ENGINE Complaints

ENGINE Complaints
  • 19727 Complaints
  • 449 Crashes
  • 776 Fires
  • 349 Injuries
  • 12 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 19,727 complaints related to ENGINE.

Recent Complaints

2020 Ford F-150
Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLUNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 23:32 May-12, 2021

My vehicle would not exit out of a drive or moving until i stopped the vehicle and disconnected the neg battery cable. The vehicle stayed in a state of high rpms. There were no warning signs and no warnings displayed on the truck display. This is the second "speeding out of control" situation in two days. I fear for the safety of myself, my family, and everyone around me. I don't know what triggers the onset of this condition. I exited from state highway 5 onto exit 104 (hwy 101) and took a left on mud bay road. I was traveling 30-35 mph when i began to slow down to almost a complete stop to make the right turn into the swimming facility. My truck would not slow down. I pushed he brakes very hard to prevent the truck from speeding uncontrollably. I pulled in to a parking spot as best as i could. The truck rpms were maxed. I own an automatic drive. With my foot on the brake, i shifted from d to n. There was a loud sound of gears during the shift. The truck rpms were still maxed out. I turned off the truck and placed the truck in p. I also enabled the parking brake. I started the truck and the truck rpms were still maxed out. I kept the truck running for an additional 30 seconds. My wife and bystanders indicated that there was a burning smell emanating from the truck. I turned off the truck and the truck displayed an "overheating" warning. I allowed the truck to cool down and disconnected the neg battery cable for 15 min. After i reconnected the neg cable, the truck reset to normal running conditions. I have owned the truck for three months and the truck is still under factory warranty. The dealership that i bought it from does not acknowledge that 2020 f-150s have had problems with the transmission/engine. I will take my truck there tomorrow (13may2021) for them to view the error codes.

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-01, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 22:10 May-12, 2021

I WAS DRIVING ON THE SAN MATEO BRIDGE , CAR BEGAN HESITATING AND JERKING UP AND DOWN AND LOST POWER ENGINE LIGHT CAME UP. TOOK IT TO PEP BOYS THEY DIAGNOSED IT AND SAID IT NEEDED COILS AND SPARK PLUGS , ABOUT $ 1000 LATER TOOK THE CAR HOE AND CONTINUED TO DO THE SAME THING, TOOK IT BACK TO PEP BOYS AND SAID THERE WAS A RECALL ON THAT CAR FOR THAT PROBLEM . TOOK IT TO PRIMO HONDA AND THEY SAY THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY VIN # EVEN THOUGH IS CLEAR THAT IS THE REASON THEY ARE HAVING A RECALL ON THOSE CARS FOR THAT VERY SAME REASON.VIN:5J6RW6H3XJL001965YEAR:2018MAKE:HONDAMODEL:CR-VLAST UPDATED:MAY 11, 2021NUMBER OF OPEN RECALLS:0......YEAR:2018MAKE:HONDAMODEL:CR-VLAST UPDATED:MAY 11, 2021NUMBER OF OPEN RECALLS:1 OPEN/CLOSE ALLPRINT 2018-19 CR-V FUEL PUMP MOTOR SAFETY RECALL EXPANSION TOOK IT TO ANOTHER BETTER QUALIFIED MECHANIC AND HE SAYS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL PUMP. IS VERY UNSAFE THE CAR SIMPLY LOSES ALL POWER AND DIED ON THE FREEWAY. I,VE BEEN CAR LESS , RENTING SINCE MAY FIRST 2021, IT IS INMORAL WHAT HONDA DOES.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 19:50 May-12, 2021

I was just stopped at a red light. While sitting still waiting for the light, my car began to buck. And then the engine light came on. My car only has 68,000 miles on it. I have it serviced regularly. I took it directly to my mechanic and he thinks it? S some kind of sensor problem. He reset the sensors and told me if it came back again to come back. Today i started my car to drive to the grocery and again i come to the. The corner and the bucking starts. I want ride home. I will be taking my car to the mechanic tomorrow. Also i just want to say your site says my car has five recalls. And it says that none of the recalls is needed at this time. I? Ve never gotten a recall notice from nissan for my vehicle. So i don? T know if they? Re reporting that they? Re doing these recalls on my car and they really aren? T or what the problem is. Maybe someone there can help me with that too. Thank you

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:16 May-12, 2021

MY 2016 Kia Optima IS USING A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES.THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT DID A OIL CONSUMPTION TEST AND CONFIRMED THE CAR WAS USING THAT MUCH OIL AND IT WAS NORMAL OIL USE ACCORDING TO KIA.I TOLD THEM I DIDN?T AGREE THAT IT WAS NORMAL AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT MAN AGREED IT WAS A LOT OF OIL TO USE BUT SAID HE HAD TO GO BY KIA?S GUIDELINES AND I COULD FILE A COMPLAINT ON THE KIA WEBSITE. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH KIA AND WAS CONTACTED 3 WEEKS LATER AND TOLD THE SAME THING THAT 1 QUART OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES WAS WITHIN KIA SPECIFICATIONS.THE CAR IS STILL UNDER THE 100,000 MILES EXTENSION WARRANTY AND THE DEALERSHIP HAS DONE ALL OIL CHANGES

Parts: POWER TRAINFUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEMENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 17:15 May-12, 2021

Contract 100k miles/10 years. Current mileage 92388. Still within warranty contract. While driving, 12/6/2020, my car stopped running after a brief warning on the dash. Check engine and oil light came on. Within a few minutes, i heard a noise, and the engine shut down. There were no oil leaks or any fluids under the car. I towed the car home. I towed to ray brandt kia in harvey la 12/7/20. A month later, i was told the engine failed. By 1/4/21, i was asked for permission to tear down the engine for inspection. 1/8/21 brian murray,svc mgr. Said valve cover to be removed for inspection. Fidelity warranty/ray brandt kia approved repairs re: ro101874. Per vicky, the inspector directed the timing belt replacement. On 1/13/21, test runs done to see if it fixed the problem but no compression. No action taken on recall 20v750. Per vicky, ray brandt recommended replacing the engine. Used engine found for replacement with approx. 42k miles. Per vicky at ray brandt svc dept. I received recall letter dated 1/25/21 by mail. Called vicky about recall. She confirmed it on her computer. Ray brandt called days later to say fidelity denied my claim. They stopped all repairs. Told i had to call fidelity for documentation. Called but no response. After sending a certified letter 3/9 to legal. Nancy beausejour called. She sent a reply dated 4/7. First two inspections reveal oil and other fluids are good and no sludge in the engine. This was prior to two more inspections with different conclusions. Final inspection show engine warped. Due to ignoring the recall, no action on service department recommendations and test runs without repairs, the engine warped. Before this failure, i had no engine overheating. Since 4/22/21, after 5 calls to kia consumer assistance ctr. ,called. May 12, 2021

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-25, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 17:05 May-12, 2021

THIS PROBLEMATIC Infiniti QX60 HAD FAILED ONCE AGAIN WHILE I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY. IT?S JUST DEAD AND THE ENGINE REFUSED TO START. I HAD TO CALL THE TOW TRUCK TO DROP OFF AT THE KINGS INFINITI AUTO SHOP FOR REPAIR. FIRST, IT WAS A HUGE INCONVENIENCE THAT THEY COULDN'T TAKE A LOOK AT THE VEHICLE UNTIL A WEEK LATER. SECOND, NO ONE EVER OFFERED ME A LOANER CAR TO TAKE HOME AND HAS STILL DENIED THIS REQUEST. WE DEPEND ON THIS FOR WORK AND SCHOOL. THIRD, JUST TODAY I WAS INFORMED BY THE INFINITI TECHNICIAN THAT I WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR FEES OF $13,000 DUE TO ENGINE FAILURE! SERIOUSLY?! THIS IS ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS AND I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT FROM ANYWHERE. TO ME THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE AND I STRONGLY BELIEVE IT IS THE MANUFACTURER GUILTY OF THE CAR ISSUES AND SUSPECTING THIS IS A CAR DEALER FRAUD. $13,000 REPAIR COST IS RIDICULOUSLY HIGH, YOU COULD PUT DOWN A DOWN PAYMENT FOR A CONDO OR TO BUY A LOWER GRADE NISSAN SENDRA. I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE UNRELIABILITY OF THIS VEHICLE AND THE COMPANY IN GENERAL. I'VE BEEN LEASING VEHICLES FROM NUMEROUS CAR BRANDS FOR THE LAST 10 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED AN ISSUE EVEN REMOTELY TEDIOUS AND FRUSTRATING AS THIS. WE'VE ALREADY DEALT WITH THE MINOR ISSUES OURSELVES BUT HOW COULD WE BE EXPECTED TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR AN ENGINE FAILURE THAT ISN'T OUR FAULT? AS I HAD MENTIONED ABOVE, I HAVE REGULARLY KEPT UP THE MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE AS LISTED ON THE CAR MANUAL FOR ALL TYPES OF OIL CHANGE, CHANGING ENGINE FILTER, ETC. I?M ATTACHING ALL THE RECEIPTS WE COULD FIND FOR THE MAINTENANCE SERVICES THAT WERE DONE FROM THE LAST COUPLE OF YEARS. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE THAT THE ENGINE COULD FAIL DUE TO "LACK OF MAINTENANCE".

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-14, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:44 May-12, 2021

I have a diesel that the scr tank that holds the diesel emission fluid has a faulty level sensor p203e error code. A. Check engine iight is always on. Bmw has extended warranty of 10 yr/120,000 miles. Several of the diesel bmw have this tank aspart of the extended warranty but not mine. Light has been on for a year.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 16:43 May-12, 2021

The thea-engine is bad and needs to be replaced. After diagnostics determined the engine indeed needs to be replaced; they added the rods and bearings did not cause issue so they will not cover cost. The big lie is that the, "rods and bearings was not part of the original evaluation diagnostics done on the engine. It was added to remove the connection that cause prior recalls. It is the same problem and millions of unsuspecting auto purchasers should be made aware. This company has been making cars since 2011 with faulty engines, "stay away" the dealership said the engine must be replaced

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 14:03 May-12, 2021

ON 04/28/2021 MY REMOTE START ON MY 2018 Ford Escape TITANIUM 2.0L, WITH ONLY 21,833 MILES ON IT, DID NOT WORK AND DID NOT START MY VEHICLE. I GOT IN, STARTED MY VEHICLE USING THE PUSH BUTTON START, AT WHICH POINT MY VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WITH NO OTHER INFORMATION. THE FORD PASS APP INDICATED ?MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP-REGULATORY? WITH NO OTHER DETAILS. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED MY LOCAL DEALER, BELL FORD BUT THEY COULD NOT GET ME IN FOR SERVICE UNTIL MID-JUNE. I THEN CALLED THE DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT MY CAR, FULLERTON FORD AND GOT AN APPOINTMENT FOR TODAY 05/12/21. I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE IN THIS MORNING AND AFTER 20-30 MINUTES MY SERVICE ADVISOR CAME TO ME AND SAID THE COOLANT WAS LEAKING INTO THE ENGINE AND THAT THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE COMPLETELY REPLACED. THEY PROVIDED ME WITH A LOANER CAR AND TOLD ME THEY WILL CONTACT ME WHEN THE NEW ENGINE IS INSTALLED, WHICH COULD TAKE LONGER THAN A WEEK.

Parts: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROLSERVICE BRAKESENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 13:21 May-12, 2021

Subaru accelerates occaisionally when one hits the break and the motor races until one puts car in neutral.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-28, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:57 May-12, 2021

MY 2017 Fusion, WITH ECOBOOST ENGINE BEGAN USING COOLANT, REPLACED SPARK PLUG IN 2ND CYLINDER AND CONTINUALLY HAVE TO ADD COOLANT TO KEEP CAR FROM OVERHEATING. CAR SHUT DOWN AND OVERHEATED ON WAY HOME FROM WORK. ADDED EVEN MORE COOLANT. FORD NOW TELLS ME WE HAVE TO HAVE A NEW ENGINE AND WE ARE OUT OF WARRANTY SINCE CAR HAS 80K MILES ON IT. $5900 NEW ENGINE BECAUSE A KNOWN ISSUE HASN'T BEEN ADDRESSED BY FORD TO MAKE IT RIGHT.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-30, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 12:49 May-12, 2021

Mass air flow sensor broke while in use and cut the engine without any warning.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Mar-22, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:26 May-12, 2021

There was a recall on the catalytic converters and the dealership in columbus, georgia, said they replaced it. Kia of columbus only had the car 20 minutes when they said they were completely done changing the part out. Now there? S a knock in the motor, the car left my daughter stranded on the highway, it wouldn? T go over 40 mph and it had to be towed. Sons kia in mcdonough, georgia did a diagnostic on it which said it needed a new engine assembly. I don? T believe the converter was replaced in the first place causing the current damage to the vehicle.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Apr-04, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 11:16 May-12, 2021

Air conditioner blowing hot air. Does not hold coolant when replaced or recharged

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Dec-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:00 May-12, 2021

It started our as the occasional misfire and then the check engine light came on. I took it in to a local meineke where they said 1 of the coils (i believe coil 2) needed to be replaced. I also replaced all 4 plugs at that time as well. Maybe a month later it started misfiring again with the check engine light back on. I took it back to the shop and they said it showed the same coil as needing to be replaced. They recommend i take it to ford for better diagnosis where they tell me i now need a new engine for upwards of 6 thousand dollars... See pictures for fords description.

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-21, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 10:56 May-12, 2021

New 2020 santafe took delivery on january 4th, 2021, with less than 5000 miles on march 21st the vehicle refuse to start after it was started and shut off while we were sitting in a parking lot. While attempting to start it getting forward collusion warning but the engine would not crank. Towed to the local dealer was told they cannot diagnose the car because they could not read the onboard computer, unable to say what's wrong. The car was towed back to the dealer where purchase and was told it was a blown fuse maybe lighting strike and other theories what's wrong. The dealer would replace the fuse and computer after 52 days the care is still at the dealer waiting on parts. Total electrical failure with no recourse at the moment, hyundai motor of america consumer affairs wants us to sign a settlement agreement to refund our expenses and have not fixed or replaced the car. The manufacture is totally dragging their feet and denying the car suffer a total electrical failure, while the battery was still in working condition according to aaa.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Apr-29, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 08:47 May-12, 2021

The car battery goes stone cold dead if the car sits for more than a week without driving. Last guy who jumped the car had a hard time getting it to charge. The car was sitting for 2 months while i was away.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 08:28 May-12, 2021

I was sitting stationary leaving out of a parking lot waiting to turn right onto a main road from a business. As traffic cleared and i began to pull into traffic numerous malfunction lights showed on the dash, some solid and one flashing, and the vehicle would not accelerate. I lost all throttle control and the vehicle would only idle or very slightly accelerate to 1-2 mph. This caused other cars on the road to brake aggressively or change lanes to avoid hitting me. I was able to idle to the next entrance and pull the car over and park it. Was necessary to recover the vehicle to a repair facility and was diagnosed as an internally failed throttle motor causing the vehicle to go into "limp mode". The local jeep dealer had the new throttle motor in stock indicating to me this is a known and common parts failure. This situation was very dangerous and could have ended up much worse.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: May-11, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 06:53 May-12, 2021

THERE IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM ON MY 2017 Honda Pilot ELITE THAT CONTINUES TO GET WORSE WITH THE AUTO ENGINE IDLE. WHEN IT ENGAGES (I.E., STOPS THE ENGINE SUCH AS AT A STOP LIGHT), AT TIMES IT WOULD BARELY START BACK UP AGAIN. WHEN THESE PROBLEMS OCCUR, WHEN IT RESTARTED AFTER THE AUTO ENGINE IDLE WAS ENGAGED, IT SOUNDED LIKE A CAR TRYING TO START WITH A BAD BATTERY - IT BARELY TURNED OVER, BUT FINALLY DID START. HOWEVER, ON 5/11/2021, IT DID NOT START AT ALL AFTER THE AUTO ENGINE IDLE ENGAGED. I WAS AT A STOPLIGHT AND HAD SEVERAL CARS BEHIND ME. I WAS ON A SLOPE AND WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND PULL IT OFF TO THE TURN LANE AND OUT OF TRAFFIC. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES AND WAS FINALLY ABLE TO START THE CAR UP AGAIN. THERE IS NO DOUBT THAT THE PROBLEM WILL CONTINUE TO GET WORSE UNTIL SOMEBODY CAN DIAGNOSE IT. I'VE SEARCHED DISCUSSION BOARDS AND FOUND SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT I'VE NOT FOUND A DIAGNOSIS YET.

Parts: SUSPENSIONENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-08, 2021
  • Date complaint filed: 04:29 May-12, 2021

Oil filter housing leaking oil , front struts failure in rear

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.