Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross Complaints

Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross Complaints
  • 18 Complaints
  • 2 Crashes
  • 1 Fires
  • 2 Injuries
  • 1 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 18 complaints for Eclipse Cross models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-21, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 07:16 Feb-24, 2021

The battery is always draining even when not in cold temperatures i have to turn the key twice in order for the vehicle to start. My husband was driving the vehicle the other day in the car completely stalled mid drive on a busy road

Parts: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: May-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:52 Feb-21, 2021

Bought the car from dealer in lasvegas an the back seat airbags had been tampered with, the car had about 13,500 miles on car from a rental agency but car dealer had car back an offered the 60,000mile guarantee on car for the remaining miles when i called dealer in st. Louis,moi said emergency light just started coming on when i got home from lasvegas. My dealer thought maybe an animal had chewed through wires in back seats but when they checked they found out that someone had cut the wires an taped them back together, an said they could noy fix them because someone had tampered with them. Also the dealer in lasvegas did a high pressure sales routine on us to sell us extra ins. On the rest of the car so if something was wrong then it woulld be covered, no matter what it was at first theywanted about another $4000 but i said i would never pay that much but then they continued to pressure us to buy it until i agreed to pay extra over $2000 for all rest of car insurance. The dealer on st. Charles rock road did the inspections in st. ,louis county mo. They took pictures an documented all of what they did to the car. The only thing i could get the dealer to fix was oil filter was also put on car from lasvegas dealer but it was not an authorized oil filter so the las vegas dealer agreed to pay for oil filter and oil change to st louis mo dealer. Las vegas dealer said they would not have anything else fixed even though they said they did not know who could have cut the wires an then taped them back. Also i went on line to see repair records of car rental company and las vegas dealer but none of their records said they had done any repairs to the airbags at all, so they assumed that someone else did this, but why would i buy extra ins coverage and then try to do something i had no idea to fix when i had paid for it to be done by the dealer??????????? Not sure of dates?????

Parts: LANE DEPARTURE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:40 Feb-20, 2021

When driving this vehicle, the bsw on the passenger side, does not always work.

Parts: SEAT BELTSAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Aug-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:50 Oct-27, 2020

When i plug my phone in and set it on the passengers seat , the passengers side airbag and seat-belt system activate. The airbag light turns on like someone is siting there , and the fasten seat belt light flashes. If i lift the charging phone off the seat and set it in the center consul , the system returns to normal - airbag light and fasten seat-belt light turn off. I had the system checked out at my dealership and their conclusion is to not set anything on the passengers seat , and it does state in owners manual to not set anything on the passengers seat. However this issue only occurs when the phone is plugged in and sitting on passenger seat. The issue does not happen if any other object is placed on the passengers seat or if the phone is unplugged and sitting on passenger seat. This issue will happen weather the car is in park or driving. The issue did not begin to happen until approximately 30 days after i bought the vehicle new on july 24 , 2020. Now the issue happens consistently , but not every time.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:00 Aug-25, 2020

The metal part where the door close is sticking up and hit my feet every time i get out my car. And it's not safe

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:26 Jul-20, 2020

This vehicle is a safety hazard to anyone on the road, especially the driver and passenger of said vehicle. It has been in an out of the shop for a multitude of issues. It has an issue that cannot be fixed of a faulty gas reading causing a person to never know how much gas they truly have causing them to overfill or run out. Mitsubishi is aware of the issue yet does not have a fix so this is an ongoing issue that has resulted in dealership putting lots of miles on to diagnose with no prevail as well as the vehicle being in the shop on a regular basis. Issue two and most recent on july 16 while traveling at 80 mph on the interstate the electrical system started to glitch results in mirrors opening and closing, doors locking and unlocking and electrical system clicking noises. The following day again at high speeds on a busy metro interstate while using gps the vehicles entire electrical system started to cycle on and off. (while these are the two current ongoing issues i have a stack if repair orders of other issues such as vehicle shaking above 60mph, electrical issues with the mirrors, clunking noises upon turning, you name it! This specific vehicle should not be on the road! ) i can send futher documentation as required as it exceeds max upload.

Parts: AIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Oct-26, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-06, 2020

The driver's airbag exploded on my left side, cutting my left arm and rendering me deaf in both ears from the impact when i was hit on the left rear panel by a motorcycle, killing the rider. My hearing is permanently damaged and i have sustained back and neck injury. I was in a median between four lanes of traffic on a state road and stationary when hit. My car was turned completely around by the impact and the airbag exploded after i was sitting still, which was a huge shock to me. It was a delayed reaction. The left rear panel was destroyed and the rear window and the vehicle was considered totaled. *tr *js

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:30 Apr-21, 2020

After purchasing my vehicle on 10/31/18, i experienced 6 headlight changes from that point till 4/19/20. On 4/19/20, while driving i smelled an electrical burning smell. As i proceeded to pull to a safe location my headlight indicator light came then i loss all power and function of the vehicle. Pressing the breaks and pulling the emergency break multiple times did not stop the vehicle. Approximately 150 yards ahead i spotted a shopping center entrance. As i proceeded to attempt a hard right turn into the parking lot when fire began shooting over the front windshield and side fenders. I finally got the vehicle to stop after pumping the hand break several times and exited the vehicle. The result of this faulty electrical system caused me to total my car.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-15, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 14:25 Jan-28, 2020

The low gas gauge does not work. It will notify me that i have 50 miles left on my tank and within 5 miles will go to 0 with warning lights to refuel immediately. It does not say how many miles are left. It rapidly goes from 50 miles left to 0. This has caused me to run out of gas twice to date, when there is not an immediate gas station near me.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSERVICE BRAKESFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-05, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 14:20 Jan-28, 2020

When i use the acc, and the highway is hilly, the acc will engage the fcm (forward collision mitigation), resulting in the brakes being applied, sometimes forcefully, resulting in an immediate slow down of my vehicles speed. This can cause accidents as those around me had to slam on their brakes as well. When going up and down hills, the acc does not work properly. This has occurred many times from the time i bought the vehicle until now.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Nov-20, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 14:14 Jan-28, 2020

When on the highway, i set the cruise for a set speed. With no other cars around me, my speed will vary significantly. I set the speed for 70mph (speed limit) and the car will go from 64mph and surge up to 78mph all on it's own. This has happened to me 4 times to date. Once it ended in a speeding ticket when i first got the car. I was really confused how i was clocked going 79 mpg when the cruise was set on 70mph. It has occurred a number of times since, causing me to cancel the cruise control in order to normalize my speed.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-05, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:03 Dec-26, 2019

Exhaust fumes getting into cabin causing headache, fatigue, and concentration issues. Several dealerships in the area are aware of issue but no solution from mitsubishi. Dealer ship also confirmed exhaust smell in car and attempted at severl repairs without resolution.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESEXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-12, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 19:15 Nov-25, 2019

I was driving my vehicle on 11/12/19, presses the brakes in preparation to make a turn. The brakes failed and would not stop the vehicle , the abs , brake assist and hill assist did not work, which resulted in me being unable to stop the vehicle. The end result was me getting into a collision causing over $4000 worth of damage to my vehicle , with it only having 865 miles at the time. When i bought the vehicle the headlights also didn? T work, although the vehicle was purchased brand new. Please note when the collision occurred i was driving on the street.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Aug-14, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 15:30 Sep-12, 2019

At times when i am driving the passenger air bag is turned off. Some times my car emergency break comes on but there is no one in front of me

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Aug-15, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Aug-16, 2019

While driving the above vehicle on the freeway the car shut down. I pulled over safely to the side. Shut the vehicle off completely and then restarted it. The dash was lit up like a christmas tree and the car started and was to drive home in a limp mode in. Called the dealer the car had recall for software update. The dealer michaud mitsubishi in danvers ma updated the software and cleared codes. Few days back the care refused to up-shift while driving and would not exceed more then 35 to 40 miles per hour. I notified the above dealer and took it back to them no error code was found. I continued driving. On wed 8/14/19 the car again would not up-shift and stayed in 2nd gear and rpm went up to 5000. I pulled over and shut off the vehicle. Restarted it and it drove normally. I again made an appointment for friday 8/16/19 to the dealer to show them what was happening. I was driving yesterday 08/15/19 around 10. 15 am on the freeway at approximately 70 miles an hour with an 18 wheeler behind me, the car shut off 2nd time in its life and the dashboard lit up like a christmas tree again. I quickly and safely pulled over before i was rear ended by the 18 wheeler. I took pics of dashboard as it was showing error codes. I called the dealer and asked that i could bring the car now. The lady answering the phone was hostile and ultimately turned over the call to owners son zack. I went to dealer by noon yesterday and talked to paul in service/sales. The vehicle was examined and the same error codes had again been regenerated by on board computer. I was told to leave the vehicle while dealers service dept was trying to get in touch with mitsubishi service dept. As of today 08/16/19 i dont have a status update on the vehicle. *dt *tr *js

Parts: WHEELSUNKNOWN OR OTHERSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jun-10, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-23, 2019

The 1st day i purchased my car, it was pulling to one side and swaying from left to right. Because i purchased my car late one saturday evening, and the dealership closed until the following monday, i couldn? T make a report until that monday morning. The? Head? Mechanic at the dealership took my car for a drive with me riding with him, and stated,? The pulling and swaying you feel is normal. The way these cars are made were computerized this way.?. Because i? M not familiar with cars, i took the mechanic at his word until about 1. 5 months later i lost control of my car sliding partially off the road. I filed a complaint with mitsubishi @ 1-888-648-7820, file [xxx]. I have not received a resolution to this problem, and i have been getting the run around ever since. It? S been almost 4 months now. I spoke with marius at mitsubishi manufacturing, and then i was referred to larry johnson at don herring mitsubishi in irving texas. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tt

Parts: WHEELSUNKNOWN OR OTHERSERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Oct-03, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 16:40 Oct-03, 2018

After starting the car, and going in reverse, you can hear a cracking or clicking noise (it? S really hard to tell), and sometimes it? S really loud, if the brakes or something else was stuck and was about to break a part. It sounds on the read side and in the front side too. You can hear one or 3 clicks. I took my car to the dealer around 3 times in 5 months and first, i was told its normal, the second time i was pushy, and it was a matter of lubrication i wasn? T told where exactly, and the last time the dealership manager told me that service department had to keep the car for a week, ( i got a loaner, but it has the same issue). The service department replaced the brake system, and rotors, inspect and lubricate all parts. But, i was told that they couldn? T pin point the problem. The noise stopped, but i was told if it comes back, i had to take the car back to the dealer. After this incident, the next day in the morning while driving to work, my car stopped working, i couldn? T break (i was driving at 27mph), the steering wheel got locked, i got all the alarms on, fcm, power steering problem, abs problem, asc, acc not available. I got really affraid, luckily i had no cars around.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-17, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 14:33 May-18, 2018

Stopped at a red light. Light turned green stepped on the gas, truck accelerated. Then began to feel like something wasn? T normal, engine began to make quick high and low pitched sounds. Was only going 10mph if that. Tried to step on the brakes and pull over, but the brakes didn? T respond. Then tried to step on the gas slightly to pull over, but the gas pedal also didn? T respond. I was able to let the truck roll to a stop in the right turning lane, put it in park, and turn on the hazards. Then followed every possible service light came on. The engine never actually stalled. It was still running but not responsive to the brake or gas pedals. I attempted to? Reset? The car, as per the manual suggested. Turned it off for 5 minutes and then back on. The high and low pitch sounds continued, service lights remained lit, and vehicle was still unresponsive. Roadside assistance was then called and towed the truck to the dealership i leased from. Thankfully i wasn? T going more than 10mph when my brakes failed and was able to roll to a stop, opposed to being on the highway going 60mph, as i was just 10 minutes before this occurred. The truck is not even 3 months old, with only 3,600 approx. Miles.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.