STEERING Complaints

STEERING Complaints
  • 8636 Complaints
  • 457 Crashes
  • 33 Fires
  • 309 Injuries
  • 18 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 8,636 complaints related to STEERING.

Recent Complaints

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:56 Jul-06, 2020

I am having issues with my drag link loosening while driving. A recall was issued however the solution to mitigate this is welding the jam nuts. This does not allow me to realign the truck properly. I have attempted to contact fca dozens of times and have promised a case manager would call me back to rectify this but they have failed to reach out. This has been ongoing for two months now and poses a serious safety risk to my vehicle and my family.

2018 GMC SIERRA DENALI
Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:25 Jul-06, 2020

While driving highway speed (75mph) the steering went out as i was trying to go thru a curve. , i had to use both hands and force the wheel to turn to exit highway. Luckily it was only a slight turn i was trying to navigate! It threw service code? C0475, they say it? S the steering gear! $2700 fix i believe it? S electronic error.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Feb-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:33 Jul-05, 2020

DRIVING ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY AND THE POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED. WE WERE TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE CAR TO BRING IT IN BUT IT SOUNDED LIKE "STEERING ASSIST FAULT" SINCE THAT WAS THE ERROR MESSAGE, DUH.IT WAS COST $500 FOR AN ALIGNMENT? REPLACED FAULTY RACK AND PINION GEAR AND CHECKED ALIGNMENT(SHOULD BE OK SINCE THEY ALIGNED IT THE SAME DAY) TOTAL BILL $2291.00 THIS IS A 2015 Explorer LIMITED THAT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES FOR CAR A CARBON MONOXIDE LEAK IN THE CABIN OF SUV FOR REPAIRS, POWER SEAT REPAIRS AND INTERIOR DOOR PANEL COMING APART.

Parts: STEERINGVEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jun-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:02 Jul-05, 2020

Tried to set radar controlled cruise control for the first time on a work trip to michigan at 70 mph. The steering wheel immediately turned to the left and took considerable pressure to keep vehicle straight. Took suv in to shop and they said the radar controlled adaptive cruise control was working fine and they could not duplicate problem. This week took another work trip to michigan and the same problem happened about 20 times while trying to set cruise control at 70 mph. When i disabled the radar cruise control the problem vanished but the suv would not detect traffic in front of it and of course would not slow down. Will try to video this problem and take suv back to shop for a fix.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Apr-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:00 Jul-05, 2020

I recently got this car from a licensed dealership and i have had nothing but issues. I the car has broken down twice and has been in the shop 3 times. 2 of which were for the same issue. While driving you either feel a constant pull then its almost like it releases and then it speeds up. Then i have a hard time slowing it down. When the car broke down the temp gauge dropped all the way down, ac stopped working and when i pulled over and stopped the car it would start again. After 30 min it started but immediately rev up in rpms to max and wouldn't stop till i turned the vehicle off. They car has been in as i was told it was fixed but it still revs up rpms hard and long, when it shifts it jumps, while driving the vehicle feels as if its loosing power ,the batter levels constantly fluctuate and the steering wheel feels like its trying to jump out of my hands. Jolts me like i've hit a pot hole but there is no pot hole. Electrical issues as far as just barley putting the key in the ignition and the lights do some stuff and all the doors lock, and its set to lock when up to speed. Sometimes when starting the car it will have a week rev and it sounded like it would when you get a jump and your trying to pump the juices. The dealership said it was fixed but it still feeling like its pulling and then speeds up. Rpms still jump up hard and long. This is dangerous and everyone keeps telling me its fixed but it is not. This vehicle was mentioned to be a family car but i cant trust me or my family is safe. It was made 07/14 but has a 2015 vin number. This car should of been put out of service and never sold to anyone. Since the travers had so many recalls in 2014 which by the way match perfectly and more to what is wrong with this car.

Parts: ENGINEPOWER TRAINSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:04 Jul-04, 2020

WHILE DRIVING, Ford Explorer DASH WRENCH LIGHT INDICATOR TURNS ON THEN SUDDENLY YOU LOOSE POWER AND CONTROL AND BRAKING, TECHNICAL DISABLED. YOU HAVE TO COME TO A ROLLING STOP. THEN TURN ON CAR AGAIN TO REMOVE WRENCH LIGHT.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMENGINESTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:26 Jul-04, 2020

DURING A LOW SPEED LEFT TURN ACROSS ONCOMING LANES OF TRAFFIC, MY 2015 Tahoe HAD A COMPLETE LOSS OF ALL POWER AND STOPPED RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. LUCKILY ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS AT A DISTANCE THAT THEY WERE ABLE TO NOTICE MY TAHOE HAD DIED BLOCKING THEIR LANES, AND THEY CORRECTED THEIR PATH TO GO AROUND. WE COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED AT THE LEAST IF ONCOMING TRAFFIC HAD NOT NOTICED THAT OUR VEHICLE DIED. I PURCHASED THIS TAHOE USED 3 WEEKS AGO AND THIS HAS HAPPENED 5 TIMES SINCE. AFTER INVESTIGATING ON THE INTERNET I LOCATED POST SAYING THIS ISSUE HAS AFFECTED OVER 1 MILLION OTHER 2015 TAHOES.

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:29 Jul-04, 2020

Power steering failed while driving on july 2, 2020. I was driving in traffic on city streets at the time. It was very challenging to pull into a parking lot to get to a safe place. I turned off the truck, waiting 2-3 minutes, restarted, and the problem was gone. I took it to a auto mechanic to get the codes read, the document is attached.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jun-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:03 Jul-04, 2020

Car will not start. Been having problems for the last 2 years since i bought it. Unreliable. Electricity goes on and off randomly, sun roof wont open, lock button stick, power seat not working.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSTEERINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-03, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:02 Jul-04, 2020

My vehicle stops running when i am placing it in reverse or making slow turns. The car turns off and the driver assist screen turns off (cameras do not work) and then my car says? Service: driver assist?. I have been driving at a low rate of speed on the street and my car stops running and the steering wheel becomes very tight and hard to turn. When i am backing into a parking space, my steering wheel is hard to turn and the car shuts off and the screen that shows my cameras goes out and then the car comes back on. It is very scary. I am very afraid that the car will stop running while in motion again and cause an accident. I have contacted onstar about this and requested roadside assistance, it was the weekend and they would not send them. The car turning off has occurred more than 7 times in the past month. It started in april 2020.

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:56 Jul-03, 2020

I WAS DRIVING MY 2015 Ford Explorer SPORT ON A ROAD. SUDDENLY, THE CAR SHOWED AN ERROR STEERING ASSIST FAULT AND SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC MESSAGE ON DASHBOARD. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO ROTATE AND I AVOIDED THE ACCIDENT. THE CAR WAS UNCONTROLLABLE AND BECAUSE OF THIS, THE TURN INDICATOR KNOB HAD SOME ISSUES. I HAD TO KEEP HOLDING THE INDICATOR KNOB IN ORDER TO TURN ON RIGHT/LEFT INDICATION. I HAD TO PUT SO MUCH EXTRA FORCE TO ROTATE THE STEERING WHEEL DURING TURNING. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SCENARIO. I STOPED THE CAR IN A PARKING LOT, TURNED OFF THE CAR, AND WAITED FOR 5 MINUTES TO TURN ON. AFTER THAT THE CAR WORKED WELL FOR FEW MORE MINUTES. THE SAME ERROR AND ISSUE STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN AFTER FEW MINUTES SO I TOOK THE CAR TO FORD DEALERSHIP. THEY CHECKED THE CODE AND FOUND STEERING GEAR ISSUE, FAILURE CODE U2011:49. THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE RELATED TO SAFETY. IT CAN CAUSE FATAL ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF UNCONTROLLABLE STEERING WHEEL ISSUE.

2019 Ford F-250
Parts: STEERINGSUSPENSIONWHEELS
  • Date of Incident: Jun-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:26 Jul-03, 2020

I was driving my truck down the freeway and also on city streets with my family young kids included and once i hit 55-60 my truck started a "death wobble " as they call it i couldn't control my vehicle it shook so violently till i slowed down to 45 then it stopped. My family was scared my truck only has 17k miles on it brand new truck. Ford should not be selling vehicles with these problems what are my options and what can i do? I don't want to drive my truck again till problem is fixed but i don't have a choice. I'm gambling with the personal safty every day so i can make a living.

Parts: STEERINGSUSPENSION
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:32 Jul-03, 2020

IN 2018 TESLA NOTIFIED ME OF NEEDING TO INSPECT AND REPLACE 5 BOLTS SECURING MY STEERING BOX AND POWER STEERING UNITS. THEY DID THAT AND LEFT. I HAD SERIOUS MEDICAL ISSUES, SO MY TESLA MODEL S HAD ONLY 7,590 MILES. IN 2020 WITHIN JUST A FEW MILES BUT NEARLY 2 YEARS FROM THAT 5-BOLT REPLACEMENT, I WAS DRIVING ON I89 TOWARDS A TESLA SUPERCHARGER, I FELT THE CAR WAS WANDERING EVER SO SLIGHTLY WITHIN MY LANE, SO I WAS UNEASY, BUT ATTRIBUTED IT TO MY 4 STUDDED SWEDISH SNOW TIRES. ARRIVING AT THE SUPERCHARGER, NOTICED MUCH STEERING EFFORT TO BACK INTO CHARGING POSITION. WHEN LEAVING, IT HAD MORE EFFORT TO STEER, AND IT DIDN?T BOTHER ME MUCH ONCE I WAS ROLLING ALONG. SAME WANDERING PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE. LOOKED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THE 38 PAGE SERVICE BULLETIN FROM TESLA. #SB-18-32-002 R1 SEVERAL TIMES IN IT TESLA WARNED THAT IF AT ANY POINT MORE THAN 1 BOLT IS REMOVED AT A TIME, THE STEERING BOX MUST BE REPLACED. THEY DID NOT ELABORATE AS TO WHY. IT SEEMS NOW WE KNOW. ANOTHER ISSUE I MENTIONED TO ELECTRIFIED GARAGE IN SEABROOK, NH IS THE REAR OF THE CAR SETTLES DOWN TO NEARLY TOUCHING THE REAR WHEELS OVERNIGHT. I SUSPECTED AN AIR LEAK AND THEY REPORTED THAT I NEEDED TWO REAR AIR SHOCK ASSEMBLIES AND A NEW STEERING BOX. THEY SAID TESLA OFFERED NO REAR SHOCK REBUILD KIT CONTAINING NEW IMPROVED SEALS. I AM IN SHOCK OVER BOTH THESE PROBLEMS AT 7,600 MILES AND SENT 2 EMAIL LETTERS OFF TO TESLA, AND NO REPLY FROM EITHER LETTER. PERHAPS THE NHTSA SEES THIS AS A REPEATING ISSUE ON LOW MILEAGE 2015 Tesla Model S P85D ELECTRIC CARS? MY 2015 TESLA IS STILL SITTING AT THE ELECTRIFIED GARAGE 10 DOWS LANE - SEABROOK, NH 03847 AFTER ALMOST 7 WEEKS. I LOVE THE SAFETY ASPECTS OF THE MODEL S, BUT AFTER STRUGGLING OVER THE PAIN OF POOR ENGINEERING & SUPPLIER PROBLEMS, I AM LOOKING ELSEWHERE UNTIL THEY WORK OUT THE BUGS. SB-18-32-002 R1 ATTACHED. ## #VPIC# 1 - CHECK DIGIT (9TH POSITION) DOES NOT CALCULATE PROPERLY #VPIC#

Parts: STEERINGSUSPENSION
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:27 Jul-03, 2020

IN 2018 TESLA NOTIFIED ME OF NEEDING TO INSPECT AND REPLACE 5 BOLTS SECURING MY STEERING BOX AND POWER STEERING UNITS. THEY DID THAT AND LEFT. I HAD SERIOUS MEDICAL ISSUES, SO MY TESLA MODEL S HAD ONLY 7,590 MILES. IN 2020 WITHIN JUST A FEW MILES BUT NEARLY 2 YEARS FROM THAT 5-BOLT REPLACEMENT, I WAS DRIVING ON I89 TOWARDS A TESLA SUPERCHARGER, I FELT THE CAR WAS WANDERING EVER SO SLIGHTLY WITHIN MY LANE, SO I WAS UNEASY, BUT ATTRIBUTED IT TO MY 4 STUDDED SWEDISH SNOW TIRES. ARRIVING AT THE SUPERCHARGER, NOTICED MUCH STEERING EFFORT TO BACK INTO CHARGING POSITION. WHEN LEAVING, IT HAD MORE EFFORT TO STEER, AND IT DIDN?T BOTHER ME MUCH ONCE I WAS ROLLING ALONG. SAME WANDERING PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE. LOOKED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THE 38 PAGE SERVICE BULLETIN FROM TESLA. #SB-18-32-002 R1 SEVERAL TIMES IN IT TESLA WARNED THAT IF AT ANY POINT MORE THAN 1 BOLT IS REMOVED AT A TIME, THE STEERING BOX MUST BE REPLACED. THEY DID NOT ELABORATE AS TO WHY. IT SEEMS NOW WE KNOW. ANOTHER ISSUE I MENTIONED TO ELECTRIFIED GARAGE IN SEABROOK, NH IS THE REAR OF THE CAR SETTLES DOWN TO NEARLY TOUCHING THE REAR WHEELS OVERNIGHT. I SUSPECTED AN AIR LEAK AND THEY REPORTED THAT I NEEDED TWO REAR AIR SHOCK ASSEMBLIES AND A NEW STEERING BOX. THEY SAID TESLA OFFERED NO REAR SHOCK REBUILD KIT CONTAINING NEW IMPROVED SEALS. I AM IN SHOCK OVER BOTH THESE PROBLEMS AT 7,600 MILES AND SENT 2 EMAIL LETTERS OFF TO TESLA, AND NO REPLY FROM EITHER LETTER. PERHAPS THE NHTSA SEES THIS AS A REPEATING ISSUE ON LOW MILEAGE 2015 Tesla Model S P85D ELECTRIC CARS? MY 2015 TESLA IS STILL SITTING AT THE ELECTRIFIED GARAGE 10 DOWS LANE - SEABROOK, NH 03847 AFTER ALMOST 7 WEEKS. I LOVE THE SAFETY ASPECTS OF THE MODEL S, BUT AFTER STRUGGLING OVER THE PAIN OF POOR ENGINEERING & SUPPLIER PROBLEMS, I AM LOOKING ELSEWHERE UNTIL THEY WORK OUT THE BUGS. SB-18-32-002 R1 ATTACHED. ## #VPIC# 1 - CHECK DIGIT (9TH POSITION) DOES NOT CALCULATE PROPERLY #VPIC#

Parts: ENGINEFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jun-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:48 Jul-03, 2020

Was driving down the highway when my car lost all acceleration and a whole bunch of warning lights went on, steering became hard etc. Got it over to the side of the highway barely. Car wouldn't restart, go into neutral or anything. Apparently the dealership says the radar was fault and killed the car while i was driving it and there was no way to disable the radar. If the radar is faulty it will kill all propulsion and also throw multiple errors in the car creating a hazard for the driver. It seems like this should be a recall.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESSTEERINGSTRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:29 Jul-03, 2020

My vehicle was in motion on a city street when suddenly my steering wheel locked and brake were hard to push causing me to side swipe a parked car.

2020 Honda ACCORD
Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Apr-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:15 Jul-03, 2020

Hard to drive the vehicle straight while at highway speeds. Problem persists with and without honda's lane departure on or/and off.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:44 Jul-02, 2020

While driving at any speed the service power steering drive with care warning comes on and i immediately lose control of steering assist pulling the steering from my hands. Seconds later a service stabilitrak warning comes on. I can pull over and turn the truck off and the power steering returns when started. It can continue working for a few minutes or a few days there's no pattern to its malfunction. The recall date is january 6 2015 to march 19 2015 and my truck was manufactured in april 2015 so my truck doesn't come up in the recall. But i feel they not only made a mistake in the manufacturing causing the recall but they made a mistake in the recall window and it should be extended beyond march 19th. I have taken my truck to a dealer and they have diagnosed the problem as intermittent steering gear failure and are charging me $2339. 00 to fix what i believe should be part of gms recall. I have attached photos of the dash warnings and the speed that it happened. This malfunction is extremely dangerous when it happens in a turn.

2020 Honda PILOT
Parts: SERVICE BRAKESSTEERINGVEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jul-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:45 Jul-02, 2020

1. Car flashes brake and sometimes brakes on its own when it detects an object along the side of the road or when a car may be approaching in the opposite lane or in a center turning lane. This has nearly caused an accident on two different occasions. Each time the lane we are in is clear and usually doesn't even have a vehicle in front of us. 2. When in cruise control the acc will detect a vehicle in front of us going maybe 2 mhp slower than our set speed and our car will abruptly slow down to about 10 mph below the acc set point. Then it detects there is clear distance to the vehicle in front and will abruptly accelerate till it again detects the vehicle and then repeats the same actions - abrupt slowdown - abrupt acceleration and so on vs. A gradual slowdown to match the vehicle in front speed and holding steady at that speed. I have set the distance detection to each setting and it makes no difference. 3. Lane keep assist is plain down dangerous. Tried to merge onto a busy highway with turn signal on and the lka would not let us merge and jerked the wheel back to the right and the vehicle abruptly hit the brakes when there was nothing in front of us. Nearly caused traffic behind to rear end us. 4. Hands free cell feature is not hands free if connected to apply car play. This was not what we were lead to believe at the time of sale. Honda has some serious issues with the honda sensing and a recall is a must as these issues will eventually cause an accident and i have to assume already have. To date the car is unsafe with the sensing on and if i turn it off i risk liability with my insurance as they provide discounts because of the honda sensing safety features.

2019 Ford F-350
Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:15 Jul-02, 2020

Hit a bump and the whole truck shook and vibrated violently to the point of loosing control. We were driving on the freeway at approximately 60 mph. The only way to stop the shaking was to apply the brakes and almost stop.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.