Land Rover Range Rover Sport Complaints

Land Rover Range Rover Sport Complaints
  • 53 Complaints
  • 4 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 6 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 53 complaints for Range Rover Sport models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:47 Mar-06, 2021

While driving on a city street the car just stops. I would have a full tank of gas and the gage reads empty. In addition all lights on the dash board go on. The car had to be flat bedded many times. I have no documentation because the car was once again flat bedded into service currently , and all paperwork is in the car.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Nov-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:25 Feb-23, 2021

Rear differential needed to be replaced with less then 40,000 miles. No extreme driving, mainly city driving. No lights or warnings, just a rubbing noise. Took it to a dealer and outside mechanic, both confirmed it needed to be replaced.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-14, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 16:33 Jan-07, 2021

Defective gear selector. Driver parked the car and switched it off. Driver exited the vehicle with the keys. The car rolled backwards without anyone in the car. The car ran over a stationary motorcycle and over and into a low wall causing about $20,000 worth of damage. According to the manual, the car is supposed to have an automatic brake when switched off and exited. From the manual: "the epb applies automatically if the ignition is switched off and the vehicle's speed is below 2 mph (3 km/h). " the accident happened on june 14, 2018. My insurance - farmer' insurance - filed a claim/complaint with range rover, but it was denied by range rover. Please help with this - it is extremely dangerous. We are lucky that the car did not drive over a person walking behind the car. I have read many other reports of this same issue with range rover.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:06 Dec-23, 2020

When the vehicle is parked. The vehicle consistently does not recognize the key fob. The vehicle doors will not unlock when touching the door handles, the car does not start when trying to use push to start. Gives an error message that the key is not recognized. This is a safety issue because it is unsafe to have a vehicle that cannot be started thereby stranding myself and my family during the cold winter months.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Dec-12, 2020

Humming noise when the car accelerates. Also stalls for a second intermittently when accelerating. I have had the car in service for this issue several times. Every time they tell me it? S due to needing an update. The issue started approx 8 weeks after i purchased the vehicle.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:46 Nov-18, 2020

The car was purchased on 4/10/17 and despite it being new, it had its faults. I had brought to land rover orlando and a range rover engineer/specialist? S attention that the car? S convenience features? Adapt. Cruise cntl with queue assist and intelligent (emergency braking) - all of which, were and up to the accident, not functioning properly. Although the lr dealership and/or rr engineer/specialist were reached out to a few times, despite the rr engineer/specialist inspecting and running diagnostics, no one was able to successfully and fully address and fulfill my concerns. The end result was that i was told to file a complaint to the manufacturer, which i did a few times and never received a follow up. The accident took place on 11/4/20 at around 8:15 am. After turning the car on and putting my seat belt on, i shifted the car into reverse with my foot still firmly on the brake and suddenly the car? S rpm jumped abruptly, resulting in me reversing into a car behind me. Having just gotten into an accident and calmly acknowledging the situation, i proceeded to shift the car into drive to move it and all of a sudden, again, the rpm jumped abruptly, causing the car to jump forward, back towards the direction i just came from, and despite trying to control the car and slow it down, the car uncontrollably drove over the curb and through a fence, pulling the fence out of place and it? S concrete foundation of about two feet, and went into high speed and flew about thirty to forty feet horizontally until finally collapsing in a dry retention pond about fifteen feet below. Since i bought this car i haven? T been satisfied with the safety of it. It is without doubt that i have suffered medical and car damage due to this incident. Additionally, still to this day, 11/18/20, i am suffering medical damages to my face, back, and body and mind as a whole.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-06, 2020

Range rover hst was driving in freeway with high winds, and the lift gate spoiler just got detached and came off. We believe that the quality of the part used was subpar, and it should stand the high winds, otherwise, there must be a warning that tells us that we can't drive the vehicle under such circumstances.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:35 Mar-15, 2020

Interested in buying this car used from elliot bay auto brokers this issue has not been resolved? Should they fix this before i make an offer?

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-03, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 15:11 Mar-13, 2020

Engine oil is leaking from turbo directly onto exhaust. This has been noticed since the vehicle had 15000 miles. When traveling and come to complete stop, strong oil burning smell is is noticed inside the car and outside the car, no flames have been seen yet. The vehicle has about 24000 miles and it is getting a lot worse. High potential of fire.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-30, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:21 Feb-12, 2020

When i turned my car on in the morning the stereo was not working and you could hear crackling. I then was dropping my son off at school and we were going slow because we were in the school zone. Maybe 5-10 mph i smelled smoke and then looked back and saw smoke coming from inside the car where the reading light is in the back. I had to park my truck at my dads car because i did not feel safe driving it. I googled and found that a lot of range rover have a faulty sunroof to where water leaks causing electrical damage. This was also what the range rover specialist told me he has seen happen. My truck model however has yet to be recalled. But there are other models that have been recalled for this sunroof issue. It is clearly something land rover vehicles have an issue with. I am out of warranty just a month ago. When i went yesterday to my dads house to get something out of my truck it was covered in mold. This is because there is so much water that seeped through the sides of the car. You can tell because the mold was coming from the seatbelt holes and such.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 08:21 Jan-27, 2020

Was stationary with my foot on the brake at a stop light. Truck accelerated while my foot was on the brake and jerked the vehicle forward. This was the second time this has happened.

Parts: LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES
  • Date of Incident: Dec-31, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jan-02, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Land Rover Range Rover Sport. WHILE DRIVING 10-15 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER'S DOOR UNLOCKED AND FAILED TO LATCH SECURELY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. LAND ROVER JACKSONVILLE (11217 ATLANTIC BLVD #1, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32225, (877) 786-3551) AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V392000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Sep-22, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-26, 2019

TL* THE CONTACT OWNED A 2017 Land Rover Range Rover Sport. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE UNINTENTIONALLY SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AND A GUARDRAIL. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED THREE TIMES PRIOR TO THE CRASH; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE TURNED BACK ON AND WAS FUNCTIONING NORMALLY. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL VEHICLE HOLDING YARD AND THEN TOWED TO LAND ROVER EDISON (920 US-1, EDISON, NJ 08817, (732) 205-9000) WHERE THE CONTACT STATED THAT THEY DOWNLOADED THE BRAIN WITH NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY IN THE INSURANCE COMPANY'S POSSESSION WHERE IT WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES MULTIPLE TIMES, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,256. *BF*JB

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-25, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 13:32 Nov-14, 2019

I HAVE A BRAND NEW 2019 Range Rover Sport. I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE ON 3/29/2019 AND IN 7.5 MONTHS I ONLY HAVE 4,194 MILES SO IT SHOWS I DON'T DRIVE MUCH. I TOOK MY FIRST ROAD TRIP TO VISIT MY SON AND I MUST SAY I ONLY STOP FOR GAS ONE TIME. AS I'M DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY EVERYTHING WAS GREAT UNTIL I GOT NEAR RICHMOND VIRGINIA AND MY LOW COOLANT LIGHT CAME ON. I QUICKLY PULLED OVER AND GOT OUT AND NOTICED THAT ALL OF MY COOLANT WAS COMING OUT FROM THE BOTTOM. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED FOR A TOW AND MY CAR WAS TAKEN TO LANDROVER OF RICHMOND. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED THEY ARE CLAIMING THAT A PEBBLE OR ROAD DEBRIS 3CM WIDE HIT THE RADIATOR AND CAUSED THE COOLANT TO COME AND IN TURN FRIED THE ENGINE. THIS IS CRAZINESS FOR A VEHICLE THAT COST $80K. I'M INSURED BY PROGRESSIVE AND MY VEHICLE IS NOW DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BECAUSE IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE & RADIATOR WORTH $33K. I'M AT A LOST RIGHT NOW. THIS PROBLEM SOUNDS IDENTICAL TO WHAT THE RECENT RECALL SHOWS, BUT MY VIN# IS NOT INCLUDED. REALLY LEADS ME TO BELIEVE I PURCHASED THE CAR WITH A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-02, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 13:09 Nov-03, 2019

Without any signs and warnings, my car's engine light was suddenly on as we were driving home. When my husband drove it to the dealer, we were told that the engine needed a replacement. We have to pay more than $20,000 because our car (2016 land rover sport) was 7000 miles beyond the warranty mileage (50,000).

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-30, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 11:28 Oct-04, 2019

ALL THE SCREENS (3) WITHIN THE CAR AS SUBJECT TO FREEZING, OR COMPLETE FAILURE. THIS INCLUDES THE MAIN SPEEDOMETER SCREEN, THE CLIMATE CONTROL SCREEN, THE ENTERTAINMENT SCREEN, THE BLUETOOTH FUNCTION, THE LANE CHANGE ASSISTANCE WITHIN THE REAR VIEW MIRRORS. THIS ISSUE IS PREVALENT IN ALL RANGE ROVERS, Range Rover SportS AND VELARS, AND THERE ARE MULTIPLE FORUMS ON THE INTERNET ABOUT THE ISSUE. IT HAS EXISTED FOR OVER 2 YEARS YET LAND ROVER CONTINUE TO SELL THE CARS WITHOUT DISCLOSING THE ISSUE TO BUYERS AND AS OF TODAY, HAVE NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM, AS CONFIRMED BY LAND ROVER NORTH AMERICA. THESE FAULTS CAN OCCUR AT ANY TIME, WITH NO PATTERN, AND NO WARNING. AS AN EXAMPLE, WHEN THE CLIMATE CONTROL SCREEN FREEZES, THE WINDSCREEN CANNOT BE CLEARED IF FOGGED UP AS THE ENTIRE SYSTEM IS INACCESSIBLE, WHICH CAN BE HIGHLY DANGEROUS IN BAD WEATHER. LAND ROVER'S ONLY ADVICE IS TO "PULL OVER, SHUT THE VEHICLE DOWN, WAIT APPROX 10 MINS, AND RESTART THE VEHICLE", WHICH IS NOT ALWAYS POSSIBLE ON A FREEWAY ON A COLD DARK NIGHT.

Parts: SEAT BELTS
  • Date of Incident: May-09, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Sep-26, 2019

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 Land Rover Range Rover Sport. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V350000 (SEAT BELTS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR AS THE RECALL NOTICE WAS RECEIVED OVER A YEAR AGO. LAND ROVER CHARLOTTE (6940 E INDEPENDENCE BLVD, CHARLOTTE, NC 28227, (704) 536-4270) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT

Parts: LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES
  • Date of Incident: May-24, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Sep-26, 2019

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 Land Rover Range Rover Sport. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V390000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR AS THE RECALL NOTICE WAS RECEIVED OVER A YEAR AGO. LAND ROVER CHARLOTTE (6940 E INDEPENDENCE BLVD, CHARLOTTE, NC 28227, (704) 536-4270) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSUSPENSIONELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-02, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 06:42 Sep-24, 2019

To whom it may concern, my vehicle which is at 15,000 miles and about 18 months old, has been facing continuous failures on its electric and electronic components that affected the air suspension shutting down, emergency break locking up, sudden shut down of the middle main console, a shut down of safety features around mirrors and similar vehicle safety warning systems. The issues happen while driving. I took it back to my dealer several times and even the last time after service the car came back with an engine warning sign. I made multiple attempts with land rover to correct and stated that my family and i feel very unsafe and insecure not knowing what can break down next. When we asked if it is safe the company responded that we should make that determination without an engineering or technical background. The company also said they will take 30 business days to review our case however upon several reminders that we are not feeling safe, land rover opts to ignore or state that they do not have resources ie people to review these cases. I would like to enter into record that we did make many attempts to relay our concerns and if there are to be any accidents it is the fault of the company for continuously ignoring the seriousness of the case and total lack of care for passenger safety. I am writing on this venue hoping that you might be able to convince the company to pay attention to the matter.

Parts: SEATS
  • Date of Incident: Sep-07, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 15:01 Sep-21, 2019

Handle above rear passenger side door broke off and my 90 mother fell to the ground.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.