ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL Complaints

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL Complaints
  • 3588 Complaints
  • 232 Crashes
  • 30 Fires
  • 147 Injuries
  • 1 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 3,588 complaints related to ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL.

Recent Complaints

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULICELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Apr-19, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-19, 2021

Tl* the contact owns a 2020 jaguar f type. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v167000 (service brakes, hydraulic, electronic stability control) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to jaguar riverside (8051 auto dr, riverside, ca 92504) where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jan-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Apr-12, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 3500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 21V042000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE CONTACT STATED THAT MERCEDES-BENZ OF SAN JOSE SERVICE CENTER LOCATED AT 3000 E. CAPITOL EXPY SUITE A, SAN JOSE, CA 95148, (408) 214-3009) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Mar-05, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-19, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 3500. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 21V042000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL) HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. MERCEDES-BENZ OF WILSONVILLE (25035 SW PARKWAY AVE, WILSONVILLE, OR 97070, 503-454-5000) WAS CONTACTED AND IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Feb-16, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Chrysler 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOWED THAT THE SERVICE BRAKES AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO LANDMARK CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM FIAT OF ATLANTA (5745 PEACHTREE INDUSTRIAL BLVD, CHAMBLEE, GA 30341, (678) 825-3200) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO A RECALL HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS NOT PROVIDED THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSTEERINGELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Oct-17, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:30 Nov-03, 2020

Lkas system is dangerous - will pull to the right then shift to left dramatically and then overshoot markers. Will take you off the road, car will not stay in the correct lane. Does not recognize double yellow lines and cuts right across them, sometimes unexpectedly. Pays no attention to them driving on a 8 lane highway, in the fast lane with cruise control on. I am passing a car/truck going slower in the next lane to my right. All of a sudden, the car just hits the brakes and sounds an alarm. Very dangerous, can be hit from behind due to sudden unexpected braking. My car was not close to the other vehicle only approaching it. I? Ve had the same thing happen when i? M moving to an exit lane with the blinker on. When approaching an entrance onto the interstate, the car sees the guard rail as a hazard and again, brakes hard while flashing the warning light. E car, i have reported it to the service group but as always the problems occur randomly i? Ve also had it happen with a loner, a 2020 model. When approaching an entrance onto the interstate, the car sees the guard rail as a hazard and again, brakes hard while flashing the warning light. Stupid! The turn signal is in use. These are vehicle hazards caused by the so called, enhanced safety features, but which, in fact, create a situation that is dangerous. If anyone else drives the car, i have to spend time educating them of the? Problems? They may encounter driving the car. I have reported it to the service group but as always the problems occur randomly and never when the car is in for service. I? Ve also had it happen with a loner, a 2020 model.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Nov-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:44 Nov-03, 2020

Driving down the road and the truck losses power and the service advance trac light comes on.. Shut the truck off for a min then it starts back up

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Oct-30, 2016
  • Date complaint filed: 09:42 Nov-03, 2020

MY 2016 Jeep Compass BEGAN STALLING WHILE IDLING AT STOP LIGHTS AS WELL AS STALLING WHILE DRIVING LAST WEEK. I'VE GOOGLED AND I SEE THAT SEVERAL JEEP OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE AS WELL. I'VE NOT FOUND A RECALL FOR MY SPECIFIC VIN, HOWEVER, THERE WAS ONE ISSUED FOR DODGE AND JEEPS MANUFACTURED FROM MAY, 8, 2016 - JULY 12, 2016. CRANKSHAFT AND CAMSHAFT SENSOR WIRE HARNESS NOT MANUFACTURED CORRECTLY, THIS IS MAINLY FOR 2.0 L AND 2.4 L ENGINES. RECALL # S89/NHTSA HOV-907. THIS IS OUTRAGEUOUS! AUTO SHOPS CAN'T SEEM TO DIAGNOSE THIS ISSUE PROPERLY, BUT SOMEHOW THE NHTSA DID! MY CAR IS IN THE SHOP AS I WRITE THIS, I"VE MISSED TWO DAYS OF WORK AND I AM VERY UPSET THAT THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN SOLD, AND SO-CALLED INSPECTED PRIOR TO BEING SOLD. THIS RECALL WAS ISSUED BACK IN JANUARY OF 2017, THE STATEMENT WAS DATED FEBRUARY 2017. I BOUGHT MY JEEP IN JANUARY OF 2018, I AM THE SECOND OWNER, AND NOW, I F EEL AS THOUGH CHRYSLER IS COVERING THIS UP BY NOT ISSUING A TOTAL RECALL ON ALL VINS THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN SENT OUT TO ALL DEALERS, ESPECIALLY PRE-OWNED DEALERS.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Nov-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 03:36 Nov-03, 2020

While on my way to work mon morning for the 5 or 6 time the energy reduction light came on im the middle of the highway almost causes me to get rear ended in the road i quickly turned my emergency lights on to keep from being hit pulled over on the side of the highway turned the vehicle off and called the dealership they tell me its a recall on the vehicles theres nothing they can do for me to contact the gmc dealerships i pay almost 500 on car payments to be experiencing this dangerous on the highway someone could have been badly hurt i need help with this problem.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:00 Nov-02, 2020

ON A ROAD TRIP WHILE HIGHWAY DRIVING MY 2019 CPO Hyundai Tucson/10800 MILES, THE CAR DID THIS BIG JOLT AND THE FORWARD VEHICLE COLLISION DETECTION AVOIDANCE, HAZARD INDICATOR & SERVICE NOW LIGHTS WENT OFF. THE ENGINE RPM'S REVVED UP VERY HIGH CONTINUOUSLY. WHEN I CAME TO A STOP THE CAR WOULD BARELY GO WITH THE PEDAL ALMOST FLOORED. THIS MADE THE DRIVING THRU THE INTERSECTIONS WITH CARS HONKING DANGEROUS. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR OFF, IT RESET ITSELF AND WAS BACK TO NORMAL. THE VERY NEXT DAY ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR DID THE EXACT SAME THING WITH EVEN A BIGGER JOLT AND ALL THE INDICATORS ABOVE WENT ON AGAIN FOR 10 SECONDS. PULLED OVER, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND THE CAR RESET ITSELF. I GOT TO MY DESTINATION I TOOK IT TO KEYES HYUNDAI IN VAN NUYS, CA. THEY DECIDED THAT THE TRANSMISSION COMPUTER NEEDED REPLACING AND DID IT. AFTER PICKING IT UP, THE VERY NEXT DAY THE BIG JOLT HAPPENED AGAIN ALSO WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. THIS TIME THE SIDE MIRROR AVOIDANCE SYSTEM, HAZARD LIGHTS AND SERVICE NOW INDICATOR LIGHTS WENT OFF FOR 10 SECONDS. I RETURNED IT TO THAT SAME DEALER AND THEY HAD THE CAR FOR A WEEK AND SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM EVEN AFTER TALKING TO THE TECH LINE AND ENGINEERS AT HYUNDAI USA. I SAID IT SOUNDS LIKE THE MAIN COMPUTER MAY BE THE ISSUE BUT THEY REFUSED TO CONSIDER THAT SAYING THEY COULDN'T FIND THE ERROR CODES. THEY THEN TOLD ME THAT THE ERROR CODES RECYCLE ITSELF WHEN TURNING THE THE CAR ON AND OFF AND GET ERASED!! I HAVE TO RETURN HOME FROM MY ROAD TRIP AND I AM VERY SCARED TO TAKE IT BACK ON THE ROAD AND DRIVE ANOTHER 1200 MILES. IT DEFINITELY FEELS DANGEROUS WITH THE CAR REVVING AT SUCH HIGH RPM'S AND IT BARELY MOVING WHEN I BRING IT TO A STOP. THIS OCCURED 3 TIMES NOW AND I AM AFRAID OF IT HAPPENING AGAIN AND HAVING BOUGHT A LEMON, POTENTIALLY. IT WAS PURCHASED @ WEBB HYUNDAI IN MERRILLVILLE, IN IN MARCH OF 2020 WITH 3939 MILES ON IT.

Parts: STEERINGELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:45 Nov-02, 2020

HELLO - MY 2016 Audi S5 COUPE WITH A MANUAL TRANSMISSION HAS HAD AN ELECTRONIC STEERING RACK ERROR FOR SOME TIME NOW. THE ISSUE AROSE AFTER DRIVING IN RAINY CONDITIONS (BUT NOT IN STANDING WATER). THE STEERING RACK IN MY CAR PROVIDES ELECTRONIC ASSISTANCE TO MY STEERING WHEEL MOVEMENTS WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTROL MODULE FOR THE STEERING RACK IS LOCATED ON THE BOTTOM CAR'S MOTOR WITH THREE ELECTRICAL PLUGS FOR POWER AND STEERING. THESE PLUGS ARE NOT WEATHER PROOF. AS A RESULT MY STEERING RACK HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING AN ISSUE AND AN ERROR IS PRESENT IN THE CAR'S ECU. A QUICK SEARCH ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE SHOWS THE RACK IS WIDELY USED ACROSS MULTIPLE AUDI PLATFORMS AND HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED OR REMEDIED BY AUDI.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Feb-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:42 Nov-02, 2020

(automatic) highway, local roads, uphill or straightaway. Car has difficulty accelerating past start up speed. When starting from a red light into 2nd gear the car will quickly slow then go from 1st gear to 3rd. Sputtering, hesitation. After i? Ve already reached speed limit. This has caused many issues with close? Rear ending? Issues. People rear ending me or my rear ending them because of the quick/hard shifting. Car has been seen 2x since feb. 2020 going on 3x. Same complaints. Exhaust has thick white smoke, smells slightly of gas. Engine check light diagnostic: 2nd cylinder misfire. 1st service fix focused on thermostat and repaired it. 2nd service diagnostic showed cylinder 2misfire again. Repairs focused on changing spark plugs and fuel injection decarbonizer. Last seen 8/2020 today is nov 1st. I have another check engine light with same issues. 2nd cylinder misfire. I feel as many unsafe issues this car has i? M afraid to drive it. So it is sitting in my drive way. I? Ve read it could be the transmission or it could be a coil. I? Ve heard the repairs could cost upward of $2500 and that this is a common issue with this type of engine.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Aug-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:48 Nov-02, 2020

Electronic throttle control appears to be sending error codes to a hum. The car is not getting enough fuel to accelerate on the highway.

Parts: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Oct-10, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:23 Nov-02, 2020

My airbag light was flashing now it stays on permanently. Got an inspection and failed because of the airbag light. They can not get the specifics of why the light is on

Parts: ENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:36 Nov-02, 2020

While in motion the electric emergency brake will ingage on its on cause the car to suddenly slow down and stop, very dangerous especially of in traffic. Another issue while in motion at random times the? Engine? Or transmission?? Feels like it slips? And makes it hard for the car to accelerate engine light turns on and says service engine. I have to pull over and stop the car restart so the transmission doesn? T heat up

2020 Chevrolet SILVERADO 1500
Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-20, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Nov-02, 2020

1st occurrence, 9840 miles- slowing to stop sign, about 10mph, truck jumped violently, felt like i was rear-ended. Service parking brake, service esc, traction control off messages and cel on. Stuck in gear. Restarted truck, resumed normal operation but cel remained. 2nd occurrence, 9865 miles - 65mph on highway going around curve, truck jumped violently causing rear end to break free slightly, though i kept control. Transmission now several gears lower and stuck there, turning 2400 rpm at 65mph. Same three warning messages and cel. Tried manual transmission mode, but it displayed no gear indication, and the +/- buttons did nothing. Pulled off highway, restarted, all messages went away, cel remained. Truck resumed normal operation. 3rd occurrence, 9905 miles (on the way to the dealer) - i was stopped at traffic light, first in a string of cars. Light turned green, i started to accelerate, just into the intersection, truck jumped violently, same warning messages, still had the cel from the last time. Truck was now stuck in a higher gear, could barely get through intersection. Vehicle behind me narrowly missed rear-ending me, and others were blowing horns as i limped to the far side of intersection. This is a massive safety concern. If any of the above scenarios had occurred on snowy/icy roads, i could have injured or killed someone, including myself and/or my [xxx] year-old. Dealer replaced tcm, but is still noting "loss of communication" codes being generated. A chevy engineer has requested them to investigate the wire harness for damage in a particular location, suggesting chevy knows of a manufacturing issue. If that's so, and chevy hasn't issued a recall - or even a tsb - then this poses a strong case for negligence on their part. Are they waiting for someone to get injured or die before acting on this? I've now been without the truck for 10 days. Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).

Parts: ENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:29 Nov-01, 2020

Car stalled on highway on 11-01-2020, passed both inspections on 8-29-2020. Purchased car on 9-1-2020 through drivetime. I have inspection paper work from buyer showing everything passed. Changed oil on 10/14/2020 through jiffylube with only the air filter being the only issue flagged.

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-31, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:02 Nov-01, 2020

This vehicle is so unsafe. I had lots of different situations happen and when i take it to the dealership they check it and say it? S fine! The vehicle stalls and hesitates and i get sensors going off constantly including the brake sensor when there is nothing in front of me for it to go off. I? Ve had the vehicle go in park by itself while on a light. The vehicle doesn? T start and always needs a jump i got the battery checked multiple times and the dealership told me my battery is good and i have to charge it. I believe there is an electrical issue with this vehicle. My vehicle only has 30,000 miles i have all my maintenance done at the dealership on time i purchased this vehicle thinking it? S reliable being i? M a mother of two kids!

2019 Ram 1500
Parts: ENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Oct-31, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:58 Nov-01, 2020

The check engine light has been on several times. I? Ve dropped my truck off at crown dodge of fayetteville and was told on two separate occasions that? S everything was taken care of. Today 1 november 2020, i? Ve purchased a brand new $200 duralast platinum battery and it? S still being drained by some unknown issue. I received some help outside of the dealership and received the error code p1dr3. I told told that was a dealership code and i would have to return the vehicle to get it resolved. This will be the third time in a months time i would have to be without my vehicle. The first time this is happened i was driving 40-45 mph and the truck completely shut off!

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 14:16 Nov-01, 2020

Eyesight system fails regularly or does not work at all. This impacts all proximity warnings, automatic speed control and wheel slip control.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Sep-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 22:58 Oct-30, 2020

Driving on highway 280, the auto-pilot stopped working and driving became erratic and unsafe with random accelerations/decelerations. I had no choice but to keep on driving. Tesla kept confusing me with their service arrangements while i needed to use the car every day. It took a week to arrange for service. The car sat for a week at the dealership with no communication from tesla. Then they sent a laconic request to pay them $1,070 --- while i know my car, being 10 months old is under warranty. Mice ate a wire within the auto-pilot cables. Tesla claims this damage isn't covered by warranty! The damaged cables are in a compartment which is completely unprotected against mice or anything. It should have been protected with at least a metal mesh. I asked why isn't that compartment protected to prevent rats/mice from entering it; after all, 300+ million american garages have cars and mice co-located... Their answer: 'that's the auto-industry standard'. My reaction: "i did not buy my car from the auto-industry standard; i bought it from tesla (which completely deviates from the "industry standards! )" i am requesting tesla to issue a 'recall' for installing a metal mesh around the sensitive auto-pilot cabling compartment. Also, i am requesting a full refund of my expenses, plus compensation for the frustration and for the various troubles i had to go through. The no. 1 problem with tesla's supposed 'service' is that they obviously believe that tesla cars do not need any service. Here is their email to me from 10/15/20: "your tesla service invoice is ready for review. Please review and accept the tesla service invoice for your visit. Review and accept ". I cannot access that contents anymore. The email simply said accept this charge of $1,070 without explaining anything about the reason for the damage. Thank you, yair barniv

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.