Nissan Leaf Complaints

Nissan Leaf Complaints
  • 117 Complaints
  • 10 Crashes
  • 2 Fires
  • 4 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 117 complaints for Leaf models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-09, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:46 Nov-18, 2020

Electronic brake assist failed while driving in traffic, october 9th, 2020. Braking distance was extended and the brake pedal depressed much farther than normal, causing driver to stop car with emergency brake. Emergency lights illuminated on the dash. Errors codes indicate faults with the electronic driven intelligent brake control unit, the subject of safety campaign 16v119000. Subsequent nissan recall, which applied 3nf9b firmware to the edib, had been applied 5/13/16. Failures re-occurred in cold weather in november 8th, 2020. Problem is sporadic and dealer cannot reproduce. However, a video of the failure was recorded and has been shown to them. Replacement part carries yet a new firmware, 4np3e. This firmware should be made available under the safety campaign if it more fully addresses the problem with the brakes.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:36 Nov-16, 2020

When using android auto in the infotainment, one cannot see the climate (hvac) status, so it creates a dangerous distraction to adjust the heating/air conditioning, fan speed, defrost, etc. When in normal menus and an adjustment is made to the climate settings, it is displayed on the top of the screen in a banner. This is the only place where this information is visible, and generally works fine. However, when using android auto, this banner does not activate and is not visible. As a result, changing the climate settings involves multiple touchscreen interactions in addition to using the physical controls. This could and should be updated via a software update. I will also make a youtube video showing the problem for further illustration.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Nov-13, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:44 Nov-14, 2020

Freezing brakes. Brakes would not work when applied in motion.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Oct-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:25 Oct-29, 2020

THE REVERSE CAMERA SYSTEM THAT ACTIVATES WHEN THE CAR IS IN REVERSE IS SO BLURRY THAT IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO DISTINGUISH OBJECTS. YOU CAN'T TELL IF THAT'S A BOX IN THE DRIVEWAY BEHIND YOUR CAR OR A BABY SEAT WITH A BABY IN IT. FOR TEST PURPOSES A SIGN WITH 3-INCH LETTERS PLACED 48 INCHES FROM THE CAMERA IS COMPLETELY ILLEGIBLE ON SCREEN. NISSAN REPORTS THAT THIS IS NORMAL OPERATION FOR THE 2020 Leaf REAR CAMERA. I AM ATTACHING A PICTURE OF THE REAR CAMERA SCREEN ALONG WITH A PICTURE OF THE EXACT SAME SCENE TAKEN WITH A CELL PHONE. THE QUALITY DIFFERENCE IS QUITE STRIKING, AND ILLUSTRATES HOW POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS THE 2020 LEAF REAR CAMERA COULD BE FOR DRIVERS.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:06 Oct-15, 2020

A sudden loss of propulsion with out an audible warning. The vehicle operates at creep speed. I notice it because the can not accelerate. A moment of confusion sets in in trying to figure out what is going on. A tell tale light of a turtle comes on. I have to work my way through traffic to pull on the side of the road. This is a concern on a busy highway. The tell tale light goes away after cycling the power by turning the car off and starting it all over. It gives me the impression that the trouble went away. This issue occurred once a year. I didn't think much of it. It is now happening once a week in the past two months. Someone can get hurt in the worst case scenario. I believe the warning light should remain on until the issue is resolved. I noticed the issue happens when the climate is hot and i am driving with the ac on. The battery temperature is in the safe zone. Nissan didn't take it seriously. I took a picture of it.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:48 Sep-18, 2020

FIRST SIGNS OF A PROBLEM WAS A YELLOW TRIANGULAR WARNING SIGN ON THE DASH WHEN I WAS CLOSE TO HOME, BUT NO DRIVING PROBLEMS. NEXT TIME STARTING THE VEHICLE AT HOME (ALL ELECTRIC VEHICLE) MANY LIGHTS LIT UP ON THE DASH AND THE BRAKE PEDAL ALMOST WENT TO THE FLOOR AS IT JERKED AND JUDDERED DOWN, AND A LOUD WARNING SOUND WAS EMITTED WHICH CONTINUED FOR QUITE AFTER A WHILE AFTER VEHICLE WAS SWITCHED OFF. THE CAR HAS BEEN FLAKY EVER SINCE, WITH EITHER A RED OR YELLOW WARNING SIGN LIGHTING ON THE DASH- OR NOTHING AT ALL. THE MOST SERIOUS EXPERIENCE, HOWEVER, WAS ON SEPTEMBER 15 (2020) WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE IN A PARKING LOT (WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE - YOU CAN'T START WITHOUT THAT) - I PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE AND THE CAR STARTED MOVING BACK EVEN THOUGH I STILL HAD MY FOOT FIRMLY ON THE BRAKE. I HAD TO USE A LOT OF EXTRA FORCE BEFORE THE VEHICLE FINALLY SLOWED DOWN AND STOPPED. THANKFULLY, THERE WERE NO OTHER VEHICLES OF PEDESTRIANS BEHIND ME. IN RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM ONLINE, I HAVE FOUND DOZENS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS - WHICH IS QUITE AMAZING CONSIDERING SO RELATIVELY FEW Nissan LeafS ARE ON US ROADS.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:34 Sep-15, 2020

On several occasions in both rural and suburban environments, regardless of weather temperature outside and during normal forward driving motion, the car reports that the forward camera overheats and immediately renders the collision avoidance system and propilot inoperative. Dash lights picture included. 1st overheating occurrence happened on april 15, 2020 and the after 2 more occurrences i took a picture on july 6, 2020. Nissan service refuses to acknowledge this as a safety issue and dismisses the issue when i request service, stating that it is "normal operation. "

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Jul-31, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 22:32 Aug-09, 2020

DURING CONDITIONS OF LOW 12V BATTERY CHARGE, THE VEHICLE WILL OCCASIONALLY START, GO INTO A DRIVE MODE ("R" OR "D") BUT THE BRAKES WILL NOT OPERATE. I STRESS THAT THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN THE 12V BATTERY HAS LOW CHARGE, BUT NOT TOO LOW THAT THE VEHICLE WILL REFUSE TO START. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON TO REPORT THIS. NOTE THE COMMENT ABOUT BRAKES FAILING IN THIS POSTING: HTTPS://WWW.MYNISSANLeaf.COM/VIEWTOPIC.PHP?F=30&T=12959&P=588304#P587949

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Aug-03, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:40 Aug-03, 2020

WHILE I WAS ACCELERATING TO 60MPH FROM A STOP LIGHT ON US 287 AND ISABELLE ROAD IN BOULDER COUNTY, COLORADO, THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UNCONTROLLED TO OVER 70. ACCELERATOR PEDAL SEEMED TO NOT WORK AT ALL. I BRAKED AND SLOWED DOWN BUT IT WAS FIGHTING THE MAXIMUM ACCELERATION. I TRIED PUMPING THE BRAKES AND KEPT SLOWING DOWN AND THE CAR LOST ALL ENGINE POWER AND SEEMED TO BRAKE ITSELF. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE AND TURNED OFF THE CAR. TURNED IT BACK ON AND ALL SEEMED NORMAL. I AM CONCERNED THAT OTHERS MAY PANIC IN THIS SITUATION AND NOT BE ABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR. THE 2015 Nissan Leaf I DRIVE HAS 31,000 MILES ON IT NOW AND HAS HAD ALL UPDATES AND SERVICES.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:41 Jun-23, 2020

Backup camera periodically fails to produce feed, resulting in black screen when vehicle is in reverse (though backup turn guidance lines still appear). Slamming trunk door or pressing on the camera module itself sometimes resolves issue but can only be done from outside the vehicle and does not always fix the issue. This is separate from the existing recall in regards to the software issue. Dealership has inspected vehicle and not found any wiring issues and noted that this is not related to the software issue in the existing recall. Cannot reliably reproduce but seems to occur roughly once a month or more often. Possibly occurs from opening and closing trunk door though issue is not noticed until next time the car is operated and put in reverse. Turning vehicle off and then back on does not resolve issue. Backup camera turn guidance lines continue to appear even if no backup camera feed appears (black screen) which seems to indicate an issue with the camera module itself rather than the display module or software. This has been an issue since the first year of vehicle ownership but have not been able to fix/diagnose as it has not occurred while at dealership or other repair facility.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSERVICE BRAKESELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-29, 2020

I was driving down the freeway going roughly 70mph with pro pilot cruise control enabled. The car sensed a car ahead and slammed on the brakes, but there were no cars in front of me and was almost rear ended by a car going 70+ mph on i5. *tr

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: May-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-23, 2020

ON FRIDAY 5/22/2020 AT 8:59 PM A 2019 Nissan Leaf WAS IN MOTION DRIVING AT LESS THAN 7 MILES PER HOURS WHEN THE MAIN SCREEN DISPLAYED: ?WARNING: SERVICE EV SYSTEM POWERED REDUCED?. WITHIN SECONDS, THE OPERATOR STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND TOOK A PHOTO OF THE SCREEN. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE OPERATOR SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF VEHICLE. THE OPERATOR QUICKLY EXITED THE VEHICLE. VERY SHORTLY AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. FIRE DEPARTMENT PUT THE FLAMES OUT. SEE ATTACHED PHOTOS OF WARNING SCREEN, TRIP REPORT, VEHICLE ON FIRE, AND VEHICLE AFTER FIRE WAS PUT OUT. *TR*DT*JB

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEMBACK OVER PREVENTION
  • Date of Incident: May-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-19, 2020

Leaf BACKUP SCREEN TURNS PINK WHEN IN REVERSE. UNABLE TO BACKUP SAFELY!!! CALLED AND DROVE LEAF TO DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE LEAF.. DEALER SAID THERE WOULD BE A 'BOX DELIVERED NEXT WEEK' AND THEY WOULD CALL ME. *TR

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-13, 2020

WHEN DRIVING OUR Nissan Leaf FROM 4000 FEET ALTITUDE UP TO ABOUT 7000 FEET ALTITUDE (ABOUT 2500 FEET ALTITUDE CHANGE), SOMETHING UNDER THE LEFT REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR (BEHIND THE DRIVER) MAKES A LOUD BANG AND CAN BE FELT THROUGH THE FOOT-WELL OR FLOOR. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME WE DRIVE THE SAME SECTION OF ROAD, WHICH IS USUALLY TWICE A WEEK. INTERNET RESEARCH SUGGESTS OTHER NISSAN LEAF OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE AND AT ALTITUDE, AND THAT IT MAY BE A ISSUE WITH COMPRESSION AND EXPANSION OF THE BATTERY CASE. I HAVE REPORTED THIS BEFORE, BUT AM REPORTING IT AGAIN AS IT CONTINUES TO OCCUR. *TR

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Apr-14, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-14, 2020

Car goes into turtle mode, losing all power. Has happened a few times, each time has been coming off a highway or heading up a steep hill and then traveling at low speeds. When car is turned off and on, codes reset. I have a reader for the obd, it is showing fault p2138 000a ev/ hec acc pedal pos sens 1,2, err evc-196. As power is completely lost, this could easily cause an accident. Once reset the car acts like normal. Every instance has happened with a battery state of charge of over 30%. *tr

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Feb-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:25 Mar-07, 2020

THIS HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES THROUGHOUT MY ALMOST TWO YEARS OF OWNERSHIP. THE Nissan Leaf 2018 HAS A MODE CALLED "E-PETAL" THAT ALLOWS THE DRIVER TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE USING ONLY THE GAS PETAL. THE ISSUE I HAVE WITH MY CAR IS WHEN I AM IN A PARKING LOT TURNING MY STEERING WHEEL AS FAR TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT AS IT WILL GO TO NAVIGATE INTO THE PARKING SPACE, MY CAR WILL SUDDENLY STOP BRAKING CAUSING MY CAR TO RUSH FORWARD. I HAVE NEVER BEEN HURT, BUT THE SUDDEN SPEED INCREASE WHILE MAKING A HARD TURN WIPES MY CAR AND HAS CAUSED ME TO ALMOST HIT PARKED CARS. THE "E-PETAL" SHOULD CAUSE THE CAR TO BRAKE WHEN THE GAS PETAL IS DEPRESSED, BUT IT SEEMS TO DISENGAGE ENTIRELY WHEN I DO AS STATED ABOVE. I DON'T SEE ANY REASON TURNING THE WHEEL A CERTAIN WAY SHOULD CAUSE THE "E-PETAL" TO DISENGAGE. I DIDN'T KNOW IF I SHOULD REPORT THIS, BUT IT SEEMS LIKE I COULD REALLY HURT SOMEONE IF THIS HAPPENED WITH PEDESTRIANS AROUND. I AM UNSURE ABOUT THE EXACT MILEAGE, DATE, AND SPEED WHEN THE INDECENT OCCURRED BUT IT HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Feb-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:42 Feb-15, 2020

IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE E-PEDAL HAS NOT BEEN DESIGNED CORRECTLY FOR THE HEAVIER WEIGHT OF THE 62KW BATTERY. THIS IS ESPECIALLY TRUE FOR THOSE OF US THAT HAVE A PREVIOUS YEAR 42 KW BATTERY MODEL. I PURCHASED THE 2019 Nissan Leaf PLUS SL TRIM AND TRADED IN MY 2018 NISSAN LEAF SL ON 2/8/2020. I NOTICED THE BRAKING DISTANCE WITH E-PEDAL HAS INCREASED DRAMATICALLY, BY ABOUT 2X THIS DISTANCE. THAT SEEMS TO BE OUT OF LINE AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Feb-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:17 Feb-12, 2020

On friday, 02/07/2020, the front driver side door no longer closed correctly on this car. The car was taken to a nissan dealer where an "adjustment" was made. Later that day, the door would no longer close again. On monday, 02/10/2020 the car was taken to a nissan dealer, and another adjustment was made. The dealer advised that "no weight" should be put on the door even though this hasn't been an issue before. I believe that there maybe a manufacturing defect inherent in the hinging mechanism of this model which leads to gradual weakening of the hinge leading to a door not being able to close properly. This may be related to an existing nhtsa id # 10143486 (ntb18-042).

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:05 Feb-12, 2020

THE CONTROL PANEL TOUCHSCREEN DISPLAY IN THE Nissan Leaf (2018) HAS A DENIAL OF SERVICE VULNERABILITY THAT CAN BE USED TO LOCK UP THE SCREEN. ONCE LOCKED, THE TOUCH SCREEN CAN NO LONGER BE USED EVEN IF THE CAR IS TURNED OFF AND ON. THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THE SCREEN IS BY REMOVING AND RE-INSERTING THE SD CARD CONTAINING THE MAPPING DATA. THIS SEEMS TO ARISE FROM THE SOS FUNCTIONALITY LOCKING THE TOUCHSCREEN AND NOT TURNING OFF WHEN THE CAR DOES. TO REPLICATE: 1. TURN ON THE CAR, VERIFY THAT NISSANCONNECT WITH SOS FUNCTIONALITY IS ENABLED BY CHECKING THAT THE LITTLE LIGHT ON THE SOS BUTTON IS LIT. 2. PRESS THE SOS BUTTON. 3. PRESS AND HOLD THE SOS BUTTON WHILE TURNING OFF THE CAR. 4. THE SOS CALL WILL LOCK THE SCREEN OF THE CAR, AND WILL STAY THAT WAY UNTIL THE SD CARD IS REMOVED AND RE-INSERTED. TRIED REPORTING THIS TO NISSAN, NO RESPONSE.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Mar-28, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 06:23 Feb-03, 2020

WHEN TURNING LEFT THE VISIBILITY IS VERY POOR FOR A 5' 1" DRIVER. THE DOUBLE "A" PILLAR AND LARGE SIDE VIEW MIRROR BLOCK THE DRIVER'S VISIBILITY AND CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE ALSO COMPLAINED ABOUT THE VISIBILITY ALMOST CAUSING ACCIDENTS ON A Leaf BLOG WEBSITE. THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED WHEN TURNING LEFT AT A BUSY INTERSECTION AND AN OLD LADY FELL BECAUSE THE LEAF DRIVER DID NOT SEE THE PEDESTRIAN SOON ENOUGH DUE TO POOR VISIBILITY ON A CLEAR DAY AROUND NOON. THE LEAF HAD STOPPED WAITING FOR 3 VEHICLES TO PASS BEFORE MAKING THE LEFT TURN AT A SLOW SPEED BUT THE LARGE DOUBLE "A" PILLAR AND LARGE SIDE MIRROR BLOCKED THE DRIVER'S VIEW.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.