Nissan Armada Complaints

Nissan Armada Complaints
  • 93 Complaints
  • 2 Crashes
  • 1 Fires
  • 3 Injuries
  • 2 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 93 complaints for Armada models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 22:27 Apr-05, 2021

I PURCHASED MY 2017 Armada IN MAY OF 2000 AND MY AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN BLINKING OFF AND ON. I TOOK IT TO A NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT COULD BE MY CABIN AIRBAG OR MY SIDE PANEL. THEY SAID THEY CHECKED MY MODULAR UNDER SEAT PANEL AND THEY SAID IT WASN'T ANY WIRES LOOSE BUT WHAT EVER THEY DID IT STOPPED MY AIR BAG LIGHT FOR BLINKING BUT THEY SAID IT WILL COME BACK ON AND IT DID. NOW IT'S TIME FOR MY CAR TO GET INSPECTED THIS MONTH .WHAT CAN I DO

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Mar-18, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 23:12 Mar-29, 2021

The vehicle abruptly lost reverse gear while driving on a public roadway. After approximately 3 hours of continuous highway driving, the vehicle was brought to a stop, placed into reverse, accelerated in reverse for approximately 100? , and shifted back to drive. After subsequently coming to a stop, operator attempted to put the vehicle in reverse again but vehicle failed to engage the reverse gear. In fact the vehicle was essentially in neutral despite the gear shifter indicating? R? Gear. Again, the gear shifter would readily shift to? R? But in fact no gear was apparently engaged as the vehicle would roll downhill as if it were in nuetral. Vehicle failed to proceed in reverse despite opening the throttle (i. E. ? Giving it gas? ). As far as we could tell the vehicle was able to shift to park and drive. The vehicle was able to proceed in drive. No excessive noises or vibrations were experienced throughout the duration of this incident. Owner called local nissan dealership to report the trouble and later delivered vehicle to dealership. Dealership advised that it had contacted nissan engineering hotline for direction how to proceed. Dealership stated nissan engineering hotline advised replacement of transmission. Nissan consumer affairs refused to provide any assistance or consideration to customer except to rely upon extended warranty purchased by customer at original sales transaction. Dealership stated all labor and material were covered by warranty. This 4 year old nissan suv has only 1 original owner, has kept up with all scheduled maintenance performed by nissan dealership, and has operated for fewer than 10,000 miles per year. Approximate mileage at incident is 38,200 miles. According to the dealership the make and model of the replacement transmission is jatco corp. Re7r01b x100a.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Feb-26, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 18:28 Mar-25, 2021

The transmission is shifting incorrectly at low rpms. I can clearly see the rpm fluctuating especially going uphill. This happens 30-50 mph. Lack of power/acceleration. Feels like transmission is shifting in lower gears too sooner and and won't accelerate until driver pushes significantly. This is very dangerous especially making turns at stop lights.

Parts: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEBACK OVER PREVENTION
  • Date of Incident: Jan-31, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:59 Mar-22, 2021

Bci malfunction earring, shows on the dashboard. This issue occurred since january, the entire system shuts off, pre collision, back up warning, cruise control, and sonar system, all goes off. Moreover, the car would not start, have to push the brakes 3 to 6 time in order to turn the car on. More to that, few time the gear seemed to be stuck on park and wouldn? T switch to d or r.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-19, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 Nissan Armada. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT BLANK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GREENACRES NISSAN (5353 LAKE WORTH RD, GREENACRES, FL 33463, (561) 537-5300) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,150.

Parts: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-20, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:25 Mar-10, 2021

We have a group of customers must of us have experienced a stop lamp brake light switch gone bad that causes the computer to trow codes abs,tc,collision distance from the car in front ,bci malfunction,dealers are charging nissan customers to repair this issue $200+

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-27, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 21:00 Mar-01, 2021

2019 NISSAN WAS PURCHASED AUG 2020 FROM VALLEJO NISSAN(CA). OCTOBER 20' THE Armada WOULDN'T START, I TOOK IT TO THE TRACY NISSAN DEALERSHIP AS I HAVE THE NISSAN PLUS EXTENDED WARRANTY. TECH SAID IT WAS THE BATTERY WHICH WAS NOT COVERED. I PURCHASED A NEW BATTERY WITH MAX CRANKING AMPS. JAN 28, 2021 I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO DEALERSHIP AS IT FAILED TO START AGAIN(#2). NISSAN TECH SAID THE NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL CABLE WAS LOOSE. FEB 3, 2021 I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO TRACY NISSAN AS IT FAILED TO START (#3). NISSAN TECH REPLACED THE STOP LAMP SWITCH WHICH HE STATED WAS THE REASON WHY THE ARMADA WOULDN'T START. FEB 20TH, ARMADA AGAIN WOULD NOT START (#4). TOOK IT TO DEALER FEB 22ND AND WAS TOLD A FEW DAYS LATER(FEB 27TH) THAT A NISSAN REGIONAL TECHNICIAN WAS CONTACTED AND THEY HAD TO UPDATE THE "RAPID CHARGE" SYSTEM IN THE ARMADA AND THEY WERE "PRETTY SURE" THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPAIRED. MY WIFE ARRIVED AT NISSAN ON FEB 27TH AND ARMADA AGAIN, WOULD NOT START(#5). THIS WAS WHILE IT WAS STILL IN THE NISSAN DEALER LOT. MARCH 1ST I WAS CONTACTED BY NISSAN TECH WHO STATED MY BATTERY HAS LOW CRANKING AMPS DUE TO THE UPDATE THEY HAD TO DO TO THE RAPID CHARGE SYSTEM AND ASKED ME TO REPLACE THE BATTERY...AGAIN! FOUR OF THE FIVE TIMES THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T START IT WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY, THE FIFTH TIME IT WAS PARKED AT THE DEALERSHIP.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:36 Feb-10, 2021

The instrument panel lighting goes out within 3 years. There are many complaints online regarding the panel light failure of the led lights. This makes parts of the panel dark an unreadable at night.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEMBACK OVER PREVENTION
  • Date of Incident: Jan-26, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:15 Feb-05, 2021

Several times the engine will not crank and will not start. Can take up to 10 minutes sometimes before vehicle will start, leaving driver stranded. Twice now the bci malfunction (backup collision intervention) error came up on the dash along with other lights immediatly after engine startup. First time at 23,027 miles, and now recently at 32,081 miles. The first time, dealership said they "could not replicate the problem. " this recent time, the dealership said there was a service bulletin to replace a stop lamp switch (ntb20-065). We'll see if the problem is actually fixed. This should really be a recall considering the shear number of similar complaints about this issue. Plus the brake lamps may not work consistently, elevating the risk of a collision if other drivers aren't aware the vehicle is slowing down.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-14, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:55 Jan-28, 2021

I SAW THE RECALL ON THE PATHFINDERS TODAY AND I HAVE A SIMILAR ISSUE WITH MY 2017 Armada. SOMETHING KEEPS CAUSING MY BATTERY TO DRAIN. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO SHOP TO BE INSPECTED, THE BATTERY IS OKAY, THE ALTERNATOR OKAY, AND THE STARTER OKAY. I CUT EVERY FEATURE OFF IN MY CAR BUT SOMETHING IS ELECTRICALLY DRAINING THE BATTERY. I REPLACED THE BCM NOT TOO LONG AGO BC IT KEPT FAILING. HAVE YOU GUYS HAD ANY REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING WITH OTHER PEOPLE? I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL YOUTUBE PEOPLE EXPERIENCING SAME ISSUES AND I HAVE READ ARTICLES AS WELL. SOMETHING INTERNALLY IS PULLING AMPS WHEN IT SHOULDN'T BE. THERE HAVE ALSO BEEN SUSPENSION ISSUES. CAN YOU GUYS PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THE ISSUE MAY BE? THIS HAPPENED WHERE IT WOULDN'T CRANK A FEW TIMES PRIOR TO THIS DAY THEN I WOULD GET IT TO CRANK..NOW IT IS ALMOST EVERYTIME HAVING TO JUMP IT.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:41 Jan-19, 2021

The transmission is shifting incorrectly at low rpms. I can clearly see the rpm fluctuating especially going uphill. This happens 30-50 mph. Lack of power/acceleration. Feels like transmission is shifting in lower gears too sooner and and won't accelerate until driver pushes significantly. This is very dangerous especially making turns at stop lights.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:35 Jan-07, 2021

On january 4th, 2020 when we went to start the car, all the lights flickered and the seats rattled from electrical pulses. The car did not start at all. We have had this happen 20+ times. Sometimes when we jump the car, it will start. The dealership has replaced the battery 4 times. It is clearly not the battery. Nissan never has an answer.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jan-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 05:05 Jan-06, 2021

WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE HAS DISPLAYED AN INTERMITTENT TRANSMISSION SHUDDER AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOPPED POSITION. THIS OCCURS AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 20-40 MPH. THE SHUDDER CAN BE FELT THROUGH THE FLOOR INTO THE SEAT AND APPEARS AS IF THE TRANSMISSION IS SEARCHING FOR A PROPER GEAR. UNDER HARD ACCELERATION/FREEWAY DRIVING THE ISSUE DOES NOT PRESENT ITSELF. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN INTO BOTH MY NISSAN AND INFINITY DEALER. BOTH TECHNICIANS WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE CONFIRMED FEELING THE SHUDDER. DRIVELINE SERVICE WAS PERFORMED AT NISSAN AND THE ECM RECEIVED THE MOST CURRENT UPDATE. NISSAN TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE Armada AND THAT THE SHUDDER IS DUE TO THE COMPUTER TRYING TO FIND THE OPTIMUM TRANSMISSION SHIFT POINTS FOR THE BEST FUEL ECONOMY. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO MY INFINITY DEALER AFTER LEARNING THAT THE ISSUE IS KNOWN TO EXIST IN THE QX56 & QX80 AS WELL AS THE ARMADA AS THE VEHICLES ALL SHARE THE SAME COMPONENTS. MY SERVICE TECHNICIAN DROVE THE VEHICLE AND ALSO CONFIRMED THE SHUDDER OCCURRING INTERMITTENTLY UNDER CERTAIN DRIVING CONDITIONS. I REQUESTED THAT THEY SEARCH FOR THE MOST CURRENT UPDATE WHICH WOULD BE THE "E" UPDATE, UNFORTUNATELY THIS UPDATE ONLY APPLIES TO MODELS PRIOR TO 2018. SERVICE TECH ADVISED ME TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE NORMALLY AS THIS IS NOT A MECHANICAL ISSUE, BUT A SOFTWARE ISSUE. HE ALSO CONFIRMED THAT NISSAN / INFINITY ARE WELL AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND HAVE DONE LITTLE TO NOTHING TO PROVIDE A TSB, COMPUTER UPDATE, OR PERMANENT SOLUTION. HE FURTHER ADVISED THAT A TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT, REBUILD, OR MAJOR SERVICING WOULD NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE AS IT IS SOFTWARE RELATED. IT IS DEEMED VERY COMMON. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE IN A $65,000 VEHICLE. NISSAN NEEDS TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE INSTEAD OF HAVING DEALERS ADVISING OWNERS THIS IS NORMAL. MY CONCERN IS A TRANSMISSION FAILURE WHILE DRIVING.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-28, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:13 Dec-28, 2020

YESTERDAY I WAS SITTING IN A DRIVETHRU AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE BCI WARNING LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH AND A COUPLE OF OTHER DASH LIGHTS. DROVE STRAIGHT HOME AND NOW THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START. I WILL HAVE TO GET A TOW TO THE NEAREST DEALER. GOOD THING I DROVE STRAIGHT HOME OTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE BEEN STRANDED SOMEWHERE. MY Armada ONLY HAS 38,000 MILES ON IT.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:20 Dec-14, 2020

On somewhat random occasions the vehicle will not start, in total over 13 separate occasions. At times it will start after 5 or 6 attempts sometimes 20 attempts. On the last 5 occasions it would not start until a battery charger or other battery was used. I have used the last occasion for date of occurrence. Had it to the dealership 3 times and they cannot duplicate. It is a random occurrence sometimes after a week and sometimes after a couple of months. The last time in november i had to jump start it 4 times before i could get it to the dealer and they could not duplicate it. The vehicle is unreliable. The regional rep is now working with me and having me take it to the dealership one more time to check it again.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:26 Dec-11, 2020

I PURCHASE MY Nissan Armada IN APRIL 2019. IN NOVEMBER 2019 THE CAR LEFT ME STRANDED WITH A DEATH BATTERY. I HAD TO GET IT JUMP STARTED AND THEN DRIVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, A LOW BATTERY. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN IN DECEMBER 2019, SAME ISSUE , THEY CHECKED AND CHANGED THE THE BATTERY. THIS YEAR I HAD THE SAME ISSUE 4 TIMES ALREADY SOMETIMES PARKED AT MY HOUSE SOME AT PUBLIC AREAS, THROUGH OUT THE YEAR, THE FIRST TWO TIMES THEY HAD TO JUMP STARTED . THE THIRD TIME THE MECHANIC THEY SENT COULDN'T STARTED, SINCE I WAS STRANDED IN A PUBLIC PARKING LOT ANOTHER PERSON HAD TO HELP. THE FOURTH TIME THE TOWING COMPANY COULD NOT GET IT STARTED AND IT HAD TO BE TOWED. THEY HAVE CHECKED THE IGNITION, THE BATTERY, THE ELECTRICAL AND THEY CAN'T FIND WHAT IS MAKING THE BATTERY DRAIN POWER AND LEAVE IT USEFUL. THE DEALERSHIPS RESPOND IS, TO DRIVE IT LONGER DISTANCE ONCE A WEEK OR TO BUY A POWER BATTERY FOR MY HOUSE TO CHARGE IT ONCE A WEEK! THE CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP SINCE I WILL NOT TAKE THIS AS A LOGICAL EXPLANATION, FOR A NEW CAR WITH ONLY 9.800 MILES. THEIR SOLUTIONS ARE 1- TO BUY A LARGER BATTERY AT MY COST AND LOSE THE WARRANTY FROM THEM ,2- BUY A BATTERY TENDER TO CHARGE MY CAR ONCE A WEEK ( AT MY OWN COST) 3- BUY A NEW CAR ( OUR REQUEST TO SEE OPTIONS) AND FOR THEM IS A REGULAR TRADEOFF. THEY CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM AND THEIR SOLUTIONS ARE NOT LOGICAL. COMPARED TO OTHER MODELS AND BRANDS, WITH EVEN LESS DRIVING HABITS THAN MINE , I DON'T SEE THEM HAVING TO GO THROUGH THIS OR CHARGING THEIR CARS AT HOME!! THEY DON'T HAVE AN ANSWER AND THEIR SOLUTION AS THEY TELL ME WON'T GUARANTEE THE CAR WILL WORK. AND THE WORST PART THEY ALL COST ME MONEY! IT IS SAD THAT MY INVESTMENT AND RELIABILITY ON A FAMILY CAR IS NOT GIVING ME THE CONFIDENCE, SAFETY AND IS A HAZEL WHEN THIS HAPPENS. I HAVE MY TODDLER TO TRANSPORT AND I HATE TO BE STUCK SOMEWHERE WITH NO HELP.

Parts: EXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:47 Dec-11, 2020

Electrical system issuses. So far needing to replace o2sensor, parking assist sensors, dash speedometer assembly, rear camera assembly. Other issuse not repairs as of yet, driving stability, auto head light sensors, what ever controls storing radio stations, fluctuating battery voltage while driving: fluctuates from 10 volts to 17 while driving.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:21 Dec-02, 2020

I keep receiving a message on my screen that says sonar system error please contact your dealer for assistance. Now, the alert for the tire, oil, and fitler will not reset.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-12, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:45 Nov-13, 2020

2019 Armada WITH JUST OVER 5000 MILES. DEAD BATTERY TOWED OR JUMPED 5 TIMES. RECALL SWITCH REPLACED. THE PROBLEM STILL CONTINUES. SEEMS LIKE A DEAD BATTERY JUST 15 MINUTES AFTER SHUTTING OFF . WE CALLED BUT WRECKER WAS A PROBLEM SO WE USED A JUMP START. BATTERY IS SUPPOSE TO BE A BRAND NEW ONE DEALER SAID WHEN WE DROVE AND DROPPED OFF AT DEALERSHIP THIS A.M. HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT COULD JUST BE THE BATTERY. IT SHOWS IT?S CHARGED ONCE STARTED. WE LIVE IN A RURAL AREA AND OF COURSE LIKE ANYONE WE NEED A DEPENDABLE CAR. SEEING OTHERS HAVING SUCH PROBLEMS TELLS US NISSAN MAY BE A CAR WE RETURN AS A LEMON. EACH TIME CELL SERVICE HAS BEEN VERY LIMITED. TEXTING WORKED SO I COULD GET MY HUSBAND A TOW TRUCK. NISSAN HAS OUR RECORD WE WILL OBTAIN AND KEEP. LAST NIGHT ALL LIGHTS ETC. WE?RE OPERATING JUST NO START OR ATTEMPT TO START WITH IGNITION. THEN IN A FEW MINUTES ALL WAS DEAD. DOOR WOULD NOT EVEN UNLOCK TO LET US IN AFTER GETTING JUMPER CABLES BUT AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND REPEATED ATTEMPTS IT UNLOCKED.

Parts: POWER TRAINEXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:40 Oct-22, 2020

IN AUGUST 2020, I HAD TO JUMP START MY Armada DUE TO BATTERY DRAINED WHILE PARKED. THE VERY NEXT DAY, SAME THING HAPPENED. NISSAN REPROGRAMMED ECM IN SEPTEMBER DUE TO RECALL. WORKED FINE UNTIL OCTOBER 21, WHEN THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN. I DROVE IT THAT MORNING, BUT WHEN I TRIED TO START IT THAT AFTERNOON, IT WOULD NOT START AND THE INTERIOR JUST FLASH ON AND OFF. HAD TO JUMP START AGAIN.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.