Nissan Maxima Complaints

Nissan Maxima Complaints
  • 164 Complaints
  • 16 Crashes
  • 3 Fires
  • 20 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 164 complaints for Maxima models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSTRUCTUREELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-17, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 07:44 Mar-26, 2021

I purchased new vehicle march 10th the tire pressure came on soon as i purchased i took the car back it to big o dodge get checked out but they told me they did not know and to take it by the nissan dealer. I went to the nissan service and all four tire sensors were bad and needed to be fixed the dealer (big o dodge)would not help. They told me that they did not believe me or the nissan service department. I also noticed that the front grille area of my car had small damage that they would not acknowledge that as well.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLUNKNOWN OR OTHERPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jan-15, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:55 Mar-15, 2021

Twice on the highway if had issues where the car accelerated on its own and a few times it? S seem to lose power and than compensate and completely launch leading to a quick jerking motion. I? M afraid that it could completely stop on the highway or accelerate into something. Other than that there? S no issues but this is concerning since i? M always giving family member rides including a pregnant wife so it needs to be looked into in my opinion it could be a huge disaster if it happens to an inexperienced driver. *also i? M not sure of the exact date of when this happened. I just want to make that known since that? S one of the questions asked.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Mar-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:19 Mar-11, 2021

I PURCHASED A 2016 Nissan Maxima AT 57,000. THE VEHICLE HAD UNDERGONE PROPER SERVICING AND WAS IN GREAT SHAPE. AT 62,000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND THE CAR WOULD NOT DRIVE. WHILE HEADING HOME FROM WORK I FELT MY ENTIRE VEHICLE BEGIN TO SHAKE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THERE WAS A 10 SECOND DELAY BEFORE IT BEGAN TO MOVE, AFTERWARDS, IT IMMEDIATELY JOLTED AND VIBRATED RIGOROUSLY. I DECIDED TO PROCEED WITH CAUTION AND PULL MY VEHICLE OVER BEFORE IT CAUSED ME TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT. WHEN PUT INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE WITH THE BRAKE RELEASED THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED THE RPMS WOULD FLUTTER BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. I FIRST THOUGHT THAT NISSAN?S NOTORIOUS CVT PROBLEM HAD PLAGUED MY VEHICLE. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO GET MY TRANSMISSION INSPECTED AT ROUTE 23 NISSAN IN NUTLEY, NEW JERSEY, AND I HAD CONTACTED NISSAN NORTH AMERICA?S CONSUMER AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT. AFTER DROPPING THE VEHICLE OFF AT ROUTE 23 NISSAN, NISSAN?S CONSUMERS AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT GOT BACK TO ME WITHIN 48 HOURS AND INFORMED ME THAT NISSAN HAD NO INTEREST IN RECTIFYING THE SITUATION BECAUSE THERE WAS NO RECALL AND IT WAS ?OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD.? THE COMPANY MUST BE WAITING FOR THE FIRST DEATH TO OCCUR SIMILAR TO THE TAKATA INCIDENT. IF THIS SITUATION WERE TO OCCUR WHILE I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN THE INJURY OF OTHERS AND MYSELF. NISSAN TECHNICIANS DETERMINED THAT THE XTRONIC CVT HAD A COMPLETE FAILURE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE REPAIR COST IS WELL OVER $4,000.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jan-31, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:43 Feb-12, 2021

On 1/31/2021 i was driving on the freeway when the car lost acceleration. I had to pull over on the left shoulder before i become a hazard. I turned the car off and the car started clicking as if i had a dead battery. The car started after sitting for 10 minutes. The car accelerated like normal but lost all acceleration after 2 miles. I called tow. This is the same problem i had a few months before and had to be towed. Aaa checked the alternator and battery and the charging system was showing normal. This is intermittent problem that comes and go but can not be diagnosed because of no active codes. This is a serious problem that can lead to an accident.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 21:02 Feb-07, 2021

TUESDAY, DEC. 22 MY 2016 Nissan Maxima JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING IN HAYWARD, CA NEAR INDUSTRIAL RD. CALLED TRIPLE AAA WHO JUMPED THE BATTERY AND A SHORT DISTANCE LATER ON HWY 880 THE CAR SHUT OFF AGAIN, I WAS TOWED OFF THE FREEWAY BY CALTRANS. ON JANUARY 4, IT SHUT OFF AGAIN WHILE ON A CITY STREETS. A CO-WORKERS HUSBAND REPLACED THE BATTERY AND I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE IT HOME. JAN. 30 A MECHANIC LOOKED AT RAN DIAGNOSTICS AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. I DROVE IT WITHOUT ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES FROM EL CERRITO TO SAN RAFAEL THE WEEK. ON FEB. 5 WHILE DRIVING ON THE STREETS IN OAKLAND, THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF. WHILE WAITING FOR AAA IT STARTED AGAIN BY THE TIME AAA ARRIVED IT HAD STOPPED AGAIN. LUCKILY THIS HASN?T CAUSED ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. IT IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE. AND WHILE I SEE THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE REPORTED HERE THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALERSHIP ONLY WANTS TO CHARGE ME $190 TO DIAGNOSTICS WHEN THEY KNOW THIS IS AN ISSUE. THIS ISSUE IS A TICKING TIME BOMB FOR A SERIOUS ACCIDENT OCCURS AND NISSAN NEEDS TO ADDRESS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Sep-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:29 Jan-25, 2021

PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED A LOUD WHISTLING SOUND COMING FROM THE SUNROOF OUTSIDE OF NORMAL WIND NOISES. THIS SOUND OCCURS DAILY. IT APPEARS THAT IT IS NOT SEALED PROPERLY AND WILL EVENTUALLY LEAD TO LEAKS. THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO HEAR THE NOISE AS WELL AND EVEN PUSH MY SUNROOF OPEN FURTHER WITH THEIR HANDS. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH ONLINE, THIS SEEM TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH Nissan Maxima. THERE IS AN ENTIRE MAXIMA FORUM ONLINE DISCUSSING THIS ISSUE WITH CUSTOMERS COMPLAINING OF WATER DAMAGE DUE TO IT NOT BEING SEALED PROPERLY. CAR WAS INFESTED WITH SPIDERS RIGHT AFTER PURCHASE AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THEY WERE GETTING IN FROM THE SUNROOF.

Parts: STRUCTUREENGINEAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jan-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:45 Jan-24, 2021

A vehicle pulled out into oncoming traffic and was struck my vehicle. My vehicle sustained front-end damage that totalled my car out. My airbags failed to deploy.

Parts: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Dec-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:22 Jan-22, 2021

2017 Nissan Maxima SL. HAD ABS RECALL SERVICED AT TIM DAHLE NISSAN OF OREM, UTAH. RETRIEVED CAR AFTER SERVICE WAS COMPLETED AND SHORTLY AFTER, MY FRY INTO EMERGENCY BRAKING SYSTEM DEACTIVATES AFTER DRIVING ABOUT 5-8 MINUTES EVERY TIME I GET IN MY CAR. WHEN I TURN OFF MY CAR AND RESTART MY CAR, IT WORKS AGAIN. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WORK WAS PERFORMED AND THEY STATED FIXING THE RECALL WOULD NOT HAVE CAUSED THIS ISSUE AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK $1XX.XX AND I DON?T RECALL THE ESTIMATED PRICES SHE STATED FOR THE SENSORS, BRACKETS, AND LABOR. I WILL BE CONTACTING NISSAN THEMSELVES TO SEE WHAT OPTION ARE SINCE OTHER 2017 NISSAN MAXIMA OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE.

Parts: WHEELSUNKNOWN OR OTHERAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jan-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:56 Jan-18, 2021

PURCHASED 2017 Nissan Maxima AT PASSPORT OF MARLOW HEIGHTS ON 3/17/20. TOOK CAR TO FIRST SERVICE AT PASSPORT ON 6/22/20 FOR OIL CHANGE & TIRE ROTATION. AFTER FURTHER ISSUES WITH MY FRONT LEFT WHEEL AND GOING TO SHEEHY OF WALDORF FOR MY SECOND SERVICE I DISCOVERED THAT PASSPORT OF MARLOW HEIGHTS SERVICE ADVISOR DID NOT NOTIFY ME OF "THE LEFT WHEEL STUD ISSUE" WHILE PURCHASING THE CAR AND UNTIL A WEEK AFTER MY INITIAL SERVICE VISIT OF 6/22/20. THE SERVICE ADVISOR AT PASSPORT REPORTED A INCORRECT SERVICE DATE OF 6/25/20 TO COVER UP THE LATE MULTI-POINT "LUG NUT" NOTIFICATION. ON 1/8/2021 2ND SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE AT SHEEHY OF WALDORF, I REQUESTED OIL CHANGE, TIRE ROTATE, 4-WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND BALANCE. SHEEHY FOUND: LUG NUTS WERE CROSSED THREADED WHICH CAUSED STUDS TO BE MESSED UP AS WELL. SHEEHY "REPLACED 2 LUG NUTS AND 2 STUDS ON DRIVER FRONT TIRE." FOR AN ADDED AMOUNT OF $251.53. I LEFT SHEEHY OF WALDORF AFTER MY SERVICE AND AS I ACCELERATED, I FELT STRONG VIBRATION AT EACH INTERVAL, I RETURNED TO SHEEHY AND ASKED FOR SOMEONE TO RIDE WITH ME. A SHOP FOREMAN DROVE MY CAR AND HE FELT THE VIBRATION AT EACH INTERVAL. THE FOREMAN TOOK VEHICLE BACK IN GARAGE AND INSPECTED WHEELS "& FOUND THAT THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL HAS BEEN WELDED & THE WELD HAS SPLIT & CRACKED. THE OTHER 3 WHEELS HAVE BENDS IN THE WHEEL & OUT OF ROUND" VIDEO & PHOTO PROVIDED BY SHEEHY. SHEEHY ALSO INFORMED THAT AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON: TOOK CAR BACK TO PASSPORT TO RE-INSPECT WHEELS/RIM/AIR BAG ISSUES THEY CREATED AND AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH I FOUND: AIR BAG RECALL: REPORT RECEIPT DATE: APR 26, 2016 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V244000 COMPONENT(S): AIR BAGS - AIR BAGS: SENSOR: OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION. NOW - PASSPORT IS STATING THAT MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON BECAUSE "RODENTS HAVE CHEWED THRU MY WIRES IN MY ENGINE HARNESS. BASED ON MY RESEARCH PASSPORT KNEW ABOUT THIS ISSUE, DEALER DIDN'T DISCLOSE ACCIDENT.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE
  • Date of Incident: Aug-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:04 Jan-13, 2021

FOR A FEW MONTHS, WHENEVER I DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY, TYPICALLY FOR MORE THAN 30 MIN, THE SENSOR WITH THE TWO CARS COLLIDING TURNS ON WITH A BEEP SOUND. IT TURNS OFF AFTER I TURN OFF THE CAR BUT WILL TURN ON AFTER DRIVING FOR MORE ON THE FREEWAY. I'VE BEEN DRIVING WITH TURNS OR HILLS AND COULD BE A PART OF IT BUT I'M NOT SURE. AFTER 3 YEARS OF HAVING THE CAR, IT STARTED DOING THAT. THE ABS WAS ALREADY CHANGED AS PART OF A RECALL AND I DON'T HAVE ANY OTHER RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE. I SEE THAT ANOTHER PERSON HAS REPORTED THIS ISSUE AT THE FOLLOWING LINK. I TALKED TO MY DEALER AND THEY DON'T KNOW ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND A SCANNER DOESN'T PICK UP A CODE SINCE THE CAR HAS TO BE OFF AND THE LIGHT TURNS OFF WHENEVER I TURN OFF THE CAR. I DON'T KNOW WHERE EXACTLY THE ISSUE COULD BE, SENSOR, IF SO WHICH SENSOR, OR A PART. HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2017/NISSAN/Maxima/11202864.ASPX

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-23, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jan-12, 2021

The passenger side pillar molding continues to fly off when i am driving my vehicle. This has happened three separate times. The molding hit my windshield twice while i was driving and almost caused me too wreck, as well as the other vehicles on the highway. This is unsafe and should be corrected. Not to mention that it cost me $150 each time it has to be replaced.

Parts: SEATSELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:28 Dec-28, 2020

Seat will not let up but will go backwards.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERSTRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:06 Dec-14, 2020

Windshield cracks randomly with no point of impact. Frays outward. Seems to be stress fracture from the frame. Happened multiple times with 2020 nissans

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Nov-12, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:59 Nov-13, 2020

Vehicle stalls in the middle of traffic it looses power with n warning at all. I took to the vehicle to the nissan dealership on 11/7/2020 and they could not duplicate what happen and stated they placed it on the computer with no codes showing. On the way home 11/12/20 as i was entering traffic on highway 85 i lost power again i was almost hit by two vehicles. I press the accelerator 3 times before it took off very fast. I will be calling the dealership again today

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:25 Nov-11, 2020

When driving to work my sunroof exploded on interstate scaring me. It was a very loud noise. This is a safety issue for all nissan owners. When bringing the vehicle in they stated that they were not responsible for the sunroof explosion. When going on line this looks like is been ongoing for awhile.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULIC
  • Date of Incident: Nov-08, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-03, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 Nissan Maxima. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V807000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TEDDY NISSAN (3660 BOSTON RD, BRONX, NY 10469, (866) 980-6251) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT PARTS WERE ON BACK ORDER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE HOWEVER NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 11,000.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Oct-29, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Nissan Maxima. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE COSMETIC REAR FENDER AND WINDSHIELD PLASTIC MOLDING LOOSENED AND EXPANDED TO THE REAR WINDSHIELD. THE REAR DRIVER?S SIDE DOOR AND PASSENGER?S SIDE FRONT DOOR WERE ALSO LOOSENED. THE CONTACT BECAME AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE WHILE DRIVING AND LOCATED THE POINT OF FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART WOULD NOT FIT ON THE VEHICLE BECAUSE THE MOLDING PART WAS MODIFIED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT SOME DRILLING WAS NECESSARY TO INSTALL THE MOLDING ON THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE AND DECLINED TO PROVIDE ASSISTANCE STATING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:39 Oct-22, 2020

The left and right rear fender moulding is falling off of my vehicle. This is a trim piece that connects the rear fender and the roof. This piece is about 26" long. The plastic clips that hold it on are failing and the left piece has fallen off while driving, and the right piece is loose and failing. This is a hazard and many other owners have had the same experience.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Oct-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:58 Oct-16, 2020

I was driving this morning on the way to work traveling on the highway around 5:43 am; and i heard a loud bang sounding like a shotgun. It scared me to death as i swerved and heard wind noise as if my windows were down. And also could hear glass falling onto my sunroof shade. I found a safe place to pull over and see what the problem was and whoa and behold my sunroof has shattered. If the shade was open then the shattered glass could have falen on me possibly getting into my eyes and causing an accident.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Jun-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:50 Oct-10, 2020

WHEN CAR Maxima IS SITTING STILL IN IDLE IT LEAKS OUT A CLEAR FLUID. THE FLUID HAS NO COLOR AND NO SMELL.THIS HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND IN IDLE.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.