ENGINE Complaints

ENGINE Complaints
  • 14838 Complaints
  • 355 Crashes
  • 604 Fires
  • 294 Injuries
  • 12 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 14,838 complaints related to ENGINE.

Recent Complaints

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-27, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:56 Jul-09, 2020

ON MAY 03, 2019, I BOUGHT A 2019 BMW X4 M40I, AT BRAMAN MOTORCARS. THIS IS NOT MY FIRST BMW, WE HAVE 3 MORE BMWS AT HOME. UNFORTUNATELY, THIS BMW X4 VEHICLE HAS NOT PERFORMED WELL AS EXPECTED! ON MAY 27, 2020 I WAS DRIVING WHILE IT WAS RAINING WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY STOPPED AND NEVER TURNED ON AGAIN, IT WAS COMPLETELY USELESS AND VERY DISSATISFYING. I AM VERY FRUSTRATED AND DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE I SENT THE CAR TO BRAMAN BMW SERVICE CENTER TO CHECK IT OUT AND REQUEST THE WARRANTY AND THEY SAID THAT THE WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER IT THE SOLUTION IS JUST TO PAY MORE THAN $30,000.00 IN REPAIR PLUS PARKING FEES. ALSO, MY INSURANCE CARRIER SAID MY POLICY DOES NOT COVER MECHANICAL ISSUES. ALSE SENT A LETTER ASKING FOR HELP TO BMW CEO AND THEY RESPONDED THAT THE WARRANTY DO NOT COVER " OUTSIDE INFLUENCES". SO THIS GRABAGES CAR CANT BE IN A RAIN. SO NOW I HAVE MORE THAN 1 AND HALF MONTHS WITHOUT THE CAR, ALSO CALLED BMW FINANCIAL SERVICES FOR HELP AND THE SOLUTION WAS THAT I CAN RETURN THE CAR SIGNING A VOLUNTARY REPO DAMAGING MY CREDIT HISTORY. ATTACHED TO THIS EMAIL YOU WILL FIND COPIES OF THE DENIAL OF THE WARRANTY AND THE ESTIMATE THAT BRAMAN BMW SENT ME, TO REPAIR THE CAR, WHICH BY THE WAY IS ABSURD! WAITING FOR YOU HELP, CHRISTIAN CANACHE

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:54 Jul-09, 2020

The electric cooling fan bearings failed at 62,000 miles. The nissan dealership that diagnosed the problem stated that it is common for this vehicle to experience this part failure. I replaced at my own expense with an aftermarket assembly that has a lifetime warranty. It doesn? T make sense to replace with another nissan part that will fail in another 50,000 +/- miles. Also, brake pedal will fade when stopped at an intersection with 62,000 miles on vehicle. The nissan dealership checked all brake components and could only surmise it must be the master cylinder. They even contacted nissan for their opinion, which they too suggested replacing the master cylinder. After two brand new master cylinders, the problem has not been fixed and will be an ongoing issue for my vehicle. Also, the rear a/c lines that travel underneath the vehicle developed a hole at one of the mounting points. Lost all freon on two occasions by the time the dealership found the leaking area. The dealership stated that this too is common on this vehicle style and is a design flaw. With freon being bad for the evironment, one would wonder how a manufacturer would be allowed to let this happen.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-08, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-09, 2020

Tl the contact owns a 2015 mercedes-benz e250. The contact stated that while vehicle was stopped, the dealer became aware that the wires leading up to the ecu was stripped of the plastic shielding and detached from the ecu. The vehicle was taken to mercedes-benz of palm beach located at 4000 okeechobee blvd, west palm beach, fl 33409, to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the stripped wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 79,537.

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 09:10 Jul-08, 2020

WHILE GETTING ON INTERSTATE MY 2017 Expedition EL 4X4 WAS SHIFTING AND COMING UP TO HIGHWAY SPEED , WHEN IT SEEMED TO RUN ROUGH AND FELT LIKE IT MISSED A SHIFT. I LET OFF GAS PEDAL, ENGINE ROUGHNESS TEMPORARILY WENT AWAY. NOW I'M GETTING CLOSER TO GETTING ON HIGHWAY , APPLIED GAS AGAIN AND ENGINE GOT ROUGH RUNNING AGAIN AND TOOL SYMBOL APPEARED ON DASH . I LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND POWER TO WHEELS WHILE TRYING TO ENTER AN INTERSTATE. VERY DANGEROUS AND LIFE THREATENING IF I DID NOT HAVE A LONG SHOULDER TO PULL OFF ON. PULLED OVER STOPPED ENGINE. LET SIT FOR 5 OR SO MINS. STARTED UP AND TOOL SYMBOL WAS GONE. GOT ON HIGHWAY UP TO SPEED THIS TIME THEN SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. ROUGH RUNNING , LOST ALL POWER TO WHEELS, TOOL SYMBOL APPEARED AGAIN BUT GOT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THIS TIME. LUCKILY I WAS PASSING AN EXIT AND HAD TIME TO GET OFF INTERSTATE 77 BEFORE I GOT RUN OVER FROM BEHIND. STOPPED N RESTARTED. GOT TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC AND THEY PULLED A THROTTLE BODY CODE ON THE TRUCK. I HAD THEM RESET CODE TO SEE IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN BECAUSE I HAVE AN ALLY EXTENDED WARRANTY WHICH WE'LL SEE HOW USING THAT GOES. I AM DRIVING TRUCK WITH LESS ISSUES TRYING TO GET CODE TO APPEAR AGAIN TO TAKE TO DEALER FOR A FIX. HAVE GOTTEN THE TOOL LIGHT TO COME ON 2X BUT NO CHECK ENGINE YET.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-31, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 21:14 Jul-06, 2020

I LEASED A 2016 Kia Soul ! FOR MY DAUGHTER. AT THE END OF THE LEASE (AUGUST 2018), I PAID PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM THE KIA. 31 MAY 2019 WHILE DRIVING HER CAR THE ENGINE SEIZED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS TOWED TO DUTCH MILLER KIA OF CHARLOTTE. THE CAR HAD 51,188 MILES. AFTER A WEEK THE DEALER TOLD US THE CAR WASN'T GOING TO BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. I THEN FILED A COMPLAINT WITH KIA CUSTOMER RELATIONS WHO REVIEWED THE CASE AND DID NOTHING TO HELP. I SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER, BRANT BLACKWELDER WHO AGREED TO SPEAK WITH THE DISTRICT SERVICE MANAGER TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANYTHING THAT COULD BE DONE. ON 26 JUNE, THEY STATED THEY WOULD EXTEND A "GOOD FAITH" OFFER OF REPLACING THE ENGINE, BUT I WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE LABOR ($1,700 ESTIMATED). DURING THE 3 MONTHS IT TOOK TO REBUILD THE ENGINE, I WAS FORCED TO PAY FOR ALTERNATE TRANSPORTATION AND PAID $1,517.47 IN RENTAL CAR AND LYFT FEES. THE CAR HAS HAD REGULAR OIL CHANGES AS DIRECTED BY THE MAINTENANCE MINDER. THE LAST OIL CHANGE WAS IN JANUARY WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD 44,586 MILES (6,6602 MILES AGO). THERE WERE NO INDICATIONS THE ENGINE WAS LOW ON OIL: THE MAINTENANCE MINDER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NOR THE LOW OIL LIGHT EVER CAME ON. DURING MY CONVERSATION WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER ON 25 JUNE, HE ADMITTED THAT KIA ENGINES HAVE A PROBLEM WITH BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL EVEN AFTER AS LITTLE AS 2,000 MILES FROM AN OIL CHANGE. AT NO TIME DID KIA DISCLOSE THIS ISSUE OF ENGINES BURNING OIL TO ME OR OTHER OWNERS. WHILE THIS CAR HAS THE 2.0-LITER ENGINE THAT ISN'T CURRENTLY UNDER RECALL, I BELIEVE THIS IS A SIMILAR CASE TO THE 379,000 KIA 1.6-LITER ENGINES THAT HAVE BEEN PREVIOUSLY RECALLED. KIA IS SIMPLY PASSING THE BLAME ON TO CUSTOMERS FOR A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THEIR FAULTY ENGINES. THIS ISSUE IS SIMILAR TO THE 1.6L ENGINES NEEDS TO BE RECALLED.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jul-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-06, 2020

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 Kia Soul. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TWICE TO GARDEN GROVE KIA LOCATED AT 13731 HARBOR BLVD, GARDEN GROVE, CA 92843, (888) 992-1833, WHERE THE MECHANICS WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER HAD BEEN INFORMED OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE APPROXIMATELY WAS 93,705.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-05, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:03 Jul-05, 2020

I had a check engine light when i went and checked it it was a p236 code in a p069e i also went to check it because i noticed my car was starting up funny

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:26 Jul-05, 2020

1. 11/09/2019 vehicle went into "limp mode" when entering the i-84 freeway from a freeway on-ramp at wood village, oregon. Vehicle lost power, would not exceed 5 mph, dash lights (wrench light) came on. Vehicle partially blocked traffic at intersection of freeway and on ramp causing a dangerous traffic problem for over 1 hour before tow truck arrived.. Vehicle was towed to ford dealer. Diagnostic codes were not available upon restart at dealer to determine the problem, no repair was made. How can ford have a "limp mode" which essentially shuts down the vehicle (stutters, stalls, no power) without the ability to diagnose the problem when diagnostic codes automatically reset at next startup? 2. 07/02/20 vehicle went into "limp mode" while driving on busy county road near my home. Using county roads and city streets, vehicle was driven in "limp mode" at low speed (5 mph or less for 7 miles to ford dealer. Other vehicles were forced to pass in dangerous situations, bike lanes were blocked and intersections were partially blocked because of the slow speed of the vehicle. I was afraid to shut off the vehicle due to the previous incident where that action cleared the diagnostic codes. Vehicle was left running at the ford dealer and repaired by them by reading the codes and replacing the throttle body. It is ridiculous to have a failure that initiates a "limp mode" condition that places the vehicle in a dangerous situation where the underlying condition cannot be easily diagnosed if vehicle is subsequently restarted. This will, of course happen when the vehicle is being towed or driven to the dealer if the dealer cannot immediately read the codes. I feel that ford put me in harms way twice due to this faulty "limp mode' system. Further, i have no confidence in the reliability of this vehicle for future use.

Parts: ENGINEPOWER TRAINVEHICLE SPEED CONTROL
  • Date of Incident: Jul-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 20:24 Jul-05, 2020

While my car is driving. The awd and traction control become unavailable, and my car stops having the ability to shift gears. It will go into n or when i slow down and pull over i? Ll try to put it in park and it will shift into every other gear but park.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-19, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 19:58 Jul-05, 2020

Ii purchased a 2016 nissan rouge on july 9, 2019. From day one i've had issues with the air conditioning unit blowing out hot. When it's 85 degrees outside, the inside of my rouge is as high as 91 degree. There's been no relief after the dealership made several repairs. This seems to be a defect and i think nissan needs to fix the problem.

2019 Honda CLARITY PLUG-IN HYBRID
Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:57 Jul-05, 2020

July 4, 2020 drove with our family of 2 babies on a local highway with a maximum speed of 50mph and traveling a round-trip distance of 52 miles. Outside temperatures were about 89℉. After driving for about 20 minutes, the engine would rev at a high rpm at 40mph. It could be heard and felt over the radio's music. Giving more gas didn't make the car drive faster. On the way home, about 40 minutes into the drive, the engine revved high again at 40mph, lost of power, and this time making the car's speed slow to 30mph because we were approaching a red light, luckily. This issue occurred before on july 27,2020 when my wife drove the car and conplained about it driving slow and engine revving loud. This car has only 1,884 miles on it and was bought in january 2020. Lemon law.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:34 Jul-05, 2020

The ac system has suddenly stopped working. Going into the hot summer months the ac system occasionally blows cold air but quickly switches to hot air when driving for extended periods (over 10 minutes). This is not only a huge inconvenience in 80+ degree weather, but also a safety concern with excessive heat circulating in the car in the hot summer months. I have tried to remedy the problem by checking freon compressor and condenser but nothing gives. This seems to be a major issue on 2016 manufacturing for civics and crv? S.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMENGINEVISIBILITY/WIPER
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-05, 2020

Piston 1 cracked at 48,000 miles. Mb told owner that the engine had to be replaced but when finding out that the warranty was up at 50,000 they replaced the piston instead. Car is still shaking at idle and rough ride. Engine shakes and jerks.

Parts: ENGINEPOWER TRAINSTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 23:04 Jul-04, 2020

WHILE DRIVING, Ford Explorer DASH WRENCH LIGHT INDICATOR TURNS ON THEN SUDDENLY YOU LOOSE POWER AND CONTROL AND BRAKING, TECHNICAL DISABLED. YOU HAVE TO COME TO A ROLLING STOP. THEN TURN ON CAR AGAIN TO REMOVE WRENCH LIGHT.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jan-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:54 Jul-04, 2020

When i first bought my car in august 2018 when i first drove it... The acceleration was on point. Now it seems like when i go to take off to accelerate it feels sluggish as if it? S doing the way it originally did.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMENGINESTEERING
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 19:26 Jul-04, 2020

DURING A LOW SPEED LEFT TURN ACROSS ONCOMING LANES OF TRAFFIC, MY 2015 Tahoe HAD A COMPLETE LOSS OF ALL POWER AND STOPPED RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. LUCKILY ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS AT A DISTANCE THAT THEY WERE ABLE TO NOTICE MY TAHOE HAD DIED BLOCKING THEIR LANES, AND THEY CORRECTED THEIR PATH TO GO AROUND. WE COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED AT THE LEAST IF ONCOMING TRAFFIC HAD NOT NOTICED THAT OUR VEHICLE DIED. I PURCHASED THIS TAHOE USED 3 WEEKS AGO AND THIS HAS HAPPENED 5 TIMES SINCE. AFTER INVESTIGATING ON THE INTERNET I LOCATED POST SAYING THIS ISSUE HAS AFFECTED OVER 1 MILLION OTHER 2015 TAHOES.

2019 Lexus RX350
Parts: SERVICE BRAKESFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-03, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:56 Jul-04, 2020

Car was pdi and delivered on 06/14/20 with an open recall 20la01 that was likely to be a life-threatning issue. Even after pdi was performed, the breaks were disfunctional, so had to take the vehicle for service on 06/19/20. Lexus found that rotors required resurfacing to fix the breaks and at the same time completed the open recall 20la01. However on 07/03/20, the car stalled in the middle of a highway traffic putting the pax thru a life-threatning situation. Car has been finally towed to the service and i am verbally promised that the car has been fixed to not present any life threatning issues. Since it is just 15 days of purchase and vehicle been into the service review for 3 times with some life-threatning open issues, i am requesting lexus to either refund or provide me a replacement.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:02 Jul-04, 2020

My car is using excessive oil. There is no evidence of leaking externally (on the ground) or in the engine compartment. I go through about 4 quarts per month / 2500 miles. The oil light has never come on, even when i have forgotten to check and the oil dipstick is completely dry. This could be a huge safety issue if the engine locks up and throws a rod in the middle of nowhere.

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEMENGINEPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jul-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:14 Jul-04, 2020

I purchased my vehicle yesterday. Today i was driving it is stalled as i was pulling out into traffic i restarted it it drove fine another two miles. At which time is stalled again with no lights, no indications on. Sounds like some noise comes from the air box. Some kind of air noise comes from the passenger side of the engine when it happened

Parts: ENGINEPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jun-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 10:27 Jul-04, 2020

When pulling out onto the road pushing on the accelerator the vehicle wont accelerate ,pushing down on the accelerator another 1/8 of an inch and the vehicle will take off very fast, also it feels like a misfire at slow speeds. It happens always.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.