FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM Complaints

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM Complaints
  • 6909 Complaints
  • 173 Crashes
  • 135 Fires
  • 136 Injuries
  • 4 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 6,909 complaints related to FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM.

Recent Complaints

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:10 May-12, 2021

I WAS DRIVING ON THE SAN MATEO BRIDGE , CAR BEGAN HESITATING AND JERKING UP AND DOWN AND LOST POWER ENGINE LIGHT CAME UP. TOOK IT TO PEP BOYS THEY DIAGNOSED IT AND SAID IT NEEDED COILS AND SPARK PLUGS , ABOUT $ 1000 LATER TOOK THE CAR HOE AND CONTINUED TO DO THE SAME THING, TOOK IT BACK TO PEP BOYS AND SAID THERE WAS A RECALL ON THAT CAR FOR THAT PROBLEM . TOOK IT TO PRIMO HONDA AND THEY SAY THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY VIN # EVEN THOUGH IS CLEAR THAT IS THE REASON THEY ARE HAVING A RECALL ON THOSE CARS FOR THAT VERY SAME REASON.VIN:5J6RW6H3XJL001965YEAR:2018MAKE:HONDAMODEL:CR-VLAST UPDATED:MAY 11, 2021NUMBER OF OPEN RECALLS:0......YEAR:2018MAKE:HONDAMODEL:CR-VLAST UPDATED:MAY 11, 2021NUMBER OF OPEN RECALLS:1 OPEN/CLOSE ALLPRINT 2018-19 CR-V FUEL PUMP MOTOR SAFETY RECALL EXPANSION TOOK IT TO ANOTHER BETTER QUALIFIED MECHANIC AND HE SAYS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL PUMP. IS VERY UNSAFE THE CAR SIMPLY LOSES ALL POWER AND DIED ON THE FREEWAY. I,VE BEEN CAR LESS , RENTING SINCE MAY FIRST 2021, IT IS INMORAL WHAT HONDA DOES.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:15 May-12, 2021

Contract 100k miles/10 years. Current mileage 92388. Still within warranty contract. While driving, 12/6/2020, my car stopped running after a brief warning on the dash. Check engine and oil light came on. Within a few minutes, i heard a noise, and the engine shut down. There were no oil leaks or any fluids under the car. I towed the car home. I towed to ray brandt kia in harvey la 12/7/20. A month later, i was told the engine failed. By 1/4/21, i was asked for permission to tear down the engine for inspection. 1/8/21 brian murray,svc mgr. Said valve cover to be removed for inspection. Fidelity warranty/ray brandt kia approved repairs re: ro101874. Per vicky, the inspector directed the timing belt replacement. On 1/13/21, test runs done to see if it fixed the problem but no compression. No action taken on recall 20v750. Per vicky, ray brandt recommended replacing the engine. Used engine found for replacement with approx. 42k miles. Per vicky at ray brandt svc dept. I received recall letter dated 1/25/21 by mail. Called vicky about recall. She confirmed it on her computer. Ray brandt called days later to say fidelity denied my claim. They stopped all repairs. Told i had to call fidelity for documentation. Called but no response. After sending a certified letter 3/9 to legal. Nancy beausejour called. She sent a reply dated 4/7. First two inspections reveal oil and other fluids are good and no sludge in the engine. This was prior to two more inspections with different conclusions. Final inspection show engine warped. Due to ignoring the recall, no action on service department recommendations and test runs without repairs, the engine warped. Before this failure, i had no engine overheating. Since 4/22/21, after 5 calls to kia consumer assistance ctr. ,called. May 12, 2021

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:51 May-11, 2021

It is an ongoing issue and that happens intermittently. When arriving to a stop (at times) the car still advances forward about a foot, even when the brake pedal is being used as far as it can. Also the vehicle claims to be losing propulsion, often, and seems strained when operating when the message appears.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:28 May-11, 2021

My vehicle is stalling when at low speed and sometimes high speed. It fails to accelerate. Every time i contact my service provider they push back my service another month.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:59 May-11, 2021

Rear-backup camera went black after i drove car to pick up son at friends house at night camera worked, parked car overnight, went to use car next morning rear camera inop, i thought it was fuse so i checked fuse, not blown. Took car in to honda dealership 2 days later stated it was p&a due to failure, est. At over $700 to replace. Very unhappy since car is only 4yrs old and only 40k miles. How do honda owners know that this year camera was not affected like the recall on the 2018's. What if some 2017's had the defective cameras installed, so i called honda was told no recall on camera, brought up the 2018/ recall to the rep and she stated this did not affect my vin#. I was not satisfied and wanted this issue to be reviewed since there was no damage to the camera. I feel this is an issue honda should rectify due to it being a safety issue and the recalls on over thousand of other cameras in their other vehicles. Honda should stand by the oem parts that came with the vehicle and correct the safety issue regarding rear cameras that stop working. This is a multi-dollar industry because of the everyday people like myself that purchase these vehicles and that is why i feel honda should be more concerned with the safety of they drivers and others around them and add 2017 models to their recall list instead of making the consumer pay to an absurd amount of money to fix an issue with honda parts. Honda needs to stand by the craftsmanship of their parts and vehicles just like any other business and make it right to the consumer. I also had issues where car would feel like it was going to die while turning and accelerating, took it in and dealership to find out it was the fuel pump, made it seem like they were doing me a favor to replace it since it was out of warranty by only a few hundred miles when in fact it was a recall on my vin#. It has been fixed, did i get a lemon?

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 09:57 May-11, 2021

2015 CHEVY Malibu WITH 2.5L ENGINE WITH ROCKER ARM OIL CONTROL VALVE MALFUNCTIONING. CHECK ENGINE CAME ON THURSDAY MAY 6, 2021 AND HAD IT DIAGNOSED MONDAY MAY 10, 2021. 2014'S HAVE A RECALL, BUT 2015S DO NOT AND MY MECHANIC CAN'T EVEN FIND A GM PART TO FIX THIS.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 05:27 May-11, 2021

I noticed within the first couple of weeks a difference in driving vehicle.. When i first purchased the vehicle i was given a nhtsa printout for any passed reports if therebwas any and there was nothing disclosed in the report. After experiencing issues with the vehicle. I ran another recall report and was able to see the 38 plus recalls that have been discovered since. I have scheduled a service appointment at the dealership tomorrow. I noticed very soon after purchasing vehicle and as of the last couple days.. I did take it to a couple of mechanic shops covered the car max warranty.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-30, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:03 May-10, 2021

MY CAR HAS A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH CODE P1450. THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 2019 AND WAS ADDRESSED BY REPROGRAMMING THE PCM. IN 2021 I GOT THE SAME CODE AND NOW THE PURGE VALVE IS STUCK OPEN. I NOTICED THAT AFTER ADDING FUEL THE CAR HAD TROUBLE STARTING UP UNTIL I GAVE IT A LITTLE EXTRA GAS. I WAS ADVISED NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AS IT MAY STALL, SUDDENLY GO INTO LIMP MODE, OR THE FUEL TANK MAY COLLAPSE. I WOULD LIKE TO NOTE THAT ALL OTHER FocusES OF THIS GENERATION HAVE RECEIVED A RECALL ON THE PURGE VALVE, BUT EXCLUDING MY ENGINE THE 1.0. A LOT OF DIGGING INTO FORUMS HAS SHOWN ME THAT MANY 1.0 OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THEIR FOCUS. QUITE SHADY TO RECALL ONLY SOME OF THE FOCUSES WHEN IT SEEMS THAT IT?S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH ALL ENGINE VARIATIONS.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:34 May-10, 2021

CAR HAS LESS THAN 30 (THIRTY) MILES ON IT; GARAGED SINCE PURCHASE BC OF PANDEMIC; STARTED OCCASIONALLY; BATTERY DEAD WHEN I TRIED TO GO OUT LAST WEEK; CHARGED BATTERY; DIED AGAIN; CHARGED AGAIN; CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALERTED ONSTAR, WHO SENT EMAIL STATING PROBLEMS W/ENGINE & TRANSMISSION SYSTEM, POSSIBLE ISSUES W/FUEL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM, EMISSIONS CONTROL, MISFIRE CONDITION... ONLY 30 MILES! NEW CAR! JUST DROVE HOME FROM DEALERSHIP AND PARKED IT. TRIED CHATTING W/BUICK CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE, BUT THEY CUT ME OFF 3 TIMES OVER 2 HOURS, SO I GAVE UP THAT EXERCISE IN FUTILITY. DEALERSHIP IS UNPLEASANT; TRYING A DIFFERENT DEALER. GOOGLED RECALLS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE THE EMISSIONS SYSTEM RECALL ON THE 2021 Encore GX, BUT MINE IS A 2020. WHY WOULD A BRAND NEW, $38,000-CAR BE SO FRIGHTENINGLY UNRELIABLE? I TRADED IN TWO CARS AND SAVED MANY YEARS TO BUY THIS. I?M AFRAID TO EVEN DRIVE IT IN FOR SERVICE. MY DAD WAS A PATENTED ENGINEER. I MISS MY DAD.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Apr-23, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:54 May-10, 2021

As i was pumping gas , odometer failed , power train/streen icon came... As i would accelerate on highway car would slip , as i parked car accelerate on its on resulting in a total

2020 Subaru FORESTER
Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:22 May-10, 2021

Both my wife and i have run out of gas on this vehicle which has less than 5,000 miles on it. The low gas indicator is limited to a brief warning in the screen behind the steering wheel. We both find this very easy to miss and there is no persistent visual or auditory warning. Running out of gas unexpectedly is an extreme safety hazard, we were lucky to avoid being rear ended, but had to park at some risk. Neither of us can recall running out of gas in our other vehicles for over 20 years.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:15 May-10, 2021

On the way down from grapevine along i-5, warning lights showed on my dashboard, e. G. Tire pressure monitor problem, emission system problem, brake system problem, etc... , i panic and exited the freeway. I opened the hood to cool the engine. After about an hour, i restarted the engine and the warning lights disappeared so i continued my travel. However, after about 40 miles, the warning lights came up again. So, i exited the freeway again. We called service dealer in bakersfield and based on our report he said the computer may not be talking with other parts. He asked us to bring it in. But this dealer is some 30 miles away and it? S too far from home. I restarted the engine again and the warning lights went away after the engine has cooled down. So i went back to the freeway driving slowly and carefully until there was a slower truck in front of me. I tried to overtake the truck then i felt like something snapped, the same warning lights came out and i can feel the engine was losing power so i parked on the side and decided to have the car towed since it can stall in the middle of the road putting our lives in danger. When the car was towed to the honda dealer close to home, it was diagnosed as initially fuel pump problem with an estimated cost of about $2,000. But the parts will take about a week to ship due to hazard issues. They offer to buy back our car but at only half the price that we bought it. It? S almost four years old.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:12 May-10, 2021

WHILE I WAS DRIVING APPROX 45 -60 MPH I SMELLED GAS, I DISMISSED IT THINKING THAT I WAS SMELLING THE OLD TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME. I PARKED MY Suburban AT MY DESTINATION AND STILL SMELLED IT BUT I DISMISSED IT BECAUSE I WAS LATE TO MY APPOINTMENT. WHEN I CAME BACK OUT TO MY VEHICLE APPROX 2 HOURS LATER I STILL SMELLED THE GAS PRETTY STRONG. I LOOKED UNDERNEATH AND DIDN'T SEE ANY DRIPS, I WAS PARKED ON GRASS SO I COULDN'T SEE ANY PUDDLES IF THERE WAS ANY. I GOT IN AND DROVE APPROX 100 YARDS TO PICK UP MY SON IN THE PARKING LOT AND STILL SMELLED IT, I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND LOOKED UNDER, THERE WAS A DRIP ABOUT EVERY SECOND COMING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE FUEL TANK AND IT LOOKED LIKE IT WAS COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE TANK WHERE I COULDN'T SEE. I TOOK IT TO EAGLE BUICK GMC IN CRYSTAL RIVER AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE 2 FUEL LINES ON THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK. IT WAS APPROX $680.00 TO FIX. WHILE I WAS WAITING FOR THE VEHICLE I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT THIS IS PRETTY COMMON AND IS DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW. THE GAS LINES RUB AGAINST THE CHASSIS AND GET A HOLE IN THEM. I DO BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE A RECALL.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Oct-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:35 May-10, 2021

Fuel or exhaust smell on startup

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-10, 2021

I HAVE A 2016 Ram 1500 ECODIESEL. THE COMPUTER WAS REPROGRAMMED TO COMPLY WITH THE EMISSIONS LAWSUIT BROUGHT AGAINST FCA. AFTER THIS UPDATE, THE VEHICLE FUEL MILEAGE DROPPED ABOUT 18% WHICH IS LESS THAN THE ADVERTISED MILEAGE. THE VEHICLE ALSO LOST POWER (I HAVE NO WAY OF MEASURING) BUT A NOTICEABLE DIFFERENCE WHEN TOWING. LAST BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY, THERE IS A TERRIBLE THROTTLE RESPONSE LAG WHEN THE ENGINE IS COLD. THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED SOME NEAR CRASH SCENARIOS FOR ME WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PULL OUT ON A BUSY ROAD. SPECIFICALLY, WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP OR WHILE ROLLING WHEN THE ENGINE IS COLD, THE THROTTLE MUST BE PUSHED BETWEEN 3/4 AND FULL TO GET THE VEHICLE TO RESPOND (I?VE READ THIS IS CAUSED BY THE COLD TURBINE). THIS OCCURS EVERY DAY WITH THE MASTERS NEAR ACCIDENT OCCURRING TODAY WHILE LEAVING THE DEALERSHIP. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO 3 DIFFERENT DEALERS AND MADE COMPLAINTS DIRECTLY TO FCA WITH NO SATISFACTORY ANSWERS TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEMS.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-25, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 18:28 May-09, 2021

For no apparent reason all dash warning lights (forward collision warning, etc. ) begin flashing when the vehicle is being driven (one right after the other). The first time this happened the warning lights stopped eventually. About one month later the same thing occurred but the warning lights would not quit. Took it to the dealer and they replaced the fuel injectors and fuel pipe at a cost of $2029. 00. This car only has 32,746 miles on it. From what i understand fuel injectors should last between 50,000 and 100,000 miles. We also had to replace the tires. Of course it was not covered under warranty.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-07, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 15:37 May-09, 2021

Vehicle consumes oil at high rate. Approximately 5 qts per 3000 miles driven sometimes more often. After new oil is added, acceleration will delay at times, usually when starting from a complete stop. When the vehicle begins moving forward a cloud of bluish/white exhaust will be created. The clouds of exhaust occurs more often just after an oil change or oil is added. Will continue for the first 1000 miles then will become less frequent as more oil is consumed and the amount remaining in the oil pan is lessened. Has occurred since i purchased the car.

2019 Toyota TACOMA
Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-03, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 20:29 May-08, 2021

Local toyota dealership in sierra vista, arizona has stated on multiple occasions that they do not have the parts and are not ordering them.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:32 May-08, 2021

A FEW MONTHS AFTER GETTING THE CAR THE ENGINE KEPT STALLING THE ENGINE LIGHT WOULD ONLY TURN ON AFTER STALLING EACH TIME I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO MULTIPLE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS THEY KEEP SAYING IT?S JUST A SPARK PLUG ISSUE. IT?S FRUSTRATING SINCE ONCE OFF THE LOT A WEEK LATER IT?S RANDOMLY STALLING AGAIN.THIS NEVER FIXED THE ISSUE. THE CAR HAS STALLED BOTH ON ROADS, ROUNDABOUTS AND FREEWAYS CAUSING ME TO NEARLY BE IN CRASHES MULTIPLE TIMES, I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS CAR. THE CAR IS IN MOTION AND THE ENGINE JUST STOPS THE CAR STALLS AND THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. I HAD BEEN ABLE TO START IT AND GET IT MOVING IT?S RANDOM WHEN THE ENGINE STALLS.TODAY I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER CAR REPAIR CENTER THEY SAID THE ENGINE HAD A TON OF METAL PARTICLES AND CHUNKS, LIKE THE ENGINES ON THE 2014 Elantra?S. THEY SUGGESTED I FILE A REPORT TO THE NHTSA AND BRING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AS THERE IS NO WAY A ENGINE OR PISTON SHOULD LOOK THIS BAD AND THAT THE METAL PIECES LOOK LIKE THEY ARE FROM THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS. I?M NOT SURE WHY THE DEALERSHIPS NEVER CHECKED THE ENGINE COMPLETELY REGARDING THIS ISSUE THEY COULD HAVE SEEN THE METAL FRAGMENTS EARLIER. I?M WORRIED THAT I WON?T BE LUCKY ON THE ROAD NEXT TIME THE ENGINE STALLS AND I?M WORRIED ABOUT OTHERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.I?M WORRIED ABOUT MY SAFETY AND OTHERS WHEN DRIVING. PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT ME REGARDING MORE INFORMATION.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:32 May-08, 2021

The vehicle was running and stopped at a stop light. When accelerating to proceed from the stop light the vehicle would barely accelerate no matter how far we pressed the gas pedal down. The engine was not revving faster it just appeared to stay in ev mode with very little acceleration. Finally after about 5-10 seconds the car starts accelerating. We are very concerned that if this occurs at a turn onto a busy road we could be in a position where we are stuck in the middle of oncoming cross traffic. This is very intermittent, maybe once or twice per summer (usually in the hotter times of the year). We've had the car at the dealership and both times they have said they found no problem. Searching on the internet this sounds like tsb-0241-17, which i have shared with the dealer but both times they have indicated they see no sign off a problem.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.