VISIBILITY/WIPER Complaints

VISIBILITY/WIPER Complaints
  • 5206 Complaints
  • 47 Crashes
  • 26 Fires
  • 47 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 5,206 complaints related to VISIBILITY/WIPER.

Recent Complaints

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 23:32 May-04, 2021

Traveling on hwy 61 south during heavy rain when windshield wipers stopped working out of the blue. Had to brake and move to inside lane shoulder. Wipers appeared to have over traveled all the way to the driver side edge of windshield. Had to take it in to local dealership.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:15 May-04, 2021

I have had three sizable cracks in my windshield since 2017, with the most recent fairly large which will probably cause me to have to replace the entire windshield. The other two cracks have been repaired at my expense. The vehicle was in motion in all cases, but there was no discernible danger ( ie. Following a truck). They all occurred on two lane roads traveling at or under the speed limit.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: May-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:04 May-04, 2021

OUR SUBARU 2019 Outback SUFFERED A CRACK DURING NORMAL USAGE ON THE INTERSTATE AT APPROX. 50 MPH. THE CRACK OCCURRED TWO DAYS AGO (ON 5/2/2021) AND HAS SINCE GROWN DUE TO THE VEHICLE'S VIBRATION DURING USE. THE VEHICLE QUALIFIES AS A MAKE AND MODEL UNDER RECALL BY SUBARU FOR WINDSHIELD DEFECTS.

2019 Ford F-250
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: May-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:07 May-04, 2021

My truck was parked last night and i came out to it the morning and my rear heated sliding glass window was shattered

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-19, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:03 May-04, 2021

I got into my car (parked in parking garage) and noticed the windshield was cracked. I remember using the defroster that morning and don? T recall seeing a crack. Apparently this is a known issue with subaru owners as there is a lawsuit out for defective windshields. There are no points of impact. The crack starts close to the middle and spreads upward, not horizontal.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jul-30, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 11:39 May-04, 2021

Front windshield came defective from factory with air bubbles between the glass and the rubber affecting the integrity of it, that also makes the glass weak and it cracks too easy. My problem with the glass happened while the car was parked inside my garage with just letting the wiper fall on it while i was washing it. It represents a potential hazard and safety issue for me and my family.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:13 May-04, 2021

I OWN A 2019 Subaru Legacy. I AM VERY SHOCKED THAT I HAVE EXPERIENCED THREE MAJOR WINDSHIELD CRACKS WITHIN ONLY 18 MONTHS OF PURCHASING THE VEHICLE. THE FIRST ONE WAS ONLY 5 MONTHS AFTER I BOUGHT THE CAR (02/07/20), THE 2ND TIME WAS 7 MONTHS LATER (9/17/20), AND THE 3RD TIME WAS ON MAY 1ST, 2021. THE CRACKS CAME OUT OF NOWHERE; ONCE WHILE DRIVING ON A LIGHT TRAFFIC STREET, ONCE WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY, AND ONCE WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED. REPLACING THE WINDSHIELD FOR THE SUBARU IS VERY EXPENSIVE! THE COMPANY REFUSES TO COVER THE COST. I HAD TO PAY $500 DEDUCTIBLE, WHILE MY INSURANCE PAID OVER $300+. I HAVE DRIVEN DIFFERENT TYPES OF CARS FOR MORE THAN 40 YEARS, SUCH AS HONDAS, CHEVYS, VOLVOS, AND FORDS, AND NOT ONE OF THOSE VEHICLES EVER HAD A WINDSHIELD CRACK. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER OWNED A SUBARU AND CANNOT BELIEVE THE NIGHTMARE/EXPENSE IN DEALING WITH THIS PROBLEM WITHIN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. I AM CONVINCED THERE IS A DEFECT EITHER WITHIN THE AREA OF THE FRAME OF THE CAR THAT HOLDS THE WINDSHIELD OR THE GLASS IS VERY POOR QUALITY, OR BOTH. IT IS NOT FAIR THAT SUBARU IS MISLEADING CUSTOMERS INTO BELIEVING THAT THEIR VEHICLES ARE SOME OF THE SAFEST IN THE CAR INDUSTRY. I HOPE ENOUGH SUBARU OWNERS WHO ARE DEALING WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ARE COMING FORWARD. ABOVE ALL, I HOPE SOMETHING IS DONE TO RESOLVE THIS TERRIBLE PROBLEM SOON.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERSTRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-13, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-04, 2021

Suddenly noticed water on the console snd driver side mats. Then felt interior header lining soaked, sun visors, side pilars and dashboard wet. Also roof shade very wet. Called rr dealer. Tild me to bring it in. Never told me it was not under warranty. Charged me 408. 00 for a ridiculous diagnostic check, told me my brakes and tires needed replacement which i knew i told them before hand. The final sentence in the video says there is a leak coming fromvthe windshield somewhere but cannot repair it. Now, its raining in nyc snd my car is soaked. This is another complaint i read on here, same year, model and mileage, same leak plus my wipers on the drivers side never clean the windshield properly. Always my own mechanic said he will look at it and advise me. Thats what land rober of paramus, nj should have told me for no charge!!! Now i have a water damaged car which i believe is a manufacturer flaw!!!! I need help. Please advice!! Dr [xxx] parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Jan-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:51 May-03, 2021

Windows will not always go down when temperatures at or below 26 degrees fahrenheit. Reported problem to dealer on january 6, 2021. Made service appointment for january 19,2021. They verified problem. Dealer ordered replacement driver? S side run channel, appointment made for installation january 26, 2021. Morning of january 28, 2021, temperature 20 degrees f, none of the windows would go down. No frost/snow/ice on windows. Service appointment january 28-29 diagnosed? Possible window freezing needing to defrost in winter time?. February 17, 2021, temperature 10 degrees f, windows did not go down. Drove car 30 minutes to the dealer, defrost and heat on high. Service technician verified windows did not go down, left car with dealer. February 19, 2021 one window still did not go down. Recorded video of windows not going down on march 2,2021,contacted subaru of america, service record # 1-66493397585. Initial phone call from services department left voicemail offering? Compensation for the problem?. I refused compensation. Received email recommending purchasing an accessory to? Alleviate this concern?. Phoned subaru of america again, service record #1-67542809043, and again advised purchase of accessory to? Alleviate this concern?. April 2, 2021, windows not going down, recorded second video. Phoned dealer, who initiated a third service record #1-67810220574 with subaru of america. Received a phone call from the services department at subaru of america informing me that there is no problem with the car windows. There are instances in keene,ny when temperature is below zero at night never above 15 degrees f daily and windows would not go down for days. Vehicle is always parked outside.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERUNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jan-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:28 May-03, 2021

Monitor that displays defogger & defroster is not displaying information.......... This monitor is part of the vehicle's "multimedia system"...... Which displays :: gps, radio channels, heating, air conditions, defrosting-defogger..... I paid $700. 00 & $65. 10/05/2018 to replace this same "navigation/ multimedia system"..... Vehicle mileage then was 48,600.... This unit stopped working/ no longer displaying information january 2021. Then mileage of 87,000.. Elk grove kia said i would have to personally pay to have the multimedia system replace. The new system only lasted approximately 1 year, 6 months..... I asked the kia dealership to replace or offer discount to replace this needed system..... The answer was no! I said to kia dealer that obviously the product installed was inferior.. (lasting less than a year.... The reply was the dealer is not responsible for the products installed in kia vehicles. I made a complaint to the bbb national programs- auto line... Re: kia2115737.... Bbb said my complaint does not qualify per their guidelines.. I am still without visual assist of the "multimedia system"..... Defogger/ defroster.. , gps,

2020 Subaru ASCENT
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 18:00 May-03, 2021

Windshield cracked with no cause i can see

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:59 May-03, 2021

Windshield has cracked while vehicle was at idle for no reason and no imapct

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-30, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:09 May-03, 2021

I'VE OWNED MY 2019 Subaru Outback FOR <2 YEARS AND IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS I'VE HAD THE WINDSHIELD CRACKED TWICE DUE TO SMALL PEBBLES WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, WHICH HAVE NEVER CRACKED ANY OF MY PREVIOUS WINDSHIELDS IN 16 YEARS OF EXTENSIVE DRIVING AROUND THE COUNTRY. IN OTHER CARS, I HAVE HAD MANY PEBBLES AND SMALL DEBRIS HIT MY WINDSHIELD WITH NOTHING MORE THAN A SMALL CHIP. WITH THE SUBARU OUTBACK, BOTH CRACKS BECAME LARGE FRACTURES, BLOCKING VISIBILITY. DUE TO THE EYESIGHT SYSTEM AND NECESSARY RECALIBRATION AFTER WINDSHIELD REPLACEMENT, THE FIRST REPLACEMENT COST NEARLY $900. CURRENTLY, I AM DRIVING WITH THE SECOND CRACK BECAUSE I CAN'T AFFORD TO REPLACE IT YET. THESE INCIDENTS HAPPENED NOVEMBER 2020 AND APRIL 2021.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:28 May-03, 2021

The rear hatchback window shattered when the hatch was closed with normal force and without any objects obstructing closure or touching the window. The vehicle was stationary in a driveway at the time.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:27 May-03, 2021

A small rock flew up and hit the windshield while driving on the highway, cracking the windshield. The windshield should be able to withstand the impact of a rock that small.

Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:11 May-03, 2021

My sunroof just exploded while i was driving down the road. I have a dash cam which captured absolutely nothing impacting the glass. It just burst?.

2020 Subaru FORESTER
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERLANE DEPARTURELANE DEPARTURE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:40 May-02, 2021

I just walked out to my car parked in my drive way there was a huge crack in the windshield i haven? T hit or been hit by anything this is a new car haven? T even had a a year yet don? T understand why windshield would crack so bad goes from the passenger side to the middle of the windshield

2020 Subaru FORESTER
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-26, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:13 May-02, 2021

Giant crack has appeared on windshield less that 12k miles of driving. There is a small chip from a few days ago that has formed into a larger crack.

2017 Ford F-250
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Nov-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:27 May-02, 2021

The sunroof tracks crack and break, thus making the sunroof inoperable and water will leak when it doesn? T seal. They sent out a safety alert or something along those lines. Basically if your in the 36k mile period they will fix. But if you have over(i had 42k) they offer a two thousand dollar repair. I have talked to a lot of people and 50% have had sunroof issues. I took my complaint to ford and was told keep my repair receipt in case they make it a recall.

2020 Subaru IMPREZA
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: Apr-30, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:34 May-01, 2021

I got to work at 6am and there was nothing, got out at 6pm and saw a big crack in the windshield on the passenger side.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.