE OF A SERVICE SHOP. DUE TO LIMITATIONS IN RETRIEVING RECEIPTS WITHIN A CERTAIN TIMEFRAME, I AM UNABLE TO PRODUCE ADDITIONAL RECEIPTS. I AM WITHOUT MY CAR FOR ONE AND A HALF MONTHS, I AM RENTING A CAR WHILE PAYING MY MONTHLY FINANCE BILL, AND KIA WILL NOT HONOR MY WARRANTY BECAUSE OF A LACK OF RECEIPTS OF OIL CHANGES, ALTHOUGH THE CAR WAS PREVIOUSLY CAR SERVICED IN NOVEMBER 2020 AT A KIA DEALERSHIP.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:17 Feb-13, 2021

Radio and rear camera not working

Parts: LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES
  • Date of Incident: Feb-11, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Feb-11, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Kia Sedona. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER?S AND PASSENGER?S SIDE SLIDING DOOR LATCHES FAILED TO KEEP THE DOORS SECURELY LOCKED WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OCCASIONALLY THE DOORS SLID OPEN WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE CONTACT HAD TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO FOX KIA IN GRAND RAPIDS (4141 28TH ST SE, GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49512, (616) 942-5000) WHO REPLACED THE DRIVER'S SIDE SLIDING DOOR LATCH. THE CONTACT THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE PASSENGER?S SIDE SLIDING DOOR LATCH. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH DOOR LATCHES FAILED AGAIN AND WERE SCHEDULED TO BE REPLACED BY THE CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHICH WAS STILL PENDING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA FOR ASSISTANCE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:24 Jan-29, 2021

2018nkia sadona having issues starting up after sitting over night get in try to start no start but lights on dash turn on engine no crank. After doing on and off lock unlock it tends to start.. Cannot check what's going on due to intermitting issues over long periods of time. Its not all the time some times.

Parts: SEATS
  • Date of Incident: Aug-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:49 Jan-15, 2021

My passenger side airbag sensor is malfunctioning.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-13, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:31 Jan-14, 2021

The sliding doors on both sides of the vehicle appear faulty. They routinely do not function with the button and i am required to manually close them. They also do not automatically stop and have nearly closed on my arm before. They are very glitchy. The drivers sliding door does not properly close all of the way approximately 10-15% of the time.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-14, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:27 Jan-14, 2021

AS CONSISTENTLY AS MULTIPLE TIMES EACH DAY, WHEN USING THE BLINKER FUNCTION ON MY 2015 Kia Sedona. THE HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF COMPLETELY. I HAVE TO WIGGLE THE DEVICE TO RESTORE HEADLIGHT FUNCTION. IT APPEARS TO HAVE LOOSE CONNECTIVITY OR WIRE, BUT IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE WHEN DRIVING AT DARK.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEMAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Dec-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:16 Dec-26, 2020

When you use your blinkers to change lanes at night the headlights go off till i move the blinker nob back to the middle this happens when you are going down the road and is dangerous needs to recalled asap before someone get hurt

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.