ELECTRICAL SYSTEM Complaints

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM Complaints
  • 17894 Complaints
  • 522 Crashes
  • 583 Fires
  • 377 Injuries
  • 8 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 17,894 complaints related to ELECTRICAL SYSTEM.

Recent Complaints

Parts: STEERINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:47 May-12, 2021

Just like all the other cars made by ford on their platform the power steering locked up while driving. Cause a near fatal accident.

Parts: SUSPENSIONSTEERINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-15, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:10 May-12, 2021

I bought my car in mexico and have moved to north las vegas nevada. The dealer will not make the necessary safety repairs under the recalls. What do i do? Do i have an unsafe car?

2020 Subaru FORESTER
Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:50 May-12, 2021

Multiple dead batteries over past year. When rear lift gate is left open for less then an hour with all lights including interior off it drains battery. 2019 lift gate module recalled due to? Dark draw? But didn? T include earlier 2020 models which did not have new module incorporated yet. Please investigate to include the early 2020 models in recall. This is happening to many people and is a hazard to be left stranded over such an easy fix that has already been incorporated in the 2019 models with the recall... My car is in that? Grey area? Only cause it is not a 2019 but before the fix was addressed on the 2020 year.

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-17, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:08 May-12, 2021

TRANS SERVICE SHIFT LIGHT. I HAVE A 2016 Jeep Cherokee TRAIL HAWK. TODAY (5/12/2021) IS THE THIRD TIME I'VE BROUGHT MY JEEP IN FOR THIS PROBLEM. FIRST WAS ON 04/17/2019 @ 17,330 MILES. SECOND WAS ON 02/04/2020 @ 21,917 MILES. THE THIRD WAS TODAY 05/12/2021 @29,046 MILES. EVERY TIME THEY HAVE TO CHANGE THE BEZEL AND THE HARNESS FOR THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER. I KNOW THIS IS AN ISSUE FROM RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM WITH OTHER JEEP CHEROKEE OWNERS. JEEP NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM OR PAY ME EVERY TIME I HAVE TO TAKE OFF OF WORK TO BRING MY VEHICLE INTO THE SHOP.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-21, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:56 May-12, 2021

New 2020 santafe took delivery on january 4th, 2021, with less than 5000 miles on march 21st the vehicle refuse to start after it was started and shut off while we were sitting in a parking lot. While attempting to start it getting forward collusion warning but the engine would not crank. Towed to the local dealer was told they cannot diagnose the car because they could not read the onboard computer, unable to say what's wrong. The car was towed back to the dealer where purchase and was told it was a blown fuse maybe lighting strike and other theories what's wrong. The dealer would replace the fuse and computer after 52 days the care is still at the dealer waiting on parts. Total electrical failure with no recourse at the moment, hyundai motor of america consumer affairs wants us to sign a settlement agreement to refund our expenses and have not fixed or replaced the car. The manufacture is totally dragging their feet and denying the car suffer a total electrical failure, while the battery was still in working condition according to aaa.

2020 Ford TRANSIT
Parts: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEFORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-26, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:02 May-12, 2021

Vehicle instrument cluster intermittently loses power, both while vehicle is in motion or while stopped. Instrument cluster ceases to display vehicle speed, engine rpm, engine temp, and fuel level, as well as all other info that is typically displayed. This condition can last seconds or several minutes at a time. If cruise control is active while the issue occurs, cruise control ceases to function and the vehicle starts to slow down unexpectedly. When the instrument cluster regains power, it sometimes flashes various warnings, such as "blind spot assist error," "transmission not in park," "pre-collision assist error," "adaptive cruise not available," and "park assist error. " this problem occurs intermittently, but has occurred countless times since the vehicle was purchased new in january of 2021.

2019 Ram 1500
Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERLANE DEPARTUREELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:05 May-12, 2021

The car is off and the radio turns on by itself. While the car is in motion the airconditioner works occasionally (not very often) and when the ac goes out the power windows go out as well. The warning sensors on side do not work either.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 09:05 May-12, 2021

Continual battery problems. Had to jump at least 4 times in less than a year after buying the car new. Finally wouldn't take a jump and dropped off the car at the dealer where i bought the 2020 subaru. They said there were known battery problems but i needed to drive the car at least every 2 days to keep the battery operational. The solution was a new battery and an ecm update.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-29, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 08:47 May-12, 2021

The car battery goes stone cold dead if the car sits for more than a week without driving. Last guy who jumped the car had a hard time getting it to charge. The car was sitting for 2 months while i was away.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 08:07 May-12, 2021

I got into my parked car monday morning may 10, 2021 to find a large burn hole in the passenger seat and back of seat near the belt buckle. I took it to my daytona beach honda dealership where they determined an electrical failure in the heated seats caused the fire. The car is one year out of warranty and approx cost to repair is 4500. 00.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:10 May-12, 2021

Driving on city street and interstate the infotainment system in the vehicle will randomly go out. This has happened in the past but has progressively gotten worse. The infotainment system houses the gps and climate control (defrost) system along with the car settings (adas) and entertainment system. When you are dependent on the gps for navigation and you loose the directions you go into a panic situation trying to figure things out. When the windshield fogs and you can't use the defrost system it becomes a visibility issue. Dealership has updated the software but still continues to happen.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 06:53 May-12, 2021

THERE IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM ON MY 2017 Honda Pilot ELITE THAT CONTINUES TO GET WORSE WITH THE AUTO ENGINE IDLE. WHEN IT ENGAGES (I.E., STOPS THE ENGINE SUCH AS AT A STOP LIGHT), AT TIMES IT WOULD BARELY START BACK UP AGAIN. WHEN THESE PROBLEMS OCCUR, WHEN IT RESTARTED AFTER THE AUTO ENGINE IDLE WAS ENGAGED, IT SOUNDED LIKE A CAR TRYING TO START WITH A BAD BATTERY - IT BARELY TURNED OVER, BUT FINALLY DID START. HOWEVER, ON 5/11/2021, IT DID NOT START AT ALL AFTER THE AUTO ENGINE IDLE ENGAGED. I WAS AT A STOPLIGHT AND HAD SEVERAL CARS BEHIND ME. I WAS ON A SLOPE AND WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND PULL IT OFF TO THE TURN LANE AND OUT OF TRAFFIC. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES AND WAS FINALLY ABLE TO START THE CAR UP AGAIN. THERE IS NO DOUBT THAT THE PROBLEM WILL CONTINUE TO GET WORSE UNTIL SOMEBODY CAN DIAGNOSE IT. I'VE SEARCHED DISCUSSION BOARDS AND FOUND SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT I'VE NOT FOUND A DIAGNOSIS YET.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 05:57 May-12, 2021

I was waiting at the traffic light to turn green once it did i pressed the gas pedal to go and the vehicle stall and lost power completely and gave a message saying power failure and a picture of a battery after this happened the vehicle was able to start back up

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-12, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Chevrolet Volt. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS WARNING LIGHT ACTIVATED INTERMITTENTLY WHILE ACCELERATING OR DURING HARD BRAKING CONDITIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BERGSTROM CHEVROLET OF MIDDLETON (3605 TRIBECA DR # 101, MIDDLETON, WI 53562, (800) 353-1150) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO BERGSTROM CHEVROLET OF MIDDLETON, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH NEEDING THE WIRING HARNESS TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT YET REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

2020 Volvo VNL
Parts: VISIBILITY/WIPEREXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-12, 2021

The owner programmed a 5 minute idle shut off and did not provide anything for me as the driver to stay warm at night i was driving during winter and traveling to states like wyoming where it reached 23 degrees. He has many things not up to dot regulations with his truck, lot of things are not working and damaged. He also didn't do any type of a pre employment drug test or for any of the other drivers he hired. He threatened not to pay me and withheld my pay on two separate occasions. He stole 800. 00 from my back account for damages to his company truck that i hadn't driven for 3 weeks i and currently taking him to court to get my money back. He has screwed over plenty of drivers and should be shut down.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-30, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:52 May-11, 2021

My doors lock with the car with the keys in the car, my kids were in my car and i got locked out with my keys in it, there was a battery replacement done when i took my car in for a recall notice a month ago (maybe 2 months), also the lock button works but when i push the middle button it will not auto start , when i push the button on the handle outside the car door it will not unlock,& my car will tell me that my remote isn? T detected when the keys are in the car. I was at home when it locked with my kids in the car i put them in the car and i walked around to the other side of the car and it locked that quickly in my driveway at home not even running not moving.

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:36 May-11, 2021

Service shifter appears on dash board. Car keeps stalling and tells me to to put in shift gear. I have to pull over and restart my car

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:20 May-11, 2021

IN SEPT. 2020 I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ON MY 2019 Hyundai Tucson. I IMMEDIATELY CALL AND WAS PUT ON A WAITING LIST TO GET IT FIXED.. HERE IT IS 8 MONTHS LATER AND STILL DO NOT HAVE MY CAR FIXED. I KEEP DOING FOLLOW UPS ON MY CAR AND JUST GET THE RUN AROUND. I HAVE KEPT NOTES EACH TIME IVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP(PARTS DEPT) AND THE RESPONSES THEY'VE GIVEN ME AND THE LAST ONE THEY LIED TO ME. MY DEALERSHIP IS IN CLEVELAND TN(GREY EPPERSON HYUNDAI)..1ST CALL-GOT ON WAITING LIST; 2ND CALL-WAS TOLD THEY HAD SOME PARTS IN BUT THEY HAD TO GO ON THE CARS WAITING TO BE SOLD; 3RD CALL-WAS TOLD THEIR SYSTEM HAD BEEN HACKED AND THEY COULDNT SEE WHAT THEY HAD; 4TH CALL-PARTS GUY HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT AND REFERED ME TO SOMEONE NAME RANDY. HE PROCEDED TO TELL ME OH THEY HAD PLENTY OF PARTS BUT WHEN I ASKED HIM WHY NO ONE HAD CALLED ME THEN HE COULDNT SAY. HE THEN SCHEDULED ME FOR AN APPT FOR MAY5, 2021 @2:30.MY HUSBAND AND I DRIVE OVER AN HOUR FOR THE APPT ONLY TO BE TOLD BY THE TWO GIRLS IN THE PARTS DEPT THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE IN THE PARTS/KITS FOR MY VEHICLE AND THEY DIDNT KNOW WHY THE GUY(RANDY) TOLD ME THEY DID. I'M REALLY FURIOUS WITH THIS PLACE RIGHT NOW AN WILL NEVER BUY FROM THEM AGAIN. DONT KNOW WHERE ELSE TO TURN?

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSTRUCTUREELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:05 May-11, 2021

I was about to get on the freeway when my car's electrical system failed and i got several warning lights. The braking/stop start system, lights and a few other lit up. I pulled off the road and had it towed. The dealership said water (rain) got in through my sunroof and shorted my system (warranty won't cover). There are several class action suits re. This issue already and audi knows about it, but there's no recall and cars have stopped suddenly on the freeway. It's very dangerous.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:38 May-11, 2021

Repeated failure to start stemming from a dead battery, despite daily or more often trips. When parked temporarily to pick up my children from school, the car failed to start. Received a 'jump' to restart. Will make an appointment with the dealer to replace the battery (or whatever service they offer) for the third battery in less than 3 years. Battery is discharging before my eyes; volt meter on the battery shows a decrease of 0. 01volts/per 10 seconds.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.