Land Rover Discovery Sport Complaints

Land Rover Discovery Sport Complaints
  • 38 Complaints
  • 3 Crashes
  • 0 Fires
  • 0 Injuries
  • 0 Fatalities
  • Consumers have filed a total of 38 complaints for Discovery Sport models.

Recent Complaints

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Nov-29, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:06 Nov-30, 2020

The brake line (right front) exploded while driving, car almost lost all braking capability (other than e brake)

Parts: FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Nov-02, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:45 Nov-06, 2020

This vehicle loses power while operating at any speed. While going 70mph out of nowhere it goes down to 40 within seconds with zero warning and 3 accidents have almost happened. It was "fixed" once by a local land rover dealer but has happened 3 times since. The "d" for the drive gear flashes red when this happens, it appears the vehicle is going into lymp mode and is absolutely unsafe to drive.

Parts: UNKNOWN OR OTHERSTRUCTUREELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Mar-01, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 15:07 Oct-29, 2020

Door latch doesn? T engage, door opens freely while driving. 2nd time reporting, no feedback! Brand has a issue. Dealer wants to charge for diagnostic and fix. It? S a manufacturing flaw

Parts: WHEELSUNKNOWN OR OTHER
  • Date of Incident: Aug-15, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 21:38 Sep-22, 2020

Received us department of transportation (dot) national highway important recall that may affect my tires email to me from nhtsa

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-18, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 18:03 Jul-30, 2020

The vehicle would accelerate normally than out of the blue. It looses power, engine light illuminating advising not to continue driving. Code advising p0299? Turbo charger? Common problem apparently mechanics advising online forums and repair ideas. Vehicle only has approximately 60,000 on it and all approved maintenance. Now they are denying major repair that is a common issue!!

Parts: POWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-26, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 08:56 Jul-30, 2020

THE TURBO CHARGER IN MY 2016 LR Discovery Sport IS BAD AND NOW NEEDS REPLACED, OTHERWISE THERE IS MINIMAL ACCELERATION (ACCELERATION WORSE THAN OF A SMALL COMPACT 4-CYLINDER CAR). IT IS ALSO VERY NOISY DUE TO THE BROKEN PART. IT ONLY HAS 60K MILES ON IT. LEARNED FROM A RESPECTED AUTO BODY SHOP THAT SERVICES HIGH END VEHICLES THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM.

Parts: STRUCTURE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 11:17 Jul-01, 2020

When using keyless entry, walking up to door and opening without unlocking, the door latch won? T hold closed. Causing the door to swing freely. I? Ve had to try to lock and unlock or start and turn off my truck. After 15-30 min, it will usually latch. But there? S no concrete remedy. The first time it happened i didn? T realize it. Taking a right hand turn and my door flew open. It? S super dangerous! The first time it happened was june 6th. This has happened about 4 times in the past month. After researching the issue, i? Ve found that this is common in range rovers. Land rover hasn? T been a help. You can? T get through to their main office. The local dealership wants to charge me for diagnostic fees and repairs.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jun-21, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 12:32 Jun-25, 2020

1: gearbox fault.. Unable to move gearbox from park to reverse or drive 2" park brake fault

Parts: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Jun-06, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jun-16, 2020

I own a range rover 1976 discover sport , and the infotainment system seems to reset while driving down the road. I paid over $55,000 for a luxury suv, and i didn? T expect it to reboot at 70 miles per hour.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKESENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-12, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 May-13, 2020

Both back rotors failed, unable to safely drive. Repeated engine light notifications. Poor driving, stalling when turning. *tr

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Apr-22, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 14:01 Apr-23, 2020

Brakes to done function properly! There is continual drag and not coasting due to brake issue. Had accident because car slide 5 car lengths would not stop. Car engine shuts off and needs to be put into park and restarts when hitting brake quickly, happens on freeway very dangerous. Had to replace all brakes at 9k miles now needs all 4 brake pads again at 15k miles. Service department will not acknowledge an issues and states this is normal wear and wants $1200 each time for brakes. Does not acknowledge that they car slides and fishtails rather than stops smoothly when quickly braking. They did not even put notes in the service invoice on what i had described. Very concerned another accident will take place not to mention the constant cost for this. I have another repair shop and car expert in writing stating that there is issues with brake system.

Parts: ENGINEELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROLELECTRICAL SYSTEM
  • Date of Incident: Feb-04, 2020
  • Date complaint filed: 16:03 Feb-05, 2020

Was driving speed limit and moving with traffic on major city road when battery light came on and car completely shut off. Was able to move to the right side of the road but still in the middle of oncoming traffic during rush hour. Car immediately went into park and could not move or turn on. Got a note on the dash that system was shutting down. Car had just been serviced 4 month prior.

Parts: SEAT BELTSPOWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Dec-15, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 12:21 Dec-16, 2019

Seat belt issue: seat belt to the 2nd row, right door side activating with alternating red (x) and green (check mark) not able to discern that my 10 year old son was in the car. On 12/16/19, the same error occurred with my 9 year old nephew. Once he exited the car, despite no seat belt being in the slot, the alarm kept beeping saying that it was and that it needed to be addressed. Transmission: the car has been "jumpy" in terms of transmission changes since we first bought the vehicle. It has had transmission computer upgrades with the most recent in 10/19 having no effect. It now is shifting out of drive or sport while driving at various speeds on the highway. The d (if in drive) will flash and there is no acceleration capability. Both my husband and i have experienced this event and getting on and off the highway and not being able to accelerate can pose a serious safety issue. I was not able to accelerate while getting on the highway with my son and his friend which could have led to an accident with rear end involvement given that there was a car close behind me trying to accelerate as well. I am not sure if this is the same recall problem that occurred with the 2015 model but land rover has been notified of this issue and they have stated they can't find anything wrong when they do the diagnostics. On 12/13/19 i contacted land rover warwick ri due to my concerns and was told to not put any more money into the vehicle and to "get rid of it. " on 12/14/19, i notified land rover of norwell regarding transmission concerns and was told that there were no issues they were aware of. Cape cod land rover also was made aware of the transmission concerns and they were the ones that did the last computer upgrade which again did not fix the issue as described. Please assist as the safety of myself and my family is now of concern.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: Jul-18, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Jul-26, 2019

While sitting in park at idle rpm i heard a loud thump from the engine compartment which was followed by an electrical system warning and an engine overheat warning. I turned off the vehicle immediately and had vehicle towed to my mechanic. When care arrived at mechanics shop the crankshaft pulley literally fell off the car. Upon inspection the crankshaft pulley experienced a complete failure that resulted in total destruction of the engine. Entire engine needs to be replaced due to extensive valve/engine damage.

Parts: ENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-28, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 10:42 Jun-14, 2019

I need assistance in getting my vehicle recalled. Back in march the engine light came on and the dealer said they reset the code and made a repair to the engine. Last month the engine light came on again and i had to have the car towed to the dealer because i could not go in reverse. The dealer is now telling me i need a new transmission which cost $11,000. 00. The car is only 4 years old. Attached is the report the dealer wrote up also it looks like there was a recall on the car but my vin is not included in the recall. My vehicle is still like a new car other than this light on. The dealer is telling me if i drive it the transmission can go up at any time. I paid $56,000. 00 for this vehicle back in 2015. The dealer gave me an appraised amount of the car this week and telling me they can only offer me $17,000. 00. The car has less than 65,000 miles on it. I have googled to see if there were other customers having this same problem and they are a lot of owners experiencing this same problem. The dealer is trying to get me to purchase a new car. I worked extremely hard to pay this car off. I am in no position to obtain a new monthly payment. I need my vehicle for work. My job requires me to travel and without my car i could possibly loose my job. I would like to have someone investigate this matter at your earliest. I will also be sending this compliant to congress and every television to get some assistance. I would really appreciate any assistance in this matter as soon as possible.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: May-05, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 20:30 May-19, 2019

Car was purchased as land rover certified preowned car 3/30/2019 at 35133 miles. Car was driven from city of bakersfield to city of inglewood/los angeles on 5/5/2019 when it stopped at costco shopping ground, with message on the screen reading :special program off". Land rover roadside service was activated, that called aaa independent towing vehicle that towed the car. On 5/6/2019 it was towed to land rover retailer hornburg in city of santa monica. On 5/8/2019 the service location center texted me with information that "it appears the car is not starting because of the brake line that's been cut. The sensor for the brake pedal is not activating due to this, so it won't let the engine start. We need to replace the right front brake line that has been cut, which would cost $725. 46. " on follow up texting, the technician at land rover santa monica wrote that "the request for repair authorization was rejected by land rover since it's outside influence, not a defect of the car" on 5/9/2019, he wrote again that "for a lack of a better word, we'd say 'malicious circumstances. " he mailed a picture of the cut brake line, following a voice discuss with me, he inquired if "i have a problem with anybody that can do that, hence i became suspicious, that a cpo car i just bought with current mileage of 35971 (driven about 600, no dmv registration plate number yet, how could such brake line cut. The car i drove from bakersfield to los angeles/inglewood, it did not stop on the freeway of intercity street and i drove it to a shopping center while it just stopped without warning except the message on the dashboard screen of "special program off". I really don't understand of cpo from 35133 miles purchased 3/30/2019, to 35971 miles incident date 5/5/2019.

Parts: STEERINGPOWER TRAINENGINE
  • Date of Incident: May-17, 2017
  • Date complaint filed: 00:00 Mar-18, 2019

TL* THE CONTACT OWNED A 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED IN TRAFFIC AND THE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITH A BEEPING NOISE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS POWERED OFF AND RESTARTED, IT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO JAGUAR LAND ROVER WEST CHESTER (1568 WEST CHESTER PIKE, WEST CHESTER, PA, (610) 436-0600) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION TWICE. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WHILE DRIVING AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO AN ELECTRIC POLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

Parts: POWER TRAIN
  • Date of Incident: Jan-05, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 15:53 Jan-30, 2019

When engine cold and shifting into reverse it will take about 2 seconds for car to start moving. My family is pushing on gas in that small window. When the car moves it is quickly accelerating startling the driver.

Parts: SERVICE BRAKES
  • Date of Incident: Jan-02, 2019
  • Date complaint filed: 10:39 Jan-26, 2019

On january 2, 2019, while driving, the "brake pads worn" light came on in my vehicle. I was on a city street, in motion without my brakes depressed, but rather my foot on the gas driving. I in turn contacted land rover customer service to see if this is a known issue as this light appeared when my vehicle had 13,680 driven miles on it. I was advised at that time to take the vehicle to the dealership for inspection of the brakes. I did as i was told, took the vehicle to the dealership 1. 09. 2019--their earliest date available. They advised my that my back rotors were rusting, that the left back brake was 2mm and the right was 4mm. They recommended at that time to replace only the left side. When i questioned why they were not wearing equally, the service advisor suggested that perhaps because it was my first time driving an suv--which was not the case and i told him this at that time. I also asked why the rotors were rusting so quickly, he stated that perhaps it was because of the area of the country where we live--i refutted this stating i have owned other suvs by other manufacturers all while living in the same area and did not have this issue. I did not accept their quote and took the vehicle to be repaired elsewhere--of which they too could not explain why the brakes went to quickly on the vehicle and commented to me that this is abnormal. I contacted land rover customer service, they stated they would investigate the issue--they simply called the dealership and nothing more, advising me that the brakes need repaired out of pocket. My concern is that this is a manufacturer defect where the rotors should not typically rust this quickly, the brake pads should not be, as the service advisor stated be "chewed up from the rusting rotors. " last, the brakes should not be wearing unevenly on the vehicle.

Parts: STEERING
  • Date of Incident: Dec-05, 2018
  • Date complaint filed: 20:07 Dec-22, 2018

Steering wheel completely detached from the steering wheel column causing complete lack of steering control by operator while in motion at highway speeds of 75mph. Vehicle was traveling on straight away of a 4 lane highway 565 alabama with grassy median. Upon steering wheel detachment, vehicle veered left and into the median where brakes were applied until the vehicle slid to a stop on the other side of the medin embankment. No injuries occurred due to location of the incident.

Comparison List:
Comparison list is empty, please add cars.