POWER TRAIN Complaints

POWER TRAIN Complaints
  • 17487 Complaints
  • 741 Crashes
  • 95 Fires
  • 353 Injuries
  • 5 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 17,487 complaints related to POWER TRAIN.

Recent Complaints

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:30 May-12, 2021

Power transfer unit failed , 2014-2017 models the same as mine have been recalled for this very type of failure. My 2018 was build with exact same ptu assembly. I think mine should be covered under this recall was driving to store on hwy 26 8 miles west of swan valley idaho, cruise control set at 65 mph , loud bang, lost all forward motion,coasted to side of road, put in park and vehicle rolled backwards into dirt on side of hwy, braked and set park brake, called tow truck and vehicle is at local jeep dealership, could have killed me if conditions were different.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:10 May-12, 2021

I WAS DRIVING ON THE SAN MATEO BRIDGE , CAR BEGAN HESITATING AND JERKING UP AND DOWN AND LOST POWER ENGINE LIGHT CAME UP. TOOK IT TO PEP BOYS THEY DIAGNOSED IT AND SAID IT NEEDED COILS AND SPARK PLUGS , ABOUT $ 1000 LATER TOOK THE CAR HOE AND CONTINUED TO DO THE SAME THING, TOOK IT BACK TO PEP BOYS AND SAID THERE WAS A RECALL ON THAT CAR FOR THAT PROBLEM . TOOK IT TO PRIMO HONDA AND THEY SAY THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY VIN # EVEN THOUGH IS CLEAR THAT IS THE REASON THEY ARE HAVING A RECALL ON THOSE CARS FOR THAT VERY SAME REASON.VIN:5J6RW6H3XJL001965YEAR:2018MAKE:HONDAMODEL:CR-VLAST UPDATED:MAY 11, 2021NUMBER OF OPEN RECALLS:0......YEAR:2018MAKE:HONDAMODEL:CR-VLAST UPDATED:MAY 11, 2021NUMBER OF OPEN RECALLS:1 OPEN/CLOSE ALLPRINT 2018-19 CR-V FUEL PUMP MOTOR SAFETY RECALL EXPANSION TOOK IT TO ANOTHER BETTER QUALIFIED MECHANIC AND HE SAYS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL PUMP. IS VERY UNSAFE THE CAR SIMPLY LOSES ALL POWER AND DIED ON THE FREEWAY. I,VE BEEN CAR LESS , RENTING SINCE MAY FIRST 2021, IT IS INMORAL WHAT HONDA DOES.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 21:20 May-12, 2021

EVERY SO OFTEN WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE, THE CAR SORT OF SHUDDERS. I?VE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE CAR BEFORE AND KNEW IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION. I?VE ALSO HAD TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR I HAD PREVIOUS TO THIS ONE WHICH WAS A 2014 Ford Focus. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THIS IS NORMAL FOR TRANSMISSIONS TO ACT THIS WAY, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED WAY TOO OFTEN TO BE NORMAL.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:46 May-12, 2021

Intermittently, when i got to apply the brakes moving forward or turning, the vehicle sounds like grinding or rubbing in the front axle

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:31 May-12, 2021

This car was going down the street and would not shift and stopped going and we had too get it towed to the ford house for repairs,

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:15 May-12, 2021

Contract 100k miles/10 years. Current mileage 92388. Still within warranty contract. While driving, 12/6/2020, my car stopped running after a brief warning on the dash. Check engine and oil light came on. Within a few minutes, i heard a noise, and the engine shut down. There were no oil leaks or any fluids under the car. I towed the car home. I towed to ray brandt kia in harvey la 12/7/20. A month later, i was told the engine failed. By 1/4/21, i was asked for permission to tear down the engine for inspection. 1/8/21 brian murray,svc mgr. Said valve cover to be removed for inspection. Fidelity warranty/ray brandt kia approved repairs re: ro101874. Per vicky, the inspector directed the timing belt replacement. On 1/13/21, test runs done to see if it fixed the problem but no compression. No action taken on recall 20v750. Per vicky, ray brandt recommended replacing the engine. Used engine found for replacement with approx. 42k miles. Per vicky at ray brandt svc dept. I received recall letter dated 1/25/21 by mail. Called vicky about recall. She confirmed it on her computer. Ray brandt called days later to say fidelity denied my claim. They stopped all repairs. Told i had to call fidelity for documentation. Called but no response. After sending a certified letter 3/9 to legal. Nancy beausejour called. She sent a reply dated 4/7. First two inspections reveal oil and other fluids are good and no sludge in the engine. This was prior to two more inspections with different conclusions. Final inspection show engine warped. Due to ignoring the recall, no action on service department recommendations and test runs without repairs, the engine warped. Before this failure, i had no engine overheating. Since 4/22/21, after 5 calls to kia consumer assistance ctr. ,called. May 12, 2021

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-17, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:08 May-12, 2021

TRANS SERVICE SHIFT LIGHT. I HAVE A 2016 Jeep Cherokee TRAIL HAWK. TODAY (5/12/2021) IS THE THIRD TIME I'VE BROUGHT MY JEEP IN FOR THIS PROBLEM. FIRST WAS ON 04/17/2019 @ 17,330 MILES. SECOND WAS ON 02/04/2020 @ 21,917 MILES. THE THIRD WAS TODAY 05/12/2021 @29,046 MILES. EVERY TIME THEY HAVE TO CHANGE THE BEZEL AND THE HARNESS FOR THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER. I KNOW THIS IS AN ISSUE FROM RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM WITH OTHER JEEP CHEROKEE OWNERS. JEEP NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM OR PAY ME EVERY TIME I HAVE TO TAKE OFF OF WORK TO BRING MY VEHICLE INTO THE SHOP.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-21, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:56 May-12, 2021

New 2020 santafe took delivery on january 4th, 2021, with less than 5000 miles on march 21st the vehicle refuse to start after it was started and shut off while we were sitting in a parking lot. While attempting to start it getting forward collusion warning but the engine would not crank. Towed to the local dealer was told they cannot diagnose the car because they could not read the onboard computer, unable to say what's wrong. The car was towed back to the dealer where purchase and was told it was a blown fuse maybe lighting strike and other theories what's wrong. The dealer would replace the fuse and computer after 52 days the care is still at the dealer waiting on parts. Total electrical failure with no recourse at the moment, hyundai motor of america consumer affairs wants us to sign a settlement agreement to refund our expenses and have not fixed or replaced the car. The manufacture is totally dragging their feet and denying the car suffer a total electrical failure, while the battery was still in working condition according to aaa.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Apr-06, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 08:38 May-12, 2021

The evap core started leaking a month ago had the car for 2 years and as i read online its a common issue and chevy doesnt want to fix it. Sometimes the transmission shifts hard but doesnt happen often

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 05:59 May-12, 2021

There was a very loud noise coming from the back of my vehicle while driving. Mechanic showed me the rear differential fluid has metal shavings in it and he said the car was dangerous to drive. Dealership told me to call general motors at (800) 222-1020 and they told me to take it to the dealership and gave me file number 9-6712786810. It is at ig burton, milford, de, now for diagnosis.

2015 Ford TRANSIT
Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSTEERINGPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 02:56 May-12, 2021

While driving my 2015 ford transit 250 3. 5 on the interstate the van lost power and nearly got my killed while trying to navigate off the road without power. The throttle body code was thrown on the cpu, and i was told by the mechanic that these need to be replaced way more than normal with these fords. It? S a hazard to shut the vehicle down without warning! And the replacement part is still faulty. The throttle bodies need to be recalled.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jan-07, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-12, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 Ford Focus. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR WHICH RESULTED IN THE CONTACT LOSING CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND STRIKING ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE PERSON WHO WAS STRUCK WAS THE ONLY INJURED AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT STATED NO WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A STORAGE FACILITY WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. UPON INVESTIGATION, THE CONTACT ASSOCIATED THE FAILURE WITH, NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V169000 (POWER TRAIN) HOWEVER THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT INFORMED OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 35,000.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-12, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Ford Fusion. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING UP THE VEHICLE, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE FROM PARK, THE SHIFTER FAILED TO MOVE. THE TRANSMISSION WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO FORD OF MURFREESBORO (1550 NW BROAD ST, MURFREESBORO, TN 37129) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT YET REPAIRED AND REMAINED AT THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, AND REFERRED HER TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

Parts: WHEELSVEHICLE SPEED CONTROLPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-12, 2021

Cvt transmission issuses exceleration issues, vibration when trying to pick up speed jerking motion overringing. City highway when trying to pick up speed

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-12, 2021

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 Jeep Wrangler. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 21V028000 (POWER TRAIN) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. JACKSONVILLE CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM WESTSIDE LOCATED AT 7030 COMMONWEALTH AVE, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32220, (904) 438-3500) WAS CONTACTED AND MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRM PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

Parts: POWER TRAINELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:36 May-11, 2021

Service shifter appears on dash board. Car keeps stalling and tells me to to put in shift gear. I have to pull over and restart my car

2019 Ford F-150
Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-02, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:55 May-11, 2021

My 2019 ford f150 has a recall for the phaser nocking but livermore ford don't want to fix it until further notice from ford corporate, i can not drive my truck and i can not sell it because of the knocking noise. I am stuck with 30k truck, please see attachment from ford

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Apr-01, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 19:10 May-11, 2021

Transmission will chatter and clank at times when shifting out of first gear. Bought this car in 2019 and started making small clanking noises a few day after buying it.

2019 Ford F-150
Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:36 May-11, 2021

Hard shifts into 2nd gear and also 4th into 5th gear. Sometimes when first started and put into reverse there is a hard clunk sound made from transmission. Other times it completely skips 2nd and 4th gear but stays in 1st and 3rd longer than it probably should. On at least 2 occasions it has sort of stalled out going from 3rd to 5th while going through an intersection. This transmission really has issues and should be addressed. Everytime i take it back to ford they say they will reprogram it but warranty won't cover it. This happens daily but i'm just going to put today's date below.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-10, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:51 May-11, 2021

It is an ongoing issue and that happens intermittently. When arriving to a stop (at times) the car still advances forward about a foot, even when the brake pedal is being used as far as it can. Also the vehicle claims to be losing propulsion, often, and seems strained when operating when the message appears.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.