Kia Stinger Complaints

Kia Stinger Complaints
  • 44 Complaints
  • 2 Crashes
  • 8 Fires
  • 2 Injuries
  • 1 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 44 complaints for Stinger models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULIC
  • Date of Incident: May-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-10, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 Kia Stinger. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V518000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CALLED STEVE LANDERS KIA (201 COLONEL GLENN PLAZA LOOP, LITTLE ROCK, AR 72210, (501) 404-4268) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULIC
  • Date of Incident: Mar-20, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-06, 2021

TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 Kia Stinger. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V518000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CALLED ARCHER KIA (11614 SOUTHWEST FWY, HOUSTON, TX 77031, (888) 879-5194) AND IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-09, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:46 Apr-09, 2021

Earlier today while driving on the tollway i heard a loud noise(somewhat like a blow out) i put on my hazards and pulled over. I exited the tollway to find the sunroof shattered with a huge hole!!! Thank god i had the shade closed! This is the sunroof, not one of the windows or windshield!! There was not much traffic and i know nothing hit the car at all. I visited the dealership where the advisor informed me that the manager said this is common and should be under warranty and they would take the car in to inspect it. There was an hour and a half wait so they shuttled me home. After about 5 hours i called to check on the status and was now told that it was not covered and i would have to file a claim with my insurance, and no explanation of the reversal, so i did call to file a claim with my insurance company. I also did an internet search and found out what the service receptionist said was true! This has happened before with kia and other vehicles which is unbelievable!!! Because, in this case, kia knows about this problem, they should be held responsible, at least by having it repaired under warranty even if there is no recall yet. This should not be the responsibility of my insurance or me! Please do not allow them to wait until someone is seriously hurt or worse.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-25, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:48 Mar-25, 2021

I RECENTLY PURCHASED A USED 2018 Kia Stinger PREMIUM. I WAS NOTIFIED ONLINE THAT MY VEHICLE HAD AN OUTSTANDING RECALL, SC196A WITH A FIRE HAZARD FROM THE FUSE BOX. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH GARDEN GROVE KIA AND ASK NUMEROUS TIMES IF THE PART COULD BE ORDERED AHEAD OF TIME BEFORE I TOOK IT IN SO I DON'T HAVE TO BE INCONVENIENCED TWICE. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE FOR 3 HOURS FOR AN INSPECTION AND THEN THE PART WOULD BE ORDERED FOR ME TO COME BACK FOR THE INSTALL. I THEN CALLED THE HUNTINGTON BEACH DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THE SAME THING. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA CORPORATE AND AM AWAITING AN ANSWER. THERE HAS TO BE A MORE EFFICIENT WAY OF DEALING WITH THIS RECALL. THIS SHOULD BE DONE IN A SINGLE APPOINTMENT AND IS A LIABILITY FOR ME TO HAVE TO RETURN LATER.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Feb-23, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-22, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 Kia Stinger. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED. HE ALSO STATED THAT A BURNING ODOR WOULD EMIT FROM THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE CONTACT THEN RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V518000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. DULLES KIA(107 CATOCTIN CIR SE, LEESBURG, VA 201750), WAS CONTACTED BY PHONE AND IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMED PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:17 Mar-03, 2021

I have been notified by kia that there is a recall causing engine fires back in november 2020. I have been trying now with two dealerships for months to get it fixed. I am told they either don't have the part and i can't make an appointment or when i make the appointment and show up, they don't fix it. Kia consumer affairs told me they need to fix it but i have no resolution. I get put on 30 minute+ hold times with the dealerships or a voicemail with no call backs.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULIC
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-03, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 Kia Stinger. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V518000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CALLED BERWYN KIA (7050 OGDEN AVE, BERWYN, IL 60402, (708) 797-0300) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-22, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 21:18 Feb-22, 2021

My vehicle was stopped at an intersection coming off interstate this evening and my car just just down as the light turned green. I tried to start it 3x and 4th time i opened the door and shut it and then it started. 3 days ago i got a voice warning something is wrong w the engine control system. Took it to dealership and their system is down but said it could be because fuel was low and dirt could have cause the warning. They called saturday to check on me and it was fine until today. I will have it towed to dealetship. This happened before about six months ago and they changed batteries in key faub and has been fine til today. Others sharing on forum have had same issues. One had body control module replaced first time and second time they replaced wiring harness. I have a feeling the auto stop is involved

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-26, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:39 Jan-28, 2021

On feb 18, 2020 the car had a throttle hesitation and cut off in traffic while turning through an intersection and when started again had check engine light and car went into limp home mode. Car had error codes p061b, p0172, p0175, p2180, p2178. Kia advised to not drive the car and have it towed to dealer. I was told there was a loose wire connection and dealer supposedly fixed it. On march 23, 2020, car was running with rough idle and check engine light came on pulling codes p0108 and p0068. Car was able to be driven to dealer and dealer could not find the issue. On september 25, 2020, car had rough idle and check engine light and pulled code p0068. Car was able to driven to dealer and dealer could not find the issue. Dealer said maybe it was related to k&n air filters so at their advice and replaced them with stock air filters. January 26, 2021, car had throttle hesitation on the highway and when on the exit ramp the idle was jumping between 1000 and 1500 rpm. Check engine light came on and car went into limp home mode and pulling error codes p061b, p0172, p2178, p2180 which were the same codes from february 18, 2020. Car was towed to dealer january 27, 2020, and for two days the dealer has not been able to find the issue. I do not consider this car safe to drive. There's an electrical issue that can not be found and not knowing if car is going to stall or go into limp home mode is a terrifying way to drive.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:29 Jan-08, 2021

I purchased this car brand new in july and have had the same electrical system problem at least 7 times now. The issue is that sometimes, when i give a right hand turn signal, the vehicle's entire electrical system shuts down. It has done it on a slow turn, on a merge going 35mph, and on a a highway exit ramp going 60mph. This is dangerous and only a matter of time until me, or someone else, dies as a result of this failure. I have been dealing with this problem off and on for 6 months and i'm tired of it.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:12 Nov-24, 2020

NHTSA RECALL NUMBER: 20V-518. I OWN A 2019 Kia Stinger GT2 AND I?VE HAD MAJOR ISSUES AND A RECENT ?INTERIM? SAFETY RECALL LETTING ME KNOW THE ENGINE CAN CATCH FIRE AND I SHOULDN?T DRIVE IT AND SHOULD LEAVE IT OUTSIDE (NOT IN MY GARAGE) AND WAIT UNTIL THEY SEND ME ANOTHER LETTER AND HAVE A FIX. IT?S BEEN WEEKS WITHOUT THE USE OF MY CAR. WHEN I CONTACTED MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP, THEY CLAIMED NOT TO KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE RECALL. IN THE MEANTIME I READ TODAY THERE?S ANOTHER ENGINE FIRE ASSOCIATED ISSUE WITH THE FUEL PUMP. SO FAR NO RECALL AND I HAD TO LOOK UP THE BULLETIN ONLINE.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:58 Nov-24, 2020

Received a recall notice for my vehicle, stating that there is a major issue with the engine, and they are prone to catching fire - and that the vehicle should be parked outside. I contacted my dealership to ask for any other information, and was specifically told to bring my car in to their dealership (where i purchased the car brand new just a year prior). Upon arriving at the dealership, i was told that there was nothing that could be done, and i should drive my flammable, 2019 vehicle home. The vehicle has not exploded yet, but i'm cautious to drive it now, for fear of burning alive on my way to work any given morning. This dealership has caused me nothing but grief over the short time i've owned this vehicle, and the issues continue to stack up.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULIC
  • Date of Incident: Nov-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-10, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 Kia Stinger. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 20V518000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) INFORMING HER TO CONTACT THE LOCAL DEALER TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. JOE MYERS KIA (16484 NORTHWEST FWY, HOUSTON, TX 77040, (713) 587-9940) WAS CONTACTED BY PHONE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REMEDY PART WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Oct-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:45 Oct-16, 2020

I was driving on interstate going 70mph with the adaptive cruise on and my speed suddenly drops to 50 ( like snapping your fingers ). Scared the heck out of me. When i stopped i checked the front sensors to make sure there was nothing blocking it. A couple weeks later the same thing happened going about 70 on interstate and the speed suddenly drops to about 50, but this time the truck behind me almost rear ended me. Both times when the speed dropped like that i was freaking out and trying to get my foot back on the gas and get my speed back up. A couple weeks later i was going about 35 and did not have the adaptive cruise on and it suddenly stops again. This time the crash warning light showed up on the dashboard and the error warning came up and said the autonomous breaking system is disabled. We took a picture of the dashboard. On the bottom left corner of the picture it says cruise and shows the error lights on the dashboard. Cruise was not on so i assume it was part of the error that came on with the dashboard lights. I am scared to death to drive my car now. I have 2 grandkids that are in my car 3-4 times a week. God forbid i get hit and something happens to my babies!!! I took the car to hendrick kia in concord, nc so they could see what was wrong. When they hooked the car up to the computer no error codes showed up. One of the guys has been driving my car home and to work for 2 days and the problem has not happened again. I don? T know what to do now.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Dec-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 10:50 Sep-29, 2020

Car has no brakes when initially starting it and backing out of my driveway. The brake pedal is so hard that i am unable to depress it. After a few seconds, the brake pedal behaves normally. This problem has resulted in me rolling out into the road more than once. I have had the car into the dealership to be analyzed and fixed three times. One time they replaced a vacuum line and the other two times they have replaced the vacuum pump. I am concerned that something else is wrong that is causing a brake overpressure condition that is causing the brake vacuum pump and the vacuum line failures. The dealership is telling me that i have no choice but to pick up my car now that the vacuum pump has been replaced again. I am afraid to drive the car without further investigation of why brakes and the vacuum pump keeps failing.

Parts: SUSPENSIONSTRUCTUREENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:23 Sep-03, 2020

My car accelerated om it's own on a small street and i hit two cars and damaged mine and i barely stopped before hitting a brick wall i did contact kia consumer and they said they will send inspector to check the car and nobody ever came i called them five or siv times about this because body shop kept telling me that nobody from kia ever came and they keep ignoring me after they told me kia will help the person's name from kia motors who takes care of this case i samuel kim and my case number is 13725169. His email is samuelkim@kiausa. Com i've sent emails to him to him many times but he didn't respond

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-27, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:19 Jul-28, 2020

Fuel line connection within the engine compartment had a lock/cover that was not seated/attached. Issue was discovered after doing a thorough look over of a newly purchased vehicle in which a loose nut was found in the trunk. Upon removal of the plastic engine cover next to the non locked fuel line two missing bolts were found for a wire harness on top of the engine. Owner connected fuel line lock, dealer installed two bolts to the wire harness. No receipt was given since nothing was billed.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-17, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:34 Jul-24, 2020

When stopped, this vehicle is designed to automatically stop the engine while idling, and restart the engine when i take my foot off of the brake. Sometimes, when the engine restarts, there is a dip in electrical power that results in the center console lights and display blanking out and coming back on. That symptom is annoying, and a sign of something not being right with the vehicle, but not a safety issue on its own. But there is another symptom that occurs occasionally that is a safety concern. At least 3 times so far -- twice on 7/17/2020 and once on 7/23/2020 -- the vehicle has failed to restart the engine when the brake is released. Instead, it presents an alarm tone and the message: "auto stop is off. Start vehicle manually". My only option at that point is to shift into park, activate my safety flashers, and attempt to start the vehicle manually. It took multiple attempts to restart the vehicle the first time this happened. All this while hoping i don't get rear-ended by someone behind me that expects me to be moving. I have taken it to the local kia dealer, but they were unable to reproduce the issue and returned the vehicle to me with instruction to bring it back if it continues to recur. I am taking it back again today. I have a video of both symptoms, but they are too large to upload. I am attaching a picture of the auto stop is off warning message.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-26, 2020

WENT TO CAR WASH TO DEGREASE ENGINE IN THE EVENING. CAR WAS PARKED IN CAR WASH BAY NOT RUNNING. SPRAYED GUNK ENGINE DEGREASER ON MOTOR AND CAR CAUGHT ON FIRE IN A FEW SECONDS UNEXPECTEDLY. CAR WAS NOT RUNNING. QUICKLY PUT FIRE OUT WITH WATER AND FUEL LEAKS AFTER CAREFUL INSPECTION AND ELECTRICAL WIRES FOUND BARE AND BURNT. NOT SURE IF THERE WAS A SHORT OR A FUEL LEAK PRESENT BEFORE USING GUNK DEGREASER BUT DID NOT EXPECT FIRE FOR DOING THIS. PREMIUM MODEL Stinger WITH 2.L T GDI ENGINE. LOVE THE CAR BUT DID NOT EXPECT THIS. :( REPAIR EXPENSIVE TO NOT REPLACE MOTOR. AROUND $13,000 AT DEALERSHIP. *TR

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-16, 2020

I STARTED MY CAR AND REALIZED THAT THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS FLASHING AND INDICATED "CHECK MY BLIND SPOT FOR A COLLISION". I WAS PULLING OUT ONTO A SECONDARY ROAD AND THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS IN THE NEAR VICINITY. I THOUGHT EVERYTHING WOULD CORRECT ITSELF ONCE I STARTED DOWN THE ROAD. I TURNED ONTO THE MAIN ROAD AND EVERYTHING KEPT FLASHING, THERE WAS EXCESSIVE PLAY IN THE STEERING AND THE CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS. I SLOWED DOWN TO MAKE IT TO THE SAFEST PLACE TO PULL OVER, WHICH WAS A DOLLAR GENERAL. ONCE I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE, I SHUT MY CAR OFF AND RESTARTED TO SEE IF IT WOULD RESET THE COMPUTER AND INSTRUMENT PANEL. I THEN SMELLED BURNING PLASTIC AND SAW WHITE SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I CALLED 911 TO REPORT MY CAR ON FIRE. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED THE CAR ALARM WAS GOING OFF, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE GOING AND TONS OF BLACK SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THEY REPORTED IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. THE COMPUTER KEPT TRYING TO START THE CAR OVER AND OVER AGAIN. THEY HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TO ACTUALLY STOP THE FIRE. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED. WE FILED A CLAIM WITH THE KIA CORPORATION THE VERY NEXT DAY. I WAS SUPPLIED WITH A RENTAL CAR IN THE MEANTIME. SINCE FILLING THE CLAIM WE HAVE HEARD NOTHING FROM KIA. THEY STATED IT WAS A NATIONAL KIA ISSUE SINCE IT WAS A SPECIAL CASE. ACCORDING TO KIA, MY Stinger IS THE SECOND TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. THERE WAS NO RECALL OF ANY SORT. *TR

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.