Kia Telluride Complaints

Kia Telluride Complaints
  • 164 Complaints
  • 1 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 4 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 164 complaints for Telluride models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:02 May-11, 2021

I have had the windshield cracked three times since the vehicle was delivered 14 months ago. Kia acknowledges the issue but has not provided a true "fix" for the problem and now has indicated they are not responsible for replacements but to contact my insurance carrier. The cracks come immediately following an impact with a rock or debris and spread immediately after impact so the repairs cannot be made. I had my first one replaced using insurance and kia replaced the second one but now refuses responsibility. It is odd they acknowledge the issue initially and say they will provide a remedy one time but do not have any resolution to cure the original problem that the windshields have either a quality or an engineering defect.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-29, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 09:35 May-02, 2021

If the windows are down at highway speeds (above 50mph,) they cannot roll back up completely. It seems that the pressure of the speed stops them from completely closing. In order to roll them back up i have to slow down to around 35 mph. I? Ve read similar complaints on kia owners forums.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-23, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:31 Apr-23, 2021

MY Telluride ALL OF A SUDDEN HAS CHIPS ALL OVER THE WINDSHIELD NEVER NOTICE ANYTHING HITTING THE WINDSHIELD THAT WILL CAUSE ALL THIS CHIPS.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Apr-14, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:03 Apr-22, 2021

High beams will not function. Replaced light bulbs. Did not fix the problm. Replaced relay and fuse. Did not fix the problem. Took to dealer. Service tech appeared to be befuddled. His only suggestion was to replace both headlight assemblies at a cost of over $2000. 00 or just wait until kia announced a recall as he could not determine exact cause of problem.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-18, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:52 Apr-19, 2021

WITH LESS THAN 7500 MILES ON MY Telluride, I HAVE 3 SMALL CHIPS ON MY FRONT WINDSHIELD. LAST CHIP WAS YESTERDAY HAS DEVELOPED A SMALL CRACK

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-27, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:52 Mar-31, 2021

I PURCHASED MY 2020 Kia Telluride ON 10/16/2019. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LETTER I WAS SENT A LETTER FROM KIA ?GIFTING? A REPLACEMENT WINDSHIELD DUE TO SOME CONSUMERS EXPERIENCING DEFECTIVE GLASS THAT JUST BREAKS FOR NO REASON. EARLY JANUARY 2020, MY WINDSHIELD SPONTANEOUSLY CRACKED WHILE JUST SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY. KIA REPLACED IT. NOW 14 MONTHS LATER, THE REPLACEMENT WINDSHIELD DID THE EXACT SAMETHING!!! THE CAR WAS JUST SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY. I LIVE IN CHARLESTON SC AND WE HAVE NOT HAD ANY EXTREME TEMPERATURES. THIS IS RIDICULOUS AND UNSAFE.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:01 Mar-28, 2021

I WOKE UP TODAY TO AN ODD SHAPED CIRCULAR CRACK AND SUBSEQUENT SPIDERING OUT OF THE WINDSHIELD OF MY Telluride. THE CRACK IS QUITE LOW NEARLY UNDER THE TOP OF THE HOOD AND I HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT HAPPENED. AFTER REVIEWING ARTICLES I DISCOVERED THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST KIA FOR DEFECTS TO THE WINDSHIELD SO I THOUGHT IT BEST TO REPORT IT. THE CRACK WAS NOT THERE WHEN I LAST DROVE IT 3/26.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-23, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:08 Mar-25, 2021

On 3/23/21 i was in motion when i saw a small chip in my windshield after an hour it being stationary it grew to 7". By the end of the day still stationary it was half way across my windshield. I called my nearest dealership and the earliest appt. Was 3/31/21.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHERLANE DEPARTURE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-20, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:15 Mar-20, 2021

Our windshield cracked and the dealership is refusing to replace it without charging us over $1300

Parts: VISIBILITY
  • Date of Incident: Mar-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-16, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2020 Kia Telluride. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT WINDSHIELD CRACKED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KIA OF WILMINGTON (1603 PENNSYLVANIA AVE, WILMINGTON, DE 19806, (302) 656-3100) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH NEEDING THE WINDSHIELD TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 18:50 Mar-08, 2021

Windshield cracking even after repair.

Parts: STEERINGPOWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-25, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 16:33 Mar-08, 2021

MY 2020 Kia Telluride HAS HAD ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS SINCE 3 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING IT IN JUNE OF 2019. IT STARTED OUT SMALL WITH MY BACKUP CAMERA GLITCHING/NOT BEING VISIBLE, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS FLICKERING, AND MY HEAT NOT WORKING PROPERLY. THEN, IT QUICKLY ESCALATED TO MULTIPLE EMERGENCY LIGHTS ENGAGING IN MY DASHBOARD WHILE DRIVING OR STOPPED. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IF THE CODES AREN'T ACTIVE THEY CAN'T SERVICE THE VEHICLE, SO WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN I BROUGHT IT TO THEM DIRECTLY. AT THIS TIME MY VEHICLE WOULDN'T GO IN REVERSE AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. THE DIAGNOSTIC REPORT STATED THE CAR LOST COMMUNICATION WITH FUEL PUMP CONTROL MODULE, INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER (LPC), CONTROL MODULE (CCAN),AND HVAC CONTROL MODULE. THIS HAPPENED ON TWO OCCASIONS COMPROMISING MY FAMILY'S SAFETY. ON THE 3RD OCCASION, THE FOLLOWING HAPPENED: THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, SHIFTER WOULDN'T WORK, NO LIGHTS NEXT TO SHIFT, WOULDN'T GO IN REVERSE, NO BACKUP CAMERA. ON THE 4TH OCCASION, THE FOLLOWING OCCURRED: WARNING LIGHTS/EMERGENCY LIGHTS ON DASH, STEERING LOCKED, NO LIGHTS NEAR SHIFTER, STEERING TIGHT, RPM INDICATOR WENT TO ZERO, SPEED WENT TO ZERO, WARNING LIGHTS SWITCHED ON AN OFF TO DIFFERENT ONES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FLOOR HARNESS, DASH HARNESS, AND ENGINE HARNESS. EVEN AFTER THESE "FIXES" IT CONTINUED. ON THE 5TH OCCASION, THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS CAME ON AND MY VEHICLE SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING AND I LOST MY BRAKES! THE FOLLOWING OCCURRED BEFORE THE SHUT DOWN: FORWARD COLLISION WARNING LIGHT, EMERGENCY LIGHT, RPM INDICATOR UP AND DOWN, ABS WARNING LIGHT, DEGREE/TEMP LIGHT FLICKERING ON AND OFF, PLUS A FEW MORE WARNING LIGHTS. THIS TIME MY CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. KIA WILL NOT TAKE THE CAR BACK AND DENIED MY CLAIM AFTER SUPPLYING OVER 70 PAGES OF DOCUMENTATION. MY CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR A TOTAL OF 84 DAYS SINCE OCTOBER 19, 2020.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Feb-20, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 09:07 Feb-25, 2021

Something small flew up and chipped the windshield on the service road going 45 mph. No cracks just a chip

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:28 Feb-11, 2021

SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING OUR Telluride A SMALL ROCK WAS THROWN UP BY A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF US ON THE HIGHWAY AND IT CHIPPED OUR WINDSHIELD. I HAVE NEVER HAD A CHIP IN A WINDSHIELD BEFORE.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:09 Feb-10, 2021

Bought the car in february 2020, starting this winter a high pitched whistle noise can be heard from the engine bay during cold start in the morning, especially when it's freezing. Dealership has tried to diagnose the problem twice yet the source of the noise cannot be located. Kia refused to offer more help, simply asking me to wait until it gets worse or something really breaks. This kind of noise could be an indicator of other engine or air intake problem which kia is not capable to diagnose.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Feb-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:42 Feb-08, 2021

The lights wont dim, the same thing happened about 3 weeks ago drove the vehicle the next night and they worked ok ,drove it last night they would not dim or bright could not tell what they was stuck on, the inside indercator work fine. I think this might b a serious safety issue. Thanks

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:06 Feb-08, 2021

Vibration/humming noise at highway speeds (most noticeable btwn. 65-75 mph). Confirmed by 2 different kia dealerships, suspected to be an issue with drive shaft or rear differential.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Feb-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:11 Feb-06, 2021

I was driving at maybe 40-45 mph on friday morning and heard a *ping* as a piece of road salt (i assume... We had a lot of snow this week) hit my windshield on the passenger side. I didn't see any damage to the glass at the time nor on my commute back home. When i parked in my driveway, i noticed an 8" crack in the windshield. Super surprising... And aggravating. There must have been a very tiny chip from that morning's "ping" that further cracked...

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTING
  • Date of Incident: Nov-17, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:37 Feb-04, 2021

I LOVE THIS CAR. I REPLACED MY 2016 LEXUS GL 460 WITH THE 2020 Telluride EX V6, A LOW MILAGE PREVIOUSLY OWNED CAR I FOUND AT A DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I FELT IT COMPARED FAVORABLY IN EVERY WAY WITH THE LEXUS, WHICH I HAD BOUGHT NEW. UNFORTUNATELY, LIKE OTHERS WHO HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME LIGHTING ISSUE, I DID NOT DO A NIGHT TIME TEST DRIVE OF THIS CAR, BUT WHEN I DID FINALLY DRIVE IT AT NIGHT - WOW! THE HEADLIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE ARE THE ABSOLUTE WORST I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED AS A DRIVER. MY FIRST EXPERIENCE DRIVING THIS KIA AFTER DARK ON A CITY STREET PROVED TO BE DANGEROUS AND SCARY. LIGHTING WAS SO POOR- ESPECIALLY THE PERIPHERAL LIGHTING AND LOW BEAM HEIGHT RANGE - THAT I COULD NOT FIND MY DESTINATION BECAUSE THE HOUSE NUMBERS ON THE MAILBOXES AS WELL AS THE STREET SIGN WERE NOT LIT WELL ENOUGH TO READ. BUT WHAT WAS WORSE IS THAT I VERY NEARLY HIT A PEDESTRIAN WHO WAS WALKING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. BY THE WAY, MY VISION IS 20/20 AND NIGHT DRIVING HAS NOT PREIOUSLY BEEN A PROBLEM. I KNEW THERE HAD TO BE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE LIGHTING SYSTEM SO THE NEXT DAY I TOOK THE CAR STRAIGHT TO THE DEALER WHO CHECKED THE BULBS AND THEIR PLACEMENT; HE FOUND NO PROBLEM. I AM A WIDOW SO I DRIVE MYSELF EVERYWHERE I GO, INCLUDING AT NIGHT. BRIGHT, SAFE ILLUMINATION IS A MUST! I AM NOT DRIVING MUCH AT NIGHT THESE DAYS BECAUSE I FEEL IT IS WAY TOO RISKY CONSIDERING THE POOR VISIBILITY AFTER DARK. I CAN TELL YOU THAT KIA WILL HAVE A LAW SUIT (OR MULTIPLE SUITS) ON THEIR HANDS WHEN THIS POOR HEADLIGHT SITUATION IS THE CAUSE OF A SERIOUS ACCIDENT!

Parts: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:29 Feb-03, 2021

After driving about 10 or 15 minutes both the adaptive cruise control and the forward collision warning system stop operating. Even after you clean off the sensor it does not help. It randomly clears itself, but will also stop again after some time. This happens both on local roads and the highway.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.