Mazda CX-3 Complaints

Mazda CX-3 Complaints
  • 39 Complaints
  • 6 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 2 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 39 complaints for CX-3 models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: LANE DEPARTUREELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Feb-24, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 Mazda CX-3. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 52 MPH, THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION WARNING INDICATOR WAS NOT WORKING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO OLYMPIA MAZDA (2201 CARRIAGE SOUTHWEST OLYMPIA, WA 98502) WHERE THE FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED AS A BLIND SPOT MONITORING SYSTEM FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER MANUFACTURER COMMUNICATIONS NUMBER: TSB:15-004-18-3539. THE CONTACT WAS UPSET THAT THE TSB WAS NOT A RECALL. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,440.

Parts: SEAT BELTSLANE DEPARTUREAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Nov-11, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:15 Nov-13, 2020

Passenger restraint malfunction chime sounded every 5 seconds for 35 minutes. Passenger airbags are now disabled. Blind spot monitoring only works sometimes.... A mind of its own.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Sep-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:39 Sep-01, 2020

While driving 70 mph on the interstate, vehicle stalled and started jerking, unable to accelerate, losing speed quickly. Fortunately i was able to move onto the shoulder, avoiding a semi truck approaching quickly behind, and another semi trucked parked along the interstate blocking access to the shoulder.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSTRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Aug-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:18 Aug-06, 2020

Rust on hatch, similar to rust resulting in recall in 2016 in australia

Parts: STRUCTUREENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 01:22 Aug-02, 2020

I was in an accident at a very high speed. A driver didn? T see me in his left side blind spot and was veering into my lane at 85-90mph. I swerved to the left to avoid the car and my car wouldn? T straighten/i couldn? T get back the control. I smashed the guardrail with the whole left side of my car and the car was deemed to be totaled by the insurance company. The airbags never deployed despite the high speed and impact of the accident.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:11 Jul-18, 2020

Battery has died twice for no reason. Locks need to be unlocked manually. I have to turn on car to open other doors.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-16, 2020

There is a crack in the corner of the mazda connect center display. I bought this car certified pre-owned last year and the crack was already there. *tr

Parts: VISIBILITYUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: May-14, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-20, 2020

Warm air from the climate control vents- car is under 45,000 miles and needs a new evaporator- most cars will never need a new evaporator, especially one that is under four years old. *tr

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-09, 2020

Tl* the contact owns a 2016 mazda cx3. The contact stated that the evaporator for the air conditioning was blowing warm air into the cab of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken bellamy strickland chevrolet buick parts (145 industrial blvd, mcdonough, ga 30253 770-30253). The vehicle was diagnosed and a pressure test found a leak in the evaporator. A tsb was found which would cover the repair. The contact was referred to hennessy mazda (7261 jonesboro rd building 2, morrow, ga 30260 844-237-2079). The contact was informed that the tsb expired and would no longer cover the vehicle under a warranty repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and declined to offer a free repair. The failure mileage was 58,700.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:50 Mar-04, 2020

While driving the vehicle entire dash lights go dark. This is the third episode i have experienced this. The vehicle has been to dealer twice before with same complaint. I contacted mazda in december 2018 & was given reference number of 1-1911536225. Incident happened again today when driving under overpass on highway

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:54 Mar-03, 2020

I purchased my 2019 cx 3 november 2018. April 17 2019 with 1840 miles i needed a new battery. I was told i didn't drive the care enough! I drive my car every day but it is local driving. February 25 2020 my car was serviced at 5000 miles including oil change and engine check. Paperwork showed battery at 100%. March 2 2020 another new battery was installed. I was told it was because of the "cold" (70 degrees) weather! I do not leave a/c or radio running when i exit the car. I would like to know if there is an electrical problem with my car or some other underlying problem. Will i have to replace the battery annually??? Both instances occurred when i turned the car on and all lights flashed, car did not want to go. Turned it off, restarted, check engine light came on. Thank you

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-05, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 11:34 Jan-10, 2020

The headlamps hold moisture. There are no cracks in the headlamps. I fear this will cause problems in the future.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-29, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:02 Jan-01, 2020

Driving on interstate car lost power all warning lights went on then died coasted to side of road could not restart car had about 1/8 tank gas dot came and put in some more gas restarted went to gas station and oil change shop that could not find anything to repair reset warning lights

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSERVICE BRAKESELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Nov-21, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 20:53 Dec-29, 2019

WHILE DRIVING MY 2016 Mazda CX-3 ON CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY 280 IT SUDDENLY STARTED LOSING POWER, I COULDN'T DRIVE THE CAR AND THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHT OF ANYTHING. NOT KNOWING THE PROBLEM I DID NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR ANY FURTHER, HAD TO TOW TO THE MAZDA DEALER. THEY HAVE IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM AS TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS NO ENGINE CHECK LIGHT AND THERE WAS NO OTHER WARNING LIGHTS. AS THEY WORKING ON THE CAR THEY ALSO IDENTIFIED THE BRAKES WERE WORN OUT WELL BEYOND THE MINIMUM STANDARDS. ALSO THERE WAS NO BRAKE WARNING LIGHT TO ALERT ME FOR THE SUCH PROBLEM. IF THE CAR DIDN'T STALL BECAUSE OF TRANSMISSION PROBLEM I WOULD BE STILL DRIVING THE CAR AND ONE DAY I COULD HAVE HAD A MAJOR ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF NO BRAKE FUNCTION. THIS PROBLEM ALSO COST ME AN ADDITIONAL EXPENSE WHERE THE CALIPERS AND THE ROTORS HAD TO BE REPLACED. I AM REPORTING THIS PROBLEM SO THAT OTHER 2016 MAZDA CX-3 OWNERS CAN BE WARNED, OR THIS SHOULD BE RECALL DUE TO FAULTY WARNING LIGHTS FOR THE TRANSMISSION AND THE BRAKES.

Parts: WHEELS
  • Date of Incident: Dec-18, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:52 Dec-20, 2019

I was sold a vehicle with "new" tires. I've only had the vehicle about 6 months and found out the tires were made in 2011 and starting to deteriorate so i had to buy actual new tires. I did not have an accident but feel there could have been a tire blowout. Luckily i had run over a bolt and was trying to get a tire repair when the tire place told me about the bad condition of all four tires. The dealership first did not believe me but when i showed them a picture they said they can sell tires up to 8 years old as new if they were not previously on a vehicle. I don't know if that is true but if the tires were starting to dry rot it seems like a bad idea and certainly unethical if not illegal.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 20:05 Dec-13, 2019

While driving on a 4-lane road (~45 mph), the vehicle lost all power and died. The check engine and battery warning lights came on and the start/stop button light turned red. After coasting into a gas station, the car could not initially be restarted. It could be restarted after adding gasoline, although the fuel tank was not empty when the car died. The fuel gauge showed 1/8 tank, and 9. 3 gallons fuel could be added to the tank, which has a capacity of 11. 9 gallons. After adding fuel and restarting, all warning lights went off and the car could be driven normally again. The mazda dealer found no stored error codes in the system and verified that the fuel pump and gas gauge were working correctly. Dealer performed powertrain control module software update.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPEREXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 14:00 Dec-13, 2019

The headlamps contain and hold moisture causing a softer light and less visibility. I am afraid the moisture will cause electrical problems in the future.

Parts: SEATS
  • Date of Incident: Aug-23, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:53 Dec-10, 2019

The seat constantly deflates when it? S pumped up to the tallest setting. Driver has to keep adjusting seat height while driving. I have a healthy bmi and only weigh 150 lbs. This should not be happening. Very dangerous, especially when it? S hard to see over the dash.

Parts: SEAT BELTS
  • Date of Incident: Aug-01, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 15:48 Nov-22, 2019

Passenger seat belt released propelling me into the windshield. I? M an avid seatbelt wearer. We were hit by another vehicle that ran a red light.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-17, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 13:54 Sep-19, 2019

Vehicle a/c quit working after less than 3 yrs, just out of warranty no less. Dealer wants nearly $2k for repair. Turns out the cause is a defective part mazda has been aware of since 2016. I was not notified of this issue. There are three separate tsb's about the issue and a mazda service program (msp 50) alert. Tsb's: 07-001-18-3465 07-001-18-3274b 07-004/17-3332a nhtsa #'s 10136781 10129570 10120389

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.