FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM Complaints

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM Complaints
  • 5338 Complaints
  • 139 Crashes
  • 104 Fires
  • 119 Injuries
  • 3 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 5,338 complaints related to FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM.

Recent Complaints

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:30 Jul-30, 2020

Must shift to park; car will not shut off. Already in park, and pushed very hard to make electrical contact. Shift out and back to park several times to make contact and allow car to shut off. At first, only once a week, now almost every day.

2020 Nissan KICKS
Parts: STEERINGFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-30, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:16 Jul-30, 2020

The car stalled while driving causing a safety concern. The engine was still running, however, the car would not move. After shutting it down and restarting the car a secomd time, the car started moving again.

2020 Toyota TUNDRA
Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-29, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:40 Jul-30, 2020

I bought a new 2020 toyota tundra 4x4 crewmax and it is not perform to what a v-8 powertrain of 5. 7 lt, and 381 horse power should be. The accelerator on this 2020 tundra is not functioning properly. It will not accelerate when i step on the gas pedal, which almost stall before it moves. In addiction, i owned a 2007 tundra 4x4 crewmax and there was not a single acceleration problem. The vin# for my new 2020 tundra crewmax is: 5tfdy5f1xlx912265. I believe toyota has installed the accelerator incorrectly or their fuel pump is not working properly on this new 2020 tundra models.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-29, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:01 Jul-30, 2020

I parked my car in my garage with half a tank of gas on sunday. On wednesday i went to start my car to no avail. I called roadside assistance to jump start my vehicle. This worked, however my gas was now on empty. The vehicle had been locked, no lights on in an enclosed garage for 3 days. I have only used it for short drives since march due to covid-19.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-17, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:41 Jul-29, 2020

On two different occasions, 07/17/2020 and 07/29/2020, my vehicle cut off/stalled after i have accelerated from a stop light. After i reached the speed of about 15 mph and then for no apparent reason the engine shut off for 3-4 seconds while my foot was still depressed on the accelerator. Then just as sudden, the engines power comes back on and jerks all passengers back in their seats. I never touched the brake during both occurrences. The both times it happened i was on a multi lane city street. The issue here is that by my vehicle stopping suddenly without applying the brake my brake tail lights will not warn the driver behind me, and he may if he is not paying attention rear end my vehicle. This happened on two

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:26 Jul-29, 2020

The truck hesitates at lower rpms and feels very sluggish. Something needs to be done about this! Seven months is to long!

Parts: STRUCTUREFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-28, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:31 Jul-29, 2020

I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CHECK ENGINE AND ALL LIGHTS CAME ON. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE OR STOP THE VEHICLE THE BRAKES DID NOT WORK I COASTED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AND HIT THE GUARD RAIL BECAUSE I HAD NO BREAKS. THEN I HAD A TOW TRUCK COME AND PULL ME OFF THE FREEWAY TO SEE IF I COULD START MY VEHICLE HOWEVER IT DID NOT START ALL THE LIGHTS WERE ON THE DASH ON AND THE CAR WAS SMOKING AND SMELL LIKE FIRE I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE MECHANIC TO FIND OUT WHAT IS WRONG. THE MECHANIC SAID THE ENGINE IS FRIED BECAUSE THE OIL PUMP WAS NOT BEING PUMPED INTO THE MOTOR THEREFORE IT LOCKED UP HE SAID I BELIEVE THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THE SAME REASON I CHECKED THE RECALL AND THERE IS NOTHING IN THE SYSTEM THAT A 2015 Kia Optima IS UP FOR RECALL. I BELIEVE KIA NEEDS TO REFUND THIS VEHICLE THAT HAS ONLY 88,000 MILES IN THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED KIA NEEDS TO CALL ME

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:12 Jul-29, 2020

On several occasions my car has lost power and started idling very low in traffic. There has been an open recall for several months for this problem and toyota has not fixed it.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-10, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 09:00 Jul-29, 2020

Fuel is leaking into engine oil. My mechanic said he can smell the fuel in the oil when changing oil. Also the oil level increases when checking oil level over time. This occurs while car is in motion.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-29, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 08:45 Jul-29, 2020

MY CAR RUNS FINE BEFORE I FILL UP WITH GAS. THEN STUTTERS LIKE IT DOESNT WANT TO START AFTER. IT HAS DONE THIS SINCE I PURCHASED IT 2 YEARS AGO. TODAY ON MY WAY TO WORK. IT STUTTERED AND A LIGHT WITH A WRENCH CAME ON AND THEN SHUT OFF. WOULD DO ANYTHING. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES THEN IT STARED RIGHT BACK UP. I SEE THAT THERE ARE SOME RECALLS FOR 215 Taurus BUT MINE IS NOT INCLUDED.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-25, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-29, 2020

~TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 Toyota Highlander. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STANDING START THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY ACCELERATE AND IMMEDIATELY HESITATE BEFORE ACCELERATING AND OPERATING AS NORMAL. THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED ON 2 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED AFTER THE RECALL REMEDY WAS PERFORMED FOR THE NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER 20V012000(FUEL SYSTEM). THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT YET DETERMINED. THE DEALER TOYOTA OF SARASOTA LOCATE AT 7435 TAMIAMI TRAIL SARASOTA FL. AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 630078 . JFT

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-28, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:55 Jul-28, 2020

While driving on the highway, the car suddenly displayed a 'wrench' indicator which states 'see owner's manual'. The car lost the ability to accelerate (gas pedal/acceleration was disabled). After steering the vehicle to the side of the road, the car began to idle very rough before the car was turned off. I attempted to restart the vehicle, but the engine continued to idle very rough and the wrench light and check engine light both appeared illuminated. Upon inspection with an obd ii code reader, the code 'p2111' was displayed. This indicated a 'stuck open' throttle, resulting in the disabled acceleration of the vehicle. After the code was cleared, the vehicle started normally and was able to be driven home on surface roads. After brief inspection, the throttle appears to be mechanically in good condition, and investigation online indicates many other vehicles of this make/model experience a failure of the throttle body sensor. This explains the symptoms exeprienced by my vehicle despite the mechanical condition of the throttle being good. Fortunately, nobody was hurt, but sudden loss of acceleration could be extremely dangerous in a variety of scenarios, especially at highway speeds.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-28, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:26 Jul-28, 2020

Vehicle has a 14. 5 usg gas tank and gets approximately 40mpg as per the vehicle computer. The vehicle should have a range of approximately 560 miles. At 390 miles, the distance to empty display was 44 miles and the gas gauge needle was just above e. At the fill up the pump kicked off at 9. 6 gallons. When trying to add more gas, the punp kicked off again at 10. 1 gallons. The gas gauge reads full and the distance to empty reads 470 miles. I am either 4 gallons short of a full tank or the gauge reads empty when there is 4 gallons remaining. I have owned this car for 4 weeks. A service writer at the dealership denies any knowledge of the problem as there is no actual recall notice. Toyota is aware of the problem and has no remedy. Dealerships have been made aware through internal memos which are available online. The response from the dealership is to leave it for a day to be looked at. I realize there is no current fix, but dealerships should be documenting complaints.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-13, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:24 Jul-28, 2020

Entering highway or traffic car stalls no power. Seems like the engine isnt providing enough gas for take off, this is with the pedal accelerator completely pressed down. This has happened several times.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:53 Jul-28, 2020

The fuel pump went out then the dealer replaced it two months later the fuel sensor goes out and they replaced it total cost on my behalf was$340. 00. Window motor also went out driver side and it was replaced. The vehicle is five years old with 37,000 miles why so many issues. Was there a recall for all this problems

2020 Kia STINGER
Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-27, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:19 Jul-28, 2020

Fuel line connection within the engine compartment had a lock/cover that was not seated/attached. Issue was discovered after doing a thorough look over of a newly purchased vehicle in which a loose nut was found in the trunk. Upon removal of the plastic engine cover next to the non locked fuel line two missing bolts were found for a wire harness on top of the engine. Owner connected fuel line lock, dealer installed two bolts to the wire harness. No receipt was given since nothing was billed.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-11, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-28, 2020

MY 2017 Silverado 1500, WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT WAS IDLING ROUGH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME. SO WHEN I BROUGHT THE TRUCK IN FOR A SECOND RECALL. THE DEALER SAID THEY COULD DO A DIAGNOSTIC. WELL THEY SAID IT WAS MISS FIRING DUE TO BAD FUEL INJECTOR CYLINDER 8 WASN'T WORKING SO THEY GAVE ME A PRICE OF 1500 TO FIX THE PROBLEM UNFORTUNATELY WE JUST GOT OUT FROM THE FACTORY WARRANTY AND HAD EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT DIDN'T COVER FUEL INJECTORS SO WE PUT LUCAS FUEL INJECTOR CLEANER AND IT HELPED. IT SEEMS AS IF THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS FOR THIS REASON.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-27, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 22:07 Jul-27, 2020

SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS LEMON. NOT HAPPY WITH MY 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee -ENGINE MOUNT REPLACED AT 46,000 MILES...(REPLACED OCT 2019) SERIOUSLY???!!!! THIS EARLY IN THE VEHICLE'S LIFE??!!! -AC CONDENSER (REPLACED MAY 2020) -CRACKED RADIATOR-(REPLACED JULY 2020) -NEW BATTERY- (REPLACED JULY 2020) -EVAP PURGE HOSE -(REPLACED JULY 2020) -EVAP PURGE SOLENOID-( REPLACED MARCH 2020) WILL HAPPILY PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION IF REQUESTED.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:15 Jul-27, 2020

CAR HESITATES FROM 0 MPH WHILE REVS ARE INCREASING ON HIGHWAY OR CITY STREETS AND WHILE GEARS ARE CHANGING OR WHEN ACCELERATION IS REQUESTED THEN THE ENGINE FEELS LIKE IT'S HESITANT TO INCREASE POWER. ALSO WHEN GOING UPHILL OR ON INCLINED BRIDGES ON CRUISE CONTROL IT HESITATES TO MAINTAIN SPEED AND FEEL LIKE ITS JUMPING FORWARD. I HAVE READ MANY OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER Pilot OWNERS AND IF IT WAS BECAUSE THEY RECOMMEND FROM THE FACTORY TO USE REGULAR GAS, MAYBE ITS AN OCTANE PROBLEM. BOTTOM LINE IT HESITATES WHEN STOPPED AND STARTS IN MOTION AND ALSO WHEN YOU REQUEST SOME MORE POWER WHILE ON HIGHWAYS. IT IS NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE. I DO NOT DRIVE MY PILOT LIKE A SPORTS CAR I'M CAREFUL AND TAKE CARE OF MY INVESTMENT.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:21 Jul-27, 2020

Checking on the status of the fuel pump recall?? Was supposed to get a notice by may but have not received the notice yet. I entered the 17 digit vin numeber in your form but got no response.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.