VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL Complaints

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL Complaints
  • 5331 Complaints
  • 887 Crashes
  • 32 Fires
  • 418 Injuries
  • 12 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 5,331 complaints related to VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL.

Recent Complaints

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Sep-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:20 Sep-24, 2020

While driving on highway at 55 mph (6th gear), vehicle suddenly downshifted to 1st gear. The engine's rpms revved as the vehicle began to decelerate hard, resulting in the passengers experiencing a sudden jerk of their neck and body. The accelerator pedal had no response. After approximately 5 seconds i regained response from the accelerator and the vehicle began to upshift. A few moments later, the whole experience repeated with the vehicle downshifting to 1st. This repeated a third time. The incident caused several near-misses as we lost power at highway speed and began a rapid deceleration without notice.

2016 Lexus RX350
Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Sep-13, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 22:26 Sep-23, 2020

I reported the speedometer issue to lexus chantilly, va when i drove on highway from va to in, the lexus speedometer shows 83, and my waze shows 75. Its 8 mph difference. I also have noticed of the mph difference between 6 to 8 mph. Lexus said, i required to pay for the repair, when this speedometer is defected by lexus design. It has do nothing with personal wear, etc. I drove other honda pilot, and the speedometer showed correctly against the traffic pattern, and waze app, but the 2016 lexus doesnt show the correct based on traffic flow, and waze app. The travel from leesburg, va to indiaopolis, in should be 547, but ended at 601 miles. Im ok if its just few miles differences, but 50 miles per every 500 miles is huge, 5% error. I think its because of speedometer and impact error actual miles. I went to lexus chantilly, va to perform recall for other thing, door handle, but they said, wont look at speedometer issue, unless i pay for it. Then i called lexus corporation to open the case, and the lexus case manager wont honor or fix my issue. This is serious safety issue, and should be covered by lexus due to their defective issue. I have 4 photos to attach.. Can you assist me to contact lexus to fix based on photos. Thank you... I can be reached via bizcham@gmail. Com - cham leang.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERVEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Sep-07, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:33 Sep-23, 2020

The emergency braking system shuts off with no warning and in turn deactivates the adaptive cruise control. This has happened several times and the last occurrence happened on a two lane highway in clear weather conditions with an 18-wheeler following in close proximity. When i brought the vehicle to the mechanic at the dealership, the code showed that the distance sensor? Must be replaced? Because it was out-of-date. When i asked the manufacturer of the car to pay for the replacement, they refused. I have dealt with four people at the corporate office and they refuse to pay the $1400 to replace the faulty factory original part. Also note, i have replaced the transmission two times in 9 months on this vehicle and those were covered under the certified pre-owned warranty. I am beginning to suspect i have a lemon.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMVEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Mar-30, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 16:40 Sep-23, 2020

TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A TESLA 2018 Model 3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE USING THE AUTOMATIC PARKING FEATURE, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO INJURY SUSTAINED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TESLA (5544 OKEECHOBEE BLVD, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33417, (561) 841-9281) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT DEALERS FINDINGS WERE THAT BOTH HANDS WERE OFF THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BRAKE AND ACCELERATOR PEDAL WERE BEING DEPRESSED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARALLEL PARK. ON ANOTHER OCCASION AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND WAS LOCKED IN WITH THE ELECTRICAL FUNCTION INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT REMAINED LOCKED IN FOR 45 MINUTES UNTIL SECURITY WAS ABLE TO REMOVE HER FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE SAME DEALER WHERE THE 12 VOLT BATTERY WAS REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE REMAINED AT THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED FOR HER SAFETY AND DECLINED TO RETRIEVE THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,776. AH

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jul-24, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:26 Sep-23, 2020

After exiting a drive-thru car wash, drove through the parking lot and stopped behind a car exiting via a driveway onto main street. While i applied brake the engine began to race up to 5000 rpm. I was unable to keep the car from creeping forward with major force on the brakes. I moved the shift lever to n and pressed the start/stop button, shutting down the engine to avoid collision with the car in front of me. After the car in front of me exited, i re-started the car and everything appeared normal. Have not had a recurrence of the problem. Have not taken the car to the dealer yet because i'm not sure that i trust them. Similar previous complaints: 11331361, 11235107, 11142830, 11121723, 11119028, 11062545, 10948426 & 10860066. Seems to be a serious recurring safety issue.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-11, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:34 Sep-23, 2020

Radio came on by itself, passenger driver side window went down by itself, sometimes my cruise control will work other times i have a hard time getting it to set. The vehicle was in motion on the highway. Engine oil was black even though i just had an oil change

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Sep-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:08 Sep-23, 2020

I was pulling into a parking space at my church with my foot on the brake. As i neared the end of the space, the car suddenly surged forward. It went over the concrete barrier at the end of the space and came to a stop when the right front tire hit a tree and was knocked to a perpendicular position to the axle. I believe this is the only thing that caused the car to stop. The airbag did not deploy. The car surged forward about 5-6 feet at a high rate of speed even though my foot was still on the brake and i was slowly moving into the parking space.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLUNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Sep-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 05:38 Sep-23, 2020

While driving the car it automatically switched into parked while the gear shift was still positioned in park. The car will start and the air and everything else works fine, the gear shift will even move into drive. But when i push the gas it say? Place car in p then shift to desired gear? Again the car isn? T running hot or has any other problems.

2020 Mercedes-Benz GLE450
Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-19, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:34 Sep-22, 2020

Sudden acceleration - electrical system failures- 1) 03/21/20 complete electrical failure - all warning lights, exterior lights & brake lights stuck on, then would not start after local shopping trip-odometer 754 miles - vehicle towed to dealer -? Reprogrammed?. 2) 06/18/20 active speed control-cruise control (which reads speed limit signs and adjusts speed) was set at 50 mph - suddenly began to accelerate to 80 mph. Odometer 1641 miles. 3) active speed limit control often reads frontage road speed limit signs while on main highway, initiating braking. 4) active speed control when on cruise control will apply brakes when using turn signal for lane changes. 08/31/20-09/04/2020 returned to dealer- odometer 2361-? Reprogrammed?. 5) 09/19/20 active speed limit control set at 15 mph suddenly began to accelerate to 80 mph. Odometer 2512. Was able to regain control by brake application to release cruise control after vehicle initiated hard acceleration without any driver input and had reached 30-35 mph. Same as 06/18/20 similar incident. Dealer was advised and? Updated software? Mercedes benz-grapevine, tx invoice 511097. Mercedes gle 450 date of mfg. 10jan2020 - leased 25jan 2020.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLUNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Sep-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:41 Sep-22, 2020

Once i have warmed the car and put it in motion whether in reverse or forward as i slow down to come to a stop light or yield the car either starts to die or dies completely. I can try to push the drivers pedal and sometimes it will crank back up and continue in motion and sometimes, in the middle of traffic i might have to put on the brake, put it in park and start it all over again. This is very scary, very dangerous!!! Doesn't matter the type of road i am on. I was told this is a normal thing for this vehicle, but this is hard for me to believe that a car is made to go dead at a moments notice in traffic.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSTEERINGAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Jul-17, 1996
  • Date complaint filed: 15:34 Sep-22, 2020

MY FRIEND ARON WAS HAVING AN EMERGENCY WHEN WOKE UP AT 4:00AM TO COME TO HIS HELP. AFTER WAKING UP WITH A REDBULL ,I WAS THEN HEADING TO THE HOUSE AT WICH ARON LIVES . I WAS UNFORTUNATELY AN TO MY SURPRISE . LOST COMPLETE CONTROL OF MY 2016 Ford Fusion THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. AS DID THE TIRES . AND TO MY HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE OF THIS CAR IN MOTION THEN ACCELERATED TO 40 MILES AN HOUR . I WAS COMPLETELY HELPLESS AS TO REDIRECT THE CAR IN MOTION TO A SAFE PATH . I REMEMBER THE FUSION WAS AIRBORNE AFTER I WAS OFF THE ROAD HITTING A DITCH . THE FORD FLIPPED UPSIDE DOWN. I SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES AND BACK AN AS WELL. MY ARM WAS CUTT UP BAD. IM NOW LIVING WITH THESE SCARS FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Sep-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:56 Sep-22, 2020

When accelerating after stopping, the gas pedal will be pushed down but car will stall and not go. The engine will rev up, but the car does not move and then all of a sudden will accelerate forward. Also, when coasting in rush-hour, accelerating after a stop sign, the car will make jerking movements. It has been taken to a hyundai dealership where they told me it is a dual-transmission so i just need to be more aggressive with it when taking off from stop light/stop sign. I know that this is not normal and most definitely needs to be revisited as there have obviously been enough complaints and has been an issue previously.

2019 Ford F-450
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPERVEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:07 Sep-22, 2020

Tl-the contact owns a ford f -450. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds the driver's seat moved backwards and contact was uanble to touch the brake and accelerator pedal. Additionally, the radio spontaneously turned on. The front windshield fogged up. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to nick nicholas ford inc 2901 fl-44, inverness, fl 34453(352) 726-1231 where they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted however no further assitance was provided. The failure mielage was 9,900. Ap

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Sep-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:54 Sep-22, 2020

On 3 separate occasions at 30,000, 40,000 and 42,000 miles when driving at interstate highway speeds (around 70 mph) with cruise control engaged, the vehicle has suddenly without warning switched to a low power limp home mode resulting in rapid deceleration in the midst of high speed highway traffic. I believe this is a very dangerous situation. Multiple warnings appeared on the dash including low power mode, check awd system, and see your dealer. Shutting off the vehicle and restarting it allowed the vehicle to be driven normally again. After all three incidents the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. All 3 times the computer had stored codes for random multiple misfires along with a few others. All three times the dealer indicated that the codes did not point to a specific faulty part that they could replace, so there was nothing they could do. At my insistence that something be done after the third incident the dealer opened a case with the toyota tas system to ask for assistance in diagnoses. The only result of this was to switch some of the coil pack positions to see if the misfires followed the coil pack. The end result is that i have to drive it until it fails again, putting myself and others at risk. I also opened a case with the toyota customer experience center, they confirmed this was all toyota would do at this point.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSTEERINGAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Aug-11, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Sep-22, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNED A 2016 Ford Fusion. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, WHEN THE STEERING COLUMN LOCKED UP, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD, THE VEHICLE THE INDEPENDENTLY INCREASED IN SPEED TO 40 MPH, AND CRASHED INTO A DITCH AIRBORNE. THE VEHICLE LANDED UPSIDE DOWN. DURING THE FAILURE, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS UNABLE TO BE MANEUVERED. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, LEFT ARM WAS CUT DEEPLY AND ELBOW, ELBOW JOINT WAS INJURED, AND A CUT ON THE FACE. THE CONTACT WAS TAKEN TO THE AMBULANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE STEERING. THE VEHICLE WAS RECALLED FOR THE STEERING COLUMN. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 13:37 Sep-21, 2020

MY 2016 Forester WILL ACCELERATES WITH NO WARNING .THE VERY FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I CANNOT REMEMBER EXACT DATE , I WOULD GUESS IT WAS AROUND OCT. OR NOV. OF 2015. I BOUGHT THE CAR MAY 2015. TO THE BEST OF MY RECOLLECTION, I WAS PARKING SPACE CAR AND AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK THE CAR LUNGED FORWARD , BARELY MISSED HITTING THE FENCE IN FRONT OF ME. AT THAT TIME I BLAMED UGG BOOTS .NEVER WORE THEM AGAIN. THE SECOND TIME DO NOT REMEMBER WHEN BUT IT HAD TO BE SOMETIME AFTER MARCH 2017 BECAUSE I HAD WAS PURCHASED A PUPPY AND WENT TO PETCO AND I WAS IN THAT PARKING LOT WHEN IT HAPPENED. I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND AS I PUT CAR IN IT JETTED BACKWARD WITH SUCH FORCE AND I HIT A CEMENT POLE THAT WAS DIRECTLY BEHIND ME . THE POLE WAS DESIGNATED FOR A HANDICAPPED SPACE .AND CAR . LUCKILY THERE WERE NO PEDESTRIANS THERE OR I COULD HAVE HURT OR KILLED THEM. NO DAMAGE TO CAR . I DIDN?T KNOW WHAT HAPPEN. I CHECKED MATS TO MAKE SURE THEY WERE NOT UNDER GAS BECAUSE I?VE HEARD THAT COULD HAPPEN BUT NO ALL WAS GOOD . GOING FORWARD JUST KEPT WATCH AND SEE IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN CAUSE THEN I WOULD KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE CAR. ONE, TWO, THREE TIMES, NO DEFINITELY SOMETHING WRONG WITH CAR. THE MOST RECENT SEPT. 8, 2020, I WAS ON SIDE STREET STOPPED AT LIGHT. TOOK FOOT OFF BRAKE TO INCH UP TO MAKE TURN ALL OF SUDDEN CAR LUNGED FORWARD TO INTERSECTION I QUICKLY MADE TURN. LUCKILY AVOIDING ACCIDENT. WHEN I TOOK CAR IN TO BE CHECKED WAS TOLD BY REPRESENTATIVE AT THE DEALERSHIP SHE NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING. WHEN THIS HAPPENS IT?S USUALLY DUE TO HUMAN ERROR AND THEY?RE NOT AWARE OF ANY ACCELERATION ISSUES WITH THEIR CARS. SHE THEN PRECEDED TO ASK IF I HAD AIR CONDITIONER ON WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I SAID I DON?T REMEMBER BUT I?M ASSUMING I DID. LEFT CAR TO BE CHECKED.R DEALERSHIP SAID THE MECHANIC DROVE CAR FOR 3 MILE , COULD NOT DUPLICATE MY COMPLAINT.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Sep-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:47 Sep-21, 2020

While driving on highway check engine light came on and engine power reduxe light came on dash. Vehicle decelerated rapidly on major highway was almost rear ended by semi tractor triailer. Was able to turn car off and it went away. But has returned next day. I contacted gm 09/21/20 amd they stated they were aware of ongoing issues and i could bring it in to get looked at but would have to pay a diagnostic fee

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLUNKNOWN OR OTHERSERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Sep-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 02:16 Sep-21, 2020

At around 2. 15 pm cst, i was driving my mercedes westbound on i-694 towards minneapolis at roughly 70 mph when suddenly my e300 stalled and by the time i could figure what was wrong, i lost all power in the steering wheel. The mercedes brake assist triggered a hard brake and my car stopped in the middle lane on the freeway. The car behind me nearly missed me and at this point every light in the dashboard lit up (i have attached the picture below). I tried hitting on the ignition multiple times but got no response. At this point, i decided not to sit in the car since it was too dangerous with fast oncoming traffic and it was only going to be a matter of time that someone would rear end me. I stepped out of my car and while multiple cars were approaching me at high speed from both left and right lanes i found a very small window of time (2-3 seconds) to sprint from the middle lane of i-694 to the shoulder. My worry was still far from over as my car was still sitting in middle of the interstate and now i was concerned about the safety of other folks who were traveling in my direction. I saw 12 to 15 cars almost rear end my car. While this was happening, i realized my phone was dead and i was unable to call 911. I continually waved at the oncoming traffic to alert them of my car and requested them to call 911. About 7 to 9 minutes later, the state highway patrol showed up and blocked traffic to assist me with moving my car to the shoulder. These 7 to 9 minutes were the most traumatic i have ever seen in my life. I felt helpless, anxious, and extremely stressed out.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Sep-21, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Infiniti Q50. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE JERKED, SHIFTED GEARS, REDUCED SPEED, THE ODOMETER FLASHED, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, AND THE HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM WENT FROM COLD TO HOT. THE CONTACT GOT OFF THE NEAREST EXIT AND PULLED OVER AND WAITED A WHILE BEFORE CONTINUING TO DRIVE HOME TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A DIAGNOSTIC CODE READER RETRIEVED DTC CODE: P0720 (OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR). THE CONTACT CONTACTED INFINITI OF TAMPA (4600 N DALE MABRY HWY, TAMPA, FL 33614; (813) 694-1579) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE CAMSHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Sep-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:37 Sep-20, 2020

When driving in the highway the vehicle starts to jerk very strong and highway speed is lost making it dangerous to drive and potentially causing an accident. I have taken the vehicle to the dealer and they will do nothing about it. It is a known issue for this vehicle model and subaru is not fixing the issue. The jerking is so violent that it could become a safety hazard for drivers and anyone else on the road. The jerking happens on a daily basis and sometimes it is more strong.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.