Porsche Complaints

  • 91 Complaints
  • 6 Crashes
  • 1 Fires
  • 6 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • A total of 91 complaints have been filed with NHTSA for vehicles that are model year 2015 or newer. 6.6%, or 6 of those complaints have caused some degree of injury. 6.6%, or 6 were crash related, and 1.1%, or 1 complaints describe fire-related incidents.

Recent Complaints

Parts: SEAT BELTSAIR BAGS
  • Date of Incident: Feb-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 07:40 Jun-25, 2020

2016 Porsche Cayman HAS AN ERROR CODE 'C11005 – AIRBAG TRIGGERING UNIT, FAULTY' AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED BUT THIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN PORSCHE’S RECALL (AKB4) CONCERNING THIS ISSUE. PORSCHE HAS NOT CORRECTLY IDENTIFIED THE RECALL POPULATION OF 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN CARS AFFECTED BY MANUFACTURER RECALL NUMBER AKB4 (TRANSPORT CANADA RECALL 2019353 & NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 19V-533) AND SHOULD INCLUDE THIS 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN VIN, NOTIFY THE OWNER BY MAIL AND INSTRUCT THEM TO TAKE THEIR VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO INSPECT, AND REPLACE, THE FAULTY AIRBAG CONTROL MODULE UNDER RECALL. BASED ON A PRODUCTION DATE BRACKET OF JULY 8, 2015 – APRIL 18, 2016 AND COMPONENT SUPPLIER CORRECTIVE ACTION OCCURRING DURING CALENDAR WEEK 38 OF 2015 (APPROXIMATELY MID-SEPTEMBER 2015) PORSCHE HAS MISSED THIS 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN (PRODUCED JUNE 2015) FROM ITS DATABASE OF 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN VINS AFFECTED BY THIS RECALL. PORSCHE DID NOT CONSIDER THAT IT WAS PRODUCING 2016 PORSCHE CAYMANS EARLIER THAN JULY 8, 2015 AND, AS A CONSEQUENCE, THE OWNER OF THIS 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN WAS NOT ALERTED DURING THE CUSTOMER NOTIFICATION PERIOD OF MANUFACTURER RECALL NUMBER AKB4 AND DID NOT BECOME AWARE OF THIS KNOWN SAFETY RISK UNTIL ALMOST A YEAR HAD PASSED. AT THIS TIME, PORSCHE REFUSES TO REPAIR THE FAULTY VEHICLE UNDER RECALL. THERE MAY BE OTHER 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN VEHICLES IN ADDITION TO THIS 2016 PORSCHE CAYMAN ASSEMBLED OUTSIDE THE STATED PRODUCTION DATE BRACKET THAT ARE AFFECTED BY THIS RECALL AND WERE MISSED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jun-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:59 Jun-06, 2020

The return line for clutch master cylinder came disconnected from the brake fluid reservoir during driving resulting in a puddle of brake fluid when the car returned to the garage. Fluid was probably lost during the drive. There is no clamp on this hose, there is a ribbed male stub coming off the reservoir that the hose slides on, but it easily slides on and off. I have 2,000 miles on the car. The dealer could not explain why the hose became disconnected. If i had not noticed the puddle, if i had gone for another drive, i might have lost all the brake fluid and lost braking and the clutch operations. Why there isn't a clamp on this hose is confusing. Will the hose come loose again during a future drive?

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLEXTERIOR LIGHTINGELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:38 Jun-01, 2020

I looked it up and this is what happened previously reported by another owner. I had the exact same experirnce. Nhtsa id number: 11306756

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-14, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:23 Apr-27, 2020

In may 2019 i purchased a certified pre-owned 2015 porsche carrera gts and had it for 11 months before it caught on fire while driving it. A forensic investigation revealed that the cause of the fire was the electrical board located on the inside of the cabin near the right rear tire. On the day of the incident, after driving the car less than 15 miles from my home to a nearby property i noticed the car was smoking as i pulled into the driveway. I parked the vehicle and found that there was a small fire in the engine compartment. I couldn't get to the car in time with a fire extinguisher and by the time the fire department arrived, the car was engulfed in flames. I'm now faced with a total loss for the vehicle and not to mention reluctance to ever purchase another porsche in my life. I've dreamt about owning this porsche carrera (gts) since i was a child and this experience has totally altered my perception. If my family had been in the car with me, this could have turned out disastrous and for that my confidence has been shattered with porsche. I am also left searching for a car that is close to as nice as the car i had (fully spec'd and decked out carrera gts) which i've had no luck doing within the price point i can afford given the insurance pay out.

Parts: STEERINGFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-17, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 02:33 Mar-26, 2020

At ~27,000 miles vehicle check engine light came on. Notification on dashboard stated? Driving permitted?. Vehicle was sluggish to start over the next 2 days. Took vehicle to dealer and they identified a fuel pump leak. They replaced the fuel pump and i picked up the vehicle a few days later. Problem occurred again. Took vehicle back to dealer. They kept the car for over 40 days (i still do not have it) and it is being filed under lemon law. The dealer had to replace and test drive the fuel pumps multiple times since the second one also leaked and the replacements leaked as well per the repair order. Porsche is claiming this issue is? Fixed? Now but i do not trust it since per the recall it is a design issue and before the recalls are even taking place which is april 2020. The proposed recall fix on consumer report does not seem to address my situation since the failures occurred at the dealer even on multiple replacement parts. The risk is not only a sluggish start due to low fuel pressure but there is a fire hazard from these leaks. Secondly there is a steering column knock and vibration coming from the steering column and/or frame and/or front axle every-time i turn the vehicle right or left while going up or down a hill or over a speed bump <10mph. This has been present since day 1 of owning the vehicle and has gotten louder over time and more apparent as i can feel the issue under the drivers seat from the rubbing/vibration or whatever is causing the noise. I can also feel a vibration in the steering wheel when this happens too. Dealer has refused to fix it claiming? Unable to replicate the condition? 4 times now over the course of 2 years. I re-created the condition february 17th 2020 with the service advisor and have it documented in the repair order. This is also still not fixed.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.