VISIBILITY/WIPER Complaints

VISIBILITY/WIPER Complaints
  • 4298 Complaints
  • 45 Crashes
  • 20 Fires
  • 42 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 4,298 complaints related to VISIBILITY/WIPER.

Recent Complaints

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEVISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Oct-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:59 Nov-25, 2020

From the moment i drove my brand new tesla off the lot - the screen - the only way to control anything about the vehicle - would freeze; black out; and take several minutes to reset itself. While in this completely inoperative state: the audio system would emit a high pitch noise; any ability to tell speed; turning signal status; anything was completely impaired; the climate control blasts on high fan a torrent of cold air. At 2000 miles; this has happened several hundred times - on average once every 10 miles driven; though sometimes twice within a few moments (boots up only to reset again) and sometimes it can go as far as 30 minutes without freeze; black; reset. This is easily the most expensive car i've ever purchased; and had nearly 0 miles upon pickup - it is easily the most frustrating experience i've had with a car. To not be in control or have any visibility to the machine driving at highway speeds when everything goes completely black and the computer takes minutes to reset. The repair facility has estimated $2400 which they're attempting to charge me.

2020 Subaru FORESTER
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:47 Nov-24, 2020

I purchased a 2020 subaru forrester on 4-1-2020. 90% of my driving is on slowing moving street traffic. On 11-22-2020siver dollar sized crack in my windshield, located on the very center of the passenger side section of the windshield and 3" above the top of the engine hood. I never heard any rock hit the windshield and on examination of the crack, i could find find any indentation or chip that would have resulted in the crack. On 11-24-2020, i went to the service department of the subaru dealership where i purchased the vehicle. The service rep, named cory, looked at it and could not feel or any crack that would have a started the crack. Cory then went to get his service manager. The service manager immediately got a pen and pushed around on the crack until he pushed hard enough to show a less than a 1 mm indentation. He then indicated to me that this a obvious crack from a rock and that i needed to contact my insurance agent and put in a claim on it. When i showed him the service bulletin on the class action suit on windshield failures, he immediately any responsibility for the replacement and said that the bulletin clearly showed cracks we a result of rock damage and had no apparent relationship to a defective windshield. Although, he said that the dealership had to replace 2 windshields within the 2020 ytd. If a object that would only inflict a less than 1mm indentation, what would happen to the windshield and other safety devices, if this vehicle were involved in a true accident or had a sizable projectile hit the vehicle. Lastly, this isn't the on subaru i own. In my family we have an 2015 outback, a 2017 legacy, 2019, crosstrek and the 2020 forrester. Subaru has always jumped to action to replace or repair any safety items. This rebuttal by subaru on this windshield crack comes as a major disappointment regarding subaru's claim to safety.

2020 Lexus NX300
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:01 Nov-24, 2020

On 11-05-2020 i was driving my new lexus (3200 miles on it) about 55 mph on a 4 lane highway in light traffic. It was a sunny afternoon and 84 degrees. All of a sudden there was a very loud explosion sound from above our heads and then the sound of glass flying off from the vehicle onto the roadway behind us. There was no road debris, flying rocks or cement trucks nearby that might have caused a rock to fly up and break the glass on the sunroof. I thought we had been shot at. I was able to pull over off the highway and got out to inspect the damage. That? S when i realized the sun roof had exploded. It exploded upward as the shards of glass indicated. The interior sun visor portion had been closed when this explosion took place otherwise my self and my passenger would have been seriously cut by flying shards of glass. It was at this point i took the pictures that i am attaching to this report. We immediately called the lexus dealer and brought the car to them on the next day. After 1 week they said the damage was caused by flying debris but did not explain how they came to this conclusion. They also said this wasn? T under warranty and we have to pay $1700 to have it repaired. To date, 11/24/2020 we still do not have our vehicle back from the lexus dealer. We have filed a claim with our insurance company, state farm. I disagree with this explanation and have found hundreds of documented cases such as mine that have been reported to nhtsa where the sun roof explodes outward for no reason. I hope the nhtsa will investigate these accidents and require manufacturers to use better, safer glass in the sunroofs. These sunroofs are becoming very common. Without oversight and safer materials there will be many more accidents and people will be seriously injured or worse. Please look into these sunroof accidents and help make vehicles safer.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:55 Nov-23, 2020

Date noted below was the most recent of multiple occurrences. This has happened now at least 6 times beginning in october 2020. While driving, the 17" display in the center of the dash suddenly goes blank. At this point, access to the backup (rear-facing) camera is unavailable.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:57 Nov-22, 2020

After parking, shut my drivers side door and the rear windshield started to crack and fall apart. Noticed my rear defroster melted the rear window decal. After online research i believe i am having the same problem others drivers have had with a defective rear defroster that over heats the rear window and heat stresses it to a point where a simple door shutting action will be enough to crack and shatter the windshield.

2020 Ford EXPLORER
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERELECTRICAL SYSTEMBACK OVER PREVENTION
  • Date of Incident: Nov-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:36 Nov-22, 2020

When reversing camera will show blue screen and not give any additional warnings since nothing can be detected. This is and on and off issue so can happen at any time. I? Ve added pictures taken at different days and times. I? Ve just put today? S date because i can? T remember how long as this has been happening for.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:27 Nov-21, 2020

Spontaneous cracking of windshield while vehicle was parked. Started at bottom of windshield approx. Midway. Approx. 9 inches in length vertically then crack went to passenger side approx. 5 inches.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:49 Nov-21, 2020

600 MILES ON A BRAND NEW 2020 Outback AND I HEARD A POP WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AND MY WINDSHIELD CRACKED FROM THE EDGE PROB 8 INCHES IN. I DID NOT SEE A ROCK AND IT DIDN?T SOUND LIKE A ROCK. IT?S A STRAIGHT LINE. NO BREAK LIKE SOMETHING HIT IT OR ANYTHING. SPONTANEOUS WHILE DRIVING.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHERPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Nov-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:29 Nov-20, 2020

The manual transmission is faulty, got it replaced under warranty and now again went bad but no more warranty. The ac compressor went out and evaporator core is bad(very common problem with 15-17 models), it causes windshield to fog up bad and can barely see at times when driving, very expensive to fix too.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 08:24 Nov-19, 2020

Truck was warming up and something smelled like an electrical fire and suddenly the rear window shattered. Contacts for the rear defroster pulled from window causing electrical arcing that started melting a piece of plastic causing a hot spot on the window that led to it shattering. Vehicle was stationary while this happened.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:51 Nov-19, 2020

Smelled electrical burning and then seconds later the driver side of my rear window exploded into pieces with a loud bang.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:12 Nov-18, 2020

Vehicle was traveling on highway 101 southbound. Driver heard a loud pop. Driver looked around to find a large crack in the windshield located on the passenger side. There were no vehicles within 7-8 car lengths in front of the driver.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:50 Nov-17, 2020

I HAVE HAD 2 WINDSHIELDS CRACK ON ME DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, THE CRACKS ARE VIOLENT AND SUDDEN. I HAVE DRIVEN MANY SUBARUS MANY MILES BUT THE 2019 Forester IS VERY SENSITIVE TO INHERENT STRESS IN THE GLASS

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:11 Nov-17, 2020

My windshield cracked due to cold weather, while stationary in my driveway, without any previous chips or impacts. I called the dealership to ask if a replacement was covered, and was told? Not a chance. That just happens to those cars.? Upon doing some research, i? Ve found other 2019 forrester owners have experienced the same windshield problems, and have experienced the same customer service. A windshield should not spontaneously crack just because it? S cold outside.

2020 Ford EXPLORER
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE
  • Date of Incident: Nov-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:19 Nov-17, 2020

Several times when the rear camera just doesn't work - no particular reason but it's just out. It usually resumes normal operation after shutting off the car and restarting but sometimes i've had to shutdown and restart more than once (see picture from most recent issue). The emergency breaking system, particularly when moving in reverse has engaged unexpectedly numerous times without warning and without any danger or obstructions in the way of my car. This has happened in my driveway well before the sidewalk and when there have been no people are animals anywhere nearby. This has also happened at other times and places beyond my driveway and i've had the emergency breaking system engaged while in drive and stopped at a stop light. There have been other unusual electrical issues where that aren't necessarily safety related but might indicate a broader electrical issue. For example, the radio often doesn't work or respond to commands to change channels, volume, etc.

2020 Subaru LEGACY
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-17, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:46 Nov-17, 2020

We just had our windshield replaced due to a crack about a month ago. Woke up this morning and had another spontaneous crack in bottom middle of the windshield

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:57 Nov-17, 2020

While driving along the highway, sunroof exploded. Small pieces of glass pieces went flying everywhere.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERELECTRICAL SYSTEMBACK OVER PREVENTION
  • Date of Incident: Mar-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 23:53 Nov-16, 2020

On several occasion the touch screen display has failed to turn on. This screen is used for the display of the backup camera, the audio, hvac, and other controls. This has typically happened when the vehicle was first started, though it has happened while the vehicle was in motion. At wich point the display remains blank and my not work untill after shutting down the vehicle and restarting it again. This is an intermittent problem.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHERPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Nov-16, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:46 Nov-16, 2020

The main control unit central screen froze and i could not get the car to function for about 7-8 mins. During this time, all major functions of climate control, rear view camera, and the car itself was non-functional. Even when the car functions, there are many times when the computer starts to go slow. Sometimes causing the touch screen to get unresponsive during driving the car. And a few times, the touch screen has even gone dark and non-functional while driving the car. History before this latest incident: note that this has happened many times in the past 1. 5 years. I took the car several times to the tesla service shop and they used to just tell me to reboot the computer and they managed to reset the computer a couple of times while in warranty. Finally at one point after the warranty expired, the computer completely died earlier this year and tesla service advised that i need to get the computer mcu replaced at my own expense of about $1200. I did that. Now after about 6 months of the new replaced mcu, the problem has started happening again, just like it happened about 1. 5 years ago. Computer slowing down and now two times, freezing up. I am frustrated at how easily this computer keeps getting into problems and causes potentially safety issues when the computer may go dark while driving or trying to back out of the garage or parking lot without visibility from the rear view camera when it happens. And i'm afraid that this new computer mcu may be on its way again for completely dying a second time in the same year. I am attaching the photo of the state of the car from today's incident (1:15pm 11/16/2020 pacific time). I hope you would investigate this closely since in the past tesla has been telling me that this is normal wear and tear and i can't accept that this kind of thing is anywhere close to normal behavior for a critical part of the car.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-11, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:12 Nov-16, 2020

I was driving about 70 miles an hour on the highway, typical speed for my area is between 65 and 80mph on highways. My wind shield was struck by gravel/rock/small or small debris. And a part of my windshield chipped while an other spot cracked and later developed a crack.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.